Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Virgin Media Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
227 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 29th Jun, 2020    By: Cosh123
Appalling Customer Service I have had so many problems they are exceptionally difficult to contact when you do get through either by phone, web service desk or text service you get passed from pillar to post then dropped. This is the worst Customer Service I have ever experienced and I’m 63 years old.

Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 28th Jun, 2020    By: Panthera
Title: Horrible
Virgin Media steals money from their customers. They owe me money from an overpayment which wasn’t my fault. They deliberately keep brushing my claim under the carpet and passing me from one team to another. I’ve contacted them more than 10 times now since the beginning of March and I get ignored or given false promises. The worst company I’ve ever dealt with. Thanks for wasting hours of my time.

Time With Provider: 4 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 24th Jun, 2020    By: JitteryPinger
Earlier this year I upgraded to the Gig1 service, after receiving the Hub 4 and getting the service up and running I immediately found it not to be as expected and wanted to revert the account under the 14 day return policy, however at this point the country had gone into a state of lockdown and making contact with Virgin was proving impossible despite efforts being made via Phone, Text and also Web Chat.

I finally got the service reverted to M350 however changes that where said to be immediate then became a 30 day waiting period which has now cost me another £21.

Customer service have said that as no calls where logged for any issues that a credit would not be issued and further more said that Virgin no longer credits for partial losses of service.

I have since been told I can have the activation fee of £35 back and also that my contract will be removed from the account (which is ideal as Openreach start extending their Full Fibre FTTP towards me starting 22nd June.

After 10 years of being a customer I've finally had enough of this behaviour and thought paying £62 per month would finally see better service from them but that was wrong.

UPDATE: Complaint is now resolved with activation fee and unwanted services refund and service terminated.

Link to forum Hub 4 review https://www.ispreview.co.uk/talk/threads/review-gig1-customer-service-hub-4.36423/

Time With Provider: 15 Years
Package Name: Gig1
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 09th Jun, 2020    By: Andrew S
DO NOT USE THIS COMPANY!!! In December I finished my contract early with Virgin Media as we were moving. I paid the full £157 ahead of the usual billing date, I was subsequently double billed by Virgin Media when the usual direct debit is taken (There billing system does not recognise customers that have already paid their bill). Over the past 6 months I have contacted virgin media close to 10 times. Each time they have said they will send through a cheque returning the money. However, nothing has been received. I'm disgusted by the behaviour of this company and it's apparent lack of regard for the law and lack of regard for it's customers.

Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 24th Feb, 2020    By: cg0
Their broadband product for the most part is good, I don't live in an overprovisioned area so I will easily reach 380-400 mbps on a 350 mbps connection, the problem lies with the rest of Virgin.

Their Hub 3 router is just awful, I've been complaining about it for years due to it's many issues. Notibly the Puma chipset causing high latency spikes and their plaster fix causing P2P to easily drain the speed out of your connection.

It's admin configuration page is not at all good, I've seen it forget my password or sometimes crash out and stop loading.

The best you can do is put the thing in modem mode and use your own equipment beyond it which doesn't fix the chipset issues.

When trying to get support Virgin is very useless, don't be suprised to have the person on the other end not understand you, give you wrong advice or hang up. Recently I've been having an issue where my router randomly restarts, which has been a lovely back and forth which required two engineer visits to be told it's a network-wide issue, according to the agents the issue was fixed after the first engineer visit despite no work being done, agents promising credit but then saying I can't have it, callbacks being promised but never delivering.

If you have a decent alternative I'd go with that, Virgin's network can be very fast but at the same time the rest of the company lets it down.

Time With Provider: 3 Years
Package Name: M350
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 05th Aug, 2019    By: PlainTalking121
I am so tired of VM to be honest but there don't seem to be any alternatives that can offer the speed we need locally. I am paying for a M200 high speed service and yet my speed test results fluctuates between as low as 20-25, a couple of months ago and as high as 180-185 today. We still have an old Virgin 2 media hub which is garbage and never been upgraded and our monthly bill for broadband and a single line rental with no more than £5 of calls is £68-£75 and they are increasing our monthly charge yet again on Sept 1st by another £3.50!! They really are taking the p!! If anyone has any suggestions that can give me good download speeds without buffering when streaming from Amazon or Netflix then please let me know. Virgin has become expensive garbage - they might be able to afford Usain Bolt and fancy ads to shill their brand but the day to day reality tells a different story as their service provision is terrible!! If I could have given you zeros I truly would. Virgin don't give a damn about long term customers that is very apparent - their customer call centre is a joke and the best deals are always kept for new customers, who they spend a fortune to entice to their network and yet the clients they have already are treated with total disrespect and left with out of date equipment and price rise upon price rise.

Time With Provider: 9 Years
Package Name: M200
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 22nd Dec, 2018    By: burnduck
Mind you I am an IT Engineer with unusual internet requirements and this review probably isn't suited for the average consumer.

Where I live I can get Openreach FTTC at 80/20, or Virgin Media HFC.

I've been using Plusnet which gives me pretty much the full line speed, but it is starting to struggle when I'm trying to stream 4K content over the internet. That's why I thought I sign up for VM hoping to benefit from their faster internet speed.

I was issued a VM Hub 3.0, which I'm using in modem mode, along with my home router RB3011.

Blocked services:
I have a L2TP VPN server in the home network so I can remotely access resources at home. Turns out Virgin Media filters out several UDP ports (including those used by L2TP), this behaviour was discussed on VM forum but not acknowledged by VM. Also, this is not documented in the ISP KFI document issued by VM.

Speed:
Artificial test shows roughly 385 / 21.
HTTP download tests from third party sites appears to be traffice shaped - sustained speed at 200Mbps, with bursts to 400Mbps. The raising and falling edge is too sharp for me to consider it being traffic on internet. VM appears to be still traffic shaping although claiming not to.

Bottom line: VM is blocking ports (verified) / shaping traffic (?) but they claim to be not doing it. Questionable business practice. Will be cancelling within cool off period.

Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name: 350
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 03rd Oct, 2018    By: Mcphee87
The product is good; high speeds, reliable.

But the customer service department is awful; awkward, argumentative, dishonest. This wasn't one employee - I have had three problems over the year and needed to make countless phone calls to try and get them resolved. All three issues had to be logged through Resolver in the end as Virgin's own customer service department are awful. All three problems were solved quickly and to my satisfaction when escalated to a more senior team.

Value for money is okay. There are good deals available for new customers. Not so much for existing ones. And the undiscounted prices have risen to the point of being preposterous, e.g. £51/month for 100Mbps internet and the base TV service.

Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 19th Sep, 2018    By: PW
I don't know why Virgin Media constantly get bad reviews, most of the reviewers seem to focus on a bad customer service experience and can't be bother to rate speed or value for money, and rate everything with a single star.

They have the widest available ultra-fast download speed in the UK (350Mbs). Which is reasonably priced (if you haggle or get a deal) and have a 1 or 12 month contract. So what's to moan about?

I appreciate that the quality of the broadband might vary. In north Leicestershire I regularly get 216-218Mbs from my 200Mbs Download Speed, and in the four years I have been with the company there has only been 2 or 3 days when there has been problems with the network.

I would recommend having the latest modem available, and always ring Customer Service Retentions to haggle for a better price when your present monthly "deal" ends (which sometimes takes three attempts to get a good price)

I rarely ring customer customer services, but V.M. aren't using Indian Call Centres so much, which is good, and usually you are greeted by a UK based friendly operator.

Time With Provider: 4 Years
Package Name: 200MB Vivd and Home Phone
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 05th Sep, 2018    By: gaz999
I have just joined Virgin Media VIP package, having come from from BT.
My fixed download speeds are 386 mbps and upload is 21 mbps. I don't use wireless on my laptop but a recent speed test was 258 mbps down. The TV service is superb (Full House) and all in all no problems at all and certainly no cause for complaint. A very happy customer! ;-)

Time With Provider: 4 Weeks
Package Name: VIP Bundle
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £19.95 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: HYPER20
  • Plusnet £21.99 (*35.98)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £50 Reward Card
  • SSE £22.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • xln telecom £22.74 (*47.94)
    Avg. Speed 66Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • TalkTalk £22.95 (*29.95)
    Avg. Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2717)
  2. FTTP (2604)
  3. FTTC (1756)
  4. Building Digital UK (1701)
  5. Politics (1605)
  6. Openreach (1565)
  7. Business (1389)
  8. FTTH (1311)
  9. Statistics (1207)
  10. Mobile Broadband (1177)
  11. Fibre Optic (1044)
  12. 4G (1013)
  13. Wireless Internet (997)
  14. Ofcom Regulation (993)
  15. Virgin Media (977)
  16. EE (671)
  17. Sky Broadband (655)
  18. TalkTalk (644)
  19. Vodafone (641)
  20. 5G (472)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules