Coms

Product Ratings
Services
42%
Support
39%
Speed
37%
Value
37%
Summary: Poor quality getting poorer
December 10th, 2014 (Last Edited: December 10th, 2014)
Like others I was an ASDL24 customer and they looked after me and around 20 other connections for the company I worked for. They were brilliant, great speeds, great response to problems etc.

However after the takeover by Coms things started to deteriorate. I am a patient person bit after the last few weeks of appalling throttling it's time to move.

I think they are deliberately trying to get rid of all ex ADSL24 customers for some reason!!

Anyway, a MAC was requested and they have provided quickly with no questions asked. The first time they have given me good service.

I'm moving to Aquiss if anyone is interested.
Review Ratings
Services
Support
Speed
Value
Summary: I'm Off To Leave Coms
October 8th, 2014 (Last Edited: December 7th, 2014)
Complaint logged 6 weeks ago about data dropping on my line, and having carried out about a thousand tests for them, still no sign of a resolution.

They even had me 'pinging' and then said oh yeah, ping results are low priority traffic so results can't be relied upon.. so why have me do it..!??!

'Our engineers are currently investigating'

..week after week..

-- FOLLOW UP..

Today they shut my email and hosting with no warning - I rang support who said 'coms decided end of september to shut down these services'

I said - how do i send email .. they said 'You will need to find another provider'... straight from the horse's mouth as they say...


FURTHER FOLLOW UP

Tried to log a complaint today but the customer service guy apparently has no supervisor and 'could not connect me' to the head of customer services.

He said - email us via the web site. I said I did that last week and I am now just being ignored. I wanted to speak to someone who could resolve something on the phone but apparently no such person exists at coms.com.

THE FINAL ENTRY

After much further aggravation, I left and coms took a final payment they promised not too. I have just got it refunded. Additionally, Usenet speeds on my new bog standard provider are comparatively thru the roof, I.e. I am now achieving 4 or 5 times faster. What the hell was I thinking staying with coms for so long... Good riddance

Review Ratings
Services
Support
Speed
Value
Summary: Just money grabbers now, I'm afraid.
December 5th, 2014 (Last Edited: December 5th, 2014)
Hi,

I'm not usually in the business of naming and shaming – I don't really see the point in crying over spilt milk, as it were. But my recent experience with the ISP Coms (previously ADSL24) has really left a sour taste in my mouth. When they were ADSL24, I had nothing but praise for their customer service, the quality of their broadband, and their commitment to the highest speeds possible for their customers. But now, this: Oh, BTW, I should point out that I work on a cruise ship. I am out of the UK for 9 months out of every 12. So, for 3/4 of the year, there is NO activity on my internet account. Nobody uses the account, but I still pay for it in full. This has been going on for the last 10 years. Yes, that's over 3 years of intenet activity that I've paid for and never used. You'd think that would give me some leeway with the company, but you'd be wrong. Read on:

Exact copies of support tickets raised:

6th November 2014

Dear Sirs,

I write to inform you that my father, the owner of the property at XXXXXXXXX, passed away 2 weeks ago.
My account was for internet service at that address. As the house is
now in the process of being sold, and is currently uninhabited, I have
no further need for any internet service to telephone number XXXXXXXX. I therefore wish to cancel my account with immediate effect.

I thank all of you at Coms/ADSL24 for exceptionally good service over
the last few years, with consistently high broadband speeds and
genuinely excellent customer service.

Please would you confirm receipt of this email and let me know what
further steps, if any, I need to take to complete cancellation.

Many thanks,

Miles Forman

15th November 2014

Hi,

I have heard nothing from you regarding this. Please would you do your best to respond ASAP. Thank you.

24 November 2014

I'm quite upset that, despite the original message in this ticket, you have recently sent me an invoice for a month's broadband. Please read the original message. I totally refuse to pay the recent invoice, and I am very upset that you haven't responded to my message. This would NEVER have happened when you were ADSL24.com. Have you no heart?

25th November 2014

Guys, what's happening? You've gone from being my favourite ISP to villians of the internet! I can't believe that you've not answered one of the posts I've put here. If I don't hear from you soon, I guess I need to copy this ticket and post it on social media to make others aware of your dispassionate, money-grabbing attitude. You have a further 4 days to respond.

To date, I have heard nothing from them regarding the cancellation of my account. Just a reminder that my bill is overdue.
Review Ratings
Services
Support
Speed
Value
Summary: Comeback ADSL24 All Is Forgiven.
August 3rd, 2014 (Last Edited: August 3rd, 2014)
I joined ADSL24 because I was sick to death of BT throttling my connection every evening and ADSL24 promised not to do this. They made several promises about their broadband which was enough to convince me to give them a try. I ended up staying with them for over eight years and if they had not sold out to Coms I would still be an ADSL24 customer because they did everything they promised they would do and nothing they promised they wouldn't. They were a first-class ISP and it really wasn't difficult being an ADSL24 customer. Unfortunately in February of 2014 everything changed when ADSL24 sold-out and became Coms.

We were promised we would see no difference. We wouldn't be able to tell that our ISP had changed hands because Coms were promising they would run things along the exact same lines as ADSL24 and the end users would be unable to tell the difference. THEY LIED the barefaced cheek of it, they absolutely lied. Since Coms has taken over the whole thing has gone to hell. Connection throttling is the norm. I'm currently downloading a film at 6 kb a second which is going to take me another four days plus to complete. In the past it would take mear minutes. Connection dropouts are regular. Slow speeds are a given. Customer support that doesn't give a dam considered acceptable. In fact they couldn't be more different than ADSL24 if they tried. The only thing that hasn't changed so far is the price but I'm sure that's coming. Recently they decided to stop web hosting and e-mail hosting which means from September 31 2014 you will have to use a third-party e-mail provider if you want to stay with them. They should have stuck to what they know best and left poor ADSL24 alone. It was without doubt the best ISP you could wish for and within six months Coms have completely destroyed everything that ADSL24 built up and stood for.

Losing my families sixteen e-mail addresses was the last straw. I see absolutely no point in an ISP that will not provide you with one single e-mail address. It goes without saying that I like thousands of other ex-ADSL24/Coms customers requested a MAC code and I'm now changing my ISP. After careful consideration I've decided to give Aquiss a chance because they have a one-month contract option which means I can get out if things don't go to my liking. However, this is very likely another review because I've not heard a thing for Aquiss since giving them my MAC code on the 25th of July. One way or the other though I will get away from Coms because in my humble opinion they are absolutely appalling, a disgrace and have absolutely no business calling themselves an ISP. I would have preferred to have awarded no stars but unfortunately the system wouldn't let me.
Review Ratings
Services
Support
Speed
Value
Summary: The devil you know
July 21st, 2014 (Last Edited: July 21st, 2014)
I'd been a customer of ADSL24 since shortly after their formation and had always been happy with their service until the Coms takeover.

The service became unreliable with short periods of no service or unavailability of the email server and imposition of 'traffic shaping' despite assurances that nothing would be changed. So, time to move on...but where?

I tried Talktalk. I was wary at first because I'd read the reviews and they were unable to transfer my existing phone number for a wide variety of expressed reasons. After due consideration I opted to go for the service but was so disappointed with initial communications and a barrage of phone calls from people with a poor understanding of the English language that I decided to cancel rather than risk that experience again should I ever have had a service issue.

Despite their mixed reviews I opted for Plusnet. The initial experience was much more favourable and on 4th July I paid in advance for a year's line rental. I was given immediate access to the members' area of their website and my new email account. The migration date was set for 18th July when I stayed home all day waiting for news or for my router's service lights to go out as a sign to input the new login details.

Nothing had changed by 3PM so I emailed to ask for an update. There has been no reply so far. I also phoned three times but apparently their system was inaccessible so no information was available and they would call me back, but never did. I called for the fourth time this morning and was told that operations had stopped on 6th July because there had been an order to install fibre optic on my line. I wish! Fibre won't be available at my exchange for at least another year. Whatever the reason for the migration failure it was not followed up. The order has gone out again to their supplier so maybe in another two weeks I'll have the new service but I'm far from optimistic.
Review Ratings
Services
Support
Speed
Value

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved (Terms, Privacy Policy, Links (.), Live Chat & Website Rules).