Sponsored Links

Smarty 5G mobile wifi

coppercable

Casual Member
I am currently using my Smarty SIM in an old mobile router to get 4g wifi on the move.
I notice that 5g mobile broadband devices are very expensive, c. £400+. I am no expert on these tech things, but would it possible to buy, say, a cheap Motorola G50 5g phone and set it up to broadcast a mobile wifi tethering so I can get 5g on the move?

I am currently using my Smarty SIM in an old mobile router to get 4g wifi on the move.
I notice that 5g mobile broadband devices are very expensive, c. £400+. I am no expert on these tech things, but would it possible to buy, say, a cheap Motorola G50 5g phone and set it up to broadcast a mobile wifi tethering so I can get 5g on the move?
Yes that will work fine coppercable, until the battery runs out. ☺️

Sponsored Links
Just some caveats...
A mobile phone is obviously not designed as a router, so they're not as optimised and wifi hotspot throughput might be limited, especially for multiple connected devices. The hotspot might even be limited to just 2.4Ghz wifi depending on the device and software configuration available.

Just some caveats...
A mobile phone is obviously not designed as a router, so they're not as optimised and wifi hotspot throughput might be limited, especially for multiple connected devices. The hotspot might even be limited to just 2.4Ghz wifi depending on the device and software configuration available.
Oh you big party pooper Gavin, but quite right pointing out the possible downfalls. (y)

Sponsored Links
just a side note, the Moto G50 can do 5GHz tethering. I know because I've used one :)

Out of noseyness just checked my Samsung tablet and it can do both (not together), but my mobile Mi 10T Lite, I can't seem to find the setting to chose which frequency to use.:unsure:

Sponsored Links