Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Origin Broadband Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
87 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 25th Jun, 2019    By: RoxyBoxxy
Been with them for 3 weeks and my speeds have been going from 80Mbs to 2Mbs how ever it turns out that this problem has been with me for 4 Years with talktalk and they didn't know what the problem was. I gave Origin Broadband a call and after 5 mins on the phone they found the issue to be a shorted cable in the exchange, if only other providers got these problems solved faster than Origin Broadband

5 Star would recommend

Time With Provider: 3 Weeks
Package Name: Origin Max Fibre
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Feb, 2019    By: Adam123
Title: Avoid
I don't tend to leave reviews because I don't really have the time. However, my experience with origin has been so poor I feel I owe it to people to warn them off. I've had endless issues from the very beginning from late installation, slow speeds, daily connection dropouts, overcharging on bills, randomly cancelling my direct debit and many more. The router is designed for wired connection Which is appalling in 2019, the Wi-Fi doesn't reach my bedroom from the lounge and I live in a small bungalow. They don't have many people manning the phones because I'm always on hold for at least half an hour and the hold music is the same 4 songs on loop. I've spent in total well over 24 hours on the phone having to chase up various issues. The departments don't seem to communicate with one another because when I've had billing issues I've been told we'll pass it on to the billing team and the issue never gets resolved. I was owed a refund and it took 6 months to finally get my own money back and this was after involvement with the ombudsmen (If I owed them money I'd have been passed on to a debt collector and cut off long before that). This is only the tip of the iceberg and doesn't come close to summarising the headache I've had for the past 18 months. 6 months left and counting every second.

Time With Provider: 18 Months
Package Name: Fibre max
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 31st Jan, 2019    By: jakesbored92
I've been with this one for about a year now and I went live within 2 weeks, got a free router and I can't complaint about the service. I've heard of bad reviews, but they have been issue-free for me and when I've foned them or messaged they've always helped me out quickly. Got top pack and get 70meg and ceaper than my old provider.

Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 16th Jan, 2019    By: zigzag10
Origin Broadband is a cheap 'n nasty ISP and its customer service is absolutely appalling.

My connection went down earlier so I called Origin Broadband's technical support. What I waste of time that was - nobody took my call and after enduring over 30 mins of bad background music I gave up, none the wiser, frustrated and the connection still down.

Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 28th Oct, 2018    By: Sirnails
Resold by plus net, owned by Vodafone and now using GNAT means that you don’t have a public IP, when I did two months or so ago.

The service is intermittent and unreliable.

Customer service is hit and miss. The advanced customer service are either brilliant or outright rude. I understand that dealing with the public is not fun but - just be pleasant or transfer the call and have a break.

Time With Provider: 20 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 11th Sep, 2018    By: ohenderson
I'm a longstanding Origin customer, having joined many years ago when they were Plusnet resellers. The Plusnet resold service was flawless as you'd expect, but nowadays Origin's broadband service is delivered via their self-owned network.

I stuck with Origin during their difficult migration period, where they moved us customers from the resold Plusnet service over to their own network (powered by TalkTalk Wholesale tails). The migration itself was wholly unexpected, but only required new PPP auth details to get back online. The perhaps 2-3 weeks that followed were troublesome as Origin found their feet, but I stuck it out.

Fast forward to many months later and I'm a happy Origin customer. Their network is largely problem-free and uncongested (no more or no less problematic than other major ISPs). Calling for support sometimes leads to 20 minute wait times, but it's no better or worse than Plusnet or TalkTalk in this regard. Crucially, customer/tech support gets the problem resolved.

The overall experience is largely faultless with minor quibbles. Nothing that wouldn't be expected from other ISPs. The value is amazing, and you get what you pay for plus much more.

Time With Provider: 3 Years
Package Name: Origin Max
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 05th Sep, 2018    By: BillyBangleballs
Abysmal customer support, ignores emails, slow as treacle on social media, will answer if you have the patience to wait 3 hours between replies.

Cheap.

For a communications company, they are not very good at communicating.

Time With Provider: 7 Months
Package Name: ADSL
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 29th Aug, 2018    By: Scott
I joined Origin back in Nov 17. After a short delay in my setup (Due to adverse weather) I was up and running.

I opted to use my own router in conjunction with an Openreach VDSL modem, which their support helped me configure.

My package provides 80 down / 20 up. My most recent speed test gives the following results: 73.5 down / 18.5 up.

Overall I have been very happy with my connection, it has remained very stable, and I'm receiving the speeds I was sold.

My only complaint is that the ISP performs 'Carrier Grade NAT'. This isn't a problem for most people, but it is for those that use services such as Xbox Live. Being on their top package - which they advertise as being suitable for online gaming - I find it slightly misleading as CGNAT prevents getting the full experience as VOIP issues can occur. However, a quick tweet to their support, and they were able to sort me out with a Static IPv4 address which has resolved the NAT issues i've been having. This was all resolved within 24hrs, so I was happy with the outcome.

I would like to see Origin adopt IPv6, as this currently isn't an option. Their support have stated that this will be rolled out in the near future.

To sum up, my experience with Origin has been very positive, in both connection performance, and interactions with their support team.



Time With Provider: 10 Months
Package Name: Origin Max
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 08th Aug, 2018    By: rjs397
Paid for a year upfront (a very good deal)
Wasn't sent the router and had to complain to get it.

WiFi password was in a font where it was impossible to distinguish "1" from "I" which did not help.

Origin were always very slow to answer the phone (this seems better recently)

Speed was only 13Mbps where I live very close to the exchange and always had 20Mbps previously (from Sky so on different LLU kit)

ADSL2+ often drops out and reconnects. In these cases the router hijacks DNS to point to a status page; so it often doesn't immediately recover without extra effort (WiFi reconnect seems to flush DNS).

There have been several times when the router was rebooted but the PPP authentication failed for many minutes/hours.

Origin tried to charge for a month of line rental that was prepaid. They were unable to stop the charge so I was told by them to cancel the direct debit. I did cancel it but like other reviewers the direct debit mysteriously came back.

They have provided a cheap service for a year; but I now regret not paying for something better; so perhaps it is not the greatest value for money after all.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 25th Jul, 2018    By: El_Nombre
As soon as I signed up with these clowns my internet speeds were on the low side and suffering from constant outages. Sometimes outages for hours, a few times a week. At other times 1 or 2 minute outages repeating every 5, 10, 15 minutes or so for hours. On average not more than 2 days would go by without some form of sustained outage or multiple, rapid-fire outages.

When it was working the speeds would frequently be worse than dial-up, page would take ages trying to load and then fail, even after multiple attempts. Between outages I would check my public IP address and ISP details and they would sometimes change. For a while it was in Paris and then eventually ended up in Russia in the latter stages(?).

Contacted them more than once, each time in the middle of sustained outages (one time in the middle of a 20+ hour outage), and of course "everything looks fine" and the "switch your router on and off" spiel. Resorted to trying every combination of 3 different routers and rj cables, no difference. Eventually had BT change the master socket in the house, change the physical line outside the house, and ultimately change something at the exchange regarding where/how we were connected there. No difference. Call customer service during another 12-hour outage, "everthing looks fine to us"...

Eventually cancelled the direct debit well outside of the contract. 3 or 4 months later these crooks somehow got my bank to reinstate the direct debit WITHOUT EITHER MY PERMISSION OR INFORMING ME OF IT HAPPENING, ie. against the direct debit agreement, and actually backdated it 4 months before I happened to notice it one day looking back through my statements.
Needless to say the money was back in my account within 2 or 3 days and then a change of bank was in order. But the nerve of these folk.

One of the strangest things was - checking the available services on the SamKnows availability checker, Origin was and still is listed as unavailable. They had had me on some bogus line and kept periodically bumping me off on to other crappy, dial-up-esque lines throughout the contract. Shysters.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £18.00 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 30Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Code: HYPER19
  • Vodafone £21.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Amazon Echo Plus
  • Direct Save Telecom £22.95 (*29.95)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Origin Broadband £23.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • SSE £23.00 (*33.00)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2429)
  2. FTTP (2040)
  3. FTTC (1613)
  4. Building Digital UK (1557)
  5. Politics (1355)
  6. Openreach (1352)
  7. Business (1192)
  8. Statistics (1057)
  9. FTTH (988)
  10. Mobile Broadband (984)
  11. Fibre Optic (948)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (891)
  13. Wireless Internet (873)
  14. 4G (858)
  15. Virgin Media (822)
  16. Sky Broadband (580)
  17. EE (565)
  18. TalkTalk (560)
  19. Vodafone (484)
  20. Security (399)
Origin Broadband - Broadband Fixed Line Rated 2.442528735632184 / 5 based on 87 reviews. 0. | Review Me
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules