Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

The Phone Coop Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
25 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 08th Apr, 2015    By: InternetPerson
Been with them for a while now and I would not consider switching away! Five star customer service, reliable connection, ethical company and their new PAYG mobile service is also excellent value.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 22nd Jan, 2014    By: bzzzzzdroid
I'm not sure what most people expect from superfast broadband, maybe some people are regularly getting over 25Mbps. Personally I just wanted to have something that wouldn't pause youtube every 30s as it buffered. I usually get 15-20Mbps. It's speed is good.

I can't recall it going down at all over the last 6 months.

I have 40GB limit which I have not gone over.

All in all I am a very happy customer.



Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 18th Jan, 2014    By: ballan07
Early days yet, but after two months on their 'phone and broadband bundle the Phone Co-op have excelled themselves.
Friendly and speedy UK-based Customer Service.
Activation when promised and completely seamless changeover with no downtime noticed.
Estimated download speed 7.6 Meg - actual speed about 9.6 Meg with no great difference at any time of day. Unbelievable - I had to use three checkers to make sure!
Not the cheapest, but very nearly and £5 less than I was paying for a 2 Meg connection with identical telecom services.
Good luck to all at the Phone Co-op...keep up the good work.
It's now 2 1/2 years since my original review. I'm delighted to say that nothing has changed in that time (except for a drop from 4th to 31st in the ratings list and an increase in my download speed to 10-12 Meg) and I still stand by my original comments. Keep up the good work Co-op!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 03rd Jul, 2013    By: kansenji
Well my own experience of The Phone Co-op (NOW CALLED "THE CO-OPERATIVE PHONE & BROADBAND") is the exact opposite of a1972980's.

I have so far been with them (phone & broadband package) for nearly two years and things couldn't be much better. My previous two ISPs were AAISP & XILO, so you can see that I demand the very best quality broadband. I was pleasantly surprised to discover that my download speeds (using JD's Auto Speed Tester) are indistinguishable from those of XILO, who provided me with the fastest speeds I'd ever had. That's no surprise really, as XILO & The Phone Co-op both use the I.S.P. MurphX. Of course, the speed you receive is very much down to your telephone exchange set-up, how congested it is at peak times and your distance from it; I am confident though, that no-one else will provide a faster service than The Phone Co-op can.

Migration went smoothly, though communication was by Royal Mail, not email. Set-up was easy using my own router.

UPDATE: Nearly a year ago, my local exchange went LLU when Talk-Talk set up their equipment there. I am now accessing their LLU service via The Co-operative & am very pleased with the much faster download & upload speeds (triple speed downloads & double speed uploads, compared to previously). The speeds are 100% consistent, as they are entirely unaffected by "peak periods", the time of day or the weekends. The changeover was handled expertly by The Co-operative & went very smoothly.

Thieves stole miles of Somerset telephone lines on 25th August 2011, which left much of Somerset & Dorset without broadband for the day. I phoned The Phone Co-op, got an instant reply & they informed me straight away of the BT Outage; so their customer service seems spot-on.

So far, the verdict is: EXCELLENT

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 06th Apr, 2013    By: runs
I have been with the phonecoop for some time . For the past year my broadband is slowing down with a high snr margin but they refuse to do anything about it that may cost them money.
In fact some (not all) technical support personnel can be very rude over the telephone . The problem I am having now was the same problem I had when I was with Orange broadband who sorted it out by paying for a Bt openreach broadband engineer visit ,which the Coop flatly refuse to do.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 02nd Mar, 2013    By: goodlegs
I signed up for broadband with thephone.coop because I wanted to use an ethical supplier. I didn't need the ability to make phone calls, but had to pay line rental as the broadband won't work without it. I was given a start date for the line (which was of no use to me for the reason above, yet I was charged from this date) and a later date for broadband go-live.

I was disappointed that the go-live date was more than 3 weeks after my order was placed. When the go-live date came around, the broadband did not work. It took several days without broadband and several calls to get it working. It didn't help that thephone.coop doesn't have 24 hr support, so if it's not working in the evening or at the weekend you're out of luck until the next working day. If you have to go to work during the day, that's your problem. Support aren't particularly helpful and have to be called multiple times to get anything done.

After about 3 days of this treatment I asked thephone.coop to cancel my service (we're supposed to be able to cancel a telephone contract within 14 days). Here's the clever part, because the go-live date for broadband is 21 days, the 14 day period has already passed, so it's not possible to cancel.

In short:

- go-live date was ages away
- connection go-live took several days to work
- consumer rights removed by being unable to cancel after the go-live date
- very expensive compared to other providers
- don't offer 24 hour support, which makes it worse when the connection isn't working - See more at: http://www.reviewcentre.com/Phone-Companies/The-Phone-Co-op-Telecoms-www-thephone-coop-review_1893317#sthash.kxUVGQmJ.dpuf

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 05th Nov, 2012    By: Gruntintunz
Title: Good.
It is with reluctance that i have to leave The Phone Co-op after just over a year. In fact i now wish that i had joined them after leaving Aol, rather than going with BT for three years.

Unfortunately my father died last month, most household bill payments were in his name and now frozen so a new start is needed in the Scorpio time of birth, death and regeneration; ergo some economies are having to be made.
The standard Phone Co-op package costs about £25 a month. I use the telephone as little as possible but the average bill has been the very best part of £30 a month which is no longer affordable. Personally i don't think any ISP needs to charge more than £20 a month for a basic, good strong service. The Phone Co-op gave a generous 40 GB or whatever it's termed allowance per month. I never used more than 4 because of only using this machine for email, 'surfing' and watching a few U tubes.
How people have the inclination to play games, let alone the time to do so is quite beyond me.

Aol years ago just seemed to melt down into a hopeless uncontrollable disaster, took over my machine and tried to preach to me about what i looked at. The Indian call centre had perhaps one gent called Niamet Ullah who actually knew what buttons to push after a month of trying.
British Telecom became extortionists at £38.50 a month for a turgid service with shitdowns and never an appology. The 'helpline' put me straight through to New Delhi (!) where the very nice sounding lady said "oh goodness gracious me, it is your router sir". My local shop who set the tower and screen up said she was talking through the equivalent of a scrotum ! Why this router thing isn't built into the big mostly empty tower box is beyond me. It would save on cables for a start.

So, after all that The Phone Co-op was like a blast of cold fresh air. Their staff speak a very high standard of English in both Oxfordshire and Manchester, helping me set up the Email via Windows 7. They have always been courtious, polite and efficient and really do seem to value new customers. In short i would never rule out going back to them which would be past the event horizon for the megalithic vast companies as prevoiusly slated.

If you want a good reliable ISP for around £30 per month the The Phone co-op in my opinion is amongst the best. There was one shut-down that i can remember and that lasted only an hour and a half, then normal quite fast service was resumed.
Clearly 'Offcom' must look at this issue of telephone line rental. We have all been stiffed with this extortion since Edwardian times and must have paid for the pine poles, terminals and wire at least fifteen hundred times over. If competition won't work for the people then the people must force a total renationilization of what ought to be public services. As a corollary i would add that any big ISPs who operate offshore, are not prepared to pay their staff above the national minimum wage should not be allowed to trade.


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 03rd May, 2012    By: burntvision
I have suffered with the phone coop for 2 years now. But after today, not for much longer!

When first set up, my internet access was intermittent at best and gradually declined to being totally unusable. Repeated calls to customer service (which I was charged for) resulted in me being accused of not setting up the router correctly etc etc. No one was able to help.

Eventually my repeated complaints led to a BT engineer being called to my property (under HEAVY threats of £100+ charge if it was my fault), who was able to prove that it was not my fault, but to do with whoever supplies the phone coop with the service. Seems rather unethical that they refused to even tell me who that was.

The problem was finally resolved therefore (just a setting changed with this enigmatic supplier) and I was able to access the internet again. But my requests for a refund (I had poor service for months and unusable service for a whole month, not to mention it cost me to get it resolved), were completely ignored!

Not being one to complain I put up with it until today. I wanted to transfer to their unlimited service and was told I would need a new router in order to do so. All free of course, but I had to pay £6 postage for it!

THIS IS SHEER NONSENSE! There is no valid science that requires me to have one of their routers just to have an unlimited service. My current router works just fine, having exceeded my 40gb allowance this month I am still accessing the web etc. Just that I will be charged for it. Changing to one of their routers has no bearing on anything - except to make me deeply suspicious of them! Just why would they try to peddle such a lie? It's beyond me.

Cancelled my direct debit, dont care about the consequences. Need to get away from such companies ASAP - beware people! Ethics and business sound wonderful, but the chances are it's just a lie!


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 27th Oct, 2011    By: Ian L
Moved to phone coop from talktalk after reading the reviews. I also like the ethical approach of the Phone Coop. I signed up for the broadband + free weekend and evening calls. To date I have not experienced any of the negative views expressed on this site.

Pros:
- Easy sign up.
- Services started on the exact date specified without a hitch.
- Excellent customer support; quick response on phone and an English speaking person you can understand, polite and courteous.
- Router provided simply had to be switched on and everything worked.
- Had a problem setting up my e-mail; tech guy (who I got through to within 30sec of calling!) sorted it remotely within minutes.
- no cold calling trying to get me to buy services.

None of the above was provided by talktalk. While it may be cheaper (but not by that much), good customer service and hassle free experience is worth a lot. Considering the quality router and service I have received I think it is good value. I am paying no more than I did for phone calls only with BT back in 2004!

Broadband speed is OK ~4Mb download, ~0.5Mb upload. This is no worse than I had with talktalk, but I was hoping for better. However, for what I use the internet for (including iPlayer) there are no glitches.

Cons:
The only other thing I would really have liked is a user manual for the router, either as a pdf file or hard copy. There is help once you have logged in but to get to that point it is a bit hit and miss. Customising log in and security (if you feel you need to) needs a degree of familiarity with the system and takes some time.

Overall I would recommend the Phone Coop. Yes you can get cheaper and I suppose it is down to what value you place on customer service which, in my experience, has been better than any other service company I have dealt with.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 28th Sep, 2011    By: Ispreview2
Using the Phone Co-op has been a complete nightmare.

Firstly, there is no proper communication between the co-op and BT in order to set up a new telephone line. It took two visits from BT and numerous phone calls to the phone co-op to even get the line up and running. The icing on the cake was that the co-op began their billing period from the first day the line was supposed to be working - this was the first instance of the phone co-op scrounging for money.

Secondly, our so-called 'working' line is anything but - some calls come through and others don't in a daily game of call lottery that the phone co-op forces us to play. It's really a matter of luck if someone can actually get through to us.

And finally, we were charged our connection fee twice despite ringing up the phone co-op and highlighting their mistake. Though we were assured that this error would be rectified before the direct debit was processed, we had the phone co-op take out three times more than what our original bill was worth come the end of the month. I had to eventually ask to speak to a supervisor since the initial customer service assistant I talked to spouted so much gobbledygook that all meaning was lost ("The initial connection fee has not been processed, and will need to be allocated to your account before we can refund your payment"). It takes over a month for the phone co-op to 'allocate' payments it seems.

And it's not a case of 'You get what you pay for' either. The Phone co-op is expensive relative to other ISPs.

We didn't want to give more money to the big companies and decided to give co-op a go. What a mistake that was. We're roped in for another 18 months of this BS, if I were you I would look for another ISP.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £20.00 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £22.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • TalkTalk £22.45 (*36.00)
    Avg. Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Post Office £22.90 (*37.00)
    Avg. Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Direct Save Telecom £22.95 (*29.95)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2512)
  2. FTTP (2207)
  3. FTTC (1660)
  4. Building Digital UK (1607)
  5. Politics (1429)
  6. Openreach (1419)
  7. Business (1240)
  8. Statistics (1100)
  9. FTTH (1077)
  10. Mobile Broadband (1040)
  11. Fibre Optic (970)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (916)
  13. Wireless Internet (910)
  14. 4G (901)
  15. Virgin Media (858)
  16. Sky Broadband (596)
  17. EE (592)
  18. TalkTalk (580)
  19. Vodafone (519)
  20. Security (413)
The Phone Coop - Broadband Fixed Line Rated 3.4 / 5 based on 25 reviews. 0. | Review Me
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules