Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Virgin Media Reviews

Sponsored Links
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
252 Reviews
Value
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 03rd Jan, 2024    By: Hitesh
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Anyway about to leave Virgin after 18 months, during contact mostly smooth sailing.
Gave notice to leave when contract end.
For some unknown reason £7.50 late payment penalty was slapped on for no reason D/D was spot on 6th like every other month.
Took 5 hours to get it resolved via app,live chat,WhatsApp.
They agreed to refund original £7.50 + £9.30 compensation.
Week later checking app again No sign of agreed credit.
Going to spend another 4 hours on WhatsApp.
How on in hell are they running a company?
Thanks God (I am Atheist) I've got one foot out of the door
6th November update:
Again after long protracted WhatsApp chat nothing resolved,
Asked to wait further 48 hours for resolution......
3/1/24 update
Finally got a refund as end of contract invoice.
My advice to those seeking to join Virgin is Don't!
Don't
Zero response from customer service why refund was reduced.



Time With Provider: 78 Weeks
Package Name: Home Broadband
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 02nd Jan, 2024    By: RR-THE-IT-GUY
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Had faults since the service started, had faults when left, had faults the whole time, the support team were incompetent. The engineers told me to stop logging faults as they would not fix them.

I kept logging faults and they threaten to charge me, the HUB 3 caught fire and burnt. The HUB 4 died.

The coax died and they refused to replace for over 2 months, so I had support calls every day until they replaced and saw the same engineer each week and on bank holidays and they still refused to fix.

So in the end I kept going and after 20+ engineer appointments that was resolved however then there was an oversubscription and SNR fault. I was persistent showed the engineer the evidence, made an ofcom complaint and was compensated.

I still persisted and evenly it was resolved.
The core network went down when a configuration error was made which took down the whole of their network at a UK level.

Never had such bad service and will never go back to Virgin Media ever again.

Time With Provider: 7 Years
Package Name: M50, M100, M500
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 29th Dec, 2023    By: MJ1
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
I was a new customer. They sent me a second-hand router caked in dust from the previous home it had been in. Took 18 hours to get hold of them and then they cut me off. Trying to cancel my contract and can't get hold of anyone. If this is how they treat new customers just imagine how they treat people who are already locked in

Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 01st Jul, 2023    By: Sperafucile
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
I have been a customer of Virgin Media for far too long. It has always been expensive at £80.00 per month but the service reliability and customer service has collapsed completely in the last year. The last in a line of debacles has been the last week's email outage. I have been unable to contact Virgin Media in any way known to humanity for over a week and am now actively searching for something better! 👺

Time With Provider: 10 Years
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 23rd Dec, 2022    By: rain111
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
I have had VM for over 10yrs while it was great, it has never always been smooth the whole time, in the last 2 years I will have no internet for a day or so a couple of months for no reason, and 80% of the time I'll never get the speed I pay for (e.g. Gig1 I'd get between 200~350Mb if I am lucky) their customer service is a nightmare, they say they look into it, but never do, you have to follow up, my hubs had to be replaced 7 times in 2 years period because of issues (hub 4), and then if I am disconnected for more than 24hrs they say there is compensation, but I never had anything from them, just lies, they ignore you unless you follow and call them back when issues are still present.

Over-priced for speeds you never truly get, and their excuse is that my equipment is at fault (which isn't and showed them proof), I had enough of their pitiful upload speed, just pathetic.

The biggest reason why I stayed that long with VM, was there were no other providers that offered such high-speed connection, the likes of BT/Sky etc.

I terminated my contract with VM and boy am I glad, I have to give credit to the termination team, they were delightful to deal with, which is surprising, I thought they would give me hard time and try to offer me some deal (just want to out), this has been my problem with VM, I hope no one else has it.

Time With Provider: 15 Years
Package Name: Gig1
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 27th Jul, 2022    By: dylan
Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star
Support is the real problem. They use foreign call centres and the standard of english is pretty hit and miss.

High pressure sales is also a big problem. The initial price is good and there are some good deals available. But you _must_ renegotiate at the end of your contract term. Even then, they will raise the price a few months after the start of contract so you need to chase them for price again.

I didn't have any problems with the network itself which I just use for browsing and video streaming. I don't like the political filtering but that's not their fault.

Time With Provider: 26 Years
Package Name: M100
Value
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Posted: 12th Oct, 2021    By: Stickeye
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Virgin media offer the worst customer service I have ever experienced.

They ignore your complaints, closing them without notice.. Their call centre team managers are arrogant and rude and their Web chat team are next to useless

AVOID AT ALL COSTS



Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 03rd Oct, 2021    By: Sam_Rigg1
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Possibly the worst internet provider, at least in the UK. They have too many customers for their equipment to handle, which leads to really slow speeds and horrendous packet loss when trying to play any online games. Customer services don't care and usually hang up on you.

Time With Provider: 10 Years
Package Name: VirginMedia M200 Fibre Broadband
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 03rd Sep, 2021    By: Kieran
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
PLEASE NEVER ENTER A CONTRACT WITH VIRGIN MEDIA.

I have moved and the Virgin Media team have lied to me repeatedly. They're not just incompetent, they are trained to lie and tell you things are happening they have no intention of doing. They contradict one another and blame every other team for failures so nothing is done but they constantly promise solutions they never plan to implement. They're forcing me to stay with them despite providing no assistance and no installation of broadband whatsoever. It's a criminal act and I will seek legal recompense.

When I did the move they said the property was ready for self installation. A lie. Technician comes, there's no plates or cables. Use the online service, they promise an installation before 6. No one turns up. I call customer service: the request was never submitted. This new person promises an installation before 9pm. No one turns up. Phone back this morning. No record of that conversation either. The installation team can't book an installation because the account is open. The calls team says an engineer is coming tomorrow. I call customer services. They say no engineer is coming. I ask can one be sent. They tell me the technician has said the property may not be serviceable. So I ask to be cancelled without charge. They say they can't because it only may be unserviceable. Refuse to help or explain.

Time With Provider: 13 Months
Package Name: M100 Fibre Broadband
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 05th Aug, 2021    By: P5W
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
There's no doubt that Virgin Media supply the highest widely available speeds in the UK (and probably Ireland). I have the M200 package and have consistently high speeds of 220-222mbps. Upload about 21mbps.
Unfortunately also there is little doubt they have the worst (apart from probably TalkTalk) customer service of any any ISP. The Off-shore Call Centres are so bad they deserve minus stars alone.
My suggested VM Golden Rules:
1 If buying a package, only sign up to vouchers/cashback via a third party website, never anything verbally from VM.
2 Brace yourself for the "hidden" £35 Activation Fee which appears when you have completed your order even if you have opted for "free installation".
3 Transferring an existing landline number from the Openreach network to VM is very hit and miss, even if you have opted for this when signing up. Contacting VM again after a week is recommended as it is often not actioned at all.
4 If a Hub 3 is supplied, use it as a modem only and buy a decent router, and have full control of your broadband.
5 Rectify any problems via the VM Community Forum, as the off-shore call centres are a waste of time and effort.
5 Call the Retentions Team when you contract has ended and the monthly payment has risen and negotiate a new price, this might take a few calls to get a decent discount.

Time With Provider: 1 Months
Package Name: M200 Fibre Broadband
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £17.99
    Speed 33Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • UtilityWarehouse £19.99
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
  • NOW £23.00
    Speed 63Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £24.00
    Speed 73 - 82Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Shell Energy £24.99
    Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest Ultrafast ISPs
  • Gigaclear £15.00
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Zzoomm £19.95
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • YouFibre £19.99
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Community Fibre £21.00
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • BeFibre £21.00
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £25 Love2Shop Card
Large Availability | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Sponsored Links
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (5409)
  2. BT (3491)
  3. Politics (2499)
  4. Openreach (2279)
  5. Business (2227)
  6. Building Digital UK (2218)
  7. FTTC (2039)
  8. Mobile Broadband (1943)
  9. Statistics (1766)
  10. 4G (1641)
  11. Virgin Media (1595)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (1439)
  13. Wireless Internet (1380)
  14. Fibre Optic (1380)
  15. FTTH (1379)
  16. 5G (1217)
  17. Vodafone (1128)
  18. EE (1112)
  19. TalkTalk (927)
  20. O2 (918)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules