Sponsored Links

B311 antenna help

cxsmc91

Casual Member
Hi im new to mobile broadband and I really don't understand most of the technical information I've been trying to decipher. I've been on 3 broadband via the b311 router for 2 months now as my talktalk broadband is absolutely awful (2mb down. Constant disconnections) and I can't get fibre where I live. I live on a third floor flat, I've tested many spots and at times I've managed to get the 4g speeds into the 10's but the positions are unfeasible. Just standing by the window I get 3-4mbs but the connection fluctuates and drops regularly. Just last night I decided to build a tower of boxes by the window and switch it to 3g only and suddenly I'm getting nearly 10mbs down consistently! I'm just wondering what more I can do and if an antenna could help me take advantage of higher 4g speeds. I've read about poynting antennas being good but the ones that come with two sma connectors, do I just use the one as the b311 router only has one port. Does it just work the same?

I would like to get the best I can out of this
Thanks for any help.

From what information you've shared I'm inclined to say that you're experiencing network congestion (on 4G) rather than having limitation caused by the radio connection (from your router to the mast).
You state that you're in a flat so I'm assuming that you're in an urban environment where usually there is a more dense network, but also higher levels congestion.

To begin to understand if your radio connection is the limitation (and if you'd see any improvement by using an antenna) knowing the radio metrics is key.
RSRP and SINR particularly useful, but RSRQ and RSSI to an extent too.
Those values can be found in the UI of the router at [Advanced] > [System] > [Device Information].
They do fluctuate continuously, so refreshing the page a few times within a minute and getting a feel for the average value is advised.