Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Hyperoptic Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
19 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 18th Dec, 2013    By: Gallaghl
Just moved into new apartment already wired for Hyperoptic

1) Service was great - easy to sign up, due to some glitch they couldn't activate the account as they would normally, but I got an unsolicited contact from them within 24 hours saying they'd noticed the connection hadn't been activated so could they get some info to resolve issue (which was done promptly)

2) speed - am on the 'basic'' package for now, and faster than I ever had with BT and Sky (iTunes downloads used to be horrendously slow)

3) cost - great deal vs what I paid before, and rolling contract.

4) and no junk installed on PC a la BT...

If you can sign-up for them, do it

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 14th Oct, 2013    By: Joao
This does not need to be a long review as Hyperoptic as been the best internet provider from far in all areas. I went for the 20mb fibre optic service which delivered a constant and stable service. This meant that many times I was doing downloads at 5mb/s which is insane. Also, the instalation and customer service have been excelent and for this reason I am writting my first review regarding any service I ever used.. I do live in the Canada water area where the average internet speed is 5mb which in reality meant that sometimes I could not even access my email! I also make the following words my words: "I would recommend Hyperoptic if it's available in your building, and if it's not... then register your interest, pressure your neighbours into doing the same, tell your management company you want it, show them there's interest in the product". You really can't go wrong with hyperoptic. Regards

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 16th Sep, 2013    By: jpl1953
well our building went live just over two weeks ago and we were connected on the same day. Since oving in over 6 years ago we have been stuck with a maximum speed of about 5Mbps with no hope of any fibre to the cabinet in the near future. After having Fibre to the building installed who wants fibre to the cabinet anyway!

Installation was quick and efficient with the engineer going out of his way to put the faceplate in the best place for us.

So what about the service? we went for the 1Gig as there are 3 of us here on the net all the time and even when we all jump online Im still getting
Download Speed: 580479 kbps (72559.9 KB/sec transfer rate)
Upload Speed: 190200 kbps (23775 KB/sec transfer rate). Latency to the BBC site as others have said is average of 1ms with the speed tester recording an average of 3-5ms. So no complaints here! Its like the internet on steroids :)

We also took the VOIP line and calls are crystal clear and when you take everything on board are cheeper than BT. We had a few teething problems with caller ID but customer service was great and soon had it sorted.

Ours is a big development and the only problem Im having is jealousy from other residents whose blocks haven't gone live yet.

Well done Hyperoptic!!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 06th Nov, 2012    By: amir.din
one word...WOW!

I've been stuck on a 2mbps line for the past 3 years with no hope of fibre optic in my area; until... i got a letter in the post from Hyperoptic offering a whopping 1Gbps internet connection. Being a techy i thought i was going to have a heart attack...

I ordered the 1Gbps service and the installation was done swiftly hassle free. Very simple to setup even for a non techy. The speed is AMAZING i'm getting close to 940mbps without any problems, and its FAST FAST FAST! (Xbox online gaming haven't been the same again :P)

The only bad point is when i leave my house i have to deal with everyone else's slow internet hehe lol

Customer service - i have been with many ISP's in the past Virgin, Sky, BT, O2, the customer service i receive from Hyperoptic is EXCELLENT. Everyone is really helpful on the phone and if any problems occur, then matters are escalated immediately and problems get fixed straight away.

if you want superfast broadband then hyperoptic is the way forward!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 31st Oct, 2012    By: 747flier
Hyperoptic are very good at marketing spin. They get the press coverage, but can they live up to the hype?

Well, yes, mostly. The speeds are good. I'm on the 1Gig package. Nothing really needs these speeds however it is nice to be able to use services like iPlayer and have no buffering.

Latency to the BBC site is on average 1ms, for those techies who are wondering:
Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 2ms, Average = 1ms

I could do without the VOIP line, and at £12.50 a month you do wonder how they can say you can ditch your BT line, when they make you pay a similar fee a month for VOIP, which if you hardly use it, it seems a lot of money, but it's only effectively £2.50 more to have the line, as you pay more for the broadband if you don't have it. Naked Broadband should be the future, but I assume it's a financial decision.

Hyperoptic is installed mostly in places that can't get Infinity, such as large blocks of flats, so it was 7Mbps max with my current ISP, or this, and I'm glad I did.

With the ratings, not sure what to put for services. Hyperoptic don't really provide any. Not even an SMTP gateway, so this may be an issue for some. I use Google Apps for my outgoing mail.

I would recommend Hyperoptic if it's available in your building, and if it's not, and you can't get Infinity, then register your interest, pressure your neighbours into doing the same, tell your management company you want it, show them there's interest in the product.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 10th Sep, 2012    By: NKS
Title: WOW!
I recently visited London to see the Paralympic games. I stayed in an apartment in the Canary Wharf district which had internet provided by Hyperoptic. Apart from the excellent atmosphere in the Olympic Park the second highlight of the weekend has to be the excellent internet provided in the apartment. My son was able to enjoy uninterupted and instant online wireless gaming and I was able to download files I have been trying to download to my iphone for months at home in an instant. We were also able to watch videos on iplayer and You Tube immediately with no buffering what-so-ever. Where all the other ISP's make promises they cannot keep regarding speed, this one delivers.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 24th Aug, 2012    By: ryan.s
Title: Stunning
Amazing service. 100 Mb/s up, and down. Installation was very swift and professional.

Customer support is brilliant, I had some very specific requirements for my LAN and the support agents bent over backwards to help, and even made some custom changes to my router to help me resolve my issues. I hope their level of service remains as personal and helpful as they continue to grow their user base.

Every other ISP should be looking at Hyperoptic to learn how good broadband and customer service can really be.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 15th Feb, 2012    By: TEM
I'm using the 100 meg service (I decided not to opt for the 1 Gig!) and it's sensational. Multiple users - no problem, on-demand TV and films - no problem, it's just effortless.

The installation was hassle-free although after a couple of days I realised my router had an intermittent fault. I phoned Hyperoptic and they delivered a replacement by hand that evening. That's service!

I was speaking to an estate agent and he told me that flats within our development are likely to sell and rent more easily and for higher prices now the Hyperoptic service is available, especially as the broadband service to other buildings in the area is so poor. An added bonus!

If you're able to get the service just do it. It really is a no-brainer!







Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 05th Jan, 2012    By: juliandas
Title: Hyperoptic
Some day all ISP's will give service like this. Fibre all the way, simple installation, 100mbs all day,every day with unlimited instant downloads backed up by personalised support for my questions.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Vodafone £21.50
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Plusnet £21.99 (*36.52)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £50 Reward Card
  • NOW TV £22.00 (*40.00)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £22.00
    Avg. Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Onestream £22.49 (*29.99)
    Avg. Speed 45Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (2884)
  2. BT (2815)
  3. FTTC (1807)
  4. Building Digital UK (1768)
  5. Politics (1704)
  6. Openreach (1657)
  7. Business (1485)
  8. FTTH (1343)
  9. Mobile Broadband (1272)
  10. Statistics (1268)
  11. 4G (1098)
  12. Fibre Optic (1080)
  13. Wireless Internet (1043)
  14. Ofcom Regulation (1040)
  15. Virgin Media (1034)
  16. EE (726)
  17. Vodafone (702)
  18. TalkTalk (687)
  19. Sky Broadband (683)
  20. 5G (560)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules