Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Sky Broadband Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
183 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 11th May, 2020    By: Zen
I'll try to keep this short as possible.

1: Overpriced
2: False words = When you report something, they'll say they'll send an engineer, even as far as to go and book an engineer, give it few days, boom, your engineer is cancelled and text says "hope your issue is solved".
3: Never getting the expected speed.

Finally, their customer service is a utter disappointment and all their capable is telling false words that they are even lazy to fulfil or just trying to save money.

MORE than once I called them and every time the same thing.

Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 27th Jun, 2019    By: lcwduk
rip off company tried cancelling over 2 years ago, thought account was now closed as spoke to many people at sky, now they have pased on to a *third* debt recovery company even after sending me letters every few weeks : come back to Sky! no Way!!!!

Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 09th Mar, 2019    By: Muttly71
I have had Sky Fibre Max for a couple of years now and I cannot complain about the speed as it is constantly what they say it will be. But I have been looking to reduce costs so I rang them up, now they have the same package I am on £13 cheaper so I asked to to get it at the cheaper price. They point blank refused then started trying to sell me other products. As much as I hate to do it I will be changing service providers.

Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name: Sky Fibre Max
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 29th Nov, 2018    By: Mark.J
I've been on Sky Fibre Unlimited now for a few years and was initially using the Sky Q Hub, which has improved since a few performance problems marred its early release. Luckily a few internet tricks meant I've long since been able to adopt a more modern third-party router from TP-Link (Archer VR200) that supports the Sky MER authentication system and that's been a good upgrade.

So far our house has been able to deliver a fairly steady download speed of 36-38Mbps (the advantage of having a street cabinet near your house!), but Sky are about to give me a free upgrade that will double this. Hopefully G.fast or FTTP will be launched soon and then I may adopt that instead.

Generally speaking the service, and support when we've needed it, have been reasonably good. Mind you we do have a the odd gripe. For example, the Sky Q Hub that the service offers by default only has two Ethernet ports on the back, which is no good for our home setup.

Time With Provider: 5 Years
Package Name: Sky Fibre Unlimited
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 19th Aug, 2018    By: aimdev
Used them for four years, satisfactory service until the line speed dropped.
CS not interested, refused to escalate, the one time I needed then they failed me.
Raised written complaint, got it sorted, but why did I have to do this?
Also no longer prepared to pay an extra 2.49 Sky TV tax, there are now better options
Also, not allowed to use own modem on fttc, recently changed, but they lost a years extra revenue.
CS is important to me, so will be trying a fttc service when the contract is up.

Time With Provider: 4 Years
Package Name: broadband unlimited
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 15th Feb, 2018    By: TomL
Unreliable hub and argumentative customer support advisers (who claim to know what your problem is even if the diagnostics say it is something else, and who are certain that everyone in the UK is replacing their phone sockets every 5 years). In addition, the speed check on the Sky website seems to come up with a different result to speed checks on other sites, more or less double the speed!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 17th Jan, 2018    By: LouiseR
Title: Be warned
I live in France (yes I know these are reviews for the UK) and if you are considering moving here do NOT assume Skydsl will be the answer to your internet. I am not technical in any way so I read what I could about satellite broadband and looked carefully (so I thought) at the Skydsl website. Realised I couldn't follow everything so rang them. A very helpful sales person talked my requirement through and recommended the 'L' package suitable for families. There are 3 of us in the house, 3 phones, 1 Mac, 1 laptop and 2 kindles plus a Firestick that will not work for Amazon programmes in France but OK for third party things already downloaded, like Netflix.

From the moment we set up the satellite, we had problems. Intermittent internet, slow speeds and it was impossible to stream anything, so no Netflix or YouTube.

I rang about 6 times to ask for help. Twice, technical staff made me do a series of speed tests over a space of time and email the results. Never showed more than 3.5Mb at any time of day. The package is for up to 24Mb. I repeatedly asked how many other people were in my contention ratio and never had an answer. One technical person told me that there was nothing wrong with the system and if I didn't like it I should cancel my service. (There is no contract, luckily). Another solution offered was to change to a 'Professionsl' package at 299€ a month!!! And finally I have been told by a sales person that satellite is not suitable for streaming and you can't use it for Netflix or YouTube.

I also had a TV gizmo from them to attach to the satellite dish to pick up programmes from the Astra satellite. I was not aware that I would also need a decoder, which I bought, to find that we still cannot tune in anyway!!

I have cancelled with Sky but it had cost me 250€ for the hardware and delivery and I just know there will be an argument about a refund and the cost to return the hardware. I will stand my ground as EU law states they have to pay because the system didn't work.

I feel mislead but also confused. Say there is the full 50 households in my contention ratio, then they must all be having problems. Surely Sky would be getting complaints from them all? I have pointed out their website is misleading when it says it is a suitable package for families. If you cannot stream then it is not a family package!!

I am frustrated, angry, disappointed and feel an idiot for being mislead.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 24th Nov, 2017    By: JamesT1973
Title: Sky review
we live in a rural area where we struggle to get 5Mbps hence we're looking into alternatives - as far as I'm aware it would be no different at the moment whether we used Sky or a different provider

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 31st Jan, 2017    By: purplebogmonste
I changed to Sky ADSL a couple years ago after terrible trouble with BT. There was a problem in the BT exchange that caused disconnects every time the phone rang. Openreach replaced everything including a new wire to the property to no avail as it was not an Openreach issue. Sky was the only alternative LLU option and as soon as the switch over the issues resolved. I have had a couple of communications with Sky because of line faults and they have been polite and professional. Our line is poor due to a 6km overhead copper cable that runs straight to the exchange resulting in 3Mbps. The Sky service itself has been reliable with no slow downs and I would recommend Sky. According to BT I am on sub 2Mbps line and as such I believe that Sky would not now accept me as a new customer which is a great shame.

I have not tried using the Sky router.

I am just about to switch to Voneus fixed wireless internet so will be leaving Sky. Lets hope the Sky service termination process is simple.

In summary the Sky experience has been uneventful which is a compliment.

C.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 04th Jan, 2017    By: pauldon
Ive had nothing but problems with sky, left me without broadband for 4 weeks down to their fault trying to pass blame on openreach, there customer service is hopeless

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £22.00
    Avg. Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Onestream £22.49 (*29.99)
    Avg. Speed 45Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • xln telecom £22.74 (*47.94)
    Avg. Speed 66Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Plusnet £22.99 (*35.98)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £50 Reward Card
  • Vodafone £23.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2768)
  2. FTTP (2746)
  3. FTTC (1783)
  4. Building Digital UK (1740)
  5. Politics (1662)
  6. Openreach (1619)
  7. Business (1429)
  8. FTTH (1340)
  9. Statistics (1240)
  10. Mobile Broadband (1221)
  11. Fibre Optic (1062)
  12. 4G (1052)
  13. Wireless Internet (1020)
  14. Ofcom Regulation (1014)
  15. Virgin Media (1004)
  16. EE (696)
  17. Sky Broadband (668)
  18. Vodafone (666)
  19. TalkTalk (661)
  20. 5G (514)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules