Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Home Telecom Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
28 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 25th Mar, 2019    By: Spb
Appalling service, hard to get in touch with, BROADBAND AND SERVICE crazy slow.. and wish I’d complained earlier. Had my bill slashed from 28 to 18!!! For complaining- having paid full fee for 18 months ( including out of contract ).

Was so rubbish decided to leave anyway - even with plenty notice you pay 8+ vat for the privilege.. then line got cut off before the next lot took it over .. another 40..

They use Talk Talk - so be warned and never gonthere!!

Time With Provider: 15 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 06th Sep, 2016    By: Jacob de Lama
Bury, 06/09/2016

Dear customer service,

Thank you for your email below in which you have arranged the service start date for 15/09/2016, that's just in 9 days! It's a delightful surprise to know from you again, it only took you 11 days to contact me since the last visit from an Openreach BT engineer, on 26/8/2016. To be honest I thought that you were going through some misfortune, so I'm really happy to know from you again.

I reckon that you must have been working really hard to commit to these ridiculously short times, just 65 days since I signed the contract with you on 12/07/2016 till it finally goes live on 15/09/2016 (I hope so). May this be a new guiness record? Moreover, I'm glad you needed just two visits from the engineers of Openreach BT, as they probably make you produce an awful mountain of paper which must be the final reason for the continuous delays. Sorry, did I just say delays? I wanted to mean astonishing short lead time and terrific performance.

I guess that it's going to be a piece of cake for you to reduce my contract from 12 to 10 months, as otherwise I may end paying for the broadband once my tenancy contract is over, and then I should go under my old flat with my laptop to keep on enjoying the last two months of my contract.

I guess that it's also going to be easy as pie to get some kind of compensation due to the "shortened" installation, thanks in advance for your kindness and generosity. I look forward to it.

Yours faithfully,

J.L.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 28th Jan, 2016    By: Danny52
I have been with Home Telecom for 3 years now in 2 different properties. I moved address with them last year and upgraded to the 80Mb fibre package. Overall the move went very smoothly, I had a slight issue where the BT Openreach engineer did not turn up because he decided to install the fibre at the cabinet even though an appointment was arranged. I was frustrated that I waited in all day so the Home Telecom team escalated it with BT and an engineer came out 2 days later with the Fibre modem that he should have brought. The staff there were very helpful and apologised for the issue as well as resolving it quickly. The quality of the service I receive is fantastic and I am loving my new fibre connection. I would highly recommend them (which I have done) and I am enjoying 12 months’ discount off my package for recommending my sister and friend.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 27th Jan, 2016    By: Claire321
I'm really happy with my service from Home Telecom, especially after experiencing such awful service from BT - I'm so glad I made the switch.

The main factor that sets them apart for me is their customer service - from experiencing rudeness and lack of care from my last provider, it's a breath of fresh air to come across a company that speaks to you like a human. Plus I've saved a lot of money by switching to them. I highly recommend them.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 13th Oct, 2015    By: alexalloy
Title: beware
We assume our details were (illegally) passed on from our estate agents to HomeTelecom before we moved into a new rented property, for a 6 month contract, as they contacted us before moving in.

The implied they were supplying the broadband to the previous tenants and so it would be a faster connection to activate broadband. This was not true.

After signing up for a 6 month contract, we found we had to pay a £60 connection charge which was not mentioned in their literature, to cover the costs of connecting a telephone line, which they had claimed was already installed. It took 1 month to get the broadband activated!!

Broadband was slow and unreliable during use.

When trying to cancel the contract, even though it was supposedly rolling monthly, we had to pay £3.50 fee, plus a £40 disconnection charge that was not advertised in any of their original advertising.

Avoid these scammers at all costs!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 21st Aug, 2015    By: Hisham
They are a total rip off.
Don't go after their short contracts or low prices.
They charge you more than any expensive internet providers.
I would recommend you all to go for SKY or Virgin's 12 month contracts it would still cost you cheaper than home telecom.

I have had my worst experience with an internet provider. I was recommended by my estate agents 'Allen and Harris'. Even the estate agents turned out to be of no use (I had to cancel my 6 month tenancy after one day as the property was not as advertised) Anyways, home telecom was recommended by them and i regretted. Because I moved out from my property and I had to cancel my contract. To cancel early you have to pay £120 cancellation fee on top of remaining contract.

I left it running for full 6 months as it turned out to be cheaper as I wouldn't have to pay cancellation fee at the end of contract as it would end normally like any other contract. However, yesterday when i gave them 1 month notice to end my contract in September, they charged me additional £40 cancellation fee which apparently is mentioned in their contract.

They will even charge you cancellation fee if your contract is ending on time. This is ridiculous.

I will ask everyone to stay away from Home telecom or they will ask you money for everything you do. I was surprised they didnt charge me extra for calling them.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 08th May, 2015    By: Michiki
I will not recommend this broadband to anybody as they will over charge you for everything once you want to cancel it.
I moved to Brighton in winter for 6 months due to work and I made a short term contract with home telecom. Just because i moved out of the property and I did not want them as my provider anymore they over charged me for the disconnection + another 30 days notice. Is like a punishment for leaving them.
Be careful because they say is under the term and conditions, silly most of us for not reading them :(


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 19th Dec, 2014    By: SaraJ
This company was recommended by Brown and Merry Estate Agents and I being a fool decided to go ahead and give them a try although I was completely happy with SKY and the excellent service they were providing. It's been a week now and we have no internet, the technical support team are unhelpful, you don't get a call back when they say they will. I was put on hold for 20 Minutes as they said they had to do a line test and then the line was disconnected, after that I couldnt get through.

Beware dont get pushed into signing up with them. They are simply horrible!!!!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 18th Dec, 2014    By: Sarah_Maria
I've always been sceptical of the less mainstream companies, and usually go with one of the better known broadband providers especially after reading bad reviews.

However we got recommended by our estate agent to use Home Telecom and the short term easy contracts is what swayed us, and I must say I have nothing but positive things to say! The service has been great.







Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 23rd Oct, 2014    By: sydbert
This ISP is recommended to house buyers by some estate agents. Be warned, my experience is that they are awful. There have been many disconnections, no support at the weekend, long delays in getting to technical department, and generally a load of hassle. HT Hometelecom (Global 4 Communications) have been a nightmare but one thing they're good at is CONTRACTS (well, good for them).

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £15.00 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 30Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Code: FLASH19
  • Vodafone £22.00 (*24.00)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • TalkTalk £22.45
    Avg. Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Direct Save Telecom £22.95 (*29.95)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Origin Broadband £23.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2410)
  2. FTTP (2000)
  3. FTTC (1596)
  4. Building Digital UK (1549)
  5. Politics (1343)
  6. Openreach (1336)
  7. Business (1181)
  8. Statistics (1042)
  9. Mobile Broadband (968)
  10. FTTH (966)
  11. Fibre Optic (943)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (880)
  13. Wireless Internet (862)
  14. 4G (849)
  15. Virgin Media (808)
  16. Sky Broadband (574)
  17. TalkTalk (556)
  18. EE (556)
  19. Vodafone (469)
  20. Security (394)
Home Telecom - Broadband Fixed Line Rated 1.9107142857142858 / 5 based on 28 reviews. 0. | Review Me
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules