Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

PlusNet Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
271 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 27th Dec, 2018    By: autobahn_32
They used to be OK, but that was a l-o-n-g time ago. Their customer helpline (which is always 'exceptionally busy') is nothign of the sort. If you do manage to get through don't expect them to be able to do anything remotely helpful. Speeds go down, price goes up, service gets worse, AVOID!

Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 08th Aug, 2018    By: tree
I was with plusnet for about 5 years. Initially we were very impressed with them and enjoyed decent speeds, with a good quality connection.

We left them about 4 months ago when they put their prices up - mostly as an excuse to get out of our contract.

First of all we noticed that we could no longer do multiple things on the connection (e.g. game while my wife watches Netflix).

Then films wouldn't stream and constantly buffered, as would Netflix. Netflix would often drop resolution and would even stop and buffer. Netflix says it only needs a 5mb connection for HD...

If we ran a speedtest, it would show it as having a typical speed for our connection (about 30-50mb). Interestingly, immediately after running a test, it would often (briefly) kick start our connection. We suspect they check the traffic for anything coming from a speed test server and prioritise it to make it appear like we were getting a better speed than we were. We obviously can't prove it though.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 18th Jun, 2018    By: Baggs
Title: Shocking
Ok ive been with Plusnet for 8 years, and although trouble free most of the time until now.

18 months ago we was offered fibre which would improve our speeds, well it did from 2.6 mbs to 3.1 mbs yes thats all we get!

but recently over the last 6 weeks out land line is very noisy, and our broadband keeps dropping off.

so we call plusnet support who say its our equipment and we should renew the contract.

next day we lost phone and broadband so we phoned back demanded an engineer, which 5 days later he fixed the fault which was with the line, we still have our existing equipment.

seams in first instance plusnet support try to sell you a new broadband package, rather then fix the problem.

so now where changing our provider.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 15th Apr, 2018    By: beermakesmefart
Title: Total Pish
After 8 years its time to move on!

Positives = Cheap internet

Negatives = poor speeds
poor support
poor support times
poor everything!!!





Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 09th Apr, 2018    By: guyrws
A very good general service but I was hoping that now being part of BT that it was intended that BT should adopt Plusnet's service values but alas I looks like it is going to be the other way round.

With regards to adopting new techknowledgey.
I would have thought that BT might have used PlusNet to test FTTPoD or g.fast/SuperFast but no such luck.
High Wycombe is a rollout area, we have the G.Fast cabinets installed outside our building but does anyone at PlusNet know what is going on, alas no.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Jan, 2018    By: Dwight1379
Title: Lovely ISP
Have been with PN for a number of years with only 1 breakdown which was passed back to OR and was quickly sorted.
Speed is as they predict as I am only 600 meters from the CAB/FTTC boxes.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 19th Jan, 2018    By: itsnotthathard
Ordered Fibre Broadband from them. Activated 4weeks after initial date, speed was 2Mbps not the 5-10 quoted, engineer booked - didn't turn up. Chased them for an update - promised a phone call - guess what? Still waiting. If you don't really need it, then go with Plusnet.

Shocking service

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 16th Jan, 2018    By: rickt42uk
Title: Appalling
Plusnet LIE to their customers. They treat them with contempt and never take any action to resolve issues.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 16th Dec, 2017    By: Forgotten Rural
I have been with plusnet for a few years now, previously with Talk Talk and prior to that BT.

Plusnet attracted me because of UK call centre and price.

However, despite being part of BT, they seem to have no influence on getting faults fixed by Openreach.

I live approx 2 miles from the cabinet which is fibre enabled. The copper line is prone to faults. The call wait time for Plusnet can be up to 1 hour, which I find unacceptable. Download speed fluctuates between 2 - 4 Mbps, not great for watching BT Sport, movies etc due to buffering. It also means that programmes will sometimes play on iPad but cannot play it on TV via Apple TV. Not sure if this as because of slow line speed or poor wifi router.

I'm in contact until 04/2018 but before then I will look for a new provider.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 04th Dec, 2017    By: micoli
I've had an intermittent and very unreliable internet connection from 2 weeks after connection on 24 July. Customer services are a joke. After waiting 30 - 40 minutes to get through they go through the same unhelpful script. The faults team aren't any use either as they just try to organise an engineers visit, (which could possibly cost £65), Even at that potential charge I've never been able to get an engineer booked. On 2 other occasions customer services transferred me to the faults team and I waited for 10 - 15 minutes before being cut off. The list goes on and on.

They don't even answer the online faults forum which they direct you to to answer questions they pose. Although this morning I had a question asking me if I wanted the fault investigated. It is 4 months too late and I'm now going through the process of changing provider, (which might have prompted their response).

I'm going back to Sky and although I have been informed I'll have to pay an early cancellation fee. it will be worth it just to get a reliable connection and get rid off the stress caused by Plus Net. If this was a product I bought over the counter it would be returned for a refund as 'not fit for use'.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £18.00 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 30Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Code: SPRING19
  • Vodafone £21.00 (*23.00)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • TalkTalk £22.50
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Direct Save Telecom £22.95 (*29.95)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • SSE £23.00 (*33.00)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2367)
  2. FTTP (1917)
  3. FTTC (1567)
  4. Broadband Delivery UK (1529)
  5. Politics (1305)
  6. Openreach (1304)
  7. Business (1151)
  8. Statistics (1017)
  9. Mobile Broadband (942)
  10. FTTH (925)
  11. Fibre Optic (924)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (857)
  13. Wireless Internet (851)
  14. 4G (822)
  15. Virgin Media (788)
  16. Sky Broadband (565)
  17. TalkTalk (545)
  18. EE (538)
  19. Vodafone (452)
  20. Security (387)
PlusNet - Broadband Fixed Line Rated 2.022140221402214 / 5 based on 271 reviews. | Review Me
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules