Reviews » Broadband Fixed Wireless » 

Airband Reviews

Sponsored Links
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
6 Reviews
Value
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 02nd Dec, 2022    By: Steve Homer
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
We live in rural Wales with no choice of provider apart from 1meg BT line. Airband were brilliant for three years. Solid connection 40/10 and no fixed line costs. Since Feb 2022 the connection has been intermittent, support now seems to be from am apologetic but clueless call centre if you are lucky to even get through

Unsure what happened since Feb 2022 but everything seems to be broken at airband. Avoid for a few years until this mess is sorted out.

Time With Provider: 4 Years
Package Name: Residential
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 21st Oct, 2022    By: West Devon 1
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Network updates.....Downtime and slower speeds
Speeds..... NOWHERE NEAR advertised.
FTTP availability.....Only *IF* you're already within the termination box area and under 100m away from it
Over the air..... Flaky at best, height is your buddy........unless there's a tree/house/pigeon next or a squirrel in the way between your dish and a tower....
Support......... Sporadic, uninformed 1st line telephone agents, online responses negligible, and no follow up to serious connectivity issues.
Engineers on the ground.... Good...Polite....efficient....Try hard
Comparison to other ISPs.........If you have an alternative go for them, leave Airband out of the loop.
Complaints response......DIRE !.... Just slow, archaic system, and hardly ever follow up with resolutions suggested.



Time With Provider: 3 Years
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 18th Jan, 2017    By: Armygirl1987
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
I have been with Airband now for 2 years and have always had a great connection. The speeds are plus 17mbps regularly and i have young ones who use netflix, you tube, facebook and i use play back tv and have always been able to view and use without drop outs or slow speeds. Without this company delivering services to rural and out of the way communities i wouldnt be able to do any of the above , BT cant deliver.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Posted: 16th Dec, 2016    By: Supercal
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Title: CRAP
European grant of 600,000 administered ( if that is the correct term)by Worcestershire County Council to enable a business user group: 'Redditch Arc' to get high speed broadband. 22 quid a month. Erratic and never faster than 5 or 6 Mbps, subject to crowding and outages. No response to complaints to their 'HQ' in Worcester. County council contract awarding process murky.A diaster from first to last and the Company Airband ( Community Broadband Limited) report their annual trading accounts under Friendly Society Act. That is incomprehensible to me, a trained accountant.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 20th Dec, 2015    By: worcsman
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
As the title says. Unreliable, I work from home but sometimes have to go to a local cafe to work. Latest outage was Saturday 19th Dec 2015, down from the early hours of the morning then no internet or phone until the afternoon, around 14:00

The speed advertised up to 20mbps, I have never had that. Generally its around 2-8mbps. Sometimes high teens in the early hours of the morning.

The major issue I have with this ISP is that the service is unreliable. I can never be sure it will be working or if it is working, will stay working. Sometimes it is working but I have speeds of a few kbps and huge ping times.

I will go back to BT when my contract runs out with Airband. BT broadband is awful, but at least it is awful all the time. Airband is all over the place, anywhere from not working, working but only just to great. Never the same, ever.

My last complaint last week, one of the seniors in the office told me that my poor service was my own fault, I use too much data. Given that I purchase any extra data that I need, I was a bit confused by this statement.

Anyways, if you are thinking of leaving BT to get higher speeds from Airband.. Good luck to you! You will get higher speeds but at a cost. That cost being Airband provide probably the most unreliable Broadband in the UK. Overall opinion of Airband.. Clown Shoes.



Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 29th Oct, 2013    By: sparkeyfox
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Airband Package: Home 20mbs

Having suffered very low broadband speed and unreliable broadband due to aging BT exchange infrastructure in our area, Airband appeared to be the ultimate silver bullet when they held a public meeting in our village hall, offering a fast stable internet connection that "just worked".

Reality
Installation was carried out professionally in under 1 hour by an Airband appointed engineer and initial speed was logged around 17mbs - happy days!

Unfortunately this was short lived and speeds would regularly drop below 10mbs - on calling and emailing support the stock answer was always "we will get an engineer to look into this and get back to you" then I would have to chase 3 or 4 days later to be told the same.

When an engineer was eventually sent out some 3 weeks later, a speed test was done and I was basically told that it was my aging laptop and tablets that were at fault.
I then had a 2 moth battle of providing pages of speed tests with dates and times showing that on occasions I would receive the advertised 20mbs, however for long periods I would only get 1-5mbs - The engineer rarely answered my emails, but did come again and announce everything was ok with the Airband system" After 3 months of continued grief and VERY little support or input from Airband staff
the System fixed itself and my same equipment regularly tests at 18 - 22mbs with the occasional except able drop to 10 - 12mbs

Summary

Having spoken to other local Airband customers
those that have had issues are consistent with the fact that when things are working Airband is great, however support is almost non existent or VERY lacking to say the least, and can be exceptionally frustrating.

Have also found the staff who answer the main sales line to be arrogant and rude.





Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £17.99
    Speed 33Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • UtilityWarehouse £19.99
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
  • NOW £23.00
    Speed 63Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £24.00
    Speed 73 - 82Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Shell Energy £24.99
    Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest Ultrafast ISPs
  • Gigaclear £17.00
    Speed: 200Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Zzoomm £19.95
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • YouFibre £19.99
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Community Fibre £20.00
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • BeFibre £21.00
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £25 Love2Shop Card
Large Availability | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Sponsored Links
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (5399)
  2. BT (3490)
  3. Politics (2495)
  4. Openreach (2276)
  5. Business (2225)
  6. Building Digital UK (2215)
  7. FTTC (2039)
  8. Mobile Broadband (1942)
  9. Statistics (1764)
  10. 4G (1640)
  11. Virgin Media (1594)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (1438)
  13. Fibre Optic (1380)
  14. FTTH (1379)
  15. Wireless Internet (1379)
  16. 5G (1216)
  17. Vodafone (1128)
  18. EE (1112)
  19. TalkTalk (927)
  20. O2 (918)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules