Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Shell Energy Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
20 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 24th Dec, 2021    By: locharrow
Was assured by salesman my 30 year old home phone number would not change. Well, it did and I have been trying for two weeks now to get my old number back. Shell are simply not interested. Their service is worse than the provider I left and I am sorry that I engaged Shell Energy as my broadband provider.

Thursday16th Dec Shell rep phoned to say old number would be re-instated within 24 hours..... Now Monday 20th Dec. and still not re-instated.

Old number returned 22nd....3 weeks to resolve a simple issue. ..........Shell have offered zero for the hassle they put me through to get my number back even though it was ENTIRELY their negligence that caused the problem.

Time With Provider: 2 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 26th Nov, 2021    By: Chesterontheweb
Read over 500 Reviews on Shell Broadband featured on Broadband.co.uk and over 600 on Google

General Issues

Poor Broadband Speeds

Frequent Loss of Connection

Very Poor Customer Service

Horrendous Early Cancellation Fees

Charged for the Router when it had been returned

Advice from Previous Customers including Myself Stay Well Clear of Shell Broadband



Time With Provider: 22 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 25th Aug, 2021    By: Gordon
Don't touch with a bargepole don't ring u back they take very long time to answer phone not providing land line which is part of deal not providing speed to prevent buffering and I upgraded to super fast fibre still not stopping the buffering I have 16 months on my contract they want 12 month as a cancellation fee like I said earlier do not touch with a bargepole

Time With Provider: 20 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 13th Jul, 2021    By: CMF
Was happy for over 4 years with Plusnet but the latter were unable to match like-for-like (new customers got rewards amount incentive which we could not get) in terms of speed and only a 12-month contract. The default 18-month that seems to be the norm when it comes to renewal is just infuriating given possible FTTP or faster technology being promised anytime soon.
Seemless changeover, getting 70mbps average speeds and download just under 20mbps very much like I was with Plusnet.
Called customer service for details setting up my own router if needed, but so far pretty happy with the one supplied, so no need so far to do so after 7-10 days.
Noticed usernames are first-utility, which is the former ISP company Shell Energy took over from so makes sense and most speed tests seem to show TalkTalk as possibly the "real" underlying ISP provider but not really sure I am accurate or this is actually the case.
Lots of negative reviews made me fear the worst but personally cannot fault them ... so far, so good.

Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 13th May, 2021    By: DesperateDan
Rude staff, failed installation, long wait times to contact them, held to ransom by their customer service team, not one single callback when they promised, support tickets closed without any customer contact and no they want early termination fees, cease charges and even a days broadband charge. All for a service that they never even provided.

My advice would be to choose a different provider, as the matter is now with the Ombudsman Service after their executive team first offered to waive the charges then swiftly reinstated them when I refused their offer and asked them to cover my significant call costs because they never called me back.

Time With Provider: 8 Weeks
Package Name: Fast Broadband
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 03rd Mar, 2021    By: hoopla
With a cashback offer, it works out at £14.50 per month for both phone line and broadband.

What they are offering is a phone line rental with calls that look expensive to me (more on that later) but standard FTTC broadband through Openreach and Talktalk Business (as used by Zen).

The original signup didn't work. It took a call to them to get them to make it happen. An IT issue in their system.

However, it went live on the date set. The sync rate is the same as it was a year or so ago when we last had FTTC.

There is a problem, though. Shell Energy have yet to charge me any money and as far as they're concerned, the line isn't yet live.

Although the line is FTTC enabled, Openreach didn't connect the line to the exchange. This means no dial tone, presumably no phone calls possible. This is absolutely fine by me, but SE want it working for some reason. An engineer is booked to fix it later this week. I hope it doesn't impact my sync speed.

We've only used VOIP for years, and I was gobsmacked to see that Shell Energy charge 15p per minute for calls. There's no way I'd pay that! Perhaps there was a "calls inclusive" option that I'd not have chosen.

The speed you get depends on the connection Openreach manages from your fibre cabinet and on Talktalk Business for backhaul. Shell has no influence. I've seen no sign of any problems with the backhaul slowing data.

Time With Provider: 3 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 11th Dec, 2020    By: Cherryll Hixon
I joined Shell lured in by the promise of good speed at a cheap price. Things weren't too bad until lockdown when I was forced to work from home. My BB kept cutting out and phone line unreliable. I am a key worker supporting the most vulnerable. Tried to phone Shell but can never get through. Live chat seems okay initially but keep getting cut off. Emailed but took a month for anyone to look into it and contact me. Through August I had to use my mobile data as a hot-spot to run my laptop. Finally two engineers were sent out - BB seems a bit more stable but now they take £60 + Vat out of my bank. Apparently there was no fault but I had no service - isn't this a fault? Thankfully I am able to get out of the contract because of price increases. Beware they test the line, agree there is a fault then charge for an engineer. Oh and they charge £15 to leave them even if you are out of contract. Worse ISP I have experience with ever.

Time With Provider: 56 Weeks
Package Name: Superfast fibre (ha ha)
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 09th Nov, 2020    By: OES90
Been with Shell Broadband for about 6 months now. Was attracted by cheap cost & previous good customer service they provided for my Gas & Electricity.

How wrong I was.

Was offered 11mbps with minimum of 8mbps (I know. Very slow but don't often use Internet at home. Just occasional TV & music).

The reality is that I'm getting about 3-4mbps and sometimes as low as 2-3. Far below what I agreed to pay for.

I contacted them through their webchat but they were pretty useless. First they told me that my speed is fine & I'm getting what I signed up to (even though when I logged into my Shell account they originally informed me that I'm getting about 4mbps!). They then told me that they'll send an engineer out which I could be charged for! Outrageous!

Then, as if by magic, when I say that I want to make a complaint the Broadband goes off. It comes back on 10 minutes later with higher speed. But STILL below minimum agreed!

I despair.

Anyway... stuck with these clowns for another 12 months. My own fault for being a skin flint.

Don't be tempted by the low introductory offers. You'll get considerably lower speeds than what you originally signed up for with little help resolving it. And, as of November 2020, they're also not part of OFCOM voluntary Codes of Practice which means they're not dedicated to offer any reduced monthly cost or compensation.

Time With Provider: 6 Months
Package Name: £17.99 Fast (LOL) Broadband
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 12th Oct, 2020    By: Stonealive
I've had a broadband account with Shell for 11 months and have just cancelled It for the 12 month anniversary. Shell have been abysmal from the beginning and I've tried to cancel the contact on at least 4 occasions but they refuse to do so without penalty as they do not accept they have failed to provide the service promised.
In January, March, July and September my speed at the router dropped to below 1mb. Each time I've spent up to 2 weeks in conversation with the customer services and gone through the same routines of days of speed monitoring to prove what I'm saying. Only then they agree to send out an engineer. Threatening me with costs if no fault is found.
Coincidentally the day before the engineer is due to attend the speed jumps up to 14 mb (minimum g'teed supposed to be 8mb).
This then lasts for a few weeks before it comes to a grinding halt again. Then the frustrating process of calling customer services begins again. Wait times to get through are unacceptable and on one after being on hold for nearly an hour the operator told me no one by my name holds an account with Shell and she couldn't help me.
At last this awful contract is raechin 12 months and I can escape to a competent provider.
To rub salt into the wound they're now charging a severance fee of £15 even though it was a 12 month contract.

Time With Provider: 12 Months
Package Name: Fast broadband
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 16th Sep, 2020    By: fenny
Hindsight is a wonderful thing. I was with Zen, but migrated to Shell because I'd save a fiver a month. Worst decision ever. My internet is almost unusable. Upload speeds ranging from 0mbps to 3mbps.
I can't watch youtube, nor facebook videos and as I don't own a television, I watch youtube things instead.
I managed to call their technical help and discovered that my setup was fine, all the tests I'd done prior to calling them, were fine,swapped filters, turned stuff on and off all to no avail. Changed from their crappo technicolour router back to my decent Fritzbox and still no decent upload speeds.
Last resort will be to send a BT engineer to check my setup and get charged £65 when he can't see anything wrong despite already ascertaining that there's nothing wrong. Basically, I went from Zen with decent download *and* upload speeds, to Shell with rubbish upload speeds and it's not their fault. Nothing to do with them. Pay £65 for an engineer.
Heed this warning. DO NOT go with Shell is Hell broadband.
As it stands, I'm paying for a service which is practically unuseable.

Time With Provider: 4 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Vodafone £19.00 (*22.00)
    Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • NOW £20.00 (*32.00)
    Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £20.00 (*25.00)
    Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Plusnet £21.95 (*38.20)
    Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £70 Reward Card
  • EE £22.00 (*30.00)
    Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest Ultrafast ISPs
  • Gigaclear £17.00 (*47.00)
    Speed: 200Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Community Fibre £20.00 (*31.50)
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £23.00 (*26.00)
    Speed: 100Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £25.00 (*35.00)
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Virgin Media £26.00 (*44.00)
    Speed: 108Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (3760)
  2. BT (3073)
  3. Politics (2003)
  4. Building Digital UK (1961)
  5. FTTC (1903)
  6. Openreach (1886)
  7. Business (1736)
  8. Mobile Broadband (1522)
  9. Statistics (1444)
  10. FTTH (1367)
  11. 4G (1312)
  12. Virgin Media (1218)
  13. Fibre Optic (1191)
  14. Wireless Internet (1190)
  15. Ofcom Regulation (1180)
  16. Vodafone (879)
  17. EE (864)
  18. 5G (812)
  19. TalkTalk (795)
  20. Sky Broadband (766)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules