Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Hyperoptic Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
19 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 30th Jun, 2020    By: hyperopticsuck
It shows that a lot of these reviews on here are fake. Their service is POOR, POOR, POOR. Don't use.

Hyperoptic installed it, went fine, they arrived on time. Since then the connection has been horrendous. I've challenged them on this and they told me to upgrade. This will solve all of the problems and guess what, it didn't.

In subsequent conversations they were patronising and condescending telling me that walls slow down the connection. From what I know, everywhere has a wall. Then I was told if something blocks it like a wall you can expect really terrible wifi. This is exactly where their engineer installed it, by a wall.

They then said they would do some things to increase the speed, they actually made it worse. Their support team then blamed me, even though everything is all in their hands and said there was nothing else to do, even after they now charge me more and forced me to mail them back an old router which didn't work.

In addition they have now asked me to buy a wifi extender at my own cost.

POOR, POOR, POOR.

Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 21st Jun, 2020    By: James R
I have been a HyperOptic customer for almost two years now and their service is miles ahead of the major ISPs.
With no less than 10 connected devices connected to my home network at any time the internet has always been very fast and incredibly reliable (this includes 4K video streaming on two of the devices and gaming on another with 2-4ms ping)
For the same price as the best package from any of the major ISPs you get at least double the download speed and up to 10x the upload speed.

If you don't have any of their services available in your area do register your interest on their website (and hope they are coming your way soon)

It is going to be a sad day when I move and have to go back to one of the major ISPs for lack of having HyperOptic available

Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name: 1Gb Fibre Connection - Broadband Only
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 10th Jun, 2020    By: lp2020
So I've been a Hyperoptic customer for the past 6 years, I've chosen to write this review as we are moving and I will genuinely miss their service. When I first moved into the property we were very badly served by BT, and BT had no plans to upgrade the cabinets that served our buildings. This is where Hyperoptic stepped in and ran fibre to our block of flats.

The installation is very straightforward, the service is presented via a standard Ethernet port that is installed wherever you choose to be most convenient, the engineer was very helpful in this regard and performed a clean and professional job.

I have that connection plugged into a Netgear R7000 and have been enjoying speeds of 920 Down / 910 Up for the past 6 years or so, with no outages that I can think of. Maintenance is always performed at reasonable times and you are given prior notice. I can't comment for the bundled router but obviously those speeds are only attainable with a wired connection. I see about 400Mbps on wireless.

Customer service has always been great, I have contacted them in the past about renewing my contract with existing offers and they have always been quick to oblige, the only one negative is that the price out of contract can be expensive compared to the new customer offers. But ultimately you get what you pay for, and I can't speak highly enough of the service I've received.

Time With Provider: 6 Years
Package Name: Hyperfast
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 08th Feb, 2020    By: StevenNT
I’ve been with Hyperopic since July 2019 after being having to move apartments.
Being able to get this ISP took the sting out the move and signed up with a referral email address on top a summer sale made their 1Gb service very attractive.

Their customer service via Twitter and email is fantastic and actually listen to compared to other ISPs who are just robots referring to routine scripts and they recognise if you’re like someone like me who work in IT Support so knows what they are talking about when it comes to IT and Networking.

Based on my experience in the past 7 months I will not be switching ISPs as I’ve had no downtime, not even a second of it and had nothing but great customer service for any queries no matter how seemingly random or technical the questions are about their service. I was able to order a static IP via email too so didn't have to pick up the phone.

If you are lucky to be able to get Hyperoptic at your apartment and want a referral discount email use the following email address steven@sj2k.net and then during the order process when your asked "How did you hear about us?" select “I was referred” and type in my email address.

Hope this review is helpful and happy to answer questions via email too.

Time With Provider: 7 Months
Package Name: 1Gb Fibre Connection - Broadband Only
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 24th Nov, 2019    By: Chucks247
I have only used this service just over a month and I can't belive how fast they are and how cheap the Internet subscription are compared to other broadband providers, the only problem is that Hyperotic is not available in a lot of areas but if you are lucky to have them in your post code then I will recomend signing up, you can also get a free 3 months as the current deal gives me 3 months free and if uou sign up with my refer a friend code C.okwunwanne@gmail.com then you will also get about £25 for free

Time With Provider: 2 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 18th Jun, 2018    By: amarnath
I recently moved apartments and since my last provider EE didn't have fibre option at my new address, i decided to switch. Found out that my new block is hyperoptic enabled. Immediately rang my friend who has been using hyperoptic for last 2 years to know his experience and he not only recommended me for its excellent service but also sent me a referral link which gave both of us £50 statement credit. You can use amarnath21@gmail.com if you want referral. it's quite simple - Orders a 12 month subscription, selects 'I was referred' and submits my email address.

I started from hyperoptics website and it took me less than 5 minutes to complete my request. It was less than a week for me to move to my new apartment and they managed to find a slot for engineer to install my router on my move day so that i would have access to internet as soon as I move which was excellent. Also received all confirmation emails after placing order and on day of installation they kept me updated on the expected time to engineer arrival.

The installation process was very smooth and took less than 45 min and was done very professionally including discreetly surface - mounting the
white cabling to the socket to make it look very smart. Within 5 minutes of the installation, internet was up and running.

I am only on 30 Mbps which costs me only £15 a month as they offered 10% spring discount on top of £50 referral but in my experience so far it's performance is better than 50+ Mbps i have been with Sky, BT and EE in the past. It gives me close to 30 Mbps download speed as promised without any drop-offs.

Another plus point - Hyperoptics installed dual-band ZTE HyperHub router offers 2 wireless frequencies, 2.4 Ghz and 5 Ghz. You will see a separate Wi-Fi network (SSID) for each band when you view available networks on your device.



Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 13th May, 2018    By: Sebastian Lyle
Not Happy & Would NOT Recommend: Ongoing Problems Develop Over Time
(I have to use tether 4G iPhone connection to write this as HyperOptic is again not working)
HyperOptic were installed in our block in Westminster and after HyperOptic initially cancelled the installation, eventually it was installed. All worked fine to begin with but then the problems started to develop.
Interestingly, after many years with Talk Talk on normal copper wire broadband, these problems never happened, and that was with Talk Talk(!).
Firstly, the HyperOptic Internet connection comes in and out, and HyperOptic speeds move up and down. The signal strength on Wifi for a device next to to the router moves in and out.
Then, more problems develop. The Internet goes down for no reason. This has happened a few times now and usually in the morning. The Customer Service team just make excuses, like it is something to do with my iPhone, iPad, Android phone, Windows laptop, Amazon Fire Stick, Echo Dot etc.
Then the speed slows down dramatically, to slower than my old broadband with Talk Talk. Websites don't load up quickly at all.
HyperOptic make ongoing excuses, like it is the Wifi router that they provided (yeah... right!), and it is the 2.5 Mhz or the 5 Mhx Wifi channels impacting one another (then why does your Wifi router offer both?).
I worry why the Internet is so unreliable and slow with HyperOpic. I worry that they utilise the network differently over night and in the morning, redirecting capacity.
I would not not recommend the HyperOptic service. The problems continue and are painful to deal with their Customer Service.
I know this sounds odd but as soon as I can get out of my contract, I will go back to Talk Talk(!).

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 18th Sep, 2016    By: sparkatb
Best ISP I've ever had over the last 17 years.

Edited to say that now after 6 months my 1Gb broadband is still rock solid great.

The only thing that needs improvement is they need to offer a better router with the latest Wifi technology as their current Hyperhub only gives speeds of 80Mb over wifi, which I suppose is fine if you have the 100Mb package.

I've bought an Access Point just to boost my home wifi, now getting up to 500Mb, usually 400-450Mb.

Ethrnet speeds are great at 750-900Mb, and latency times of 3ms to local servers around Birmingham-Manchester, 7ms to London, 14-17ms to west EU servers.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 30th Aug, 2015    By: brj
I now use Hyperhub as a modem, and a NETGEAR router. WIFI speeds are about 200mbps. Pleased with the improvement.


---------
Having read several positive reviews here, I had eagerly ordered the 1GB fibre optic plan this month.

Am quite disappointed with the Installation process & New Customer assistance until now - across service, support & performance.

a) Day of Installation:
Was told would be activated within about 1hr after cabling, on a Friday morning. Wired walls, socket provided, & cabled but no service until 9pm Fri evening. On pursuing, I was told an earliest Monday start - ie all weekend down. Unacceptable, so after much pleading, they activated me Fri 9.30pm

b) Speeds:
For a 1G product, am seeing just 94mb on cable at speedtest.hyperoptic, & pending an engineer visit only next week, having raised the issue a week ago, ie 2 week wait period for a visit.

c) Support:
Well someone does pick up the phone every time, or emails me responses. We politely go through every possible check & test. However nobody has resolved the core issue of failing speeds as yet.

d) Availability:
Engineers are fully booked at least 2-3 weeks ahead. Rather impossible to slot in urgent visits for critical issues that do not have telephone resolution.

My block has had several subscribers over the past year. Am hoping I am able to see near 1G speeds on cable & amend this review.

Until now, Hyperoptic just feels hyped without the 1G optic.

1G still a mirage at my apartment.

Am hoping I am served by Hyperoptic & return to amend this review as soon as if/when I see 1G speeds on cable.

St George Wharf
SW8 London

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 16th Jan, 2015    By: mewhome
Title: Bravo!
Extremely stable network and bandwidth! Super caring and fast responding customer service. All 10! I am recommending this company to all my friends. A legendary company like this deserves to grow big and strong!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Vodafone £22.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £22.00
    Avg. Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Onestream £22.49 (*29.99)
    Avg. Speed 45Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • xln telecom £22.74 (*47.94)
    Avg. Speed 66Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Plusnet £22.99 (*36.52)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £55 Reward Card
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (2823)
  2. BT (2794)
  3. FTTC (1794)
  4. Building Digital UK (1760)
  5. Politics (1689)
  6. Openreach (1643)
  7. Business (1456)
  8. FTTH (1341)
  9. Statistics (1253)
  10. Mobile Broadband (1253)
  11. 4G (1079)
  12. Fibre Optic (1072)
  13. Wireless Internet (1036)
  14. Ofcom Regulation (1029)
  15. Virgin Media (1021)
  16. EE (711)
  17. Vodafone (682)
  18. Sky Broadband (676)
  19. TalkTalk (674)
  20. 5G (536)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules