Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Aquiss Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
101 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 07th Jan, 2020    By: NerdlandBart
With so many providers pushing bundles it is refreshing to just get unrestricted /29 IPv4 and /56 IPv6 with freedom to pick your own configuration. In the rare cases that I have needed to ask questions, responses have been fast, helpful and personal. The connection is highly available, has throughput close to the maximum advertised and low latency to the UK and international sites I need.

Time With Provider: 3 Years
Package Name: Family unlimited fibre option 2
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 07th Jan, 2020    By: kallehlol
Fantastic provider ticks all the boxes and so much more Martin is a credit to the industry.

Time With Provider: 9 Months
Package Name: FTTC
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 23rd Aug, 2019    By: Marti4578
After leaving for the first time due to the Attitude of the MD Martin Pitt I decided to give him another go. Everything has been fine but I had 2 issues with the Service slowing down due to upload apparently this is normal and well I've not noticed it before with other services. The second issue I had was with the Speed. I had to upload the details via bt Speedtest as per. Well after several speed tests that Aquiss had logged incorrectly incidentally one was well below the threshold Martin tells me that he won't be logging a call to BT to take a look. He then explained that he's running the network at 50% due to a load been added to the network. I'll be leaving as soon as possible and if you read this before you sign up I'd seriously consider your options. He just comes across as not interested in helping customers and he's the owner. I should have stayed away as its a very expensive service for the service that is received. Such a shame because at first it was great. Nevermind I'll be getting a better deal and service elsewhere.

Right to Reply (RtR) Response by Aquiss (DO NOT REMOVE)
Related Rule(s) - http://www.ispreview.co.uk/rules.shtml#3
Dear Martin,

Let’s correct the version of events. We have not logged anything incorrectly. You started to report a speed issue that your downloads were crippled when uploading. We asked you to complete a BT speedtest, the tester as you know was erroring or reporting some erroneous results. Then yesterday, 22nd August 2019, you sent in a valid result that fell within the acceptable range for your line. You were then advised until that test fails, we are unable to proceed at this time to raise with Openreach. This was unacceptable to you.

As I’ve personally explained to you twice yesterday, we are not running our network at 50%. I explained to you we have actually doubled our backhaul capacity recently, thus the network loads are operating no higher than at 50% capacity at peak times. That’s completely different to how you are portraying things. My only fault is giving you knowledge to commercial backend operations as part of the fault finding process.

Your personal views of myself aside, past and present, both here and in direct tickets, we have maintained an open dialogue throughout, 40 ticket replies over a 5 day period. Is that someone who is not interested?

Martin Pitt

Managing Director


Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 09th Sep, 2018    By: thatinkjar
I don't usually take the time to write reviews (shame on me) but I've been with Aquiss for a decade now (originally at my parents' place and more recently at my new house) and it's never been anything less than excellent. I think their pricing is fair and I always get the best speeds on offer in our area (consistently 80 Mbits download and 20 Mbits upload). I think what sets Aquiss apart from other ISPs (in my experience at least) is their support: they're very proactive at reaching out to customers with announcements and news, and they go above and beyond when it comes to troubleshooting problems. I simply wouldn't have a connection at my new house without their help as BT and Openreach kept screwing things up and it needed a company with experience, expertise and a personal touch to resolve my specific set of issues. I'd highly recommend giving them a call and seeing if they can offer a suitable service :)

Time With Provider: 10 Years
Package Name: Broadband: Family Unlimited Fibre
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 30th May, 2018    By: gordon48uk
Title: Resolved
Spoke with Managing Director, problem resolved.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 13th Jul, 2017    By: welshdemon
Title: Awful
I cannot believe that number 7 in the top 10 ISP list is this bad. I'm a web designer / I.T. technician and work from home. I have 78mbps fibre on a new phone line, and 3 other lines (and ISPs) at home to compare against. I have had lots of problems. The most recent, gmail and hotmail do not work. WTF?? Service status "We are investigating email issues" for 2 days! Email issues? All I want is to access a flippin website. I urgently need email for work! Thanks god for the other lines I have, but it's hassle swapping LAN cables over just to get on gmail and hotmail...! Previous problems include - speeds as low as 7mbps at peak time - Friday evening for instance was almost unbearable. 7mbps on a line which can handle 78mbps? What? Also a couple of disconnects on occasion. I'm off to check my contract with them and see about cancelling. Maybe once they were one of the top 3 ISPs in the UK but now they certainly are not. Heck I've had less problems using the cheaper, major providers. Just for saving a few £ on activation fee I went with these guys, I regret it. Go to their account control panel and click "Open Support Ticket" and you get "No departments available to fill in a support ticket" seems very unprofessional. Not sure if they were always like this?

ISPreview Sanctioned 'Right to Reply' (RtR) by Aquiss Follows (DO NOT REMOVE)

Related Rule(s) - http://www.ispreview.co.uk/rules.shtml#3

Dear welshdemon, I'm sorry to read that your experience is not as you had hoped. If you can provide any ticket references where you have reported this to us, I would be more than happy to personally check your specific account personally. I can confirm, at the time of writing, we are dealing with an highly unusual situation with email protocols not working for some customers. This is off our network, within the core network of one of our upstream providers. We expect a resolution shortly. Our support desk and support pages are where they have always been, located at http://support.aquiss.net/ and working just fine. Likewise, our telephone support is available 9.00am until 5.00pm Kind Regards Martin Pitt Managing Director Aquiss Limited


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 28th Apr, 2017    By: Kits
I have now been with Aquiss since 2008, during this time I have not had any major issues at all. I have regraded my packages as better speeds became available I now have FTTC 80/20.

I do not find any slowing down in the evenings like I had with VM. I did have a gradual sync drop over a year but found updating the firmware to the Draytek BT accepted version increased my sync back upto 72Mbps an increase of albout 15Mbps.

I have spoken to support a few times mainly for upgrading packages with the odd BT outage. I find that they do keep you informed via Twitter and now facebook.

I do not see any reason to go looking for new supplier since very happy with the one I have. I could change package again starting a new 12 month contract but that would just be to reduce my monthly payments. I do not see the need to since I moved to FTTC I paid the same each month throughout my contract 12 months, the good news is over 12 months later still paying the same amount no increase at the end of the contract.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 12th Nov, 2016    By: BWheel
So far impressed with Aquiss overall service. Moved from EE to Aquiss & unfortunately EE did not transfer my line & broadband correctly in which services were ceased. This meant Aquiss could not provide me with services on the transfer day. However they called myself to let me know of the situation & did everything they could to get my services up & running asap. I dealt with Martin who was very efficient in dealing with the issues regarding the transfer & kept myself fully up to date. Phone & fibre services running fine, will leave as another review regarding speed.
I would highly recommend anyone moving from EE to a provider like Aquiss who offer separate phone & broadband to make sure EE aware line & broadband are being transferred.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 21st Sep, 2016    By: sjmorgan
I've been with Aquiss for about 6 months now and over that period of time performance has gotten progressively worse.

I'm on their FTTC package and speeds regularly dip to about a quarter of the normal speed, although today things are even worse and I'm getting speeds that are slow even by ADSL standards.

I've had to constantly chase up their support, run tests only to be told that it's a network wide problem that they're aware of and I'm going to have to wait another week when "planned work" will be performed which they say will resolve the problem.

All this and I'm paying over £50 for the privilege.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 25th Jul, 2016    By: Walnut
I've been with Demon since dial-up was the only way to have internet access. I've watched them grow from a relatively small ISP dedicated to customer support with quality technicians to the now seemingly standard corporate IT with customer and technical support read from a script.

I decided on a change and used ISPreview to help me select a new supplier. I made contact with a few from the "costs more but better quality" group. Aquiss stood out in both the quality and the rapidness of response to queries. We had an open and honest chat about the distance I am from the exchange and the fact that my speed wouldn't change etc.

I signed up and was able to rediect various email domains thru Aquiss servers even before the broadband was enabled, the switch was simple, painless and on the day they promised.

Amazingly for me, both my upload and download speeds increased by a few k (I'm miles from the exchange so a few k is a big percentage increase) - and that was due to the fact that the line is truly unlimited (Demon told me the same thing, but were clearly mis-informed).

So far, everything is working exactly as I hoped and expected. I would recommend Aquiss everytime.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £19.95 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £50 Gift Card
  • SSE £22.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
  • xln telecom £22.74 (*47.94)
    Avg. Speed 66Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £22.95
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Plusnet £22.99 (*35.98)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £70 Reward Card
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2654)
  2. FTTP (2461)
  3. FTTC (1722)
  4. Building Digital UK (1663)
  5. Politics (1542)
  6. Openreach (1512)
  7. Business (1326)
  8. FTTH (1235)
  9. Statistics (1157)
  10. Mobile Broadband (1130)
  11. Fibre Optic (1020)
  12. 4G (976)
  13. Ofcom Regulation (973)
  14. Wireless Internet (972)
  15. Virgin Media (936)
  16. EE (651)
  17. Sky Broadband (639)
  18. TalkTalk (618)
  19. Vodafone (604)
  20. 3G (441)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules