( Register Here | Lost Password ) Search Today's Posts FAQ
Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1

    Default Sky Fibre 80Mb down 20Mb up now available.

    One of the criticisms of Sky FTTC package was it only being available as a 40Mb down 2Mb up product.

    It seems if you are in their LLU areas this is no longer the case...

    http://www.skyuser.co.uk/skyinfo/sky...fibre_pro.html

    Bargain IMO, first true unlimited 80/20Mb FTTC product available AFAIK

    NOTE: I have no links to Sky, my ISP is not Sky, this post is not to recommend the product in any way im just reporting on news ISPReview is yet to pick up on.

  2. #2
    Join Date
    Oct 2003
    Posts
    3,203
    PM
    Send Message

    Default

    So does this have traffic management like BT's unlimited package?

  3. #3
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    London
    Posts
    8,654
    PM
    Send Message

    Default

    At the time I first heard about this yesterday it was still in the "unconfirmed rumour" stage on SkyUser, so we put in a comment request with Sky and I've now got the official line this morning:

    http://www.ispreview.co.uk/index.php...o-package.html
    Mark 'Winter' Jackson
    Editor-in-Chief - ISPreview.co.uk

  4. #4

    Default

    No problem Mark, and nice work getting the official response

    @bob2002, nope all products from Sky AFAIK if you are in a Sky LLU area are TRULY unlimited, no caps or throttles. Its only their "connect" (i think thats what they call em) broadband products which are BT based that have any nasty tinkering

  5. #5

    Default

    ^^^ BAN THAT IDIOT oh and get a script that filters the use of proxies in Vbulletin Mark see this time it doesnt come back.

  6. #6
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    London
    Posts
    8,654
    PM
    Send Message

    Default

    Sadly proxy banning mods have a tendancy to block legitimate users too and also affect some of our other systems. I could increase the level of Akismet protection to include short-term IP blocking but I've found that to catch legitimate individuals too.
    Mark 'Winter' Jackson
    Editor-in-Chief - ISPreview.co.uk

  7. #7
    Join Date
    Aug 2011
    Posts
    113
    PM
    Send Message

    Default

    I bet that sky's FTTC is not free from bt DLM /profiling , that will set interleave and lower your sync speed for no real reason, i'm waiting for FTTC to be free from that bs, no way would i commit to a 12-18mth contract only to end up with high ping times, all because openwound fails to get it , if you have a bad D'side pair then they should also sort that out at the time they install FTTC , but they wont

  8. #8
    Join Date
    Jun 2012
    Location
    Alton, Hampshire
    Posts
    226
    PM
    Send Message

    Default

    As far as I can see all FTTC services will have DLM and profiling because all the providers have to use the same conduit - there's no "LLU". Very happy to stand corrected on that though.

    Oddly enough I made a similar comment - we were going to be moving home in order to get back into a cabled area and finally get broadband back again, but a death in the family has put that on hold. (That's the second time we've almost moved back to broadband world, I could cry over that)

    I picked somewhere which also had FTTC with an estimate of 20Meg down, and made the same point as you. Why on earth would I sign up for 12 months at a higher cost for a product the capabilities of which only become clear *after* I've made a commitment, versus cable which has a 30 day trial period and would need to be pretty congested to be as slow as BT's FTTC alternative? And, it it were, I have a possible second option.

  9. #9
    Join Date
    Oct 1999
    Location
    London
    Posts
    8,654
    PM
    Send Message

    Default

    Well there is 'some' LLU in respect to VULA + LLU exchanges. Granted BT still maintains most of the control over FTTC, even when VULA is used, but if an ISP has also unbundled an exchange then that does give them access to greater flexibility in their capacity supply. This is partly why you can only get Sky's FTTC on exchanges that Sky itself has unbundled, which at present isn't much different from BT's FTTC coverage anyway.
    Mark 'Winter' Jackson
    Editor-in-Chief - ISPreview.co.uk

Bookmarks

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •  

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved (Terms, Privacy Policy, Links (.), Live Chat & Website Rules).