Reviews » Broadband Fixed Wireless » 

6G Internet Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
10 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 09th Apr, 2021    By: Monsieur Jacques
STILL a 'DON'T KNOW' vote, I'm afraid. I wanted, & indeed still want, to be impressed by 6G - but they make it very difficult. The 'Customer Service' staff are lovely, & very helpful, but they are constantly let-down by poor administrative back-up & inexperienced management.
You would expect a telecoms company to be able to communicate between it's own departments, would you not? It's great when it's all working properly - It's Friday tea time, & I'm getting 42.97 download and 41.69 upload [against a guaranteed 40/20 @ £19.99/month inclusive of landline 'phone] - which I think ain't half bad compared with the trustworthy, caring, mega-helpful & uninterested in grabbing your cash businesses you find at the likes of Sky & BT. As Hughie Green (remember him?) used to say "and I mean that most sincerely folks." (just ask Jess Yates, he of 'Songs of Praise' fame!) The $64,000 question is "How long will it last?" How long before it goes off completely? How long before I have to unplug the router? How long before it takes 5 minutes to load 'Google'? How long before I miss an important email? How long is a Chinaman. (& how high is his brother.) [Speaking of which, 6G's hardware all seems to be made in China - Could we be suffering due false economies?] Watch this space folks, I'll keep you posted!


Time With Provider: 4 Months
Package Name: Superfast Wireless Broadband
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 11th Mar, 2021    By: GeorgeC80834512
We got 6G fitted as sometimes we get the chance to work from home and what an absolute joke it has to be restarted several times a day which means having no tv/laptop working we have never had this issue with any other provider yet again we are on the phone to them basically being told to disconnect every wire and unplug it and it is still not working when put back together we are currently on day 3 of no WiFi when we called day 1 we got no answer and we were asked to leave contact info for them to call back I am really pissed off it is literally the ***test internet provider I have ever used please do yourself a favour do not attempt to go with 6G yes it’s cheap but it doesn’t work half the time I wish I had checked reviews before having this *** installed reading reviews I will have to stop payments at the bank as apparently they take payment regardless of ending the contract with them 🤦‍♀️

Time With Provider: 7 Months
Package Name: 6 G
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 12th Nov, 2020    By: John54
The package I am currently paying for is the 100mbs one for around £21 a month *offer price. Now for the first month or so I had one disconnect on average per day. Something they say is normal whilst the service kicks in. Around the 24th sept I first rang about this to complain (a month had passed). They acknowledged the fault and tinkered with router settings. We still had issues after this after calling for two weeks they finally decided to contact the network team. After that I had contacted several times due to the fact I was still having speed and disconnection issues. It took 6 weeks and a call with the manager for them to consider putting boosters in. The office is open every day but its UK based so the hours may not be suitable for everyone. My complaints are that it took 6 weeks to acknowledge we were still having issues and ask to get boosters fitted. They have not sent an engineer round,their tech staff are also customer service however from what I've seen they're not that much use, with one person contradicting another to the fact they have told me to switch off the router and put it on everhtime I rang. This company is small however they have been around for approximately 7 years which means they've had the time to work on customer service. If you're in an area where they are offering you 50mbs with another provider or 100 mbs with this honestly go for the other

Time With Provider: 4 Months
Package Name: Ultrafast fibre
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 08th Jun, 2020    By: Emily_Gray_Fow
While I've only seen the promised speeds of 1 gbps during tests run by them to prove the service, I do get a pretty reliable 22-28 mbps, though this is obviously affected by bad weather conditions with a lot of rain and fog.

I've been with 6g for about 7 months now and this weekend is the first time I have experienced an outage of more than a minute or so. The real issue is that because it's such a small provider, there's no way to contact anyone useful outside of the fairly standard office hours.

While I would expect general sales etc to be off outside these times, technical support should really be 24/7, even if just with a skeleton service for tech support. There should at least be someone who can post a service status report online even at weekends or after hours.

During office hours service is pretty good, and I like the multi-channel WiFi access point that's provided as standard.

At the end of the day, you get what you pay for, and my £21/ month with no phone line rental is pretty cheap so I'm still happy to stay with them as my ISP. Hopefully as the company continues to grow they will be able to offer better service at weekends and out of hours.

The people who complain should think hard about what they can get for their money elsewhere before they slate 6g too badly.


Time With Provider: 7 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 28th Feb, 2018    By: Craigfoulds
Do Not use this company for your broadband.
I originally signed up to 6g but as I was moving house I asked if they could supply my new house with broadband before I signed up.
They said they could and that's why I signed up.
The day came for me to move house and after contacting 6g to tell them they said they don't supply the service to my new address (even though they said they did before I signed up). And I will have to pay the remainder of my contract.
Absolutely shoddy company and No one should be using them.


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 22nd May, 2017    By: craigf
Well, where to start.
Been with 6g for 32 days. Out of those 32 days I've had no connection for 8 days. That's 25% downtime. So, not a good start.
I've wasted hours on the phone to support, but with no solution except to switch off my router then back on. Seems to be the standard answer.
None of this has solved the issue of no connection. I've been told that I must carry on paying for my non service otherwise it will delay an engineer visit to my house. They also told me that if any fault at my house is down to my equipment, then I must pay £200+ for a call out.
All the equipment that has been installed has been supplied by 6g, so I don't understand where they are coming from.
The days it worked, it was a good service, nice and fast.
But as I work from home a couple of days a week I need a constant connection so will be cancelling this shambolic service and go back to Sky or another reliable service. Better the devil you know.
Avoid at all costs.
Or if you don't mind being disconnected for a week at a time then good luck to you.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 15th Mar, 2017    By: BobMill
Title: Decent
Recently had 6g round to install fibre, there's a small receiver on the side of the house which picks up the internet wirelessly. My experience thus far is that it's incredibly quicker than the old normal BT broadband we used to have (now get around 35-40 meg as opposed to the 1-2 meg on standard broadband).

Fitting took about 90 minutes start to finish and the install team were friendly enough to talk us through everything before they left.

We can't get infinity here and looks like we may never do as we're out in the sticks somewhat, I would definitely recommend them at this moment in time from my experiences, especially if like us you can't get infinity.

I will update this review in due course should anything change.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Sep, 2016    By: angrycustomer6g
This provider is possibly one of the worst internet providers out there, unfortunately i have no control over what internet provider i can go with because i am a student living in student accommodation where the internet provider was selected by the landlord.

the very best internet speed i can receive is roughly around 5-6 mbps on off peak times. during peak times i get 0.10 if im lucky.

would never recommend this provider to anyone ever.
i can tether my computer to my phone for better internet speeds if im honest.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 05th Aug, 2015    By: leeayliffe
Thought My issues have now been sorted but they havent..

Ive had nothing but problems with 6g for the last 13months.. Poor speeds and outages that lasted from a week upto a month. I finally managed to close my account after they had taken money from my account that they shouldnt have and now 1 month after closing my account they have fraudulently taken another £47 without my permission...

AVOID AT ALL COSTS!!!!!!!!!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 19th Dec, 2013    By: Peter aikman
saw the 6G PR launch and went to the store to sign up in blackburn, the staff were typical retail staff but they did put me through to a technical guy when i wanted more info, I just did not believe the speed promise and told them if i do not get I am not paying. Bought the 20 meg package at £24.99 per month inc line rental ! as the DSL in my street is only 3 meg at best, took 4 weeks to install they did say 8 weeks so i guess that is not bad but long in any event. A quick 1 hour easy install The speed is just great now i get 20 meg even at peak although they did say that at peak it will fall when more customers join. for the price including the line rental this is a great product considering the speed i now get.

Based on what i have seen they do what they say

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £15.00 (*25.00)
    Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £19.50 (*22.50)
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • NOW £20.00 (*32.00)
    Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Shell Energy £21.99 (*30.99)
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Plusnet £22.99 (*38.20)
    Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £70 Reward Card
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest Ultrafast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £20.00 (*35.00)
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £24.00 (*27.00)
    Speed: 100Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Community Fibre £25.00 (*29.50)
    Speed: 300Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Gigaclear £27.00 (*59.00)
    Speed: 500Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Virgin Media £27.00 (*51.00)
    Speed: 108Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (3500)
  2. BT (3008)
  3. Politics (1923)
  4. Building Digital UK (1917)
  5. FTTC (1882)
  6. Openreach (1821)
  7. Business (1677)
  8. Mobile Broadband (1469)
  9. Statistics (1405)
  10. FTTH (1364)
  11. 4G (1271)
  12. Fibre Optic (1166)
  13. Virgin Media (1159)
  14. Wireless Internet (1152)
  15. Ofcom Regulation (1139)
  16. Vodafone (836)
  17. EE (830)
  18. TalkTalk (760)
  19. 5G (760)
  20. Sky Broadband (744)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules