Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Home Telecom Reviews

Sponsored Links
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
38 Reviews
Value
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 24th Oct, 2023    By: belladalcol
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Title: DO NOT USE
Do NOT trust the Trust Pilot reviews. They basically pressured me into using their service when I first moved into my apartment, and when my internet was not working to the specs promised (let alone at all really), and after numerous complaints, they said the only way for better internet was through an upgrade. I accepted, without knowing they added an extra 2 YEARS to my contract (and a more expensive contract!). They preyed on my desperation as I work from home and needed a quick fix. They know ALL the right words to confuse you and prey on naivety (I am a young first time renter in the UK). On top of all of that, due to medical reasons, I need to move back in with my parents and they still won't allow me out of my contract without paying the remainder of the contract (above £800). So now on top of having unusable internet that always cuts out and never works, shocking customer service, and having to move out of my apartment due to MEDICAL issues, I'm trapped with this terrible internet provider.

Time With Provider: 50 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 05th May, 2023    By: Kevin53
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Home Telecom took over Bulldog and we found ourselves under new management. We had no problems with Bulldog, unlike many other Bulldog customers. Home Telecom kept a low profile until they decided to shift away from LLU service provision to reselling Openreach through an intermediary. The poo hit the impeller:- we only had a single pair from the street cabinet. Weeks of messing about. Home Choice totally ineffective. I used Senior Manager contacts in the supply chain to get the line swapped from LLU to Openreach. We ended up using a supplied poor quality French single band modem. Our house was already cabled in Cat 5E and the modem RJ45 worked fine thus we could carry on unruffled. This was all so long ago that wireless n was new! Time passed and wireless grew. Home Telecom were unable to provide a dual band Modem so I just plugged in a dual band WAP and carried on. Now I’m giving up and moving on, having discovered how much more I’m paying for being inattentive to cost!! I’ll update this saga when I’m gone - we shall see…………Incidentally; SamKnows white box user, records generally show a 35/5 speed @1200m from the cabinet.

Time With Provider: 20 Years
Package Name: 40/10
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 14th Mar, 2023    By: Phillip26886713
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Hometelecom is little more than a scam.

They called up my sister after she moved into her new apartment, who knows how they got her number, and told her they could get her WIFI faster than anyone and that they would send her a contract to sign. She said okay ill take a look.

Contract went to spam and she never saw or signed anything, nor was she told anything about the contract.

Fast forward to 3 months later, she receives an email saying they have closed her account and she owes £1000.

She has been with BT for 2 months at that point and is very confused and scared as they threaten her with debt collectors if she doesnt pay immediately. She doesnt respond to the email and they begin to call her 3 times a day for a month. Eventually she reaches out to me as she is so distressed.

I file a complaint, which they dont take seriously and just say its too bad and keep harrasing her on the phone and email.

My guess is they prey on the vulnerable who cant defend themselves who often just accept their harrasment and get forced into paying something they dont owe. Which is despicable.

But fear not as I have lodged an official complaint and investigation into their practices and fully intend to take them to court to hold them accountable for their malicious practices.

Time With Provider: 1 Months
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 11th Oct, 2022    By: not-happy
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Signed up with home telecom for 12 months, internet speed was rubbish, tried to leave but they demand £40 disconnection fee even after my contract has run out! really unhelpful on the phone. please avoid

Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 02nd Aug, 2022    By: Enrique
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
I've been mugged by Home Telecom as well!!!!

I should have read the reviews before....

My story: Having rented a flat I wanted a service that would not link me for ages to a telco. Covid had teached me that flexibility to go back home was something I wanted. Home Telecom (in theory) provided a 6 month contract that allowed for this flexibility. The price was "ok" based on other offers so I decided to take it....

Problems started when I got the service. Really low bandwidths, Low quality router that interfered with all my neighbours wifi (of course HT provided a solution to have a dual band router at a price), Customer service available only on weekdays and for a limited time..... At this moment, after many calls to customer service and technicians I'm not able to work from home since I can't have VC....

Eagerly waiting for the 6 month permanence period to expire, I contact HT and I'm finding the surprise of the £40GBP disconnect fee. What is this? As in some of other posts they claim it's included in T&C that no one reads and is not clear in the initial sign up periods. SCAM, SCAM, SCAM

Time With Provider: 6 Months
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 29th Apr, 2022    By: John09
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
After getting advised from our Real estate agents we had opted services from HT. w got couple of calls initially to buy their services and guaranteed to provided better services then other ISPs we had trusted them and opted for their services by paying 5£ per month extra then other ISPs.

Just after 2-3 weeks we started facing the issues and we contacted to customer care they just send template emails to perform in case of connection lost but trust me it doesnt work and we were facing lots and lots of issues and even my child were not able to study with their disgusting internet.

Apart from worst services they also have lots of hidden charges which other providers doesnt ask ( wifi shipment , installation and etc)

Trust me guys dont buy their services and save your time and money!

Time With Provider: 3 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 16th Mar, 2022    By: abby_millions
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Worst internet broadband company, wouldn’t recommend to anyone. You’re better off paying an extra £5 to another broadband just to get good internet and good customer service. Especially if this is your first internet broadband, please avoid using them. The internet is slow, I cannot work from home and have a decent connection. The customer service is even worst, they literally do not care about their customers just the money they can take from us. They literally will steal from you! Save yourself from the future stress dealing with these people and go to another broadband for what you truly deserve.

Time With Provider: 1 Months
Package Name: Rubbish package
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 10th Jul, 2021    By: ILI
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
I was recommended this company via my rental agent. I paid £53.95 installation and £35.95 per month for WiFi. The line has been slow, but I stuck with them as I had a contract. Then I called them as the one year contract was coming to an end to ask for a faster line and a better price. I was told they don't have anything to offer. A week later when I gave a month's notice before the contract ended, all of a sudden they had specials!! When I asked why only now that I want to leave, I was told the 'specials have just become available'. Really?? I was then charged £52.99 for disconnection!! Surprise deductions off my bank account which I made sure we're reversed. I am now with a comms provider that has charged me only £4.95 for connection (£50 cheaper) and a monthly charge of £21 per month for a much faster WiFi.
You are the ONLY company that charges such ridiculously high charges!! This is exploitation on another level !

Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 26th Nov, 2020    By: W Peracha
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Please save yourself from the misery. Me and my husband chose home telecom on recommendation from our real estate agent, and were supposed to get our internet connection installed a month ago. We received the internet device, but the installation engineer went to the wrong address.

Instead of apologising and resending the engineer, they don't pick up their phone, they keep telling us to wait until their investigation finishes, and they even tried telling us we gave the wrong address even though they sent us our internet device beforehand.

It's been a month, they want to charge a cancellation fee for a service they have failed to provide. It has been extremely frustrating, and I would never recommend Home Telecom to anyone. Worst worst worst experience ever.

Time With Provider: 1 Months
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 11th May, 2020    By: mmrm
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
£50 to install, £33 to disconnect. Keep trying to phone them as I was charged £140 with no warning or explanation for a cancellation I didn't ask for- they put me on hold then disconnect. No call backs.

Time With Provider: 9 Months
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £17.99
    Speed 33Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • UtilityWarehouse £19.99
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
  • NOW £23.00
    Speed 63Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £24.00
    Speed 73 - 82Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Shell Energy £24.99
    Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest Ultrafast ISPs
  • Gigaclear £17.00
    Speed: 200Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Zzoomm £19.95
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • YouFibre £19.99
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Community Fibre £20.00
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • BeFibre £21.00
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £25 Love2Shop Card
Large Availability | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Sponsored Links
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (5378)
  2. BT (3485)
  3. Politics (2490)
  4. Openreach (2274)
  5. Business (2221)
  6. Building Digital UK (2211)
  7. FTTC (2038)
  8. Mobile Broadband (1935)
  9. Statistics (1762)
  10. 4G (1637)
  11. Virgin Media (1586)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (1438)
  13. FTTH (1379)
  14. Wireless Internet (1375)
  15. Fibre Optic (1375)
  16. 5G (1212)
  17. Vodafone (1123)
  18. EE (1108)
  19. TalkTalk (927)
  20. O2 (910)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules