Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

AAISP Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
369 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 22nd Feb, 2021    By: Altrux
There is nobody quite like Andrews & Arnold. A proper, technical ISP for technically-minded customers. Of course, they would do a fine job for anyone else too! But their special range of services, approachability, and technical competence are a real breath of fresh air. No more call centres, no more fob-offs, no more marketing nonsense, and no gimmicks. Just a solid, traditional service, run by experts, which does what you need it to, week after week.

Time With Provider: 9 Weeks
Package Name: Home::1 VDSL
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Feb, 2021    By: Jim Howes
Perhaps it really is Covid-19, but so many companies out there are using it as an excuse for truly terrible service. Everyone from banks to supermarkets. Let's all provide terrible service and blame the virus!

Not A&A.

My connection is rock solid, and has been up almost trouble free for years. When something major failed on Thursday night just after 6pm, just after tech support officially closed, I popped on to IRC to find plenty of other people also having issues, and tech were already on top of things. In a few minutes everything was back where it should be. Sooner or later we'll probably even get a full technical lowdown on what went wrong, the cause, and why it's not going to do that again. You only need to check aastatus.net to see the level of detail and honesty present.

And this is my experience of A&A over many years. By the time I notice something has gone wrong, they're already in the process of fixing it. I've had line faults, exchange faults, rogue subcontracted engineers connecting my phone line to someone else entirely, and virtually all of the time, the resolution is on it's way before I even call.

Costly, yes, but the overall honesty and no-nonsense approach wins, every time

Time With Provider: 14 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 21st Jan, 2021    By: JonJ
Had a speed fault with Plusnet who claimed nothing wrong. Switched to these guys on 18th jan who reported the issue and all sorted 3 days later with no hassle or fight.

Never seen service like this in terms of speed of service levels, customer service and knowledge. My thanks go to Jason G in Tech Support for his quick responses via email exchanges. No excuses and straight to the point just how things should be.

Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 09th Dec, 2020    By: Michaelscloud
Great service, really helpful, solid technical support from people who know what they are doing, not following an call centre script. Prices a bit higher than mainstream but the level of support and the quality of the service is easily worth it.

Time With Provider: 18 Months
Package Name: FTTP
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 19th Oct, 2020    By: Cecil Ward
AAISP's attitude is refreshing. The no-nonsense "we aim not to be the bottleneck" service really lives up to its billing.

Four-line ADSL
--------------------
I switched to AA (now using BT Wholesale (21CN) IPStream Max _Premium on FOUR bonded lines) ten years ago. Using extremely long lines (65 dB / 41 dB).

With AA, speeds never drop even at peak times and latency remains consistently excellent regardless of time of day.

Static, real IPv4 and IPv6 address blocks, whatever you want, all foc. No more NAT. Fantastic. To illustrate just how they work: Some time ago I outgrew the /28 (block of 16) range of IPv4 addresses that I had. A quick email and within minutes tech support moved me to a new home in a larger IPv4 block of /26 (block of 64). I hate to think what some ISPs would be charging per month just in standing charges for IPv4 addresses. I have several IPv6 blocks, two /48s and several /64s. So shockingly efficient and hassle-free.

Native IPv6 is working. I have a four-line ADSL setup, with almost a 4x multiplied bandwidth in both directions using a Firebrick FB2900 router and four ZyXel modems. Downstream speed is around 9.4-10.2 Mbps; Upstream is 1.2 Mbps.

4G Mobile Data
———————-
I also AA's 4G mobile data service, based on the Three network, with SIMs supplied by AA. If all four DSL lines go down, my router switches to 3G backup.

Time With Provider: 10 Years
Package Name: Units tariff
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 27th Sep, 2020    By: loztagain
I've been with these guys for - maybe - 7 years now and was with them longer on a house share with a friend before. I've gone from ADSL2+, to VDSL, to g.fast. I've seen the speeds go up from 20mbps down to now 250mbps down.

I've only had to call them twice about line issues, and on both occasions they asked the right questions and we got it fixed. I've mostly had consistent speeds and when I have seen something happening that seemed off, AAISP seemed to agree on their portal already and were already tackling the issue. READ AS: I didn't even need to contact them - it was already noted and in hand.

I've converted people to their services, and it goes like this:

Firstly they think it seems a bit more expensive, but you point out you get what you pay for. If you keep jumping to providers for the lowest bidder, or the highest speed promised for the smallest number of pounds, your experience won't change. You'll keep being frustrated, and they won't fix your line issues.

Then what happens is they ignore you and continue on with the old method. And I don't blame them, it's always worth a punt somewhere else. But nothing changes, and they are fed up.

Lastly they switch, and somehow all the problems with their internet connection disappear. Funny that?

Have all the stars AAISP, you deserve it. Even value. It's worth every penny.

Time With Provider: 7 Years
Package Name: HOME:1 2tb
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 08th Sep, 2020    By: HackedComputer
I had always preferred DOCSIS over ADSL for the past several years. Mainly due to bandwidth requirements that ADSL could not provide per se. Fast forward several years and I'm in a new property whereby DOCSIS is not available. BT was installed, line speed around 24 - 34 Mbit and a intermittent sync. I knew there was something wrong along our line but BT refused to acknowledge the issue.

Signed up to AAISP, I was speaking to Andrew as the services went live and he immediately pointed out a potential line fault. Awaited a few days to gather data first before doing anything. Data was checked, an engineer was booked who turned up next day.

One half of the copper pair was not attached (One dis leg). The engineer hooked it up, shared a few swear words with me about the previous engineer and I synced straight to 75/20 and the line has been rock solid.

Absolutely fantastic service across the board!

Better yet, after fixing our line and it being stable it seems that the DSLAM/Cab has regraded our line and thus G.Fast is available.

Of course, I got in touch with sales to explain the situation and that I would have opted for that service if it was available during sign up. Absolutely no problems and in approximately 10 days our line will be switched to G.Fast on 160/30 service.

In a space of a month, AAISP have taken our line speeds from 24-30Mbit to 160!


Time With Provider: 1 Months
Package Name: Home::1 2TB
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 22nd Jul, 2020    By: Ping
TL;DR ? Yes, they may be more expensive than your average ISP. But worth every penny.

More detail:

I am someone who knows IT and telecoms inside out. I have had many dealings with many ISPs in my time.

I must admit, I was sceptical of AAISP. I was expecting the usual "over-promise under deliver".

The thing you very quickly learn about ISPs is its not their sales pitch that matters, not how quickly they get you connected, not how fast their service is ... but how they behave when things go wrong.

I have now had a few occasions to test out the post-sales support experience at AAISP.

Its truly marvelous. They do not treat you like an idiot (if they know you are an educated techie, they'll treat you like one). They are also more than willing to fight the required battles with BT on your behalf.

Time With Provider: 3 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 12th Jul, 2020    By: Thomas
I've used A&A for over 10 years (ADSL, FTTC and now FTTP).

Superb customer service, transparent pricing, no hard sell, no sneaky price increases after 12 months, and you can use whatever speed your line can do whenever you want - they will *not* slow you down.

A little expensive compared to some, but you're paying for better support and no overselling.

Only thing I'd love to see is support for the faster FTTP packages!

Time With Provider: 10 Years
Package Name: SoHo::1 5TB
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 06th Jul, 2020    By: _jjjj
We went with A&A after trying one of the mainstream ISPs who were not prepared to challenge Openreach who said it would cost £5K+ in works to connect a line to our house despite our terrace neighbour having no problems.

Ordering with A&A was straightforward and A&A quickly raised work orders with OR as needed - the job did need 3 engineer visits to resolve some issues but it didn't involve any costly engineering works, only replacing an existing drop wire with extra pairs.

The broadband is excellent, as is the customer service. You always feel you are dealing with someone knowledgeable and able to help rather than just following a script. Very happy

One negative point - the service is expensive; £45 per month with a 300GB data cap per month. A&A offer options e.g. 2TB for £55, top ups or throttling, none of which are appealing when you are already paying top dollar.

It is early days so we will have to see if the data cap is enough of an issue to switch elsewhere down the line.

J


Time With Provider: 3 Weeks
Package Name: Home::1 VDSL
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £22.00
    Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: HYPER21
  • Plusnet £22.50 (*36.52)
    Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £60 Reward Card
  • Onestream £22.50 (*27.99)
    Speed 45Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • xln telecom £22.74 (*47.94)
    Speed 66Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £22.95
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest Ultrafast ISPs
  • Vodafone £26.00
    Speed: 100Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Virgin Media £27.99 (*51.00)
    Speed: 108Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £29.00 (*35.00)
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: HYPER21
  • TalkTalk £32.00 (*39.95)
    Speed: 145Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Giganet £35.00
    Speed: 200Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (3044)
  2. BT (2882)
  3. FTTC (1834)
  4. Building Digital UK (1811)
  5. Politics (1773)
  6. Openreach (1707)
  7. Business (1542)
  8. FTTH (1351)
  9. Mobile Broadband (1344)
  10. Statistics (1321)
  11. 4G (1157)
  12. Fibre Optic (1107)
  13. Wireless Internet (1080)
  14. Virgin Media (1072)
  15. Ofcom Regulation (1068)
  16. EE (767)
  17. Vodafone (747)
  18. TalkTalk (715)
  19. Sky Broadband (704)
  20. 5G (628)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules