Sponsored Links

Could anyone please help me

Hello all,

I am hoping someone can help as i have been going round and round and my head is overloaded with info, but no possible solution. I am not very technical so please excuse if i get the mbps and mb etc wrong.

I have been with talk talk for over 5 years and not really had a problem with anything technical. The broadband etc has always been stable. I worked from home for 3 years using the companies many operational systems and again no problem with speed up/downloads etc.

I have been offered my dream job working from home however then need proof of my speed which needs to be ping under 50, upload above 1 mbps, download above 5 mbps, failure will mean i loose the job offer and possibly my home too. Currently, i am getting on a speed test ping=43, up=0.6 and down 3.8. I have called talk talk to see if they can increase my bandwith but they say they can not and that i am getting a very good line speed at 3.6

I cannot get fibre living rurally ( outskirts of a main town). I have done a check on openreach website and it says that
Post Code: xxxxxxx
Exchange Status: unservedpremises
Text:
Your cabinet is enabled for Superfast fibre however you're not able to order fibre just yet.
This might be because the length of the line is too long to get Superfast speeds. We're actively looking at other options

I am going to call openreach monday however i doubt they will be able to give me any lead time or anything so i dont hold out much hope there.

If anyone could assist with a solution i would be grateful

Thank you
Marni

Sponsored Links
It would appear you are on an ADSL line. If there are no alternative suppliers in the vicinity such as Virgin Media then you are probably out of luck. Fibre on Demand etc would be prohibitively high cost and take too long.

Try Openreach and see if you can determine any imminent plans

If you can talk to some of your neighbours to see what they are getting.

I only see three remedies: