Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Virgin Media Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
223 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 24th Feb, 2020    By: cg0
Their broadband product for the most part is good, I don't live in an overprovisioned area so I will easily reach 380-400 mbps on a 350 mbps connection, the problem lies with the rest of Virgin.

Their Hub 3 router is just awful, I've been complaining about it for years due to it's many issues. Notibly the Puma chipset causing high latency spikes and their plaster fix causing P2P to easily drain the speed out of your connection.

It's admin configuration page is not at all good, I've seen it forget my password or sometimes crash out and stop loading.

The best you can do is put the thing in modem mode and use your own equipment beyond it which doesn't fix the chipset issues.

When trying to get support Virgin is very useless, don't be suprised to have the person on the other end not understand you, give you wrong advice or hang up. Recently I've been having an issue where my router randomly restarts, which has been a lovely back and forth which required two engineer visits to be told it's a network-wide issue, according to the agents the issue was fixed after the first engineer visit despite no work being done, agents promising credit but then saying I can't have it, callbacks being promised but never delivering.

If you have a decent alternative I'd go with that, Virgin's network can be very fast but at the same time the rest of the company lets it down.

Time With Provider: 3 Years
Package Name: M350
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 05th Aug, 2019    By: PlainTalking121
I am so tired of VM to be honest but there don't seem to be any alternatives that can offer the speed we need locally. I am paying for a M200 high speed service and yet my speed test results fluctuates between as low as 20-25, a couple of months ago and as high as 180-185 today. We still have an old Virgin 2 media hub which is garbage and never been upgraded and our monthly bill for broadband and a single line rental with no more than £5 of calls is £68-£75 and they are increasing our monthly charge yet again on Sept 1st by another £3.50!! They really are taking the p!! If anyone has any suggestions that can give me good download speeds without buffering when streaming from Amazon or Netflix then please let me know. Virgin has become expensive garbage - they might be able to afford Usain Bolt and fancy ads to shill their brand but the day to day reality tells a different story as their service provision is terrible!! If I could have given you zeros I truly would. Virgin don't give a damn about long term customers that is very apparent - their customer call centre is a joke and the best deals are always kept for new customers, who they spend a fortune to entice to their network and yet the clients they have already are treated with total disrespect and left with out of date equipment and price rise upon price rise.

Time With Provider: 9 Years
Package Name: M200
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 22nd Dec, 2018    By: burnduck
Mind you I am an IT Engineer with unusual internet requirements and this review probably isn't suited for the average consumer.

Where I live I can get Openreach FTTC at 80/20, or Virgin Media HFC.

I've been using Plusnet which gives me pretty much the full line speed, but it is starting to struggle when I'm trying to stream 4K content over the internet. That's why I thought I sign up for VM hoping to benefit from their faster internet speed.

I was issued a VM Hub 3.0, which I'm using in modem mode, along with my home router RB3011.

Blocked services:
I have a L2TP VPN server in the home network so I can remotely access resources at home. Turns out Virgin Media filters out several UDP ports (including those used by L2TP), this behaviour was discussed on VM forum but not acknowledged by VM. Also, this is not documented in the ISP KFI document issued by VM.

Speed:
Artificial test shows roughly 385 / 21.
HTTP download tests from third party sites appears to be traffice shaped - sustained speed at 200Mbps, with bursts to 400Mbps. The raising and falling edge is too sharp for me to consider it being traffic on internet. VM appears to be still traffic shaping although claiming not to.

Bottom line: VM is blocking ports (verified) / shaping traffic (?) but they claim to be not doing it. Questionable business practice. Will be cancelling within cool off period.

Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name: 350
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 03rd Oct, 2018    By: Mcphee87
The product is good; high speeds, reliable.

But the customer service department is awful; awkward, argumentative, dishonest. This wasn't one employee - I have had three problems over the year and needed to make countless phone calls to try and get them resolved. All three issues had to be logged through Resolver in the end as Virgin's own customer service department are awful. All three problems were solved quickly and to my satisfaction when escalated to a more senior team.

Value for money is okay. There are good deals available for new customers. Not so much for existing ones. And the undiscounted prices have risen to the point of being preposterous, e.g. £51/month for 100Mbps internet and the base TV service.

Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 19th Sep, 2018    By: PW
I don't know why Virgin Media constantly get bad reviews, most of the reviewers seem to focus on a bad customer service experience and can't be bother to rate speed or value for money, and rate everything with a single star.

They have the widest available ultra-fast download speed in the UK (350Mbs). Which is reasonably priced (if you haggle or get a deal) and have a 1 or 12 month contract. So what's to moan about?

I appreciate that the quality of the broadband might vary. In north Leicestershire I regularly get 216-218Mbs from my 200Mbs Download Speed, and in the four years I have been with the company there has only been 2 or 3 days when there has been problems with the network.

I would recommend having the latest modem available, and always ring Customer Service Retentions to haggle for a better price when your present monthly "deal" ends (which sometimes takes three attempts to get a good price)

I rarely ring customer customer services, but V.M. aren't using Indian Call Centres so much, which is good, and usually you are greeted by a UK based friendly operator.

Time With Provider: 4 Years
Package Name: 200MB Vivd and Home Phone
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 05th Sep, 2018    By: gaz999
I have just joined Virgin Media VIP package, having come from from BT.
My fixed download speeds are 386 mbps and upload is 21 mbps. I don't use wireless on my laptop but a recent speed test was 258 mbps down. The TV service is superb (Full House) and all in all no problems at all and certainly no cause for complaint. A very happy customer! ;-)

Time With Provider: 4 Weeks
Package Name: VIP Bundle
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 16th Aug, 2018    By: kara_t
Really awful, unhelpful and disrespectful customer service.

Once Virgin has you forget ever getting help. You'll sit on hold, then get put through to someone reading a script who generally displays no interest in actually doing more than reading the script. Heaven forbid you should ask them a question out of order or that can't be answered on the script. On top of that they are condescending and dismissive on more occasions than not.

Never mind that the services won't work or require extra steps on your part that they don’t tell you. That’s on you to figure you, because clearly Virgin isn't going to help. Really regretting signing up with Virgin. I’m pretty much paying for them to treat me like crap. No service would be better than service with Virgin at this point."

Not a thing has gone well with setting up service with Virgin Media, Virgin Mobile, or Virgin Money. I have what services I have at all due to pure personal determination rather than actual service or help from Virgin employees. All around it’s been a completely horrible experience across the board.

Time With Provider: 2 Weeks
Package Name: superfibre 50 + talk +mobile
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 31st Jul, 2018    By: Justhandguns
I have been with Virgin media since the early days. I am in general very happy with their no hassle services, speed is always great as I started off with their basic 2Mbps package and has since been upgraded several times to 100Mbps. My only complaint is the price that they charge, it is certainly not cheap for a broadband only package. The router/modem that they provide is decent at the moment, but I use my own wifi router so this is not an issue for me at all. All in all very happy with them.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 09th Jul, 2018    By: johngfitzgerald
I was a VM customer in a different area many years ago, in their early days (Telewest etc) and they were GOOD. Having moved to an area where VM was not available I settled for the best available DSL service and waited for VM to come to the new area.

That finally happened lasy year, so I duly switched to their 200Mb service and I have to say, what a disaster it has been. When it works as advertised, which is rare, it is superb, no doubt.

However, more often than not it fails to come anywhere near the advertised speeds, drops out altogether at random intervals and is generally unreliable.

Of course, when you call Cust Services (a more inappropriate name I can't imaging for this lot) you get the usual script jockey who actually knows nothing at all - I'm not a broadband expert but I am a network security specialist, and have been for over 20 years, so I know a bit, you might say - and these folks are less than useless.

I'm stuck now till end of contract but I can assure you all that I will switch away, accepting slower speeds but better reliability and service, as soon as it is possible. Shame on you VM for falling so far short of where you began. The scores below would all be zero if that were possible.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 02nd Jun, 2018    By: Dorsetwo
No complaints, so far quite good. Cable speed 5G.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £19.95 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £50 Gift Card
  • SSE £22.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
  • xln telecom £22.74 (*47.94)
    Avg. Speed 66Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £22.95
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Plusnet £22.99 (*35.98)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £70 Reward Card
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2653)
  2. FTTP (2460)
  3. FTTC (1722)
  4. Building Digital UK (1663)
  5. Politics (1542)
  6. Openreach (1512)
  7. Business (1326)
  8. FTTH (1234)
  9. Statistics (1155)
  10. Mobile Broadband (1128)
  11. Fibre Optic (1020)
  12. 4G (973)
  13. Ofcom Regulation (972)
  14. Wireless Internet (972)
  15. Virgin Media (935)
  16. EE (649)
  17. Sky Broadband (639)
  18. TalkTalk (618)
  19. Vodafone (600)
  20. 3G (438)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules