Sponsored

Hostdepartment problems

DrT

Casual Member
Anyone here use Hostdepartment as a web site host?

I've been using their free hosting servoce for a couple of years, very happy with it - until - I found I couldn't log on to edit the site with the correct (I've checked) username and password.

Anyone had this experience?

I've tried using the controls to issue me a new password - but no emailed password ever arrives. So now presumably the account has a new password which is unknown to me.

Anyone got any suggestions how to contact them? They don't respond to emails from free hosting customers, and the only details I've been able to find are some US addresses.

I'll probably end up having to start a new site somewhere else and it'll take forever to get indexed by the search engines, and I'll have no way of knowing what other sites have a link to the old address, so I'm reluctant to do this unless I absolutely have to.

All comments would be welcome!

Alan

Kits

Super Moderator
Staff member
ISPreview Team
I would look at the paid hosting there are many cheap ones around. I am hosted in the UK and the hosting company is very cheap considering others have to be hosted in the USA to get these prices.
check out nervehosting the servers are in london
I have been with this company for almost 12 months and they have recently moved all customers to the UK from the USA. I have found the service very good.

DrT

Casual Member
Thanks for the suggestion Kitty.

Although I would like to be able to stay with the current host and update the site, it looks as though I'll have to start a new site somewhere and I think I could run to the cost of a paid service if the service I get is better!

Mind you, I'd still like to be able to put a redirect on the old site until all the serach engines etc have caught onto the new one...

Kits

Super Moderator
Staff member
ISPreview Team