Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

PlusNet Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
284 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 08th Aug, 2020    By: Panda12
Moved to plusnet when previous contract was up. Ended up paying more than if I stayed with existing provider. The changeover was pretty seemless. However since then the internet has been abysmal. I called them to discuss and basically got told I got the service guaranteed and if there is an issue it’s down to the WiFi equipment in my home. They offered to send some info about improving the WiFi channel but it was so complicated I couldn’t make any sense of it. Due to COVID we have been having regular zoom meetings, so what I can’t understand is why before we changed to plusnet it was fine with no lag, yet after we have a significant lag. Awful service and they couldn’t care less. P.S. took two attempts just to upload this!
After looking up more information about Plusnet (something I should have spent more time doing before I signed up!) I find out they also are not in the fibre upgrade scheme with Openreach. My postcode is listed as rural and eligible with many other suppliers and some neighbours have taken advantage. My previous supplier is listed and I should never have left them. My frustration at being in contract until the middle of 2021 with the worst broadband service I have had since living here for 20 years is unmentionable!

Time With Provider: 4 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 03rd Aug, 2020    By: teejam2
Avoid this company they are incompetent. I signed up over 1 month ago and have been left without broadband.

Customer support don't answer calls, online chat or emails.

I had to phone the sales dept to get through to anyone and when I did they lied to me. I sill don't have wroking broadband connection and will be trying to get out of my contract.

Shocking company staffed by a bunch of donkeys -- avoid at all costs!

Time With Provider: 5 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 24th Jul, 2020    By: anglia
My elderly relation and his next door neighbour who are both on Plusnet, both lost service on Fibre and Phone.
He telephoned PN to be told "Can`t help you now, I am far to busy" call back later.

Very annoying, when 2 months ago I got him ditch Virgin and go to PN as it was a far cheaper deal
Fortunately the problem corrected itself,

Time With Provider: 2 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 21st Jul, 2020    By: Consumer
The big problem with Plusnet is that they are so difficult to contact about anything: broadband problems, phone problems, accounts etc. They couldn't be more awkward if they tried.

We have had a fault on the phone line occurring for the second tome in two weeks. They expect you to telephone them; How when the phone isn't working!! I got onto the chat line where they just couldn't care less. They said they couldn't do anything, obviouslythey weren't going to try. They said I had to ring. I managed to get a mobile to call but their call centre is hopeless on a mobile. Pressing the button as instructed just cut me off and I tried several times. I had asked the chat line for an email address of the Complaints Manager but was told that you have to write in. For a company selling modern technology, including email, it is ridiculous to hide behind the postal service. I want action now not the week after next.

Time With Provider: 6 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 19th May, 2020    By: PeteH
Plusnet were due install internet at my new address. On 13th March we received an email confirming that the service would be setup up and specified the correct address they had been given. They requested that the installation would take place on the 30th March with Openreach.

Following this I received an email stating that on 28th March stating that they would have to delay the installation until 9th April. We called them on 9th of April after having received no internet. Then we had a visit from our next door neighbour asking why their internet and phone line had been cut off and transferred to Plusnet. They then showed us a letter that was sent to their address not ours from Plusnet stating that the internet was due to be installed at their address instead of ours. Clearly Plusnet mixed up the address and cause this whole problem (despite trying to blame Openreach).
BT corrected the issue for my neighbours and Plusnet stated that our internet would be reinstalled to the right address within 7 days.

On 17th April Plusnet sent an email saying we would have to wait until June 2020. Following this, on the 28th April Plusnet have confirmed that we will have to wait until 23th June. Now on the 7th May Plusnet sent us an email about referring any complaints to the Ombudsman service.

Time With Provider: 6 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 16th May, 2020    By: Aberboy0
Last few months my download speeds have halved and less. Plusnet just ignoring the issue, have posted in their forums, yet nothing but pointless advice, impossible to spk to a person on the phone.
It's always peak time, which tells us it's congestion, but they deny it in forums.
Just burying heads in the sand and hope it goes away. Luckily only 4 months to go, till end on contract.

Never again

Time With Provider: 14 Months
Package Name: Fibre
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 04th May, 2020    By: Michail
Speed: Many times super slow
Reliability: Speed not consistent. Lots of times no internet at all for minutes or even hours
Support: I have not used support so I dont know.

Overall: I would not recommend

Time With Provider: 19 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 29th Apr, 2020    By: jm1
TL:DR - Just dont use Plusnet. Look at the rest of the reviews here. and look at their own public forum - plenty of complaints/issues. i should have looked 10 months ago. if i could give zero or negative stars for support i would.
---------------------------

4/5 months of fault on my line (ongoing) which results in a repeatedley dropped connections. plusnet completely useless at dealing with the issue, and the whole time blaming BT-openreach and trying to place the responsibility on me. took ages to get a response from any support ticket, but only an hour to get a response to a complaint ticket.

ex-IT worker, not ignorant when it come to issues. spent a fair amount of time and money making sure that fault was not with my equipment.

Also, when they were able to detect an external fault (as in, external to premesis), i was told i had to accept the possibility of a charge if the engineer found no fault?? right after they said they detected a fault....

they do not share their information with openreach. - i asked the engineers that came to my property ( 4 different visits)

Supplied Plusnet Hub One router is rebranded BT homehub 5 first released in 2013 - old tech - and has issues where the 5ghz wifi doesnt work correctly requiring it to be turned off.

Am currently waiting for a more competant ISP to take over the line (5 days and counting)


Time With Provider: 10 Months
Package Name: fibre umlimited extra
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 19th Nov, 2019    By: Tom A
Plusnet have not been great so far. They've cancelled out existing broadband and have not been able to set up the new one yet. As such we're in limbo without any broadband for an unspecified number of days. Really not happy at all, and I've not heard anything like it before. Avoid at all costs.

Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 22nd Jun, 2019    By: Supernova2012
Title: Has been!
I had Plusnet ages ago when they were still an independent company and they were amazing! they were so good to the point that I referred lots of people to use them.
After a few years with other providers, I moved into a new house about a year ago and long story short, Plusnet was the only provider that could provide me with FTTC before anyone else could so I signed up without reading any reviews on them as I thought they will still be good at what they do.. I could have been more mistaken. Simply put they don't really care anymore and their customer services are so bad.

I counted the days till I could leave them. and in order not to be charged one month more than I need too, I rang them and asked if I would be charged any penalties if I am to leave 3 days before the end of the contract. They assured me they wouldnt charge me. so I signed up to a monthly contract with NowTV broadband (not wanting to get tied down with a 12-month plan because I am in the process of sorting FTTP) my move date is 1/07/2019 and my last day with them should be 03/07/2019. a few days later I received an email from Plusnet advising me that they will charge me a penalty. I raised a ticked advising them of their already agreeing to a waiver to which I received a reply advising me to refer to the email!! They have completely lost their mojo and IMHO should be avoided at all costs!


Time With Provider: 12 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £19.95 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: HYPER20
  • SSE £22.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Plusnet £22.50 (*35.98)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £50 Reward Card
  • xln telecom £22.74 (*47.94)
    Avg. Speed 66Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Onestream £22.99 (*34.99)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2741)
  2. FTTP (2673)
  3. FTTC (1768)
  4. Building Digital UK (1723)
  5. Politics (1632)
  6. Openreach (1592)
  7. Business (1403)
  8. FTTH (1330)
  9. Statistics (1223)
  10. Mobile Broadband (1195)
  11. Fibre Optic (1048)
  12. 4G (1028)
  13. Wireless Internet (1010)
  14. Ofcom Regulation (1004)
  15. Virgin Media (993)
  16. EE (679)
  17. Sky Broadband (662)
  18. TalkTalk (653)
  19. Vodafone (651)
  20. 5G (487)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules