Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Home Telecom Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
33 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 29th Apr, 2022    By: John09
After getting advised from our Real estate agents we had opted services from HT. w got couple of calls initially to buy their services and guaranteed to provided better services then other ISPs we had trusted them and opted for their services by paying 5£ per month extra then other ISPs.

Just after 2-3 weeks we started facing the issues and we contacted to customer care they just send template emails to perform in case of connection lost but trust me it doesnt work and we were facing lots and lots of issues and even my child were not able to study with their disgusting internet.

Apart from worst services they also have lots of hidden charges which other providers doesnt ask ( wifi shipment , installation and etc)

Trust me guys dont buy their services and save your time and money!

Time With Provider: 3 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 16th Mar, 2022    By: abby_millions
Worst internet broadband company, wouldn’t recommend to anyone. You’re better off paying an extra £5 to another broadband just to get good internet and good customer service. Especially if this is your first internet broadband, please avoid using them. The internet is slow, I cannot work from home and have a decent connection. The customer service is even worst, they literally do not care about their customers just the money they can take from us. They literally will steal from you! Save yourself from the future stress dealing with these people and go to another broadband for what you truly deserve.

Time With Provider: 1 Months
Package Name: Rubbish package
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 10th Jul, 2021    By: ILI
I was recommended this company via my rental agent. I paid £53.95 installation and £35.95 per month for WiFi. The line has been slow, but I stuck with them as I had a contract. Then I called them as the one year contract was coming to an end to ask for a faster line and a better price. I was told they don't have anything to offer. A week later when I gave a month's notice before the contract ended, all of a sudden they had specials!! When I asked why only now that I want to leave, I was told the 'specials have just become available'. Really?? I was then charged £52.99 for disconnection!! Surprise deductions off my bank account which I made sure we're reversed. I am now with a comms provider that has charged me only £4.95 for connection (£50 cheaper) and a monthly charge of £21 per month for a much faster WiFi.
You are the ONLY company that charges such ridiculously high charges!! This is exploitation on another level !

Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 26th Nov, 2020    By: W Peracha
Please save yourself from the misery. Me and my husband chose home telecom on recommendation from our real estate agent, and were supposed to get our internet connection installed a month ago. We received the internet device, but the installation engineer went to the wrong address.

Instead of apologising and resending the engineer, they don't pick up their phone, they keep telling us to wait until their investigation finishes, and they even tried telling us we gave the wrong address even though they sent us our internet device beforehand.

It's been a month, they want to charge a cancellation fee for a service they have failed to provide. It has been extremely frustrating, and I would never recommend Home Telecom to anyone. Worst worst worst experience ever.

Time With Provider: 1 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 11th May, 2020    By: mmrm
£50 to install, £33 to disconnect. Keep trying to phone them as I was charged £140 with no warning or explanation for a cancellation I didn't ask for- they put me on hold then disconnect. No call backs.

Time With Provider: 9 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 25th Mar, 2019    By: Spb
Appalling service, hard to get in touch with, BROADBAND AND SERVICE crazy slow.. and wish I’d complained earlier. Had my bill slashed from 28 to 18!!! For complaining- having paid full fee for 18 months ( including out of contract ).

Was so rubbish decided to leave anyway - even with plenty notice you pay 8+ vat for the privilege.. then line got cut off before the next lot took it over .. another 40..

They use Talk Talk - so be warned and never gonthere!!

Time With Provider: 15 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 06th Sep, 2016    By: Jacob de Lama
Bury, 06/09/2016

Dear customer service,

Thank you for your email below in which you have arranged the service start date for 15/09/2016, that's just in 9 days! It's a delightful surprise to know from you again, it only took you 11 days to contact me since the last visit from an Openreach BT engineer, on 26/8/2016. To be honest I thought that you were going through some misfortune, so I'm really happy to know from you again.

I reckon that you must have been working really hard to commit to these ridiculously short times, just 65 days since I signed the contract with you on 12/07/2016 till it finally goes live on 15/09/2016 (I hope so). May this be a new guiness record? Moreover, I'm glad you needed just two visits from the engineers of Openreach BT, as they probably make you produce an awful mountain of paper which must be the final reason for the continuous delays. Sorry, did I just say delays? I wanted to mean astonishing short lead time and terrific performance.

I guess that it's going to be a piece of cake for you to reduce my contract from 12 to 10 months, as otherwise I may end paying for the broadband once my tenancy contract is over, and then I should go under my old flat with my laptop to keep on enjoying the last two months of my contract.

I guess that it's also going to be easy as pie to get some kind of compensation due to the "shortened" installation, thanks in advance for your kindness and generosity. I look forward to it.

Yours faithfully,

J.L.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 28th Jan, 2016    By: Danny52
I have been with Home Telecom for 3 years now in 2 different properties. I moved address with them last year and upgraded to the 80Mb fibre package. Overall the move went very smoothly, I had a slight issue where the BT Openreach engineer did not turn up because he decided to install the fibre at the cabinet even though an appointment was arranged. I was frustrated that I waited in all day so the Home Telecom team escalated it with BT and an engineer came out 2 days later with the Fibre modem that he should have brought. The staff there were very helpful and apologised for the issue as well as resolving it quickly. The quality of the service I receive is fantastic and I am loving my new fibre connection. I would highly recommend them (which I have done) and I am enjoying 12 months’ discount off my package for recommending my sister and friend.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 27th Jan, 2016    By: Claire321
I'm really happy with my service from Home Telecom, especially after experiencing such awful service from BT - I'm so glad I made the switch.

The main factor that sets them apart for me is their customer service - from experiencing rudeness and lack of care from my last provider, it's a breath of fresh air to come across a company that speaks to you like a human. Plus I've saved a lot of money by switching to them. I highly recommend them.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 13th Oct, 2015    By: alexalloy
Title: beware
We assume our details were (illegally) passed on from our estate agents to HomeTelecom before we moved into a new rented property, for a 6 month contract, as they contacted us before moving in.

The implied they were supplying the broadband to the previous tenants and so it would be a faster connection to activate broadband. This was not true.

After signing up for a 6 month contract, we found we had to pay a £60 connection charge which was not mentioned in their literature, to cover the costs of connecting a telephone line, which they had claimed was already installed. It took 1 month to get the broadband activated!!

Broadband was slow and unreliable during use.

When trying to cancel the contract, even though it was supposedly rolling monthly, we had to pay £3.50 fee, plus a £40 disconnection charge that was not advertised in any of their original advertising.

Avoid these scammers at all costs!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £17.99
    Speed 30Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • NOW £21.00
    Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Shell Energy £21.99
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £22.00
    Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Plusnet £22.99
    Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £60 Reward Card
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest Ultrafast ISPs
  • Gigaclear £17.00
    Speed: 200Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Community Fibre £20.00
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • YouFibre £24.00
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Virgin Media £25.00
    Speed: 108Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £25.00
    Speed: 100Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (4005)
  2. BT (3131)
  3. Politics (2085)
  4. Building Digital UK (2007)
  5. Openreach (1950)
  6. FTTC (1915)
  7. Business (1802)
  8. Mobile Broadband (1585)
  9. Statistics (1484)
  10. FTTH (1369)
  11. 4G (1357)
  12. Virgin Media (1264)
  13. Ofcom Regulation (1226)
  14. Fibre Optic (1220)
  15. Wireless Internet (1218)
  16. Vodafone (919)
  17. EE (899)
  18. 5G (871)
  19. TalkTalk (814)
  20. Sky Broadband (782)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules