Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Virgin Media Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
230 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 17th Oct, 2020    By: handsomeinked
When I initially signed up in-store I got what I thought was a good deal, unfortunately at the time my area was over-subscribed. After 6 months (of massively discounted broadband) I finally got the speeds I was paying for. That was 1.5 years ago and, for a while everything was fine. Alas, 6 months ago things started to go awry, the hub regularly rebooting itself despite being in modem mode. However as support are so insistent the issue was my router, the hub is back in router mode and I'm still having issues, with constantly dropped connections making working from home almost impossible. I'm currently waiting for my 2nd engineer visit in as many months. Whilst the service has been unreliable it's the only ultra-fast supplier in the area so I've had to stick with them. This is all about to change as FTTP via the Openreach network seems to be coming soon. The only take away from this is the customer service teams and the engineers have been lovely and super helpful.

Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 18th Aug, 2020    By: olivercattley
ABSOLUTELY ABYSMAL

Virgin had our money for over 4 years for 200MB internet charged at £56 a month.


The low speeds, the drop outs, the hold music, the engineer visits - time and time again.

LIED to us on every possible occasion!!!. Told us theyd found the fault and "fixed it"... changed the router and "fixed it"...etc etc. Ive just found out that our line isnt capable of 200MB.. (max 60MB)
Forcing the connection I assume is whats been causing the drop out.

But the worst is yet to come - I rang to cancel last Thu and they said theyd ring me back. They didnt. SO I rang again the next day and told them the same. They told me my last day of service will be 11th of next month.

Today - A NEW CONTRACT FOR 18 MONTHS arrived in my email inbox. Completely unsolicited.

BEWARE!!!!! - It took me **** 2hr and 40 mins at the premium rate number **** to speak to someone to cancel it.

I will never trust them with another penny of my money and am going to seek to have some of mine reimbursed.

Time With Provider: 5 Years
Package Name: 200MB
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 13th Jul, 2020    By: jonezbond
Had Virgin Media for 3 years now and had no issues with the actual service. Started off on the 50mb plan which they doubled to 108mb for free after about 2 years of service which is good but the price is high compared to Openreach alternatives. However given the street I live in the only fibre option is Virgin Media unless I want 2mb broadband. No offers are offered to keep you in contract at a discounted rate like BT do. During my first year I was offered TV and no extra cost which I too but never arrived and when I spoke to Customer Services was fobbed off and then eventually told I didn’t get it as I didn’t have a phone line with them. I didn’t want a phone just to get free TV as after the first year this would have increased my bill by another £20 a months which had already increased by £10.50 a month after the first 12 months. All in all speeds are good and router has wide range so you can get a good signal across your house. However expensive

Time With Provider: 3 Years
Package Name: M100 Fibre Broadband
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 29th Jun, 2020    By: Cosh123
Appalling Customer Service I have had so many problems they are exceptionally difficult to contact when you do get through either by phone, web service desk or text service you get passed from pillar to post then dropped. This is the worst Customer Service I have ever experienced and I’m 63 years old.

Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 28th Jun, 2020    By: Panthera
Title: Horrible
Virgin Media steals money from their customers. They owe me money from an overpayment which wasn’t my fault. They deliberately keep brushing my claim under the carpet and passing me from one team to another. I’ve contacted them more than 10 times now since the beginning of March and I get ignored or given false promises. The worst company I’ve ever dealt with. Thanks for wasting hours of my time.

Time With Provider: 4 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 24th Jun, 2020    By: JitteryPinger
Earlier this year I upgraded to the Gig1 service, after receiving the Hub 4 and getting the service up and running I immediately found it not to be as expected and wanted to revert the account under the 14 day return policy, however at this point the country had gone into a state of lockdown and making contact with Virgin was proving impossible despite efforts being made via Phone, Text and also Web Chat.

I finally got the service reverted to M350 however changes that where said to be immediate then became a 30 day waiting period which has now cost me another £21.

Customer service have said that as no calls where logged for any issues that a credit would not be issued and further more said that Virgin no longer credits for partial losses of service.

I have since been told I can have the activation fee of £35 back and also that my contract will be removed from the account (which is ideal as Openreach start extending their Full Fibre FTTP towards me starting 22nd June.

After 10 years of being a customer I've finally had enough of this behaviour and thought paying £62 per month would finally see better service from them but that was wrong.

UPDATE: Complaint is now resolved with activation fee and unwanted services refund and service terminated.

Link to forum Hub 4 review https://www.ispreview.co.uk/talk/threads/review-gig1-customer-service-hub-4.36423/

Time With Provider: 15 Years
Package Name: Gig1
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 09th Jun, 2020    By: Andrew S
DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!! In December I finished my contract early with Virgin Media as we were moving. I paid the full £157 ahead of the usual billing date, I was subsequently double billed by Virgin Media when the usual direct debit is taken (There billing system does not recognise customers that have already paid their bill). Over the past 6 months I have contacted virgin media close to 10 times. Each time they have said they will send through a cheque returning the money. However, nothing has been received. I'm disgusted by the behaviour of this company and it's apparent lack of regard for the law and lack of regard for it's customers.

Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 24th Feb, 2020    By: cg0
Their broadband product for the most part is good, I don't live in an overprovisioned area so I will easily reach 380-400 mbps on a 350 mbps connection, the problem lies with the rest of Virgin.

Their Hub 3 router is just awful, I've been complaining about it for years due to it's many issues. Notibly the Puma chipset causing high latency spikes and their plaster fix causing P2P to easily drain the speed out of your connection.

It's admin configuration page is not at all good, I've seen it forget my password or sometimes crash out and stop loading.

The best you can do is put the thing in modem mode and use your own equipment beyond it which doesn't fix the chipset issues.

When trying to get support Virgin is very useless, don't be suprised to have the person on the other end not understand you, give you wrong advice or hang up. Recently I've been having an issue where my router randomly restarts, which has been a lovely back and forth which required two engineer visits to be told it's a network-wide issue, according to the agents the issue was fixed after the first engineer visit despite no work being done, agents promising credit but then saying I can't have it, callbacks being promised but never delivering.

If you have a decent alternative I'd go with that, Virgin's network can be very fast but at the same time the rest of the company lets it down.

Time With Provider: 3 Years
Package Name: M350
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 05th Aug, 2019    By: PlainTalking121
I am so tired of VM to be honest but there don't seem to be any alternatives that can offer the speed we need locally. I am paying for a M200 high speed service and yet my speed test results fluctuates between as low as 20-25, a couple of months ago and as high as 180-185 today. We still have an old Virgin 2 media hub which is garbage and never been upgraded and our monthly bill for broadband and a single line rental with no more than £5 of calls is £68-£75 and they are increasing our monthly charge yet again on Sept 1st by another £3.50!! They really are taking the p!! If anyone has any suggestions that can give me good download speeds without buffering when streaming from Amazon or Netflix then please let me know. Virgin has become expensive garbage - they might be able to afford Usain Bolt and fancy ads to shill their brand but the day to day reality tells a different story as their service provision is terrible!! If I could have given you zeros I truly would. Virgin don't give a damn about long term customers that is very apparent - their customer call centre is a joke and the best deals are always kept for new customers, who they spend a fortune to entice to their network and yet the clients they have already are treated with total disrespect and left with out of date equipment and price rise upon price rise.

Time With Provider: 9 Years
Package Name: M200
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 22nd Dec, 2018    By: burnduck
Mind you I am an IT Engineer with unusual internet requirements and this review probably isn't suited for the average consumer.

Where I live I can get Openreach FTTC at 80/20, or Virgin Media HFC.

I've been using Plusnet which gives me pretty much the full line speed, but it is starting to struggle when I'm trying to stream 4K content over the internet. That's why I thought I sign up for VM hoping to benefit from their faster internet speed.

I was issued a VM Hub 3.0, which I'm using in modem mode, along with my home router RB3011.

Blocked services:
I have a L2TP VPN server in the home network so I can remotely access resources at home. Turns out Virgin Media filters out several UDP ports (including those used by L2TP), this behaviour was discussed on VM forum but not acknowledged by VM. Also, this is not documented in the ISP KFI document issued by VM.

Speed:
Artificial test shows roughly 385 / 21.
HTTP download tests from third party sites appears to be traffice shaped - sustained speed at 200Mbps, with bursts to 400Mbps. The raising and falling edge is too sharp for me to consider it being traffic on internet. VM appears to be still traffic shaping although claiming not to.

Bottom line: VM is blocking ports (verified) / shaping traffic (?) but they claim to be not doing it. Questionable business practice. Will be cancelling within cool off period.

Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name: 350
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Vodafone £22.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £22.00
    Avg. Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Onestream £22.49 (*29.99)
    Avg. Speed 45Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • xln telecom £22.74 (*47.94)
    Avg. Speed 66Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Plusnet £22.99 (*36.52)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £55 Reward Card
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (2816)
  2. BT (2793)
  3. FTTC (1792)
  4. Building Digital UK (1760)
  5. Politics (1689)
  6. Openreach (1642)
  7. Business (1456)
  8. FTTH (1341)
  9. Mobile Broadband (1253)
  10. Statistics (1252)
  11. 4G (1079)
  12. Fibre Optic (1072)
  13. Wireless Internet (1036)
  14. Ofcom Regulation (1028)
  15. Virgin Media (1018)
  16. EE (710)
  17. Vodafone (681)
  18. Sky Broadband (675)
  19. TalkTalk (673)
  20. 5G (536)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules