Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Timico Reviews

Sponsored Links
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
13 Reviews
Value
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 14th Feb, 2017    By: Marvellous
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
I have been trying to move to a different domain & web hosting provider. I contacted Timico and customer service team said to email the request to them, which I did. I was told the domain had been unlocked. I asked them that as they are the registered admin contact they will have to release authorise the .com domain to be relased by following the link to hostmaster@timico.co.uk. This had not been done. I then asked them to change the admin contact from them to my own email address and received email confirmation that this had been done. I checked whois records several times and still this had not been actioned. I then tried to change the nameserver records to those of the new provider... guess what.. I cannot een do that as the records are locked. Timico / Newnet are absolutely rubbish. It has been 6 weeks and yet no further in getting this resolved. They should be ashamed of themselves. The customer service representative, [admin note: name removed - breach of rules] has no shame, how can she go to work and get paid for doiug such a shoddy job of dealing with a very simple request. Surely customer service traiing should include dealing with a customers query through to completion! Stay away from this company.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 15th Jul, 2016    By: stefanyoungs
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
For years I was a contented customer of ADSL24. I didn't bother them and they didn't bother me.

When they sold out to COMS I sat it out and put up with a few hiccups till things settled down.

But as soon as my account was acquired by Timico, things went to hell in a handbasket. Speeds were erratic, the line would drop out and trying to get Timico to fix anything proved hopeless. Their habit was to blame BT or - oh! no! TalkTalk - which it turns our who Timico was wholesaling from.

Realizing I was on a loser I terminated Timico and went with a BT high speed offer that was cheaper AND about 10 times faster.

Timico never once asked me why I was leaving or what could they do to remedy matters. They obviously didn't care about losing me as a customer, which means they may not care about losing you either. Caveat Emptor.

All this outfit was interested in was squeezing their last pound of flesh out of me. The latest attempt at preserving credibility is a bill for £1.11 because apparently (they claim) my 30 days notice wasn't completely covered by the last cheque I sent them. What a pathetic bunch! How petty! Never once did they offer compensation for the crappy service I encountered.

Oh! and they stuck £2.50 on for the administration fee for processing my cheque! Can you believe it?

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 02nd Nov, 2015    By: EFH186
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Timico is simply not Fit for Purpose for supplying to the home market. Since joining their network speeds have decreased, the upload speed has gone down loads, there are vastly higher pings and media buffering which is a problem. Forget trying to use Voip with them as the third world performance is astonishingly bad. You can expect long down times too as there is zero out of office hours support available to home customers as standard which is ludicrous unless you pay more. I would not recommend Timico to home users as its overpriced, slow and has devicive support policies plus there are extra charges for everything. The customer support is very human which are unfortunately strangled by poor policies implemented by a money grabbing management in my opinion and not the best of networks.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 17th Aug, 2015    By: the_gog
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
I should first point out that I just use Timico for a bare wires connection, and don't use their email, web space, hosting, or domain purchase. Thus, I've given them a 5 for this, as I don't have any information to verify how good/bad they are. A 5 score is middle of the road.

I've been with them since just over a week after they took over Coms. So far so good, no authentication errors - which plagued Coms - and no throttling, which Coms did in its final weeks.

There was an issue setting up a /29 subnet in that Timico's way of allocating it is different to that employed by all other ISPs I've had in the past. My router can't handle it, but after a friendly discussion with their support, this was resolved. Their support have proved to be knowledgeable, and are speedy at getting things implemented. It bodes well for the future.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 12th Aug, 2015    By: Raceylady
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Title: Not Happy
Moved from ADSL24/Coms/Timico. So far I am not at all impressed, I had issues Coms over the last 3 months and was told once migrated the problems would be resolved. They have not also I was under the impression that I would be moved from TalkTalk which was Coms to BT which would be Timico.

I am still being provied by slap happy TalkTalk, my line speed is down by about 4 Meg my router will not sync higher than 13k kbps on ADSL24 and just before Coms were having problems it would sync around 16,000 kbps. I have given them a week to sort this lot out, tests show there is no faults on my line. I have checked my inside wiring yet once again, have new master sockets and new wiring installed.

And top this, you end up paying for their support as the number you ring is a Premium rate number 0844. I made a call to them was about 15 mins cost me £2.63 and another at 7 mins £1.31. 0844 numbers are excluded from any phone package you have.

Looking around yet once again for another provider, think I may go back to BT.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 13th Apr, 2015    By: m_attl
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Had an issue a while back where BT managed to cut through the the cable so our internet went down. Timico were great and had me up & running again by the morning. Very thankful to the support team

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Posted: 25th Nov, 2014    By: Helen_B
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Been with Timico for about 5 years now and recently got fibre broadband. Speeds are much better than my ADSL line and I get unlimited downloads which avoid extra usage, which could get expensive.

I also moved my phoneline from BT with very little hassle and saved a few quid a month.

I use Timico for my business at home during the day but it also works well for iPlayer etc. in the evening.

Don't really use their webspace or email so can't comment on that. But their tehcnical support and service team are fantastic. Easy to contact and very knowledgeable - can sometimes seem a bit busy but miles better than BT horror stories I hear from friends.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 15th Dec, 2012    By: w3ed5r
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
I contacted Timico for the sake of transferring a domain to a different registrar. We requested they send the needed auth-codes to the admin contact associated with the domain. unlike every other registrar I have dealt with, they do not have an online control panel. Myself and the admin contact have emailed and phoned several different people for over a week now and still have been unable to get the required codes.

They seem unaware of and could care less about ICANN regulations governing registrars. Specifically the regulation requiring them to send the auth-code within 5 calendar days of the request. They finally did send some codes but they were invalid. Unfortunately ICANN does not provide assistance with troublesome registrars so our options for perusing this are limited.

I would definitely think twice about doing any business with this organisation.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 26th May, 2011    By: outlawcatcher
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Title: timico
Like a lot of people I was with Key connect before going with Timico. In general I have found their staff plesant to deal with and very competent 'but' I have had several issues.

1. Being overcharged for my capped limit when I was using the service a lot. Long story but they only reinbursed me after three months of exchanging emails.

2. I am now moving providers simply because Timico is too expensive. They had the gall to say they were charging me £15 for my migration code due to 'administration' costs. I made a fuss and they waived this fee (they tried to make me feel grateful for this!) ...I am disgusted with this as they are not allowed to charge for your MAC.

Cordiality gets them 10/10, technical ability gets 10/10...but for trying to stiff a few (no 1 was £80) more pounds out of you...I am afraid they get an overall 5/10.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Posted: 09th Jan, 2010    By: zephyr
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
I was with KeConnect for two years before it was taken over by its parent company, Timico, about 6 months ago. During that time I've had excellent service and reliability from both company's. I have only had to contact customer services/support on three occasions (minor issues) and each time the phone was answered almost immediately. Having previously been with Freeserve, Sniffout, IC24, BT Internet and Virgin, I can honestly say Timico is easily the best.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Cheap BIG ISPs for 100Mbps+
Community Fibre UK ISP Logo
150Mbps
Gift: None
Virgin Media UK ISP Logo
Virgin Media £25.00
132Mbps
Gift: None
Vodafone UK ISP Logo
Vodafone £26.50 - 27.00
150Mbps
Gift: None
Sky Broadband UK ISP Logo
100Mbps
Gift: None
Plusnet UK ISP Logo
Plusnet £27.99
145Mbps
Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest ISPs for 100Mbps+
Gigaclear UK ISP Logo
Gigaclear £17.00
200Mbps
Gift: None
Community Fibre UK ISP Logo
150Mbps
Gift: None
BeFibre UK ISP Logo
BeFibre £19.00
150Mbps
Gift: None
YouFibre UK ISP Logo
YouFibre £21.99
150Mbps
Gift: None
Hey! Broadband UK ISP Logo
150Mbps
Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Sponsored Links
The Top 15 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (5643)
  2. BT (3547)
  3. Politics (2577)
  4. Openreach (2325)
  5. Business (2303)
  6. Building Digital UK (2263)
  7. FTTC (2052)
  8. Mobile Broadband (2012)
  9. Statistics (1814)
  10. 4G (1700)
  11. Virgin Media (1653)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (1485)
  13. Fibre Optic (1414)
  14. Wireless Internet (1410)
  15. FTTH (1382)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules