Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Vispa Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
44 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 22nd Oct, 2015    By: kroll
Title: Improved
There seem to be lots of negative reviews for Vispa so I figured one positive one wouldn't go amiss.

I joined Vispa in August and I can't say I've had any bad experiences. I upgraded my package today to one of their newer unlimited ones and it was actioned in a few minutes.

As much as the bigger firms have compelling offers, I still support smaller companies as they tend to give a better service.

No complaints from a happy customer.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 14th Mar, 2014    By: wellsyland
Like others I was transferred to Vispa when my previous provider moved its hosting to their servers but i was not made aware that i was now one of their customers now.

Straight away drop-outs started happening most weekends and THROTTLING at weekends right down to 30kbs.

My Data allowance was changed without telling me !!! so one month i incurred a bill for £60 mainly due to my son watching Netflix.

This is a poor service that is outdated by much better isp's, PLEASE PLEASE DONT WASTE YOU MONEY ON VISPA the ISP dinosaur



Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 14th Mar, 2014    By: Rob
Back in 2007 I wrote a review praising Vispa and its tech support staff, sadly in recent years the service as degraded over and over again, until now, when I cannot emphasise how poor support has become.

In the last 3 years I have had a persistent issue with bad equipment at the exchange; even the OutReach engineer said it needed replacing if it failed again, but 3 failures later I STILL have the same faulty equipment on my line.

I have currently been without internet since 3rd of March (11 days), and despite the symptoms being EXACTLY the same as the other occasions the line has failed, the current crop of monkeys manning tech support wouldnt call out an engineer when I requested it - waiting a further NINE DAYS before suggesting there MIGHT be a network issue.

I asked for my MAC 3 times with no reply, before discovering by chance that they had changed the T&C's on the 1st of March,and now insist on a postal letter to cancel an account.

I also discovered they have transferred my phone line from BT to TalkTalk without my knowledge or permission.

All ISPs go through bad patches, but the deterioration over 3 years has been breath-taking, and recent company reorganisations and changes to payments systems leave me very uneasy.
I cannot recommend VISPA as a reliable ISP and suggest all current customers should consider alternatives.

In brief :-

Reasonable speeds (usually), with no current obvious blocking of torrents.

Unreliable email servers that fail to respond correctly for much of the night and regularly have a short nap during the day.

Appalling tech support, where they lie and BS to you.

High prices - which could be justified when they offered good service, but now are just a joke.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 12th Oct, 2013    By: Buddy98
Ok, so Vispa started off last year in the Warrington area offering "Super Fast" internet. But since November 2012 it has been nothing but poor. 1-5Mbps average over the past 12 months. They limit you to 5Mbps after downloading for 20 seconds so you never actually get to use the true speed you could get. But then they don't actually have enough equipment to support you have a decent connection so theres no point using it over the 1Mb ADSL available.

Support never get back to you, tickets either stay open forever or just get shut.

Customer Service is poor, it feels like they rob you of you're money then use it to pay for new toys for themselves instead of improving the servie.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 09th Sep, 2013    By: n777
Title: Avoid
Low allowance, expensive packages...

You can only contact support during office hours or via email out of hours so if you have a problem with your broadband at the weekend expect to wait until Monday to get it resolved!

Flaky usage tracker sometimes reports no usage for a given week but they are more than happy to charge you if they think you have gone over your allowance.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Jun, 2013    By: Bill52
Title: Avoid
Like others I was transferred to Vispa when my previous provider rolled over. Seemed OK except they charged us more than their existing customers. Over the years this evened out, however every year we are cut off for not paying our bill, because they don't send you one. Not even by email! You are then instructed to login over your dead connection.

This year after having paid we continued to be cut off at the beginning of every month, despite paying annually in advance.

It got to the stage all we had to do was ring their number and our connection would be restored without us even having to say why we were ringing.

Trying to sort it out I was assured the bill I had paid was for the previous twelve months. When I asked if any of their customers paid annually in arrears there was a bit of bluster then silent acceptance of the irrefutable logic. No apology but the connection came back up.

Despite this it was obvious our connection was being throttled in the afternoon, phoned again to be told we were being penalized for non payment for a mysterious service we had not ordered but it was being sorted, a mistake in accounts.

It was obviously our fault though. One is left feeling that the whole outfit is run by one guy in a bedroom and he is pursuing a personal vendetta against his only customer.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 16th Jan, 2013    By: micope
I previously had seperate Landline, ISP & Email Providers, which was confusing & cost more, but was wary of Changing Suppliers. But on Upgrading to VISPA Homesaver 10GB:- Telephone, ISP & Email were incorporated into a single Account, with no Changeover Problems & good Annual Savings.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 22nd Jan, 2012    By: A.J.Pintle
Not a happy bunny!!

I reluctantly got transferred to this service when my previous ISP closed their doors. I was promised unfiltered access (as with my previous provider) but with a peak usage cap. This all sounded fine but considering this promise, i find it intriguing that my download speeds are limited to 25kbps up until midnight when the instantly improve up to around 6Mbps. No throttling or traffic shaping? I think not!!!

Their customer service is also very poor - unfriendly advisors (term used loosely) and pathetic opening hours.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 27th Dec, 2011    By: glyn
My connection started to have problems at the beginning of December, dropping the connection, running slowly, that kind of thing but I put that down to usage and the run if the mill ups and downs of internet connection. Eventually by the 10th though the connection had died all together.

I left it over the weekend as they're shut and don't answer support emails and called Monday morning when I was told that I'd been swapped over from the old 8mb connection to the new 20mb connection, without asking for it or being told it was happening. I'd also received a bill for £30 for cancelling my connection with them, which was removed as it had got put on by error due to the switch, not the most reassuring thing in the world but hey.

I was also given a list of instructions about the new connection, how I should never turn my router off because that slows the connection somehow.

My slow connection ran at 2.9mb which is fine for my needs, on the new fast connection I was getting 1.4mb.

Until Tuesday afternoon when it crashed and burned again. Another call and a BT man was sent out to look at my socket and line on Thursday. He replaced the box in my house then when that didn't fix it, spent Friday morning doing something at the exchange. Eventually, it worked.

Saturday it stopped working and didn't work for the whole weekend. It's spasmed into life every now and then with at most a download speed of 0.9mb.

Even that was too much for it and on the 24/12/2012 it stopped altogether. No-one is in over Christmas but being as no-one has answered any of my emails from 3 weeks ago I don't see it being because of the holidays.

It's a good job I'm unemployed and have the time to deal with all this really.

In general I'm not happy I was "upgraded" without notification or question and I'm not happy with the lack of email responses. Talking to Adam on the phone there and he was very nice and helpful. Sadly, the rest of the company doesn't seem to care as much as he does.

I'll post further when/if this is resolved

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 06th Jun, 2011    By: kevinwilliams
Complete rip off merchants - been with them for 10 years on a 2GB package £17. Suddenly noticed I was being charged £50 - for excessive data. On further investigation, I find this has been going on for 2 years!! Vispa actually have a 10GB tariff for £17.95 - but have been charging me up to £55 per month for far less than 10GB. Okay - I should have checked or noticed before - but I didn't. Vispa staff were arrogant, rude and extremely unhelpful. Recently email has been impossible to access - staff were unable to fix.

ISPreview Sanctioned 'Right to Reply' (RtR) by Vispa Internet Follows (DO NOT REMOVE)

Related Rule(s) - http://www.ispreview.co.uk/rules.shtml#3

This situation has arisen as the customer refuses to login to our website to update his contact phone number and email address thus he has been unable to receive our invoices and weekly usage notifications. We have also been unable to contact him by phone. The single £55 charge actually relates to three months but the customer refuses to accept this despite the information being made available on our website.


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £17.00 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 30Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Code: ONLINEDEAL
  • NOW TV £20.00 (*35.99)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • TalkTalk £22.50
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Plusnet £23.99 (*34.98)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £24.00 (*27.00)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Gadget Worth £199.99
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2205)
  2. FTTP (1598)
  3. Broadband Delivery UK (1445)
  4. FTTC (1442)
  5. Openreach (1159)
  6. Politics (1151)
  7. Business (1040)
  8. Statistics (920)
  9. Fibre Optic (847)
  10. Mobile Broadband (828)
  11. Ofcom Regulation (769)
  12. Wireless Internet (760)
  13. FTTH (731)
  14. 4G (722)
  15. Virgin Media (707)
  16. Sky Broadband (526)
  17. TalkTalk (507)
  18. EE (470)
  19. Vodafone (359)
  20. Security (356)
Vispa - Broadband Fixed Line Rated 3.3636363636363638 / 5 based on 44 reviews. | Review Me
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules