Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Home Telecom Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
33 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 21st Aug, 2015    By: Hisham
They are a total rip off.
Don't go after their short contracts or low prices.
They charge you more than any expensive internet providers.
I would recommend you all to go for SKY or Virgin's 12 month contracts it would still cost you cheaper than home telecom.

I have had my worst experience with an internet provider. I was recommended by my estate agents 'Allen and Harris'. Even the estate agents turned out to be of no use (I had to cancel my 6 month tenancy after one day as the property was not as advertised) Anyways, home telecom was recommended by them and i regretted. Because I moved out from my property and I had to cancel my contract. To cancel early you have to pay £120 cancellation fee on top of remaining contract.

I left it running for full 6 months as it turned out to be cheaper as I wouldn't have to pay cancellation fee at the end of contract as it would end normally like any other contract. However, yesterday when i gave them 1 month notice to end my contract in September, they charged me additional £40 cancellation fee which apparently is mentioned in their contract.

They will even charge you cancellation fee if your contract is ending on time. This is ridiculous.

I will ask everyone to stay away from Home telecom or they will ask you money for everything you do. I was surprised they didnt charge me extra for calling them.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 08th May, 2015    By: Michiki
I will not recommend this broadband to anybody as they will over charge you for everything once you want to cancel it.
I moved to Brighton in winter for 6 months due to work and I made a short term contract with home telecom. Just because i moved out of the property and I did not want them as my provider anymore they over charged me for the disconnection + another 30 days notice. Is like a punishment for leaving them.
Be careful because they say is under the term and conditions, silly most of us for not reading them :(


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 19th Dec, 2014    By: SaraJ
This company was recommended by Brown and Merry Estate Agents and I being a fool decided to go ahead and give them a try although I was completely happy with SKY and the excellent service they were providing. It's been a week now and we have no internet, the technical support team are unhelpful, you don't get a call back when they say they will. I was put on hold for 20 Minutes as they said they had to do a line test and then the line was disconnected, after that I couldnt get through.

Beware dont get pushed into signing up with them. They are simply horrible!!!!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 18th Dec, 2014    By: Sarah_Maria
I've always been sceptical of the less mainstream companies, and usually go with one of the better known broadband providers especially after reading bad reviews.

However we got recommended by our estate agent to use Home Telecom and the short term easy contracts is what swayed us, and I must say I have nothing but positive things to say! The service has been great.







Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 23rd Oct, 2014    By: sydbert
This ISP is recommended to house buyers by some estate agents. Be warned, my experience is that they are awful. There have been many disconnections, no support at the weekend, long delays in getting to technical department, and generally a load of hassle. HT Hometelecom (Global 4 Communications) have been a nightmare but one thing they're good at is CONTRACTS (well, good for them).

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 18th Jun, 2014    By: Kaushik
I am sure people on this forum who have trashed Home Telecom might have very genuine reasons to do so. I can speak only for myself. I have had no problems with them so far. They have done what they said they would, and when they said they would. The router arrived on time, was easy to set up and provides consistently high speed with no dropout. They got BT Openreach to come and do the line installation in quick time.
So far, I have no reasons to complain


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 29th May, 2014    By: Ioana
Watch out the small print on the contract!!!
When you cancel the contract even after years with them they charge you cancelation fee!!!! It is for "the work required within an exchange to recover equipment and amend records when a Broadband line is ceased" ?!?!?
No one bothered coming to put in place any equipment when I signed up but now they charge for recovering equipment ?!?!?!
If I would've known about this I would've gone with another company for sure!!!
I won't recommend them to anyone.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 26th Mar, 2014    By: velocityblade
Just ended my contract with them. Home Telecom - even though the people seem nice - appear to be the most incompetent ISP I have dealt with. Apart from incredibly unreliable service, even their customer service and accounts departments seem not to have a clue as to what they should be doing.
I only wish I had found this forum before I had signed up with them.

Watch out for the small print in the contract too. They have recently sneaked in a cancellation fee for anyone who cancels, even after the minimum term of the contract has been completed and they cap their Unlimited Broadband, which is not that clear in the contract.

All in all I would steer clear.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 04th Mar, 2014    By: 6619RKD
I was encouraged by my Letting Agent to use this ISP on the basis that they were 'Tenant' friendly and offered short term contracts. Despite this after 9 months I moved home and even though I kept my contract I had to pay a fee of over £100.

Initially I couldn't connect more than one Apple device at a time to the wifi and when I called up Customer support I was just given a link and basically told to look it up myself as they didn't provide support for my level of contract. (Even though it was more expensive than most other ISPs)

The connection is unreliable and drops out frequently. The Wifi router signal is poor and does not even reach around my 2 bedroom apartment.

Finally when I called up to cancel my contract the alleged 'Customer Service' person was a complete douchebag and wouldn't give me the MAC code until after about 15 minutes on the phone I just had to repeat 3 or 4 times "I just want the Mac code now"

AVOID LIKE THE PLAGUE

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 12th Nov, 2013    By: pxm
Just don't bother. Very amateur. It took a month for my internet and phone to work after I was told it would be ready on the day I moved into the property.

The fault turned out to be external, but waiting over 4 weeks with little information was not good enough. I was refunded line rental, but my phone calls to them and the fact I had to buy a USB dongle to supply internet in the meantime cost me double.

The worst ISP I have ever encountered by a long, lonng way. Go elsewhere, anywhere.

--- UPDATE ---

After the trauma with Hometelecom I signed up with BT - who were even worse!!! They send out 3 engineers to the wrong address, I had to wait for over 2 months (and made a million complaints) for this dumb wrong address problem to finally get solved. Eventually an engineer arrived, to tell me that he couldn't install anything. I gave up on Hometelecom and BT both of who knew, but neither of which did anything about the problem at the phone exchange. I am now using 4G with EE's home mobile broadband. Hometelecom are bad but BT are far, worse! What's more Hometelecom's customer service is excellent compared to the bunch of morons across the world reading from scripts that work for BT.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £17.99
    Speed 33Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo code: HYPERSALE
  • NOW £20.00
    Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Shell Energy £21.99
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £22.00
    Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vispa £23.00
    Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest Ultrafast ISPs
  • Gigaclear £17.00
    Speed: 200Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Community Fibre £20.00
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £20.00
    Speed: 158Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo code: HYPERSALE
  • Virgin Media £25.00
    Speed: 108Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £25.00
    Speed: 100Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (4128)
  2. BT (3154)
  3. Politics (2123)
  4. Building Digital UK (2028)
  5. Openreach (1970)
  6. FTTC (1923)
  7. Business (1836)
  8. Mobile Broadband (1608)
  9. Statistics (1513)
  10. 4G (1380)
  11. FTTH (1371)
  12. Virgin Media (1277)
  13. Ofcom Regulation (1242)
  14. Fibre Optic (1235)
  15. Wireless Internet (1234)
  16. Vodafone (928)
  17. EE (907)
  18. 5G (900)
  19. TalkTalk (821)
  20. Sky Broadband (787)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules