Reviews » Broadband Satellite » 

Freedomsat Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
15 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 03rd Mar, 2020    By: mysatworld
Bentley Walker are a disgrace. Staff couldn't care less, management never there to take ownership of issues, direct debit taken twice 3 months in a row, no apologies, no refund, the list goes on. We've since cancelled and gone onto a 4G system. My advice is to avoid Bentley Walker aka Freedomsat.



Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name: Tooway Konnect
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 03rd Jul, 2017    By: Dave Scotland
Bentley walker don't forget that name please rude unhelpful staff only interested in signing you up such slow speeds dial up would be faster I will settle for 2 bean cans and a piece of string pidgeon post 2nd .They just fob you off with excuses .We all need to report this company to the ombudsman I have contacted the Scottish broadband guys who gave me a grant for this rubbish does not matter what your computer is it will be the wrong one even my iPhone won't run some days just a pile of junk

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Apr, 2017    By: maxhogg
Title: Awfull
Joined Bently Walker a month or so ago, since joining it has been fraught with problems, the biggest problem is there tech support being unable to provide anything other than it looks good from here and you have too many components connected (two smart TVs and an apple TV box), an even worse one is their customer service being rude, bullying and only interested in the terms and conditions, what it costs to fix, cancel and no interest in solving the problem except to quote charges for tech support, cancellation and return of equipment (the government paid for by the way) because I have a 200 GBP a month system that I cant stream TV on, (that includes the overcharge that follows)I would expect a better level of support.
I have paid for 30 Mbps, I have as low as 2 Mbps, (independent, not their own speed test) again tech support assisted me in letting me know that the "satellite was thousands of miles away" I would laugh if it weren't so expense to laugh. I am sure they have a condition for that.
I was overcharged buy over 30 pounds a month for 2 of the three billing cycles, when this was brought up there were no terms and conditions quoted only that they would look in to it...no sorry to hear that or any apology only if we have over charged you we will refund the money...I wish I could refund their system....biggest mistake I have made for a while, and that after reading all the bad reviews previously...bad company and a bad mistake by myself.
Due to the threat of charges for eng support, cancellation charges and return of the equipment in (mint) condition I have reduced my monthly payment to the minimum service (I have also followed that up by informing them that it still doesn't work no matter what I am paying)
DO NOT USE THIS PROVIDER

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 27th Sep, 2016    By: KB1000
Title: no title
[ADMIN NOTE: The review content has been removed following a complaint]

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 30th Mar, 2015    By: IpswichBlues
So I am stuck in the middle of nowhere and had no other option than using this service. They offer up to 22mb/s. On average I get about 0.5mb/s. I have contacted them about this and have been on the run around, waiting up to a week sometimes for a reply. Twice though I am told this..

"The Tooway system is a quota based system, and the Grade of Service is based on your ability to consume the quota within 30days. Whilst we do not guarantee a particular throughput, we guarantee that you will be able to consume your quota within 30days (a minimum throughput will be required to achieve this). Please note that the connection is available 24/7 and this factors into your ability to consume the quota within 30days. The system does not take into account any time that you do not use the connection."

This is a great way of them getting around the terrible speeds they offer. Interesting thing is the above quote is nowhere to be seen in their terms and conditions.

Its actually impossible to ever use up my 25gb/month unless I continually clicked (never read anything) web pages (oh by the way it takes about 5 seconds to load most pages).

Unfortunately I have no other choice so am stuck in dial up speeds until they install fiber where I live.

if you have another option I would go with that than pay the high prices Bentley Walker charge.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 11th Feb, 2015    By: raymondg
joined bently walker about three years ago and was not happy with the amount of data i could download so last year suscribed to unlimited costing more than £700 per year this year it was a little less £600 + only to find after 5 oclock in the evening you can not stream to watch netflix or anything similar you would have to say that is not called unlimited or anything like it is totaly misleading and not worth the money they charge looking for a new supplier and somewhere to register a complaint there must be a legal body to complain to somewhere or is this organisation beyond the law any advice would be helpfull this company has had nearly £3000 out of me the last 3 years so should expect better from them
signed raymond gault

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 08th Jan, 2014    By: lesworley
Have been with Bentley Walker on Tooway for around 18 months now and the first 12 months were fine.

The last 6 months or so have been awful, I am on the dreaded 20meg Unlimited service which now consistently has evening time and weekend speeds of around 0.4meg......a new record was reached yesterday evening at 0.21meg...

I am of course aware that the service is 'up to' 20meg but even stretching things to the ultra extreme couldn't make sub 1/2
Meg nearly every evening anything like the service as advertised....... and all for the rock bottom price of £64.50 a month..!

Of course during weekdays the speeds are excellent 10meg up to 20meg or even a little higher at times......

Bentley Walkers comments are taken from a standard randomiser script along the lines of;

A)You must use our speed test
B)you must test the speed with a direct modem connection
C)run our speed test over several days, collect the evidence and we will represent your case (what this one means I have no idea)...


All of the above are irrelevant as day time is fine.

My advice would be to avoid at all costs....... the question is are that actually ANY genuine satellite broadband providers in the UK who provide a service at speeds at peak times least somewhere near those advertised?

Judging by most the reviews and comments across this forum and others it seems not...... would be very glad to hear from anyone who has any positive information.....

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 05th Nov, 2013    By: Julieh789
I have been a customer of Bentley Walker for a year now and I have found all aspects of their service to be outstanding
Key points

Fast installation
Good communication
Friendly and accommodating staff
Direct phone lines to all departments , that are answered by people not machines and no premium rate numbers
Speeds as promised
No faults
Competitive pricing



Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 29th Oct, 2013    By: RagetheISP
I recently bought a Hylas 2 off another individual, and started the paper work for a change of ownership with Bentley Walker. The individual I bought the satellite off of was not very knowledgeable about the set up and components of the satellite, this led to more than a few issues with getting the whole system up and running. Bentley Walkers customer support in all matters ranging from general set and pointing, to downgrading or upgrading my package, and general trouble shooting has been amazing. You rarely deal with a company that is as customer oriented as Bentely-Walker.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 25th Oct, 2013    By: Allison Evans
I just wanted to leave a review to say how happy I am with Bentley Walker. They have been my satellite internet provider for the past 2 years and the service and assistance they have provided has been excellent. It is great to deal with a company that answers telephone calls and emails promptly (and in English).

I am self-employed and work mostly from home and so it is vital that I have internet connection at all times. Bentley Walker keep me updated when there are problems with any outage in my area (on the rare occasion) and when I have had to call for any reason, the guys I have spoken to have been polite and have been able to swiftly help with any issues I have experienced (they know their stuff and do not seem to be just answering your questions from a list they are reading, like so many other companies I have dealt with in the past).

I live in a cottage in the country and with my previous ISP, BT internet, because I live far from a main telephone exchange, my download speed before I started using Bentley Walker's Tooway Satellite Broadband, was usually only around 798 Kbps, on a good day !! - less than 1 Mbps but with my satellite, I have been getting download speeds of 3.79 Mbps and upload speeds of 1.06 Mbps -which I never imagined would be possible in the'remote' area I live in.

When I have experienced issues with my connection, it has usually been due to my wireless router rather than the satellite feed, and I have found that plugging the USB lead directly into my laptop has solved any issues 9 x out of 10.

If anyone out there is looking for a reliable satellite provider with good customer services/support, I would highly recommend you contact Bentley Walker.



Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £22.00
    Avg. Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Onestream £22.49 (*29.99)
    Avg. Speed 45Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • xln telecom £22.74 (*47.94)
    Avg. Speed 66Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Plusnet £22.99 (*35.98)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £60 Reward Card
  • Vodafone £23.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2769)
  2. FTTP (2758)
  3. FTTC (1785)
  4. Building Digital UK (1743)
  5. Politics (1667)
  6. Openreach (1623)
  7. Business (1435)
  8. FTTH (1340)
  9. Statistics (1241)
  10. Mobile Broadband (1228)
  11. Fibre Optic (1065)
  12. 4G (1059)
  13. Wireless Internet (1021)
  14. Ofcom Regulation (1015)
  15. Virgin Media (1006)
  16. EE (698)
  17. Vodafone (669)
  18. Sky Broadband (668)
  19. TalkTalk (663)
  20. 5G (519)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules