Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Virgin Media Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
240 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 09th Apr, 2021    By: Mark Scott
I have been with Virgin since they first enabled Cable based Internet in SN12. Currently on M500 with a 36Mb/s upload this is one of the fastest ISPs and I have been treated to a number of speed upgrades over the years.

Having an IP based phone is a pain when the service goes out but I have had roughly a single outage every year and for a home service with no SLAs to speak of, it is very reliable.

Could do with a faster upload, static IPv4 address and IPv6 connectivity but hopefully this will be forthcoming.

And look at this, I have compiled a full review without using brackets!

Time With Provider: 20 Years
Package Name: M500
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 07th Apr, 2021    By: Meatball
Returned to VM (OR FTTP not in sight and CityFibre at least 18 months away)
CRAWLEY Area 18
Only 40% in my post code can actually order despite VM presence at 87.5% of addresses. Similar on other Post Codes/Estates.
With perseverance managed to get my address "unlocked by engineering"
Negotiated Oomph 360 TV, M350, phone and SIM for £41/m for 18 months
VM still issuing 360 package with Hub 3
Underwhelmed by 360 TV offering. Using it to record for my use but not for family.
Broadband worked OK for 2 days then lots of issues in Evenings.
Removed all equipment except Hub and one wired device.
Monitored speeds. 360/36 at night and early morning. Reduced to just over 100/35 during day. Drops to 6-8/35 Mbps in evening. Upload appears to remain consistent. All tests using VM web site version of SpeedTest.
Verified for 4 days (Router or Modem mode).
Reported fault to VM. They immediately went down the User/WIFI/Device route.
Call passed to a technical desk. Very quickly confirmed that there was "an outage" issue. Refused my explanation of a capacity issue. Expected resolution is 8 days time. Await outcome.
Update: Perseverance with VM appear to deliver. After monitoring service every day at set intervals and referral to a more technical help desk M350 now consistently above 300 and up around 35. All good lets see how long it lasts.

Time With Provider: 4 Weeks
Package Name: Oomph 360 TV, M350, Phone and 5Gb SIM
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 26th Mar, 2021    By: Adrian
hello to all readers,
I wanted to leave a good review, but because I received a letter from bpo I can't believe how thieves I am !!! my contract was terminated for a very long time and on the contrary I told him that I don't want to continue because I am moving and I don't need it anymore. But they say one thing and do another. a few months later I woke up with direct debit payments. I called them and they said I didn't tell them to stop :))) in the end they stopped and said they would return my money ..... but from where, on the contrary, I still owe :))) and still where .... bpo collection! SHAME VIRGIN MEDIA !!!

Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name: virgin media
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 08th Mar, 2021    By: davidshepherd7
I moved house and already had broadband setup in the new house. There's no way to cancel your account online so you have to call their callcenter. I tried to do that, and waited on hold for an hour only to be cut off. I tried sending a message using their complaints service but got no response there for weeks either.

Now they're still charging me for a service that I don't want but can't cancel! Ridiculous.

Time With Provider: 3 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 09th Feb, 2021    By: Tony Norton
I have been with Virgin since we moved to our present address in 2001. It was NTL in those days.
Until December 2020 I had been on the M100 package.

100Mbps download. Tick
24/7 phone calls. Tick
Limited TV, excluded the sport channels now sold to Sky and BT. Tick

I wanted to be able to watch the F1 GPs live. Virgin recommended the M200 package as, so they said, they couldn't just add the TV I wanted, and offered me an 18 month contract at £68 per month, which I accepted and was due to start on 22-12-2020.

Then it went wrong, and you can quote me, by name, on Facebook or elsewhere, please.

I have never, ever, had anything near 200Mbps. I read that the minimum guaranteed rate is 107Mbps, which is easily achievable on the 100Mbps download rate. My PC is connected via a 2 metre Ethernet Cat7 cable.

I strongly suspect that their attitude is "He only really wanted the extra TV channels so give him them, and the 20Mbps upload speed, but limit him to 100Mbps download. It will occasionally go over 107Mbps so we can claim it is within contract."

My average since 22-12-2020 is actually 96Mbps and the rate has frequently been as low as 50. My grandson is on the 350Mbps package which has yielded as high as 386Mbps. It is my firm belief (quote me) is that Virgin are ripping me off because I negotiated a lower than full rate.

I would call that thieving.

Time With Provider: 20 Years
Package Name: M200
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 24th Jan, 2021    By: Ronski
I'm on the VM350 package, broadband only. In the three years I've had to contact support twice, on both occasions it was an absolute nightmare. I use modem mode and this only complicated matters, support is obsessed with wi-fi, and they don't understand modem mode, they think all problems are wi-fi related. When asking to be transferred to someone higher up (IE level 2 support) I got transferred to all sorts of irrelevant departments. Then you have to phone and start all over again. If you have an ongoing problem, you have to start all over again each time you ring up, support seems incapable of picking up where we left off the last time, so round and round you go.

In the end I got the problem sorted via the forums, still took a while though and more than one engineer visit - felt like the first one just went through the motions, the second guy was really good and listened.

Our area is only 3 years old, and it's all fibre, no coax, speeds are very good, I never have any slow downs.

It's just the very poor support, I'm hate the thought of having an issue and then having to phone them. The other problem is the price rises, just had a 12% rise, and in a couple of months my £15 discount ends, so it will be time to do battle for a decent price, last time I had to give 30 days notice.

Value is only good if you can negotiate a decent price, otherwise it's expensive.

Time With Provider: 3 Years
Package Name: VM350
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 21st Jan, 2021    By: Davy_Jack_
They have an intricate web of scam artists known as customer services. You are directed to their website but there is no option to leave on the website. They will sign you up for new 12 month contracts against your explicit consent.

I am nominally on the 200 mbps package and I currently get between 8 & 13 MBPS on average, sometimes only 4.

Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name: VM200
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 21st Jan, 2021    By: antony_fry
Virgin have been very unreliable from mid Nov 2020 to mid Jan 2021 with frequent instances of intermittent internet service and last night today (21/01/2021) full service loss. They are competitively priced, fairly fast I’m on an 100Mbps package but that’s down link and not guaranteed.
It’s very hard to get in touch with Customer Service and we had a message that ‘ we’re aware of a problem in the W5 area but is very complex and may take longer than usual to fix.
VM do have a number of tools (WiFi Coverage checker and network status based on postcode but very poor communication about fix times.
They only pay £8/day for complete service loss and you need to go through their complaints procedure to get any compensation for intermittent problems.

Time With Provider: 12 Months
Package Name: M100
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 14th Jan, 2021    By: DanC1978
I've been with VM for about 2 1/2 years now. Where do I start...
HUB3 is terrible. No signal in the house beyond the room it's in. Had boosters, which just crashed and locked out, meaning a restart of the full system every day. ended up putting my own WiFi network in, and running the HUB3 as a modem. technical were virtually no use what so ever. Since I had put my own network in service has been good through out the house. Although regular testing suggests that download speeds are never above 70mb and upload no better than 20mb, but it's plenty for what we need in the house (no nasty buffering).
Now the fun starts. Came out of contract middle of last year, and was lazy, and didn't question the big price increase (went from £37 up to £57 a month), and last week I was told it's going up to £60 a month, so decided to question it, and lo0ok for a better deal. The website says not to call as they are keeping lines clear for vulnerable people, so attempted to use online chat. Over 2 days (friday and monday) I was on the chat for over 13 hours waiting for somebody in relations to help. Not a single answer from them. Later found out that they don't answer account billing on the chat anyway. Waste of time if you ever need their customer service teams. Could say more, but ran out of characters that I can use for my review.

Time With Provider: 30 Months
Package Name: M200
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 01st Dec, 2020    By: Oracle_Theory
If you want a service that drops to the speed and quality of dial-up every day without fail, at the cost of high quality broadband, Virgin Media is right for you.

If you want to be endlessly infuriated by a customer service team that give literally zero ***s about the quality of your connection, and will simply ask about the download speed of your connection instead of addressing the packet loss and poor latency, Virgin Media is perfect.

If you want to be lied to over and over with fix estimations in the order of just a few hours, only for the fix to take literally DAYS, then sign up to Virgin Media right away, because they have everything you want and more.

Time With Provider: 4 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • TalkTalk £22.00 (*29.95)
    Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £22.00 (*25.00)
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £22.00
    Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: EASTERSALE
  • Onestream £22.50 (*27.99)
    Speed 45Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • xln telecom £22.74 (*47.94)
    Speed 66Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest Ultrafast ISPs
  • Vodafone £26.00 (*29.00)
    Speed: 100Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Virgin Media £28.00 (*44.00)
    Speed: 108Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £29.00 (*35.00)
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: EASTERSALE
  • TalkTalk £29.95 (*39.95)
    Speed: 145Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Giganet £35.00 - 59.00
    Speed: 200Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (3153)
  2. BT (2907)
  3. FTTC (1843)
  4. Building Digital UK (1842)
  5. Politics (1820)
  6. Openreach (1736)
  7. Business (1576)
  8. Mobile Broadband (1366)
  9. FTTH (1355)
  10. Statistics (1335)
  11. 4G (1175)
  12. Fibre Optic (1121)
  13. Wireless Internet (1097)
  14. Virgin Media (1089)
  15. Ofcom Regulation (1086)
  16. EE (775)
  17. Vodafone (767)
  18. TalkTalk (729)
  19. Sky Broadband (711)
  20. 5G (655)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules