Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Aquiss Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
89 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 09th Sep, 2018    By: thatinkjar
I don't usually take the time to write reviews (shame on me) but I've been with Aquiss for a decade now (originally at my parents' place and more recently at my new house) and it's never been anything less than excellent. I think their pricing is fair and I always get the best speeds on offer in our area (consistently 80 Mbits download and 20 Mbits upload). I think what sets Aquiss apart from other ISPs (in my experience at least) is their support: they're very proactive at reaching out to customers with announcements and news, and they go above and beyond when it comes to troubleshooting problems. I simply wouldn't have a connection at my new house without their help as BT and Openreach kept screwing things up and it needed a company with experience, expertise and a personal touch to resolve my specific set of issues. I'd highly recommend giving them a call and seeing if they can offer a suitable service :)

Time With Provider: 10 Years
Package Name: Broadband: Family Unlimited Fibre
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 30th May, 2018    By: gordon48uk
Title: Resolved
Spoke with Managing Director, problem resolved.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 13th Jul, 2017    By: welshdemon
Title: Awful
I cannot believe that number 7 in the top 10 ISP list is this bad. I'm a web designer / I.T. technician and work from home. I have 78mbps fibre on a new phone line, and 3 other lines (and ISPs) at home to compare against. I have had lots of problems. The most recent, gmail and hotmail do not work. WTF?? Service status "We are investigating email issues" for 2 days! Email issues? All I want is to access a flippin website. I urgently need email for work! Thanks god for the other lines I have, but it's hassle swapping LAN cables over just to get on gmail and hotmail...! Previous problems include - speeds as low as 7mbps at peak time - Friday evening for instance was almost unbearable. 7mbps on a line which can handle 78mbps? What? Also a couple of disconnects on occasion. I'm off to check my contract with them and see about cancelling. Maybe once they were one of the top 3 ISPs in the UK but now they certainly are not. Heck I've had less problems using the cheaper, major providers. Just for saving a few £ on activation fee I went with these guys, I regret it. Go to their account control panel and click "Open Support Ticket" and you get "No departments available to fill in a support ticket" seems very unprofessional. Not sure if they were always like this?

ISPreview Sanctioned 'Right to Reply' (RtR) by Aquiss Follows (DO NOT REMOVE)

Related Rule(s) - http://www.ispreview.co.uk/rules.shtml#3

Dear welshdemon, I'm sorry to read that your experience is not as you had hoped. If you can provide any ticket references where you have reported this to us, I would be more than happy to personally check your specific account personally. I can confirm, at the time of writing, we are dealing with an highly unusual situation with email protocols not working for some customers. This is off our network, within the core network of one of our upstream providers. We expect a resolution shortly. Our support desk and support pages are where they have always been, located at http://support.aquiss.net/ and working just fine. Likewise, our telephone support is available 9.00am until 5.00pm Kind Regards Martin Pitt Managing Director Aquiss Limited


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 28th Apr, 2017    By: Kits
I have now been with Aquiss since 2008, during this time I have not had any major issues at all. I have regraded my packages as better speeds became available I now have FTTC 80/20.

I do not find any slowing down in the evenings like I had with VM. I did have a gradual sync drop over a year but found updating the firmware to the Draytek BT accepted version increased my sync back upto 72Mbps an increase of albout 15Mbps.

I have spoken to support a few times mainly for upgrading packages with the odd BT outage. I find that they do keep you informed via Twitter and now facebook.

I do not see any reason to go looking for new supplier since very happy with the one I have. I could change package again starting a new 12 month contract but that would just be to reduce my monthly payments. I do not see the need to since I moved to FTTC I paid the same each month throughout my contract 12 months, the good news is over 12 months later still paying the same amount no increase at the end of the contract.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 12th Nov, 2016    By: BWheel
So far impressed with Aquiss overall service. Moved from EE to Aquiss & unfortunately EE did not transfer my line & broadband correctly in which services were ceased. This meant Aquiss could not provide me with services on the transfer day. However they called myself to let me know of the situation & did everything they could to get my services up & running asap. I dealt with Martin who was very efficient in dealing with the issues regarding the transfer & kept myself fully up to date. Phone & fibre services running fine, will leave as another review regarding speed.
I would highly recommend anyone moving from EE to a provider like Aquiss who offer separate phone & broadband to make sure EE aware line & broadband are being transferred.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 21st Sep, 2016    By: sjmorgan
I've been with Aquiss for about 6 months now and over that period of time performance has gotten progressively worse.

I'm on their FTTC package and speeds regularly dip to about a quarter of the normal speed, although today things are even worse and I'm getting speeds that are slow even by ADSL standards.

I've had to constantly chase up their support, run tests only to be told that it's a network wide problem that they're aware of and I'm going to have to wait another week when "planned work" will be performed which they say will resolve the problem.

All this and I'm paying over £50 for the privilege.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 25th Jul, 2016    By: Walnut
I've been with Demon since dial-up was the only way to have internet access. I've watched them grow from a relatively small ISP dedicated to customer support with quality technicians to the now seemingly standard corporate IT with customer and technical support read from a script.

I decided on a change and used ISPreview to help me select a new supplier. I made contact with a few from the "costs more but better quality" group. Aquiss stood out in both the quality and the rapidness of response to queries. We had an open and honest chat about the distance I am from the exchange and the fact that my speed wouldn't change etc.

I signed up and was able to rediect various email domains thru Aquiss servers even before the broadband was enabled, the switch was simple, painless and on the day they promised.

Amazingly for me, both my upload and download speeds increased by a few k (I'm miles from the exchange so a few k is a big percentage increase) - and that was due to the fact that the line is truly unlimited (Demon told me the same thing, but were clearly mis-informed).

So far, everything is working exactly as I hoped and expected. I would recommend Aquiss everytime.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 13th Jul, 2016    By: Salva
About 18 months ago I found myself here on ISP review looking to change providers.

At the time I was with Xilo on a standard broadband package but I was aware that the new cabinet for fiber to cab was up at the end of my street and good to go.

(I myself put the electricity supply into it 2 days prior)

Xilo had quoted me a new connection fee of over £70 (which I believe is passed down to them by BT who make the change over) as well as a months standard broadband fee and Fiber fee - the total was around £150 including VAT.

As Xilo refused to budge I came here to see who was at the top of the list.

I read a couple of reviews and made a call to Aquiss.
After a couple of simple questions they quoted me nothing but the monthly fee for the FTC broadband it's self as they would swallow the charge passed onto them by BT.

Deal I was in!
That afternoon I got a phone call from Martin who asked me a few questions about how I planned to use the service (for me it's gaming, and streaming both up and down.)

Within a week my new connection was in! I'd went from 6 down and 0.25 up to 72 down and 20 up!
It settled and dropped off a bit as more people got connected to the new cabinet at around 55/15.

Iv'e been problem free up until a few weeks ago, My other half had first noticed issues streaming from SKY, I was having 1 or two internet drops a night.

So over the last 24 hours I done some speed tests I was getting on average 5 down and 6 up.

I sent a low priority ticket this morning to Aquiss, to which Martin responded within the hour, After some back and forth we realized the issue lies on BT's side and has now been flagged with them to be fixed.

long story short.
Moved from Xilo, not had an issue with any of Aquiss service and can commend there customer support.



Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 06th May, 2016    By: Akita47
After waiting 17 months (I know others have been waiting longer!) for our cabinet to be upgraded I couldn't wait to order a VDSL service and lose the 2.7mb connection. After doing some research I decided to leave my previous provider, who despite providing an excellent service were unable to offer an unmetered package at the time, and decided on Aquiss. From the moment I ordered online I knew I had made a good choice, I was contacted by phone around 5 minutes after I placed the order and the whole process was explained in a friendly and knowledgable manner. The date was set, the engineer (Openreach subcontractor) arrived within the timeslot and I went ahead and configured my own router - nothing. A quick email fired off to support got a reply in minutes, although I had already figured out my mistake and the connection was live. 79.9 down, 19.9 up. Streaming is perfect, downloads are fast, everything works. Having had 120mb from Virgin at a previous address I appreciate that bandwidth is not everything, as that service suffered from poor streaming despite having a "fatter pipe" - so I'm happy that Aquiss seem to be much better at managing their network traffic. TLDR version - not exactly cheap but blows anything you can get from the "big boys" out of the water. Update 31/03/2016 - Having now had cause to leave Aquiss (my new employer is providing me with a service) The hefty charge to leave (£74!!) is a little ridiculous. A shame that this now leaves a sour taste after an otherwise great service.

ISPreview Sanctioned 'Right to Reply' (RtR) by Aquiss Follows (DO NOT REMOVE)

Related Rule(s) - http://www.ispreview.co.uk/rules.shtml#3

Dear Akita47, I'm sorry to read that after you have openly stated enjoying our services, your update in March 2016 finds fault in our operations. Without knowing your details in full, a final charge of £74.00 sounds like a final contract settlement fee, adjusted to reflect service charges to the end of a minimum contract term. We have openly stated for a number of years, directly on our pre-sales pages, the exact charges that maybe applicable in certain situations if ending a service with Aquiss, however, if you feel charges have been applied incorrectly, please do contact us and ask for myself. I will only be too happy to review the situation. Kind Regards Martin Pitt Managing Director Aquiss Limited


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 05th May, 2016    By: SirSourPuss
For the first few months of being with Aquiss the connection was excellent, with very high up/down speeds and really low latencies. This was the expected quality of service for having a 50pound family package. Aquiss makes it public that they prioritize business traffic during business hours. I found it fair, and found no issues with it during the first few months. However, after the first few months my connection started experiencing irregular periods of terrible quality. Download rates decreased to <1Mbps and latencies increased massively, in spikes. This turned out to be due to Aquiss straight out dropping between 20% and 80% (!!!!) of our packets whenever their network is heavily loaded. This happens usually during what they claim to be business hours, but is not limited to that time. It's the worst during "Windows patch Wednesdays", where the Internet is completely unusable until about 5pm. Usually happens to all the machines on the network (student flat), but sometimes one PC is free of issues, so the prioritization seems to be IP bound. Letting the customer service know about this does not accomplish anything. A ticket is opened and closed soon afterwards, sometimes even on the same day, without the issue being actually resolved. Changing my provider soon, do not recommend, definitely not worth 50 pounds/month.

ISPreview Sanctioned 'Right to Reply' (RtR) by Aquiss Follows (DO NOT REMOVE)

Related Rule(s) - http://www.ispreview.co.uk/rules.shtml#3

Dear SirSourPuss, Myself and the team here are currently aware of just one customer reporting the problems you have mentioned here, so I'm presuming you are the same customer who we are already in open consultation with. This is an unusual, but ongoing case, but as explained to you, this is currently with our product development and network teams. All feedback is fed in, however, where just one customer is reporting a case, instant results and answers are not always possible, especially where limited data is available for investigation. We however do not drop network packets as you are stating as part of network management policy; our technical customer base would eat for breakfast if we did. Likewise, we do not have network equipment that is able to prioritise traffic within your own LAN. The experience from ourselves will be equal for all devices connected. I can therefore only presume you have further QoS within your local LAN. Tickets are automatically closed upon each reply we send out and are automatically reopened when a customer replies. As 97% of tickets we send out never get replied to, this is a best practice policy. Kind Regards Martin Pitt Managing Director Aquiss Limited


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £15.00 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 30Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Code: BLACKFRIDAY
  • Vodafone £20.00 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • TalkTalk £22.50
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Plusnet £23.99 (*34.98)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Origin Broadband £24.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2265)
  2. FTTP (1723)
  3. FTTC (1498)
  4. Broadband Delivery UK (1480)
  5. Openreach (1213)
  6. Politics (1211)
  7. Business (1079)
  8. Statistics (952)
  9. Fibre Optic (871)
  10. Mobile Broadband (869)
  11. FTTH (803)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (800)
  13. Wireless Internet (796)
  14. 4G (753)
  15. Virgin Media (735)
  16. Sky Broadband (542)
  17. TalkTalk (519)
  18. EE (502)
  19. Vodafone (393)
  20. Security (367)
Aquiss - Broadband Fixed Line Rated 4.162921348314606 / 5 based on 89 reviews. | Review Me
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules