Sponsored Links

Weather impact on 4G

Hi,

I know humidity and in particular precipitation will degrade a cellular signal. In real terms, how much? I ask because I am trying out mobile broadband and want to understand the likely impact of heavy rain. I am getting 4 bars out of 5 so I expect I might loose some speed but unlikely to crap out completely. What is other people's experience?

I am on 4G Vfe but not sure which frequncy - guessing 800Mhz but not sure?

C

The size of the raindrops has to match the wavelength before rain has much effect. It used to cause 2G sites linked by microwave dishes a problem, because the wavelength of a microwave point to point line is much closer to raindrop size, but I doubt many sites aren’t served by fibre links now. We’re talking frequencies up around 30-40GHz.

I used to be an engineer with Orange, they used to track weather fronts by the radio sites dropping off the network and coming back online after the front passed.

The size of the raindrops has to match the wavelength before rain has much effect. It used to cause 2G sites linked by microwave dishes a problem, because the wavelength of a microwave point to point line is much closer to raindrop size, but I doubt many sites aren’t served by fibre links now. We’re talking frequencies up around 30-40GHz.

I used to be an engineer with Orange, they used to track weather fronts by the radio sites dropping off the network and coming back online after the front passed.

Cool, thanks for that info, sounds like it is not going to cause too much of an issue then. Just so happens my current broadband provider is down today and I am working from home - the mobile broadband is paying of already....

Sponsored Links
I have been suffering with low cloud recently and that has knocked the B525 1800 Band 3 down from 3 bars to zero but it was still downloading. Changing to 800 band 20 got 3 bars back but bandwidth is limited on Three.