Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

PlusNet Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
280 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 19th May, 2020    By: PeteH
Plusnet were due install internet at my new address. On 13th March we received an email confirming that the service would be setup up and specified the correct address they had been given. They requested that the installation would take place on the 30th March with Openreach.

Following this I received an email stating that on 28th March stating that they would have to delay the installation until 9th April. We called them on 9th of April after having received no internet. Then we had a visit from our next door neighbour asking why their internet and phone line had been cut off and transferred to Plusnet. They then showed us a letter that was sent to their address not ours from Plusnet stating that the internet was due to be installed at their address instead of ours. Clearly Plusnet mixed up the address and cause this whole problem (despite trying to blame Openreach).
BT corrected the issue for my neighbours and Plusnet stated that our internet would be reinstalled to the right address within 7 days.

On 17th April Plusnet sent an email saying we would have to wait until June 2020. Following this, on the 28th April Plusnet have confirmed that we will have to wait until 23th June. Now on the 7th May Plusnet sent us an email about referring any complaints to the Ombudsman service.

Time With Provider: 6 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 16th May, 2020    By: Aberboy0
Last few months my download speeds have halved and less. Plusnet just ignoring the issue, have posted in their forums, yet nothing but pointless advice, impossible to spk to a person on the phone.
It's always peak time, which tells us it's congestion, but they deny it in forums.
Just burying heads in the sand and hope it goes away. Luckily only 4 months to go, till end on contract.

Never again

Time With Provider: 14 Months
Package Name: Fibre
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 04th May, 2020    By: Michail
Speed: Many times super slow
Reliability: Speed not consistent. Lots of times no internet at all for minutes or even hours
Support: I have not used support so I dont know.

Overall: I would not recommend

Time With Provider: 19 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 29th Apr, 2020    By: jm1
TL:DR - Just dont use Plusnet. Look at the rest of the reviews here. and look at their own public forum - plenty of complaints/issues. i should have looked 10 months ago. if i could give zero or negative stars for support i would.
---------------------------

4/5 months of fault on my line (ongoing) which results in a repeatedley dropped connections. plusnet completely useless at dealing with the issue, and the whole time blaming BT-openreach and trying to place the responsibility on me. took ages to get a response from any support ticket, but only an hour to get a response to a complaint ticket.

ex-IT worker, not ignorant when it come to issues. spent a fair amount of time and money making sure that fault was not with my equipment.

Also, when they were able to detect an external fault (as in, external to premesis), i was told i had to accept the possibility of a charge if the engineer found no fault?? right after they said they detected a fault....

they do not share their information with openreach. - i asked the engineers that came to my property ( 4 different visits)

Supplied Plusnet Hub One router is rebranded BT homehub 5 first released in 2013 - old tech - and has issues where the 5ghz wifi doesnt work correctly requiring it to be turned off.

Am currently waiting for a more competant ISP to take over the line (5 days and counting)


Time With Provider: 10 Months
Package Name: fibre umlimited extra
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 19th Nov, 2019    By: Tom A
Plusnet have not been great so far. They've cancelled out existing broadband and have not been able to set up the new one yet. As such we're in limbo without any broadband for an unspecified number of days. Really not happy at all, and I've not heard anything like it before. Avoid at all costs.

Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 22nd Jun, 2019    By: Supernova2012
Title: Has been!
I had Plusnet ages ago when they were still an independent company and they were amazing! they were so good to the point that I referred lots of people to use them.
After a few years with other providers, I moved into a new house about a year ago and long story short, Plusnet was the only provider that could provide me with FTTC before anyone else could so I signed up without reading any reviews on them as I thought they will still be good at what they do.. I could have been more mistaken. Simply put they don't really care anymore and their customer services are so bad.

I counted the days till I could leave them. and in order not to be charged one month more than I need too, I rang them and asked if I would be charged any penalties if I am to leave 3 days before the end of the contract. They assured me they wouldnt charge me. so I signed up to a monthly contract with NowTV broadband (not wanting to get tied down with a 12-month plan because I am in the process of sorting FTTP) my move date is 1/07/2019 and my last day with them should be 03/07/2019. a few days later I received an email from Plusnet advising me that they will charge me a penalty. I raised a ticked advising them of their already agreeing to a waiver to which I received a reply advising me to refer to the email!! They have completely lost their mojo and IMHO should be avoided at all costs!


Time With Provider: 12 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Jun, 2019    By: ocramc
I've been with Plusnet for over 3 years, since moving outside of a Virgin Media service area. The connection itself has been almost rock solid, however the provided router does experience issues every couple of weeks, particularly over Wifi, requiring a reboot. Unlike some providers they provide the connection credentials which can be used with another router.

The price is decent for the no-frills service that they provide, however they will sting you with a significant post-contract price increase and weren't willing to match new customer pricing, with the rep calling it 'unsustainable'. They will accept transfers in from previous customers with no waiting period, however it's a rigmarole I'd rather have to not go through.

Support is UK based, phone lines are open for extended hours and advisors seem to be reasonably knowledgeable and not forced to follow a script on the few occasions I've had to call them.

Time With Provider: 3 Years
Package Name: Unlimited Fibre Extra
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 30th May, 2019    By: larchy
Service only worked 50% of the time; a new build, so the line and socket was brand new. Ex-IT industry so know how to troubleshoot and it wasn't my equipment.

Cue a six month battle whereby Plusnet tried every way they could to blame me, my devices or BT Openreach. The Openreach guys were excellent, in total coming out 5 times in six months, but Plusnet were still blaming the line.

The connection itself wasn't dropping; things would just start to randomly timeout.

Plusnet were completely uninterested in doing any troubleshooting beyond a line test, which didn't show the problem.

My own tests (tracert/ping, networx, wireshark) all showed that the problem occurred as soon as the traffic entered the plusnet backbone.

Plusnet completely ignored me and blatantly couldn't be bothered to investigate.

I then was blatantly lied to and fobbed off by a second line engineer who told me that ping/tracert tests to google, bbc, facebook etc should be timing out due to their firewalls. I can see how a lot of people would accept this, but for someone who is cisco qualified this blatant b*llsh*t absolutely infuriated me beyond words. It is absolutely appalling. I directly complained about this and Plusnet completely ignored me, despite the engineer being named and what he said to me recorded.

Absolute disgrace; avoid.

Time With Provider: 5 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 25th May, 2019    By: Bures
Title: Excellent
My Elderly neighbour paying BT nearly £48 for copper broadband + phone with speed in the range 1-5Mbs
Classic case of him not looking for cheaper alternatives or a reduction
Decided to change him over to PlusNet at only £26/month inc Any Time Calls
However, on the changeover date my neighbour then informs me no router had arrived
We immediately telephoned the PN Help Line, amazingly it was with us by early next morning
Changeover was seemless, no problems and he is now saving over £400 per year

Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name: Basic ADSL
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 22nd May, 2019    By: Taunton81
I had previously had an FTTC connection with AAISP which I couldn’t fault. End of last year I moved property and FTTC wasn’t available at the new location, only ADSL. I decided to try Plusnet as I couldn’t justify the high price that AAISP charge for ADSL.

I was really surprised how good the Plusnet service was. They supplied with their own ADSL router, which I have to say was awful. Poor WiFi and dropped connections. I changed it over to my own Netgear Nighthawk router and it was immediately syncing 1Mbps after and the connection was rock solid.

A few months later FTTC became available. I decided to upgrade to the 40/10 service, I didn’t need the 80/20. Plusnet upgrade system online wasn’t great, and got rid of the promotion I had on the account. I contacted them on Twitter and they called me back, arranged the upgrade and kept the promotion offering.

Getting really good speeds, no slow downs at peak times, and excellent value for money.

Time With Provider: 6 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £19.95 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: HYPER20
  • NOW TV £22.00 (*40.00)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • SSE £22.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • xln telecom £22.74 (*47.94)
    Avg. Speed 66Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £22.95
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2697)
  2. FTTP (2546)
  3. FTTC (1745)
  4. Building Digital UK (1685)
  5. Politics (1580)
  6. Openreach (1544)
  7. Business (1365)
  8. FTTH (1287)
  9. Statistics (1192)
  10. Mobile Broadband (1161)
  11. Fibre Optic (1037)
  12. 4G (1001)
  13. Wireless Internet (988)
  14. Ofcom Regulation (987)
  15. Virgin Media (963)
  16. EE (668)
  17. Sky Broadband (651)
  18. TalkTalk (634)
  19. Vodafone (628)
  20. 5G (464)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules