Reviews » Broadband Satellite » 

bigblu Reviews

Sponsored Links
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
42 Reviews
Value
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 17th Mar, 2021    By: Paul S
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Bigblu is used by customers who have very little choice or alternative. This brings some foreseeable consequences: aside from the much higher cost than, say, mobile 4G, they really couldn't care less when it comes to the quality of their service or the Ts&Cs they impose. E.g.:
1. If the service is not delivered, you are still obliged to pay them. "As stated in our Ts&Cs we do not offer a fault free service and should something go wrong with the kit, we are under no obligation to credit or refund any of the downtime days you have had"
2. If their equipment becomes faulty, they will send you a part - but you have to fit it yourself or PAY for an engineer to attend. When's the last time you had to pay a service provider to fix their own equipment?
3. You have to arrange to return the faulty item. They offer a Collect+ service, but there very few drop-off points in rural areas (where most of their customers are). For example, in the whole of NW Highlands, you have the choice of driving to Fort William or Inverness to drop off the parcel (in my case, a 2hr, 70mile trip). Or you can arrange delivery via an alternative method AT YOUR OWN COST. This is their faulty equipment remember. "Unfortunately we are not willing to pay for any other method or return, therefore it is your liability to pay for an alternative method of return. Again, this is covered in our T&Cs."

Time With Provider: 10 Months
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 06th Aug, 2020    By: Patrick Walker
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Ever since BigBlu took over for Broadband Wherever at our remote home in Scotland I've had no connection and nothing but trouble trying to get re-connected. The team at BigBlu, although nice on the phone, have not been able to successfully deal with my lack of connection and most recently faulty routers they sent me for several months. When I try to call, I'm put on hold for sometimes up to 35 minutes and often get disconnected. When they say they will call back, they don't. When they send an engineer, he doesn't show up at the right time and when there doesn't ensure the connection is functional (1st time) or doesn't bring the right equipment and leaves before the wifi is working at all. The equipment they've sent since is not configured right (first time) or doesn't power up at all (second time). This is unacceptable for any business to treat people this way and worse - to leave a remote home with no mobile reception without any connection to the outside world for so long. I'm at my wits end and still am waiting for a response. Do NOT user BigBlu under any circumstances.

Time With Provider: 3 Years
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 20th Apr, 2020    By: Leslie Brown
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Treat their good reviews with a high degree of suspicion. My parents are paying €100 a month for a phone line that does not work for more than a year now, 2.5 mbps during the day and less than 1 mbps in the evening. Been trying to cancel for a long time now. Through registered post, emailing and calling. And when you call, you get through to a nice sale agent, you say you want to cancel and they put you through on hold for a long time then cut you off.
The only option now is to cancel the debit order. However, I have now read on ispreview that they send out debt collectors. Once you are with this thuggish company you'll feel truly trapped.

You WILL REGRET using this thuggish company. Stay away at all costs

Time With Provider: 10 Years
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 06th Nov, 2019    By: Dan
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Title: D
I signed up with Eurposat in 2017, which converted to bigblu last year. Their connection and speeds are 50/50, tends to slow down around 5pm to 11pm I'll assume when everyone gets home from work.
I moved off the property I was renting in October 2018 and cancelled the account. Then in august 2019 they hit my bank account for €600. They still haven't refunded it, their continuing to bill me and after 4 request to close the account, it's still open with no usage on the line for 13 months.
Trying to contact them by phone can take up to 2 hours some days, email is more reliable but I'm not getting anywhere with them.
I wouldn't recommended to anyone, overall it's been a bad experience from start to finish.

Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 16th Sep, 2019    By: Sylvanette
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Title: Avoid
Avoid. I wanted to give them the benefit of the doubt even after reading the reviews, thinking that the complaints of slow service might be from people with unrealistic expectations of satellite broadband service. I signed up, paid a fortune for installation, and we have struggled for 5 months with download speeds slower than ADSL. Even with our ‘priority data’ downloading a file on my Audible account took around 20 minutes, and the latency is so bad it can take 3-4 tries to get a page to fully load. I tried tech support several times but they were worse than useless, unable to provide any help at all (after blowing smoke for several minutes each time) and twice left it all with me to run a speed check every few hours for a few days, and get back to them. I couldn’t believe it. In the end we have cancelled, have had to pay another fortune to get out of a contract for which we never received the service we were promised, and I’ve got to ship all their equipment back to them at my expense. Planning to get in touch with Which to find out my rights, but in the meantime, learn from my mistake and avoid this provider.

Time With Provider: 5 Months
Package Name: Silver package
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 12th Jun, 2019    By: Rger Coward
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Andrew Walwyn,CEO, couldn't run a piss up in a brewery.

I was a customer of the dreadful Satellite Broadband (Beyond dsl) (who couldn't design a customer friendly dash board and had nobody with any authority answering the telephone) arbitrarily transferred my custom to Eurpasat without consultation or choice.

They were not prepared for our arrival and it took months to even get to pay them properly. They seemed to have many different freelance part time financial managers who didn't know what company or bank account they were running with!!

We (I am assuming there was at least one other customer who was transferred to Euopasat by Satellite Broadband)continued to use the dashboard provided by Satellite Broadband. The data available on that gradually decreased until now we ae blocked from it. We have not been provided with any other dashboard or system for checking data usage or our accounts. This has now been going on for weeks!

Trying to ring them on the telephone is not possible on normal salaries - it takes hours to get a reply. Completely malfunctioning.

How can Andrew Walwyn (is that the right name) the CEO appear in public instead of getting on with his job. They deserve to fail - and my Broadband with it.

Time With Provider: Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 11th Jun, 2019    By: Graeme
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Despite many telephone conversations with members of the Big Blu staff, I am still very unhappy with the current level of service.

On Good Friday, the Surfbeam 2 modem failed. As it was Easter weekend, there was nobody available until the following Tuesday. On that Tuesday, I ordered a replacement modem. Several phone calls later, the replacement modem finally arrived, almost two weeks after the order was placed.

Since installation, the down/up speeds are well below what they were. Last week, my husband spoke to someone in the support department and they agreed that something was definitely not right. This person said they would check the speeds were not being throttled for some reason and they would then come back to us and that the modem would probably need to be replaced. We have heard nothing since then, although the speed issue has not been resolved and is still well below expectations.

I have not received an invoice for the replacement modem - although every indication is that is not performing correctly. Neither have I received the credit that was promised for the excessive downtime. In good faith, I paid my monthly bill.

To date, apart from the inconvenience (to put it mildly)of being offline for two weeks, it has cost over €100 in telephone calls (as nobody has ever actually returned our calls as they promised and we always end up

Time With Provider: 7 Years
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 01st Apr, 2018    By: Antman55
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Title: Rubbish
Satellite.co.uk who I was with has been bought out by europsat what a joke! my download speed went from approximately 20-22 Mbs to about 9 Mbs also about 2- 3 weeks into each of my monthly account I'm lucky if I get 220 Kbs download speed. No better than dial up, surely it would be better to step down from 20 mbs to 15 to 10 to 5 Kbs, I have tried looking for other companies to try, but when I've rung through for more information Europasat has bought them out (I have rung five or six different satellite broadband providers) I thought it was illegal to have a monopoly. I am going to complain to the ombudsman about this. If we all do this then maybe something will be done.

Thank you

Antman55

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 05th Feb, 2018    By: Philippe Spain
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
I was charged twice (standing order, THEIR mistake!) for my October monthly satellite service (Tooway 25GB/month) I'd been subscribing to, here in Spain, for a bit more than a year.
After noticing it, I sent countless support tickets, that all went unanswered. I spent more than €/£10 and 25 minutes on the phone with UK support on 12th January 2018 to sort it out. Most of my time was wasted listening to waiting messages.
Three months after my first support ticket, and two weeks after finally being told by the Finance dpt that I would be refunded shortly, still nothing.
The people I talked to were pleasant, but the follow-up is appalling.

Update: refund credited 1st Feb 2018, 4 months after their mistake and 3 months after my first support ticket.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star
Posted: 21st Sep, 2017    By: belsimo lia
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Title: ISP review
Best ISP I've ever seen. It's great & provides best service. I'm happy using this. So much fast. Easy to use. Hope it will keep up their good work

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £17.99
    Speed 33Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • UtilityWarehouse £19.99
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
  • NOW £23.00
    Speed 63Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £24.00
    Speed 73 - 82Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Shell Energy £24.99
    Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest Ultrafast ISPs
  • Gigaclear £17.00
    Speed: 200Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Zzoomm £19.95
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • YouFibre £19.99
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Community Fibre £20.00
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • BeFibre £21.00
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £25 Love2Shop Card
Large Availability | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Sponsored Links
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (5378)
  2. BT (3485)
  3. Politics (2490)
  4. Openreach (2274)
  5. Business (2221)
  6. Building Digital UK (2211)
  7. FTTC (2038)
  8. Mobile Broadband (1935)
  9. Statistics (1762)
  10. 4G (1637)
  11. Virgin Media (1586)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (1438)
  13. FTTH (1379)
  14. Wireless Internet (1375)
  15. Fibre Optic (1375)
  16. 5G (1212)
  17. Vodafone (1123)
  18. EE (1108)
  19. TalkTalk (927)
  20. O2 (910)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules