Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Virgin Media Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
220 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 03rd Oct, 2018    By: Mcphee87
The product is good; high speeds, reliable.

But the customer service department is awful; awkward, argumentative, dishonest. This wasn't one employee - I have had three problems over the year and needed to make countless phone calls to try and get them resolved. All three issues had to be logged through Resolver in the end as Virgin's own customer service department are awful. All three problems were solved quickly and to my satisfaction when escalated to a more senior team.

Value for money is okay. There are good deals available for new customers. Not so much for existing ones. And the undiscounted prices have risen to the point of being preposterous, e.g. £51/month for 100Mbps internet and the base TV service.

Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 19th Sep, 2018    By: PW
I don't know why Virgin Media constantly get bad reviews, most of the reviewers seem to focus on a bad customer service experience and can't be bother to rate speed or value for money, and rate everything with a single star.

They have the widest available ultra-fast download speed in the UK (350Mbs). Which is reasonably priced (if you haggle or get a deal) and have a 1 or 12 month contract. So what's to moan about?

I appreciate that the quality of the broadband might vary. In north Leicestershire I regularly get 216-218Mbs from my 200Mbs Download Speed, and in the four years I have been with the company there has only been 2 or 3 days when there has been problems with the network.

I would recommend having the latest modem available, and always ring Customer Service Retentions to haggle for a better price when your present monthly "deal" ends (which sometimes takes three attempts to get a good price)

I rarely ring customer customer services, but V.M. aren't using Indian Call Centres so much, which is good, and usually you are greeted by a UK based friendly operator.

Time With Provider: 4 Years
Package Name: 200MB Vivd and Home Phone
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 05th Sep, 2018    By: gaz999
I have just joined Virgin Media VIP package, having come from from BT.
My fixed download speeds are 386 mbps and upload is 21 mbps. I don't use wireless on my laptop but a recent speed test was 258 mbps down. The TV service is superb (Full House) and all in all no problems at all and certainly no cause for complaint. A very happy customer! ;-)

Time With Provider: 4 Weeks
Package Name: VIP Bundle
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 16th Aug, 2018    By: kara_t
Really awful, unhelpful and disrespectful customer service.

Once Virgin has you forget ever getting help. You'll sit on hold, then get put through to someone reading a script who generally displays no interest in actually doing more than reading the script. Heaven forbid you should ask them a question out of order or that can't be answered on the script. On top of that they are condescending and dismissive on more occasions than not.

Never mind that the services won't work or require extra steps on your part that they don’t tell you. That’s on you to figure you, because clearly Virgin isn't going to help. Really regretting signing up with Virgin. I’m pretty much paying for them to treat me like crap. No service would be better than service with Virgin at this point."

Not a thing has gone well with setting up service with Virgin Media, Virgin Mobile, or Virgin Money. I have what services I have at all due to pure personal determination rather than actual service or help from Virgin employees. All around it’s been a completely horrible experience across the board.

Time With Provider: 2 Weeks
Package Name: superfibre 50 + talk +mobile
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 31st Jul, 2018    By: Justhandguns
I have been with Virgin media since the early days. I am in general very happy with their no hassle services, speed is always great as I started off with their basic 2Mbps package and has since been upgraded several times to 100Mbps. My only complaint is the price that they charge, it is certainly not cheap for a broadband only package. The router/modem that they provide is decent at the moment, but I use my own wifi router so this is not an issue for me at all. All in all very happy with them.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 09th Jul, 2018    By: johngfitzgerald
I was a VM customer in a different area many years ago, in their early days (Telewest etc) and they were GOOD. Having moved to an area where VM was not available I settled for the best available DSL service and waited for VM to come to the new area.

That finally happened lasy year, so I duly switched to their 200Mb service and I have to say, what a disaster it has been. When it works as advertised, which is rare, it is superb, no doubt.

However, more often than not it fails to come anywhere near the advertised speeds, drops out altogether at random intervals and is generally unreliable.

Of course, when you call Cust Services (a more inappropriate name I can't imaging for this lot) you get the usual script jockey who actually knows nothing at all - I'm not a broadband expert but I am a network security specialist, and have been for over 20 years, so I know a bit, you might say - and these folks are less than useless.

I'm stuck now till end of contract but I can assure you all that I will switch away, accepting slower speeds but better reliability and service, as soon as it is possible. Shame on you VM for falling so far short of where you began. The scores below would all be zero if that were possible.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 02nd Jun, 2018    By: Dorsetwo
No complaints, so far quite good. Cable speed 5G.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 05th Apr, 2018    By: Forasizo
I have been with Virgin Media since 2006 (back when they were NTL) and have always been on the fastest package they have offered alongside the highest level of service on TV and Telephone.

Until around 2015, the service Virgin Media had provided to me had been exceptional and I never had any complaints. Often referring them to friends and family. The e-mail service was great (provided at that time by Google) and as it was the majority of our families first e-mail address (and one we had used for many services over the years), this was important. In addition to this, the speeds had always been way ahead of the competition and were incredibly fast and untiil 2010 were MILES ahead of the competition (and still are today, arguably).
The company had provided me with a cable modem (upgraded over time) and we used our own router which worked flawlessly and I always recieved my full speeds over both. I was dreading having to change my modem so I did not, opting instead to keep my current setup (I had heard horrors about the Super Hub)

The first hurdle came when Virgin Media were forced to migrate their e-mail platform. Instead of researching a good way of doing this - they ended up going with OpenXchange (notorious for being quite bad!) and as such this caused major issues for my whole family who had relied on this e-mail service for years. Now, we're lucky if we can log in to the webmail client at all, it often just not loading my e-mails. I am lucky and have used Thunderbird since the mid 2000s and it did not effect me personally. However, this was the start of the downfall.

However, eventually I was forced to migrate to the Super Hub and I did so (not so willingly) - at first the SuperHub 2ac was perfect - in Modem Mode and out of it. There was very little issues and the service level was good as always. I had few complaints (minus the stagnation in speed improvement) but other than that I was pleased. The default router was atrocious for signal, so I returned to my trusty flashed one and started to notice that in Modem Mode there seemed to be a deliberate speed reduction. I had turned Modem Mode off and my speed returned to full (while still using the same, custom router) so left it as it was.

I returned the device to the default mode eventually (Virgin refused to support it in Modem Mode!!!) which worked fine for me after some firmware updates and I left it as such.

When I was upgraded to a SuperHub 3 (when we recieved our V6 box due to Sky Sports changes) the connectivity took a nose dive (stupid latency & lowered speeds and constant disconnection). I was used to the simplicity of having it in one box but decided to return to modem mode to have the same faults. I had the router replaced several times and while the issues are now less prevalent they still occur more frequently than they ever did and the latency is much worse than it has been previously.

In the end, Virgin have shown a disregard for me recently as a customer as ever since Liberty Global took over the service level has downgraded over time. Fortunately, Vodafone are looking to expand FTTH to my area - so I may be able to replace my broadband service soon.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 23rd Jan, 2018    By: Copper Thug
If you're lucky enough to be in a cable area then Virgin Media is the best choice.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 22nd Dec, 2017    By: Robbsouth
I the consumer Actually lost count to the times I had called Virgin Media regarding a fault that was never fixed even though I was paying for this service.
Unfortunately when I called Virgin on countless occasions I was
met with rude and most of the time obnoxious customer service advisers based in India I was told.There command of the English language was appalling and constantly repetitive,fault would be fixed was the norm from them,phoned
getting slammed down when the conversation got to complicated getting told there tech team are looking into fault ,there Is a problem in my area and Virgin were working on it.This lasted for over 5 months
I eventually cancelled home broadband & did an indemnity claim
The agreement between me the consumer and virgin the provider was meaningless,pay for a service even though not working,bleed the consumer dry and 10s of thousands like me for there own gain,then breach there data protection by adding false and inaccurate information on there Credit file at a touch of a button which they have done when I the consumer had done nothing wrong.
In mediation they offer to clear debt but leave default on Credit file for a period of 5 years?
A consumer challenges Virgin & this is the outcome.
Dana Strong &Tom Mockridge do not speak or deal with
Consumers who pays there wages?
If anyone out there has had similar issues please Private message.Will be uploading videos very soon

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £18.00 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 30Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Code: CHRISTMAS18
  • TalkTalk £22.50
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £23.00 (*25.00)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Plusnet £23.50 (*34.98)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £60 Cashback
  • Origin Broadband £24.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2285)
  2. FTTP (1749)
  3. FTTC (1516)
  4. Broadband Delivery UK (1487)
  5. Openreach (1229)
  6. Politics (1221)
  7. Business (1090)
  8. Statistics (963)
  9. Mobile Broadband (884)
  10. Fibre Optic (878)
  11. FTTH (816)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (806)
  13. Wireless Internet (805)
  14. 4G (766)
  15. Virgin Media (741)
  16. Sky Broadband (545)
  17. TalkTalk (524)
  18. EE (507)
  19. Vodafone (394)
  20. Security (371)
Virgin Media - Broadband Fixed Line Rated 1.9772727272727273 / 5 based on 220 reviews. | Review Me
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules