Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Airband Reviews

Sponsored Links
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
8 Reviews
Value
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 20th May, 2024    By: patmoreheath
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Overall it is a pretty good service. It’s been running for over a year with no major issues since the problem at installation – the installer didn’t know the password! There is an occasional loss of service lasting from a few seconds to a few minutes but these usually occur at night (see below). There’s a loss of service at just after midnight on the 1st of every month – probably a scheduled reboot of a router somewhere in their network.

I’ve had mixed responses from their support team – anything from no response to trying to be helpful but lacking in knowledge.

The speed is good and is as advertised.

In summary it’s great when it works but, as other reviews have indicated, when it doesn’t then Airband's support needs improving.

I don’t want to tempt fate but my overall experience is positive. I’ll update this review if I run into any issues.

Edit: As I was writing that, Airband went down for 6 minutes! Spooky. Sometimes Airband gives prior notice of an outage. Mostly they don't. I suspect that if Airband need to do something in their core network then they give prior notice. However if something needs to be done (such as a new installation) then I suspect their technicians don't care whether anyone is down for a few minutes. I've heard that BT provide some of their local network. Maybe BT/Openreach are the cause?

Time With Provider: 16 Months
Package Name: Fibre 300
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Support
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 27th May, 2023    By: AvoidAirbandDevon
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
I was so excited when I saw Airband digging up the pavement outside of my front door. Like a kid at Christmas I ran outside and was told by the engineer that we were getting fibre! Woohoo! Finally move away from ADSL that provided speeds of 1Mbps!

Then just like a kid receiving a rubbish toy that same Christmas I was brought back down to earth.

No end of outages.
No communication about outages.
No response to support requests.
No weekend support cover (they call weekend cover "out of hours") because fibre only seemingly goes down during the week.

We do though get to see their sales teams out and about at local events touting for business; which is surprising as you would have thought this would be the last thing they want when they can't even maintain a service for their current customers.

My advice? Avoid like the plague! Yep that does mean sticking with slow speeds but atm Airband aren't up to the job.

Time With Provider: 10 Months
Package Name: 900mbps
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 21st Jan, 2021    By: Candyooke
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Have been having problems with Airbands service for a month now, slow upload speeds, very poor customer service, virtually no communication now. I have sent an email of complaint to them which escalates them to resolve the problem within eight weeks. Have spoken to Ofcom today who were very helpful, logged my issues and advised me to complain. The service used to be quite good until recently. Hopefully they will resolve soon

Time With Provider: 32 Months
Package Name: Dead Airband
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 10th Oct, 2020    By: Colin
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
QDreadful service. Connection drops frequently, have to constantly turn WiFi off and back on again until it connects. You can sit next to the router and the same thing happens. Walk from or room to another holding a device linked to the WiFi and signals dropped until you switch WiFi off and on again. Customer request for help ignored on their website and never get through on the phone... wonder why??? Even lost connection again writing this. This company is fraudulent in claiming it offers a broadband service

Time With Provider: 10 Months
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 04th Sep, 2020    By: Orinoco
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
A painful year of unreliability after set up in 2018 morphed into a more reliable service in late 2019 & backed by an enthusiastic helpful support team. Now as their system has grown so the unreliability has re-emerged but now with diminished customer service. Of late it has been regularly providing an erratic service often no broadband connection at all. Speed variances have increased. No answers from customer service lines and referrals to their website and associated Speedtest. Not a lot of use with no connection. Being the only provider available there seems precious little concern. Their billing system does not appear to have any problems though

Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 01st May, 2020    By: Sian
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Title: Trapped
Airband appear to have a monopoly where I live as they are the only company I can use. Over 4 years the signal has been very poor. Was installed before I moved in and involves cables running around the cooker and a huge hole through the kitchen wall to the outside. I have had to house it in a cupboard as they and the previous tenant had deemed it Ok to have cables all over the worktop and running near the sink. Have asked repeatedly for reinstallation as a new customer but they just refuse.
Customer services are mostly awful except for the out of hours team. Engineers come round and do nothing. Try to speak very flatly in tone on the phone as many of the staff will hang up on you if they detect a hint of human emotion in your voice.
The only reason I may have to move house, everything else is perfect but can only rent and airband have me trapped paying for what is, at best a shoddy service.

Time With Provider: 3 Years
Package Name: Basic.
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 27th Jan, 2020    By: Uselessband
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Title: Badband
Promised and paid for 40Mbps, ok for a while then less than 3Mbps (three Mbps) across router for months now, new router, connector cut off and replaced,no change, sold extending router,to cure tv buffering, told existing router not able to reach smart tv 6m away in next room, still buffers, damaged external wall installing this router cable. Told probably transmitter pole moving in wind, every time told to reset router, try again, send pictures of speed test, just stalling, refused in the end, utterly pointless. Last 'engineer' said would be back next day to sort it. he just vanished. Promised phone call next day to explain problem after phoning 'technical support' out of hours line over a week ago, nothing. Booked tech. visit 3 weeks ago, nothing. Every tech to visit spent time phoning their tech support for advice, always had to disappear outside to do it out of earshot. This company bought out smaller ISP, bit rough but much better than this lot speed wise.

Time With Provider: 7 Months
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 15th Dec, 2019    By: AndyC
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
I have been using Airband for a year now. It doesn't exactly do what they say on the tin though for me. Customer service is very poor. I agreed an appointment date and the engineer didn’t turn up. Their customer support is in South Africa so communication between support and the Airband company in the UK appears poor.

As for the Airband upload speed (Mbps) this is always inconsistent and hardly ever hits the 30Mbps I have paid for, it averages 10 Mbps, erratically . During the last four days I have had an upload speed averaging 2Mbps and have made regular speed checks to witness this. I have contacted Ofcom who have supplied me with details of my rights against the contract I have. I also keep contacting Airband in South Africa who state an on-call engineer hasn’t responded to their emails about my problem. They also stated the engineer will contact me, not happened to date.

I am technically minded in this field and as more people use this wireless service the slower it gets. I would advise any one else in the same boat as me now, and from my investigation online there are a few.. The problem they have is internet traffic. The system is great when it’s working, frustrating getting through to somebody at Airband to explain what’s wrong though.
Marks out of ten, three currently

Time With Provider: 52 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Cheap BIG ISPs for 100Mbps+
Community Fibre UK ISP Logo
150Mbps
Gift: None
NOW UK ISP Logo
NOW £25.00
100Mbps
Gift: None
Virgin Media UK ISP Logo
Virgin Media £26.00
132Mbps
Gift: None
Vodafone UK ISP Logo
Vodafone £26.50 - 27.00
150Mbps
Gift: None
Zen Internet UK ISP Logo
Zen Internet £28.00 - 35.00
100Mbps
Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest ISPs for 100Mbps+
Gigaclear UK ISP Logo
Gigaclear £17.00
200Mbps
Gift: None
BeFibre UK ISP Logo
BeFibre £19.00
150Mbps
Gift: None
Community Fibre UK ISP Logo
150Mbps
Gift: None
YouFibre UK ISP Logo
YouFibre £22.99
150Mbps
Gift: None
Hey! Broadband UK ISP Logo
150Mbps
Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Sponsored Links
The Top 15 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (5716)
  2. BT (3565)
  3. Politics (2600)
  4. Openreach (2341)
  5. Business (2322)
  6. Building Digital UK (2276)
  7. FTTC (2060)
  8. Mobile Broadband (2039)
  9. Statistics (1830)
  10. 4G (1724)
  11. Virgin Media (1674)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (1493)
  13. Fibre Optic (1425)
  14. Wireless Internet (1417)
  15. FTTH (1383)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules