Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

uno Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
176 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 02nd Dec, 2020    By: trfh
We have been using Xilo/Uno for so long that I couldn't remember how long it was - had to look it up. Xilo initially were excellent, both in price and support - they seem to have crashed now they are Uno.

Reason for leaving - I cancelled a hosting service paid annually, and as I didn't apparently give the notice (which I couldn't find in any contract document I had) they refused so I paid for an extra year's service which I had no need of, and no use for. I put in a ticket about it - its still outstanding now some 9 months later, and they have never answered it.

Just recently my email simply stopped. All emails on all email addresses - "no connection to server" error. When I raised a ticket with them, they said "Oh, you need a secure connection, and we sent an email to you about it 2 months ago". I looked for that email - absolutely no sign of it anywhere (not in the junk either). Easily fixed, but extremely poor support service.

Now we are moving to Zen Internet, Uno are demanding a "Cease fee" of £32. For what? Apparently it "was in the contract". The contract we agreed to was with Xilo - but Uno took over Xilo and failed to tell us that conditions had altered. We "agreed by default" apparently. All extremely poor - and I am just so glad to be able to say "good riddance" to Uno. This is not the sort of company I ever want to be doing business with.

Time With Provider: 8 Years
Package Name: Fibre+100GB
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Response From uno - 03rd Dec, 2020

We appreciate your comments very much but do have to make clear that you have no email hosting with us.

In regard to the cease fee, this remains exactly the same as it did prior to transfer. In 2017 we explained the terms of the transfer more than 60 days before this happened setting out that you could go elsewhere and had this period of time to decide.

As you made no request to us in this time, nor made any contact whatsoever, the transfer proceeded but as was explained in great detail at the time, your contract terms did not change; the length remained as it was as did the pricing. This still remains true today. As we made sure, no customer would be disadvantaged by the change.

The network you are moving to have generated a losing order which has generated an Openreach cease which is passed in to you, no different to what would have happened prior to transfer.

One of the team was trying to explain this to you today on the phone but unfortunately, you spoke over them and then hung up.

We will be in touch to send your original terms as well as the current terms for your peace of mind to show there has been no change as claimed.

Posted: 24th Oct, 2020    By: surv55
Title: DUO
been with uno for 10 years using their TalkTalk phone and broadband ADSL and would have liked to upgrade to the DUO but was told that uno are told which cabinets that they can use ?,
mine is not one of them - disappointed - the guy in Hereford was lucky I am in a village called Madley just south west of Hereford

Time With Provider: 10 Years
Package Name: TalkTalk phone and broadband ADSL
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 13th Oct, 2020    By: joeblogs
I had slow speeds to start with which they were'nt very forthcoming with in their support. In the end I moved away from them because they are quite overpriced compared to other providers that offer an almost identical service. I was stung with a cease fee which I wasn't aware of and wasn't made clear at the time I ordered my broadband. Your mileage may vary but I wouldn't recommend them or go back to them myself.

Update 13/10/20 - Uno, I appreciate the comments but the last issue was nothing to do with replacing the filter - in fact, the cause of the issues was never determined as it seemed to resolve itself in the end. I worked very closely with your support representative, providing lots of data and evidence supporting the idea that it wasn't something saturating the bandwidth on my LAN.

Secondly, the sync speed may well have been within range but obtaining throughput at those speeds is a different story. The connection was so slow at one point, I couldn't navigate to your own website to update the support case.

Speeds at our location will never be very fast, I appreciate that, but Uno failed to deliver a service that goes above and beyond that which I can get from Zen Internet for about £15 less per month.


Time With Provider: 18 Months
Package Name: Fibre Pro 12 months
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Response From uno - 01st Oct, 2020

We appreciate the comments although feel some information has been omitted.

In regard to the speed, we provide a speed range prior to signup that the line should be capable of. At the point we were contacted, the line was within this banding. There was a claim the line was higher prior to migration which we advised was likely due to a DLM reset which can happen on migration. Avg support response was less than an hour.

We also checked historic DLM records with Openreach which showed the line had a variable sync before it migrated to us. The customer then located the issue with a filter and as soon as that was replaced, sync returned to the level the customer expected with no further reports since (over 15 months to now).

In regard to the cease fee, this is clearly mentioned before any order progresses on our broadband product pages, after entering a number in the summary information box prior to entering any details and also within our price list referenced in the terms agreed. We can't agree the reviewer wasn't aware of it, or that it wasn't clear being shown three times during the order.

Due to the provider who the line is migrating to and their order, it generates a fee which is passed on at cost.

Finally, being "overpriced" is subjective and we're by no means the most expensive either. A quality service does come at a price and we don't aim to compete at this level.

Posted: 31st Jul, 2020    By: Delboy
I've been with Uno since last November after having been with AAISP for 4 years, there was nothing wrong with AAISP just I felt that their cost per month was not competitive what the product (VDSL) I was provided.

I always use ISPReview to look for a provider always based on customer service reviews, Uno have the same structure of support as AAISP but their price per month was more competitive.

I worked with Matt right from the start for the install, everything went to plan/date as expected no faffing around.

At the start of lockdown I noticed a quite severe impact to my service, I again dealt with Matt, the troubleshooting went on for I won't lie 2 months! Matt is tenacious and never gives up! we knew straight away there was a congestion issue, proving where that was, was the difficult part!!! like all ISP's in the UK they have to deal normally with BT Openreach!! this is where UNO and Matt shined, Openreach support to the ISP's in the UK is nothing short of disgraceful! basically Matt had to persistently go through Openareach's L1 team, they sent 7 different engineers, all with the mindset that it had to be something in my house or in the cable back to the cabinet, it took until the 7th Opeanreach engineer to confirm the Street Cabinet had the congestion issue due to not being provisioned for the amount of connections! Kudos to Matt!!!! he never gave up

Time With Provider: 9 Months
Package Name: Fibre Pro
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 18th Jun, 2020    By: Tone
Title: Just ace.
Been with Uno since they were Xilo and after having ENDLESS hassle with BT back in the day, Uno are a breath of fresh air. Tickets are replied to FAST and politely, connection is ROCK SOLID, fixed IP, no port blocks, support the Open Rights Group, blah blah! Love em!

Time With Provider: 7 Years
Package Name: Uno Fibre+
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 29th Mar, 2020    By: Paul32
I moved from PlusNet to Uno a few months ago and haven't looked back at all. The transition was very smooth from Uno's side, and from the minute the switch-over occurred, everything has been positive. I wasn't expecting speeds to increase, but was pleasantly surprised to find I'm getting a higher sync speed since the switch-over and actual throughput is higher as well, ping is nice and low too.

The coronavirus lockdown has highlighted that not all ISPs are created equal, as I've witnessed the frustrations colleagues are having with their ISPs, but Uno just keeps on being fast and reliable, super pleased I made the switch.


Time With Provider: 3 Months
Package Name: Duo Pro
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 21st Mar, 2020    By: robmar0se
Have been with Uno (Xilo) for 10 years - what I really liked was the tremendous fast response to issues.

However over 12 months, we have had several issues with Uno's email forwarding systems

Uno support are unable or won't resolve.


So regretably after 10 years we have to find a new home - much regretted.

Reply to UNO response.

Economical with the truth - in all cases examples were given.

(1) We would see messages on Mailwasher, but not on their webmail system FACT - the latter is a service they provide.

(2) UNO is changing the webmail service. we gave 2 examples were in the current webmail service we could see in 1 case an inline picture, and another with a separate attachment - the new system which switches over in April, neither of these items show - FACT. Again these are services provided by UNO over which we have no control.
It doesn't make sense to replace 1 system with another which is unreliable.

We no longer have any confidence in UNOs services

Time With Provider: 10 Years
Package Name: Soho 100
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Response From uno - 20th Mar, 2020

We appreciate the feedback, especially when it is fair. However, in this case we don't believe it is, especially where that service isn't provided by us.

The customer reported issues with a service indirectly provided and the claims of missing messages could never be proven. In a choice of one of three third party webmail clients, the missing messages could be seen and viewed.

Further more, the customer reported that two emails were missing attachments when in fact these messages were using inline encoded content to make up a HTML formatted message. When rendered, the attachments do not show because they form part of the message.

There is certainly no issue that we are unable, or won't resolve but can only do so where there is evidence that such problem exists and this was not the case.

Notably we do not provide an email forwarding system and have never done so in the past.

Posted: 05th Feb, 2020    By: KingJim
Title: Great ISP
Very happy!

Time With Provider: 2 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 19th Aug, 2019    By: thehiker
Four years ago I took out a capped ADSL2+ SOHO broadband service with UNO. I had become increasingly unhappy with the variable speed and connection reliability of my previous mainstream ISP. I subsequently also moved my phone line to UNO.

The stability and reliability of my broadband product has been excellent, as has been UNO's support on the few occasions when I have raised non-technical support tickets. I have not had any technical problems to raise. I have been able to get very cheap phone line rental by paying for one year in advance and phone calls are incredibly cheap.

As a personal user, I found an upgrade to UNO's more business grade Superfast Fibre offer to be rather expensive. A recent support ticket asking UNO about any cheaper FTTC alternatives coincided with the week in which they announced the new Duo product range. After several support tickets seeking clarification about the new Duo products, I felt reassured and ordered the Duo Pro 40/10 product. I am now in my second week as a UNO Duo user and am very satisfied with my FTTC broadband service. Download and upload speeds are consistent with the predictions for my line.

UNO is an attractive option - they provide an excellent service and now with the launch of the Duo products, they also offer very good value for the home user.

Time With Provider: 4 Years
Package Name: SOHO broadband and now Duo Pro
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 13th Aug, 2019    By: doublerabbit
From day one its just worked. Got home from work, not looking forward to all the fun you have to do with other providers to get your internet working.

Was I in for a surprise. It worked. Plugged all cables and entered user/password and vola! Internet.

Currently live in the city centre where fibre isn't available and the connection & line to the old flat isn't the greatest, but mind you this has been the best I've had in a long while.

If more companies were like uno, the world would be a better place. I feel well assured that the quality I'm getting will last, and that there is support around the corner if I need it. No complaints. Solid.

It has all the features I need plus it just works. It works as it should if not better. Seeing as I work in the internet tech field I was astonished how Uno can do everything so correct and any others so wrong. Give uno a try, scrap any of the mainstream crap you see because they really are quite crap.

Uptime: 28 days 2 hours 9 mins 48 secs since Day1

Time With Provider: 1 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Onestream £19.99 (*27.99)
    Avg. Speed 45Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • TalkTalk £21.00 (*29.95)
    Avg. Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • NOW TV £22.00 (*40.00)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £22.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £22.00
    Avg. Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (2910)
  2. BT (2826)
  3. FTTC (1812)
  4. Building Digital UK (1776)
  5. Politics (1714)
  6. Openreach (1667)
  7. Business (1491)
  8. FTTH (1345)
  9. Mobile Broadband (1281)
  10. Statistics (1276)
  11. 4G (1105)
  12. Fibre Optic (1087)
  13. Wireless Internet (1050)
  14. Ofcom Regulation (1044)
  15. Virgin Media (1035)
  16. EE (729)
  17. Vodafone (708)
  18. TalkTalk (690)
  19. Sky Broadband (686)
  20. 5G (570)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules