Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

AAISP Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
365 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 19th Oct, 2020    By: Cecil Ward
AAISP's attitude is refreshing. The no-nonsense "we aim not to be the bottleneck" service really lives up to its billing.

Four-line ADSL
--------------------
I switched to AA (now using BT Wholesale (21CN) IPStream Max _Premium on FOUR bonded lines) ten years ago. Using extremely long lines (65 dB / 41 dB).

With AA, speeds never drop even at peak times and latency remains consistently excellent regardless of time of day.

Static, real IPv4 and IPv6 address blocks, whatever you want, all foc. No more NAT. Fantastic. To illustrate just how they work: Some time ago I outgrew the /28 (block of 16) range of IPv4 addresses that I had. A quick email and within minutes tech support moved me to a new home in a larger IPv4 block of /26 (block of 64). I hate to think what some ISPs would be charging per month just in standing charges for IPv4 addresses. I have several IPv6 blocks, two /48s and several /64s. So shockingly efficient and hassle-free.

Native IPv6 is working. I have a four-line ADSL setup, with almost a 4x multiplied bandwidth in both directions using a Firebrick FB2900 router and four ZyXel modems. Downstream speed is around 9.4-10.2 Mbps; Upstream is 1.2 Mbps.

4G Mobile Data
———————-
I also AA's 4G mobile data service, based on the Three network, with SIMs supplied by AA. If all four DSL lines go down, my router switches to 3G backup.

Time With Provider: 10 Years
Package Name: Units tariff
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 27th Sep, 2020    By: loztagain
I've been with these guys for - maybe - 7 years now and was with them longer on a house share with a friend before. I've gone from ADSL2+, to VDSL, to g.fast. I've seen the speeds go up from 20mbps down to now 250mbps down.

I've only had to call them twice about line issues, and on both occasions they asked the right questions and we got it fixed. I've mostly had consistent speeds and when I have seen something happening that seemed off, AAISP seemed to agree on their portal already and were already tackling the issue. READ AS: I didn't even need to contact them - it was already noted and in hand.

I've converted people to their services, and it goes like this:

Firstly they think it seems a bit more expensive, but you point out you get what you pay for. If you keep jumping to providers for the lowest bidder, or the highest speed promised for the smallest number of pounds, your experience won't change. You'll keep being frustrated, and they won't fix your line issues.

Then what happens is they ignore you and continue on with the old method. And I don't blame them, it's always worth a punt somewhere else. But nothing changes, and they are fed up.

Lastly they switch, and somehow all the problems with their internet connection disappear. Funny that?

Have all the stars AAISP, you deserve it. Even value. It's worth every penny.

Time With Provider: 7 Years
Package Name: HOME:1 2tb
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 08th Sep, 2020    By: HackedComputer
I had always preferred DOCSIS over ADSL for the past several years. Mainly due to bandwidth requirements that ADSL could not provide per se. Fast forward several years and I'm in a new property whereby DOCSIS is not available. BT was installed, line speed around 24 - 34 Mbit and a intermittent sync. I knew there was something wrong along our line but BT refused to acknowledge the issue.

Signed up to AAISP, I was speaking to Andrew as the services went live and he immediately pointed out a potential line fault. Awaited a few days to gather data first before doing anything. Data was checked, an engineer was booked who turned up next day.

One half of the copper pair was not attached (One dis leg). The engineer hooked it up, shared a few swear words with me about the previous engineer and I synced straight to 75/20 and the line has been rock solid.

Absolutely fantastic service across the board!

Better yet, after fixing our line and it being stable it seems that the DSLAM/Cab has regraded our line and thus G.Fast is available.

Of course, I got in touch with sales to explain the situation and that I would have opted for that service if it was available during sign up. Absolutely no problems and in approximately 10 days our line will be switched to G.Fast on 160/30 service.

In a space of a month, AAISP have taken our line speeds from 24-30Mbit to 160!


Time With Provider: 1 Months
Package Name: Home::1 2TB
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 22nd Jul, 2020    By: Ping
TL;DR ? Yes, they may be more expensive than your average ISP. But worth every penny.

More detail:

I am someone who knows IT and telecoms inside out. I have had many dealings with many ISPs in my time.

I must admit, I was sceptical of AAISP. I was expecting the usual "over-promise under deliver".

The thing you very quickly learn about ISPs is its not their sales pitch that matters, not how quickly they get you connected, not how fast their service is ... but how they behave when things go wrong.

I have now had a few occasions to test out the post-sales support experience at AAISP.

Its truly marvelous. They do not treat you like an idiot (if they know you are an educated techie, they'll treat you like one). They are also more than willing to fight the required battles with BT on your behalf.

Time With Provider: 3 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 12th Jul, 2020    By: Thomas
I've used A&A for over 10 years (ADSL, FTTC and now FTTP).

Superb customer service, transparent pricing, no hard sell, no sneaky price increases after 12 months, and you can use whatever speed your line can do whenever you want - they will *not* slow you down.

A little expensive compared to some, but you're paying for better support and no overselling.

Only thing I'd love to see is support for the faster FTTP packages!

Time With Provider: 10 Years
Package Name: SoHo::1 5TB
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 06th Jul, 2020    By: _jjjj
We went with A&A after trying one of the mainstream ISPs who were not prepared to challenge Openreach who said it would cost £5K+ in works to connect a line to our house despite our terrace neighbour having no problems.

Ordering with A&A was straightforward and A&A quickly raised work orders with OR as needed - the job did need 3 engineer visits to resolve some issues but it didn't involve any costly engineering works, only replacing an existing drop wire with extra pairs.

The broadband is excellent, as is the customer service. You always feel you are dealing with someone knowledgeable and able to help rather than just following a script. Very happy

One negative point - the service is expensive; £45 per month with a 300GB data cap per month. A&A offer options e.g. 2TB for £55, top ups or throttling, none of which are appealing when you are already paying top dollar.

It is early days so we will have to see if the data cap is enough of an issue to switch elsewhere down the line.

J


Time With Provider: 3 Weeks
Package Name: Home::1 VDSL
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 17th Jun, 2020    By: Fizzle
76/20 is as fast as you can normally go in this area. There is no FTTP or Cable.

I needed more upload to cope with the increase WFH in 2020. Within weeks of the requests and at the height of lockdown AAISP had:
- Got the second line installed
- Configured and shipped the new hardware
- Done of a load of fiddling to get the speed on the new line up from 59Mbps to 76Mbps.

We now have a rock solid 150/40 connection.

Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name: Home::1 with Line Bonding
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 07th Jun, 2020    By: planetjim
10 years!

AAISP have always provided a very professional and competent service. All support departments have been excellent but with a special mention to the technical support folks who have always remained calm, competent and helpful even when I've been tearing my hair out.

I've used a variety of connections with AAISP - ADSL, VDSL, EoFTTP and bonded DSL all have performed well with little downtime, low latency and good sync speeds. I particularly like the availability of ipv4 subnets, my business could not have functioned without the availability of ipv4 addresses in the quantities I needed.

I've now sold my company and wish to thank AAISP for the quality of their service over the past 10 years. GREAT SERVICE.

I'd also like to mention the enjoyment and occasional nugget of good information I've gained by reading revK's blog - https://www.me.uk/

Thanks AAISP and all success to you in the future.




Time With Provider: 10 Years
Package Name: 1 x 5TB G.Fast + 2 x 5TB VDSL Bonded
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 23rd May, 2020    By: BWheel
Have never had the level of communication from joining through to line down notifications from any previous isp supplier. Good level of customer service and support.
Unfortunately in my families case with gaming, downloading & streaming having to leave AA.NET.UK due to the data limits. So would just like say be aware of your level of data usage.

Time With Provider: 4 Weeks
Package Name: Home 2TB
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 22nd May, 2020    By: nicolaw
Original review from 2014:

This is the first ISP that I've ever been satisfied with. They have been professional and knowledgable, and always very helpful and friendly. They know what they're doing. A quality service.

Review update in 2020 after moving home:

Not much to say really, other than every single interaction that I have had with the company, without exception, has been a real pleasure. Staff are always super friendly, attentive, polite and highly knowledgeable. As a customer, I have always felt truly valued, and never once felt frustrated or annoyed. I will never as much as consider another ISP so long as I live in an area that A&A can provide me Internet.

I would highly recommend A&A to anybody who cares about hassle-free and quality of service!

Time With Provider: 7 Years
Package Name: Home::1
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • TalkTalk £21.00 (*29.95)
    Avg. Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £21.50
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Plusnet £21.99 (*36.52)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £50 Reward Card
  • NOW TV £22.00 (*40.00)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £22.00
    Avg. Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (2888)
  2. BT (2817)
  3. FTTC (1809)
  4. Building Digital UK (1770)
  5. Politics (1706)
  6. Openreach (1659)
  7. Business (1485)
  8. FTTH (1343)
  9. Mobile Broadband (1274)
  10. Statistics (1269)
  11. 4G (1099)
  12. Fibre Optic (1080)
  13. Wireless Internet (1044)
  14. Ofcom Regulation (1040)
  15. Virgin Media (1034)
  16. EE (727)
  17. Vodafone (702)
  18. TalkTalk (688)
  19. Sky Broadband (683)
  20. 5G (562)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules