Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Origin Broadband Reviews

Sponsored Links
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
92 Reviews
Value
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 29th Sep, 2023    By: Homer
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
This is an updated review, 6 years later. The tl;dr on my experience with Origin is that it's been a surprisingly drama-free 6 years. Until now.

Origin has now apparently dumped all their rural customers, because they've decided to stop supporting anything that's not fibre. Understandable, given that they're teetering on the verge of bankruptcy.

I remember the first time I heard about USwitch, a campaign to get lazy people to switch their providers of any and all services, but I never thought I'd see the day when the providers themselves dump their own customers. Welcome to the New World, where customers are now the product.

On the day of the switch (to Fleur), the new provider had no idea who I was. And meanwhile, Origin had already completely purged every last trace that I ever existed from their records, so they were no help either. In the words of GLaDOS from Portal, "You euthanized your faithful Companion Cube more quickly than any test subject on record."

Thanks for that, Origin.

I have now finally sorted out my issues with the new provider, and as mentioned, Origin were mostly drama-free, so it's been a good run.

Goodbye Caroline. I will always have fond memories of listening to that awful song "We Built This City", as I sat waiting for you to tell me it was BT's fault.

Time With Provider: 6 Years
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 08th Nov, 2022    By: Eezanaking
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Title: Scam
I had an origin broadband For more that 2 years. Initially I had an 18 months contract. I moved my house after 1 year and they told me that they will offer me a new 18 months contract which I took. I moved again after another year. They gave me the same offer which I accepted initially. After a few days ( wWithin the 2 weeks cooling period of the new contact) I asked to stay on my contract and complete 18 months as I wanted to switch to a different provider. I was told no, the old contract is cancelled and I have to complete 18 months with the new contract. Their website says that if moving house there is a 29 pounds fee which I offered to pay. I was told that they don't do this and if I move I have to start a new 18 months contract so as they can recoup their costs. I can't move on the old contract which is basically false advertisement. My only options are to complete 18 months or pay the left over 6 months (170 pounds) from the old contract. But I can't finish my old contract in a new address as per their words " that is not how to run a buisiness". As far as I'm concerned, this is how you run a scam.

Time With Provider: 25 Months
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 17th Jan, 2021    By: Serpico
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
My experience with the Original Broadband has been horrible to say the least, I can't describe how many vulgar, arrogant and rude people I met in their chat bot. I ordered by phone around September 25, 2020 and waited for them to connect me for a month, when they finally connected me, the internet was terrible, unstable and I didn't really have internet in the living room because the Operarich socket in my property is in the small bedroom upstairs. I corresponded to return the router and cancel under the 2014 law for goods and services ordered remotely. They told me there was no problem and I returned the router by royal mail, not owing a fee as I had already paid initial payment on the date of ordering and paid £ 22.99 for a real three days on the horrible internet. 
I thought we separated as civilized people, but on 14.01,2021 I received an email for a final bill of £ 413.82 payable over a seven-day period for an 18-month contract, and I have no contract either by post or e-mail. Now the saga continues with a complaint and if necessary I will file a lawsuit against the dishonest Internet trader. Be careful, absolutely not recommend them never ever with them.

Time With Provider: 1 Months
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 24th Nov, 2020    By: richard_jell
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
To frustrated to give a proper review, please don't bother

Time With Provider: 4 Months
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 20th Mar, 2020    By: Matt harly
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Been with this origin for about a year now and will be renewing when I need to. They've been cheaper than post office I used to have and speed is good and been quick to answer phone when I've needed something. Highly recommend and u get 25 quid off if you recommend as well

Time With Provider: 12 Months
Package Name: Max Fibre
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Posted: 10th Sep, 2019    By: Beaker
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
I left origin broadband 18 months ago, having moved to them for a cheap cheap deal. Oh my, what a mistake.

You get what you pay for. Download speeds were exceedingly slow right from the start (regularly 1mbit or less), especially at peak times (although this is based on 18 months ago).

After various testing it was clear the fault lay with them, oversubscribed infrastructure and bandwidth throttling were suspected.

Support was pretty rubbish and they had well published complaint issues 18 months ago. after I left (fully paid up, had to wait out the whole year!) they were still sending me monthly bill emails for the account a whole year later! Really!!?

I’m surprised they are still in business, but I won’t be going back, not even for free.

Time With Provider: 11 Months
Package Name: Adsl2 8mbit
Value
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 25th Jun, 2019    By: RoxyBoxxy
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Been with them for 3 weeks and my speeds have been going from 80Mbs to 2Mbs how ever it turns out that this problem has been with me for 4 Years with talktalk and they didn't know what the problem was. I gave Origin Broadband a call and after 5 mins on the phone they found the issue to be a shorted cable in the exchange, if only other providers got these problems solved faster than Origin Broadband

5 Star would recommend

Time With Provider: 3 Weeks
Package Name: Origin Max Fibre
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Posted: 20th Feb, 2019    By: Adam123
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Title: Avoid
I don't tend to leave reviews because I don't really have the time. However, my experience with origin has been so poor I feel I owe it to people to warn them off. I've had endless issues from the very beginning from late installation, slow speeds, daily connection dropouts, overcharging on bills, randomly cancelling my direct debit and many more. The router is designed for wired connection Which is appalling in 2019, the Wi-Fi doesn't reach my bedroom from the lounge and I live in a small bungalow. They don't have many people manning the phones because I'm always on hold for at least half an hour and the hold music is the same 4 songs on loop. I've spent in total well over 24 hours on the phone having to chase up various issues. The departments don't seem to communicate with one another because when I've had billing issues I've been told we'll pass it on to the billing team and the issue never gets resolved. I was owed a refund and it took 6 months to finally get my own money back and this was after involvement with the ombudsmen (If I owed them money I'd have been passed on to a debt collector and cut off long before that). This is only the tip of the iceberg and doesn't come close to summarising the headache I've had for the past 18 months. 6 months left and counting every second.

Time With Provider: 18 Months
Package Name: Fibre max
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 31st Jan, 2019    By: jakesbored92
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
I've been with this one for about a year now and I went live within 2 weeks, got a free router and I can't complaint about the service. I've heard of bad reviews, but they have been issue-free for me and when I've foned them or messaged they've always helped me out quickly. Got top pack and get 70meg and ceaper than my old provider.

Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Posted: 16th Jan, 2019    By: zigzag10
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Origin Broadband is a cheap 'n nasty ISP and its customer service is absolutely appalling.

My connection went down earlier so I called Origin Broadband's technical support. What I waste of time that was - nobody took my call and after enduring over 30 mins of bad background music I gave up, none the wiser, frustrated and the connection still down.

Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £17.99
    Speed 33Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • UtilityWarehouse £19.99
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
  • NOW £23.00
    Speed 63Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £24.00
    Speed 73 - 82Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Shell Energy £24.99
    Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest Ultrafast ISPs
  • Gigaclear £15.00
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Zzoomm £19.95
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • YouFibre £19.99
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Community Fibre £21.00
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • BeFibre £21.00
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £25 Love2Shop Card
Large Availability | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Sponsored Links
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (5410)
  2. BT (3491)
  3. Politics (2499)
  4. Openreach (2279)
  5. Business (2227)
  6. Building Digital UK (2218)
  7. FTTC (2039)
  8. Mobile Broadband (1943)
  9. Statistics (1766)
  10. 4G (1641)
  11. Virgin Media (1595)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (1439)
  13. Wireless Internet (1380)
  14. Fibre Optic (1380)
  15. FTTH (1379)
  16. 5G (1217)
  17. Vodafone (1128)
  18. EE (1112)
  19. TalkTalk (927)
  20. O2 (918)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules