Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Breathe Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
19 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Jan, 2013    By: IanR
Title: Terrible
I ended up with Breathe as an ISP after they took over ZetNet.

I was without eMail to my own Domain for 3 months and had no access to Support. None of the previous Support numbers or contacts were "manned" and only limited replies were received to any of the Breathe Support contacts.

I didn't even receive a reply to my cancellation notification, until I requested a Mac code.

Then the Mac code was held hostage on the claim that I Owed them for the next 30 days Service as they had not received my cancellation (30 days notice).

My Domain is still being held Hostage for the same Reasoning, 9 months after cancellation.

Awful, Awful company.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Jan, 2013    By: dr_sunshine
Title: RIP Zetnet
Many reading this site will know that Breathe have taken over Zetnet, a previously reliable and trusted ISP - with disastrous consequences.

I am a now ex-Zetnet customer who has never before written an online review but feel I must say something about the shocking performance of Breathe following their takeover of Zetnet.

Before finally migrating, I experienced over a month of no email (on my own domain, managed by Breathe) followed by overbilling and finally the frustration of trying to have a fault diagnosed that left me with no broadband for 2 weeks during which time having spent literally hours on hold to cusomer services at Breathe I finally migrated to Fast who had the problem resolved in 24hours following the migration.

Breathe customer services line has a queuing system that only allows a 15 minute hold time - if you are worse than 2nd in the queue, forget it - you will be cut off before the call is picked up (after which time you have thrown £1.50 down the drain).

I could not possibly more strongly recommend that you do not choose Breathe as a provider until such a time as they have sorted out their problems and got their act together.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Jan, 2013    By: pod
Zetnet used to be an excellent small ISP with a loyal usergroup and very good customer service. That is until it was taken over by Breathe, along with some other small ISPs, and the content of its servers migrated through July into Breathe's ... with disastrous concequences to the email provision. According to the latest Farmers Weekly report (many farmers used Breathe) Breathe is still trying both to use its email servers and load onto them the backups from the email servers it had taken over. This means sharing the traffic so that both the migration and the user experience is drastically slowed down and intermittent. It is said to have been an unexpected result of the migration; hard to see why, though! Sufficient to say that many people have been struggling to leave. I have now received my MAC and been able to close my account. The internet connection stayed up throughout. Much legal action in background.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Jan, 2013    By: ElaineJ
I joined Zetnet in 1997 and never thought of moving to another ISP - until Breathe took over.

In a few months Breathe have managed to destroy all that Zetnet ever was despite the efforts of the two remaining Zetnet support staff.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Jan, 2013    By: mountx
Title: Don't...
Not sure how long the Zetnet name will last independently of Breathe, but anyone considering Zetnet on the basis of their previously high reputation should read the zetnet threads in this forum. Don't...

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Jan, 2013    By: Barbaraville
I have been a Zetnet customer since the mid nineties and a very loyal one at that, singing their praises at every opportunity. They had a great ethos which meant that you really did feel part of the setup rather than just another customer. Excellent tech support excellent reliability, good range of product. That is what you paid for.

Enter Breathe Networks and suddenly everything went pear shaped. No customer contact, no explanations about their plans and near non existant customer support (and not cheap). Couple this with the evasive responses when you eventualy get through to them and you can see why they were driving the incoming calls at Ofcom for a week or so earlier this month (July 2009). Loss of data, services and unltimately (for them) customers meant I had to move. I finally migrate on the 22nd July after a fortnight of shouting and screaming.

Ofcom need to demonstrate a real will and ability to deal with this sort of thing, Breathe have a reputation for messing "acquired" customers about and to my mind will go out of business very soon if they continue like this (no doubt coming back under some shady prepack administration or sleight of hand new company name).

I loved the original Zetnet and am very angry with Breathe for what they have done to the Zetnet.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Jan, 2013    By: Bedlam
I have been a customer of Zetnet's for 15 years. Never needed another ISP, Zetnet WERE great but sadly Breathe appear to have taken them over.
It has caused mayhem for zetnets customers, Breathe are ignoring all contact, u cannot even get a mac so you can move your service......... DO NOT JOIN ZETNET Or BREATHE.

*sniff*, i loved the old zetnet...
RIP Zetnet, you were loved......


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Jan, 2013    By: Johnschon
Since early July 2009, Zetnet has gone from being a great and reliable SIP to total rubbish. In mid July they attempted to change our email to a new platform. Since then for over two weeks they lost all our emails, including incoming from customers and prospects.

And their technical support people (who as others have said it proved very difficult to contact) could do nothing.

Eventually we managed to move our hosting to another provider, but we are still struggling to get a MAC code to move our broadband away.

Based on our experience I would avoid Zetnet and Breathe at all costs.

If I could give them a 0 in each category I would.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Jan, 2013    By: DerekM
Sadly Zetnet are no longer a viable ISP.
they've been taken over by Breathe, a company with a somewhat chequered history when it comes to running ISPs.

The once excellent service has become virtually non-existant. The support phonelines are now a money making scam. You sit in a queue at 10p per minute and then once you reach to top of the queue the line always seems to get dropped with the message to "phone back later as we can't hold you in the queue any longer". :(

Edit: The cost of the support lines has now gone up to 60 pence per minute!!!!!!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Jan, 2013    By: Rob
Moved to Zetnet from a big faceless ISP over a year ago and it was the best move I ever made. The personal touch these guys offer is second to none with enquiries such as additional website features or DNS entries able to be done straight away over the phone as you can actually speak to the webmaster/hostmaster. My home BB is now with Zetnet and has been reliable as any I\'ve used, not the cheapest but if you ever have to ask them for help you\'ll really be glad you paid the extra.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £22.00
    Avg. Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Onestream £22.49 (*29.99)
    Avg. Speed 45Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • xln telecom £22.74 (*47.94)
    Avg. Speed 66Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Plusnet £22.99 (*35.98)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £60 Reward Card
  • NOW TV £23.00 (*40.00)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Dine Club Membership
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2770)
  2. FTTP (2760)
  3. FTTC (1785)
  4. Building Digital UK (1743)
  5. Politics (1667)
  6. Openreach (1624)
  7. Business (1435)
  8. FTTH (1341)
  9. Statistics (1241)
  10. Mobile Broadband (1228)
  11. Fibre Optic (1066)
  12. 4G (1059)
  13. Wireless Internet (1021)
  14. Ofcom Regulation (1015)
  15. Virgin Media (1006)
  16. EE (698)
  17. Sky Broadband (669)
  18. Vodafone (669)
  19. TalkTalk (663)
  20. 5G (519)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules