Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Shell Energy Reviews

Sponsored Links
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
23 Reviews
Value
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 06th Sep, 2022    By: S Patel
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Broadband broke due to degrade battery at the exchange. Without broadband for 5 days and offered £4.60 compensation in full. Shell prorota the number of days and nothing for inconvenience and keeping you on hold for 2 hours. Don't bother as awful company to deal with!

Time With Provider: 40 Weeks
Package Name: Superfast_Plus_BB_18_v153
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 16th Jul, 2022    By: SkiBreaks
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
I was a post office customer and then Shell took them over. I recently had my broadband suspended (DD had failed in April) I called them up to discuss 50 mins I finally got through to someone. They had tried to take a payment twice and it failed but the email on the second failure said they would try again in 10 working days (money would have been in the account then. The call centre operative said I was on a manual payment.

So they had not been able to take any money since then. I am not one of those people who check every direct debit but know that each month there is a certain amount for bills that comes out.

But... they continued to rack up my monthly bill until today I had to pay £110 and there was no policy. They said their rules where it had to be paid. I work from home and need it so had to pay.

So long story short 1hr 40mins on the phone.
Held to ransom over their policy of suspended accounts
Billed for 4 months without knowing there was an issue
Filled a complaint with them.
Going to the financial ombudsman as I think their trading practices are a bit dodgy


Time With Provider: 8 Months
Package Name: Broadband plus
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 26th Feb, 2022    By: AnneB
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Title: AVOID
Internet connection constantly dropping out. Zero customer service or technical support - they simply keep you hanging on the phone for over an hour and then drop the call or "chat". Emails go unanswered. Awful awful awful

Time With Provider: 2 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 24th Dec, 2021    By: locharrow
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Was assured by salesman my 30 year old home phone number would not change. Well, it did and I have been trying for two weeks now to get my old number back. Shell are simply not interested. Their service is worse than the provider I left and I am sorry that I engaged Shell Energy as my broadband provider.

Thursday16th Dec Shell rep phoned to say old number would be re-instated within 24 hours..... Now Monday 20th Dec. and still not re-instated.

Old number returned 22nd....3 weeks to resolve a simple issue. ..........Shell have offered zero for the hassle they put me through to get my number back even though it was ENTIRELY their negligence that caused the problem.

Time With Provider: 2 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 26th Nov, 2021    By: Chesterontheweb
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Read over 500 Reviews on Shell Broadband featured on Broadband.co.uk and over 600 on Google

General Issues

Poor Broadband Speeds

Frequent Loss of Connection

Very Poor Customer Service

Horrendous Early Cancellation Fees

Charged for the Router when it had been returned

Advice from Previous Customers including Myself Stay Well Clear of Shell Broadband



Time With Provider: 22 Months
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 25th Aug, 2021    By: Gordon
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Don't touch with a bargepole don't ring u back they take very long time to answer phone not providing land line which is part of deal not providing speed to prevent buffering and I upgraded to super fast fibre still not stopping the buffering I have 16 months on my contract they want 12 month as a cancellation fee like I said earlier do not touch with a bargepole

Time With Provider: 20 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 13th Jul, 2021    By: CMF
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Was happy for over 4 years with Plusnet but the latter were unable to match like-for-like (new customers got rewards amount incentive which we could not get) in terms of speed and only a 12-month contract. The default 18-month that seems to be the norm when it comes to renewal is just infuriating given possible FTTP or faster technology being promised anytime soon.
Seemless changeover, getting 70mbps average speeds and download just under 20mbps very much like I was with Plusnet.
Called customer service for details setting up my own router if needed, but so far pretty happy with the one supplied, so no need so far to do so after 7-10 days.
Noticed usernames are first-utility, which is the former ISP company Shell Energy took over from so makes sense and most speed tests seem to show TalkTalk as possibly the "real" underlying ISP provider but not really sure I am accurate or this is actually the case.
Lots of negative reviews made me fear the worst but personally cannot fault them ... so far, so good.

Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Posted: 13th May, 2021    By: DesperateDan
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Rude staff, failed installation, long wait times to contact them, held to ransom by their customer service team, not one single callback when they promised, support tickets closed without any customer contact and no they want early termination fees, cease charges and even a days broadband charge. All for a service that they never even provided.

My advice would be to choose a different provider, as the matter is now with the Ombudsman Service after their executive team first offered to waive the charges then swiftly reinstated them when I refused their offer and asked them to cover my significant call costs because they never called me back.

Time With Provider: 8 Weeks
Package Name: Fast Broadband
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 03rd Mar, 2021    By: hoopla
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
With a cashback offer, it works out at £14.50 per month for both phone line and broadband.

What they are offering is a phone line rental with calls that look expensive to me (more on that later) but standard FTTC broadband through Openreach and Talktalk Business (as used by Zen).

The original signup didn't work. It took a call to them to get them to make it happen. An IT issue in their system.

However, it went live on the date set. The sync rate is the same as it was a year or so ago when we last had FTTC.

There is a problem, though. Shell Energy have yet to charge me any money and as far as they're concerned, the line isn't yet live.

Although the line is FTTC enabled, Openreach didn't connect the line to the exchange. This means no dial tone, presumably no phone calls possible. This is absolutely fine by me, but SE want it working for some reason. An engineer is booked to fix it later this week. I hope it doesn't impact my sync speed.

We've only used VOIP for years, and I was gobsmacked to see that Shell Energy charge 15p per minute for calls. There's no way I'd pay that! Perhaps there was a "calls inclusive" option that I'd not have chosen.

The speed you get depends on the connection Openreach manages from your fibre cabinet and on Talktalk Business for backhaul. Shell has no influence. I've seen no sign of any problems with the backhaul slowing data.

Time With Provider: 3 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 11th Dec, 2020    By: Cherryll Hixon
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
I joined Shell lured in by the promise of good speed at a cheap price. Things weren't too bad until lockdown when I was forced to work from home. My BB kept cutting out and phone line unreliable. I am a key worker supporting the most vulnerable. Tried to phone Shell but can never get through. Live chat seems okay initially but keep getting cut off. Emailed but took a month for anyone to look into it and contact me. Through August I had to use my mobile data as a hot-spot to run my laptop. Finally two engineers were sent out - BB seems a bit more stable but now they take £60 + Vat out of my bank. Apparently there was no fault but I had no service - isn't this a fault? Thankfully I am able to get out of the contract because of price increases. Beware they test the line, agree there is a fault then charge for an engineer. Oh and they charge £15 to leave them even if you are out of contract. Worse ISP I have experience with ever.

Time With Provider: 56 Weeks
Package Name: Superfast fibre (ha ha)
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Cheap BIG ISPs for 100Mbps+
Community Fibre UK ISP Logo
150Mbps
Gift: None
NOW UK ISP Logo
NOW £25.00
100Mbps
Gift: None
Virgin Media UK ISP Logo
Virgin Media £25.00
132Mbps
Gift: None
Vodafone UK ISP Logo
Vodafone £26.50 - 27.00
150Mbps
Gift: None
Plusnet UK ISP Logo
Plusnet £27.99
145Mbps
Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest ISPs for 100Mbps+
Gigaclear UK ISP Logo
Gigaclear £17.00
200Mbps
Gift: None
Community Fibre UK ISP Logo
150Mbps
Gift: None
BeFibre UK ISP Logo
BeFibre £19.00
150Mbps
Gift: None
YouFibre UK ISP Logo
YouFibre £21.99
150Mbps
Gift: None
Hey! Broadband UK ISP Logo
150Mbps
Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Sponsored Links
The Top 15 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (5654)
  2. BT (3550)
  3. Politics (2579)
  4. Openreach (2330)
  5. Business (2306)
  6. Building Digital UK (2263)
  7. FTTC (2055)
  8. Mobile Broadband (2017)
  9. Statistics (1817)
  10. 4G (1705)
  11. Virgin Media (1656)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (1487)
  13. Fibre Optic (1416)
  14. Wireless Internet (1411)
  15. FTTH (1382)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules