Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Origin Broadband Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
91 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 17th Jan, 2021    By: Serpico
My experience with the Original Broadband has been horrible to say the least, I can't describe how many vulgar, arrogant and rude people I met in their chat bot. I ordered by phone around September 25, 2020 and waited for them to connect me for a month, when they finally connected me, the internet was terrible, unstable and I didn't really have internet in the living room because the Operarich socket in my property is in the small bedroom upstairs. I corresponded to return the router and cancel under the 2014 law for goods and services ordered remotely. They told me there was no problem and I returned the router by royal mail, not owing a fee as I had already paid initial payment on the date of ordering and paid £ 22.99 for a real three days on the horrible internet. 
I thought we separated as civilized people, but on 14.01,2021 I received an email for a final bill of £ 413.82 payable over a seven-day period for an 18-month contract, and I have no contract either by post or e-mail. Now the saga continues with a complaint and if necessary I will file a lawsuit against the dishonest Internet trader. Be careful, absolutely not recommend them never ever with them.

Time With Provider: 1 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 24th Nov, 2020    By: richard_jell
To frustrated to give a proper review, please don't bother

Time With Provider: 4 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Mar, 2020    By: Matt harly
Been with this origin for about a year now and will be renewing when I need to. They've been cheaper than post office I used to have and speed is good and been quick to answer phone when I've needed something. Highly recommend and u get 25 quid off if you recommend as well

Time With Provider: 12 Months
Package Name: Max Fibre
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 10th Sep, 2019    By: Beaker
I left origin broadband 18 months ago, having moved to them for a cheap cheap deal. Oh my, what a mistake.

You get what you pay for. Download speeds were exceedingly slow right from the start (regularly 1mbit or less), especially at peak times (although this is based on 18 months ago).

After various testing it was clear the fault lay with them, oversubscribed infrastructure and bandwidth throttling were suspected.

Support was pretty rubbish and they had well published complaint issues 18 months ago. after I left (fully paid up, had to wait out the whole year!) they were still sending me monthly bill emails for the account a whole year later! Really!!?

I’m surprised they are still in business, but I won’t be going back, not even for free.

Time With Provider: 11 Months
Package Name: Adsl2 8mbit
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 25th Jun, 2019    By: RoxyBoxxy
Been with them for 3 weeks and my speeds have been going from 80Mbs to 2Mbs how ever it turns out that this problem has been with me for 4 Years with talktalk and they didn't know what the problem was. I gave Origin Broadband a call and after 5 mins on the phone they found the issue to be a shorted cable in the exchange, if only other providers got these problems solved faster than Origin Broadband

5 Star would recommend

Time With Provider: 3 Weeks
Package Name: Origin Max Fibre
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Feb, 2019    By: Adam123
Title: Avoid
I don't tend to leave reviews because I don't really have the time. However, my experience with origin has been so poor I feel I owe it to people to warn them off. I've had endless issues from the very beginning from late installation, slow speeds, daily connection dropouts, overcharging on bills, randomly cancelling my direct debit and many more. The router is designed for wired connection Which is appalling in 2019, the Wi-Fi doesn't reach my bedroom from the lounge and I live in a small bungalow. They don't have many people manning the phones because I'm always on hold for at least half an hour and the hold music is the same 4 songs on loop. I've spent in total well over 24 hours on the phone having to chase up various issues. The departments don't seem to communicate with one another because when I've had billing issues I've been told we'll pass it on to the billing team and the issue never gets resolved. I was owed a refund and it took 6 months to finally get my own money back and this was after involvement with the ombudsmen (If I owed them money I'd have been passed on to a debt collector and cut off long before that). This is only the tip of the iceberg and doesn't come close to summarising the headache I've had for the past 18 months. 6 months left and counting every second.

Time With Provider: 18 Months
Package Name: Fibre max
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 31st Jan, 2019    By: jakesbored92
I've been with this one for about a year now and I went live within 2 weeks, got a free router and I can't complaint about the service. I've heard of bad reviews, but they have been issue-free for me and when I've foned them or messaged they've always helped me out quickly. Got top pack and get 70meg and ceaper than my old provider.

Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 16th Jan, 2019    By: zigzag10
Origin Broadband is a cheap 'n nasty ISP and its customer service is absolutely appalling.

My connection went down earlier so I called Origin Broadband's technical support. What I waste of time that was - nobody took my call and after enduring over 30 mins of bad background music I gave up, none the wiser, frustrated and the connection still down.

Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 28th Oct, 2018    By: Sirnails
Resold by plus net, owned by Vodafone and now using GNAT means that you don’t have a public IP, when I did two months or so ago.

The service is intermittent and unreliable.

Customer service is hit and miss. The advanced customer service are either brilliant or outright rude. I understand that dealing with the public is not fun but - just be pleasant or transfer the call and have a break.

Time With Provider: 20 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 11th Sep, 2018    By: ohenderson
I'm a longstanding Origin customer, having joined many years ago when they were Plusnet resellers. The Plusnet resold service was flawless as you'd expect, but nowadays Origin's broadband service is delivered via their self-owned network.

I stuck with Origin during their difficult migration period, where they moved us customers from the resold Plusnet service over to their own network (powered by TalkTalk Wholesale tails). The migration itself was wholly unexpected, but only required new PPP auth details to get back online. The perhaps 2-3 weeks that followed were troublesome as Origin found their feet, but I stuck it out.

Fast forward to many months later and I'm a happy Origin customer. Their network is largely problem-free and uncongested (no more or no less problematic than other major ISPs). Calling for support sometimes leads to 20 minute wait times, but it's no better or worse than Plusnet or TalkTalk in this regard. Crucially, customer/tech support gets the problem resolved.

The overall experience is largely faultless with minor quibbles. Nothing that wouldn't be expected from other ISPs. The value is amazing, and you get what you pay for plus much more.

Time With Provider: 3 Years
Package Name: Origin Max
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Vodafone £19.50 (*22.50)
    Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • NOW £20.00 (*32.00)
    Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £20.00 (*25.00)
    Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: HYPERFALL21
  • Shell Energy £21.99 (*30.99)
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Plusnet £22.00 (*38.20)
    Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £70 Reward Card
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest Ultrafast ISPs
  • Gigaclear £24.00 (*49.00)
    Speed: 300Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £24.00 (*27.00)
    Speed: 100Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Community Fibre £25.00 (*27.50)
    Speed: 200Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £25.00 (*35.00)
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: HYPERFALL21
  • Virgin Media £28.00 (*52.00)
    Speed: 108Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (3570)
  2. BT (3023)
  3. Politics (1941)
  4. Building Digital UK (1929)
  5. FTTC (1888)
  6. Openreach (1837)
  7. Business (1693)
  8. Mobile Broadband (1480)
  9. Statistics (1410)
  10. FTTH (1365)
  11. 4G (1277)
  12. Fibre Optic (1174)
  13. Virgin Media (1173)
  14. Wireless Internet (1163)
  15. Ofcom Regulation (1149)
  16. Vodafone (846)
  17. EE (835)
  18. 5G (772)
  19. TalkTalk (769)
  20. Sky Broadband (747)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules