Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

PlusNet Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
275 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 22nd Jun, 2019    By: Supernova2012
Title: Has been!
I had Plusnet ages ago when they were still an independent company and they were amazing! they were so good to the point that I referred lots of people to use them.
After a few years with other providers, I moved into a new house about a year ago and long story short, Plusnet was the only provider that could provide me with FTTC before anyone else could so I signed up without reading any reviews on them as I thought they will still be good at what they do.. I could have been more mistaken. Simply put they don't really care anymore and their customer services are so bad.

I counted the days till I could leave them. and in order not to be charged one month more than I need too, I rang them and asked if I would be charged any penalties if I am to leave 3 days before the end of the contract. They assured me they wouldnt charge me. so I signed up to a monthly contract with NowTV broadband (not wanting to get tied down with a 12-month plan because I am in the process of sorting FTTP) my move date is 1/07/2019 and my last day with them should be 03/07/2019. a few days later I received an email from Plusnet advising me that they will charge me a penalty. I raised a ticked advising them of their already agreeing to a waiver to which I received a reply advising me to refer to the email!! They have completely lost their mojo and IMHO should be avoided at all costs!


Time With Provider: 12 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Jun, 2019    By: ocramc
I've been with Plusnet for over 3 years, since moving outside of a Virgin Media service area. The connection itself has been almost rock solid, however the provided router does experience issues every couple of weeks, particularly over Wifi, requiring a reboot. Unlike some providers they provide the connection credentials which can be used with another router.

The price is decent for the no-frills service that they provide, however they will sting you with a significant post-contract price increase and weren't willing to match new customer pricing, with the rep calling it 'unsustainable'. They will accept transfers in from previous customers with no waiting period, however it's a rigmarole I'd rather have to not go through.

Support is UK based, phone lines are open for extended hours and advisors seem to be reasonably knowledgeable and not forced to follow a script on the few occasions I've had to call them.

Time With Provider: 3 Years
Package Name: Unlimited Fibre Extra
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 30th May, 2019    By: larchy
Service only worked 50% of the time; a new build, so the line and socket was brand new. Ex-IT industry so know how to troubleshoot and it wasn't my equipment.

Cue a six month battle whereby Plusnet tried every way they could to blame me, my devices or BT Openreach. The Openreach guys were excellent, in total coming out 5 times in six months, but Plusnet were still blaming the line.

The connection itself wasn't dropping; things would just start to randomly timeout.

Plusnet were completely uninterested in doing any troubleshooting beyond a line test, which didn't show the problem.

My own tests (tracert/ping, networx, wireshark) all showed that the problem occurred as soon as the traffic entered the plusnet backbone.

Plusnet completely ignored me and blatantly couldn't be bothered to investigate.

I then was blatantly lied to and fobbed off by a second line engineer who told me that ping/tracert tests to google, bbc, facebook etc should be timing out due to their firewalls. I can see how a lot of people would accept this, but for someone who is cisco qualified this blatant b*llsh*t absolutely infuriated me beyond words. It is absolutely appalling. I directly complained about this and Plusnet completely ignored me, despite the engineer being named and what he said to me recorded.

Absolute disgrace; avoid.

Time With Provider: 5 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 25th May, 2019    By: Bures
Title: Excellent
My Elderly neighbour paying BT nearly £48 for copper broadband + phone with speed in the range 1-5Mbs
Classic case of him not looking for cheaper alternatives or a reduction
Decided to change him over to PlusNet at only £26/month inc Any Time Calls
However, on the changeover date my neighbour then informs me no router had arrived
We immediately telephoned the PN Help Line, amazingly it was with us by early next morning
Changeover was seemless, no problems and he is now saving over £400 per year

Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name: Basic ADSL
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 22nd May, 2019    By: Taunton81
I had previously had an FTTC connection with AAISP which I couldn’t fault. End of last year I moved property and FTTC wasn’t available at the new location, only ADSL. I decided to try Plusnet as I couldn’t justify the high price that AAISP charge for ADSL.

I was really surprised how good the Plusnet service was. They supplied with their own ADSL router, which I have to say was awful. Poor WiFi and dropped connections. I changed it over to my own Netgear Nighthawk router and it was immediately syncing 1Mbps after and the connection was rock solid.

A few months later FTTC became available. I decided to upgrade to the 40/10 service, I didn’t need the 80/20. Plusnet upgrade system online wasn’t great, and got rid of the promotion I had on the account. I contacted them on Twitter and they called me back, arranged the upgrade and kept the promotion offering.

Getting really good speeds, no slow downs at peak times, and excellent value for money.

Time With Provider: 6 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 27th Dec, 2018    By: autobahn_32
They used to be OK, but that was a l-o-n-g time ago. Their customer helpline (which is always 'exceptionally busy') is nothign of the sort. If you do manage to get through don't expect them to be able to do anything remotely helpful. Speeds go down, price goes up, service gets worse, AVOID!

Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 08th Aug, 2018    By: tree
I was with plusnet for about 5 years. Initially we were very impressed with them and enjoyed decent speeds, with a good quality connection.

We left them about 4 months ago when they put their prices up - mostly as an excuse to get out of our contract.

First of all we noticed that we could no longer do multiple things on the connection (e.g. game while my wife watches Netflix).

Then films wouldn't stream and constantly buffered, as would Netflix. Netflix would often drop resolution and would even stop and buffer. Netflix says it only needs a 5mb connection for HD...

If we ran a speedtest, it would show it as having a typical speed for our connection (about 30-50mb). Interestingly, immediately after running a test, it would often (briefly) kick start our connection. We suspect they check the traffic for anything coming from a speed test server and prioritise it to make it appear like we were getting a better speed than we were. We obviously can't prove it though.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 18th Jun, 2018    By: Baggs
Title: Shocking
Ok ive been with Plusnet for 8 years, and although trouble free most of the time until now.

18 months ago we was offered fibre which would improve our speeds, well it did from 2.6 mbs to 3.1 mbs yes thats all we get!

but recently over the last 6 weeks out land line is very noisy, and our broadband keeps dropping off.

so we call plusnet support who say its our equipment and we should renew the contract.

next day we lost phone and broadband so we phoned back demanded an engineer, which 5 days later he fixed the fault which was with the line, we still have our existing equipment.

seams in first instance plusnet support try to sell you a new broadband package, rather then fix the problem.

so now where changing our provider.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 15th Apr, 2018    By: beermakesmefart
Title: Total Pish
After 8 years its time to move on!

Positives = Cheap internet

Negatives = poor speeds
poor support
poor support times
poor everything!!!





Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 09th Apr, 2018    By: guyrws
A very good general service but I was hoping that now being part of BT that it was intended that BT should adopt Plusnet's service values but alas I looks like it is going to be the other way round.

With regards to adopting new techknowledgey.
I would have thought that BT might have used PlusNet to test FTTPoD or g.fast/SuperFast but no such luck.
High Wycombe is a rollout area, we have the G.Fast cabinets installed outside our building but does anyone at PlusNet know what is going on, alas no.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £20.00 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Direct Save Telecom £22.95 (*29.95)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Origin Broadband £23.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £23.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • SSE £23.00 (*33.00)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2485)
  2. FTTP (2134)
  3. FTTC (1643)
  4. Building Digital UK (1588)
  5. Openreach (1399)
  6. Politics (1394)
  7. Business (1221)
  8. Statistics (1086)
  9. FTTH (1038)
  10. Mobile Broadband (1018)
  11. Fibre Optic (963)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (906)
  13. Wireless Internet (892)
  14. 4G (881)
  15. Virgin Media (849)
  16. Sky Broadband (591)
  17. EE (582)
  18. TalkTalk (571)
  19. Vodafone (506)
  20. Security (406)
PlusNet - Broadband Fixed Line Rated 2.0309090909090908 / 5 based on 275 reviews. 0. | Review Me
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules