Sponsored Links

Just Signed up with 3 Homefi would like some advice on equipment

gjao

Hi,

Just signed up with 3 Homefi, was hoping for a little advice as I am totally new to 4g routers etc.

3 are sending me out a Huawei B311, now not to knock free kit but the Wi-Fi on that is only 2.4Ghz and I would prefer both 2.4Ghz and 5Ghz. I also think that the router probably isn’t the best piece of kit around as its free, so really what I am looking for is a router that has external antennae for both 4G LTE and Wi-Fi (2 each), preferably good for gaming (QOS or the like) and would also make the most of picking up the maximum possible speed from the three network?

Also, in the future I may want to get an omni directional 4g antenna on the roof of my house, however I may be limited in what I can pick due to environmental restrictions, I live in a valley, and a ferocious wind passes through at times, really much more windy that you are currently imagining. Due to the wind my TV arial is inside the attic, otherwise it blows away, could I mount a 4G aerial inside the attic and still get decent performance? Or does anyone have a recommendation for sturdy, low profile, low cross-section roof antennae?

Any thing else you can think of that I may need or need to know will be welcome, thanks for taking the time to read this.

I have 3 HomeFi also and I use the Huawei 5186. It supports CAT6 LTE which is a plus according to forums I read!

I have just bought an external omni atenna too, but not fitted. At the moment I get 60mb/s download which is good for where I live. I got it from ebay and it is a vertical tube, with fittings for pole mount or wall mount. I would be suprised if you couldn't fit it securely. I have been using a app called LTEWatch_H which provides a real-time view of the signal strength, so you can move the aerial to see where it works best - you could use that to see if the antenna would work OK in your attic.