Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Vodafone Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
33 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 07th Jun, 2020    By: bobmanuk
Ordered broadband 3 months ago, 3 cancelled Vodafone orders and 2 openreach visits. No update about what the issue is, until I call to find the order cancelled and rescheduled weeks in the future. Possibly hoping openreach will have resolved the issue by then but will never contact openreach to get an update on what the issue is or when it will be resolved

Time With Provider: 3 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 01st Jun, 2020    By: boshy
i've been with Vodafone for over a year now and have had good service. on chatting with neighbours recently after the Thursday night clap, realised it just works and seemingly better in my location than competitors

our exchange is type 1, so limited choice, but found the service to be consistent and i use a lot of teams video conferencing whilst working from home.

two challenges i did have
1: The vodafone DNS server was slowing things down in the evening. i changed to Google DNS and its great

2: we had a BT openreach problem with the line, but Vodafone instantly put free data bundles on our mobiles to cover over the weekend using 4g, worked perfectly.

also since swapping to the new router (from a draytek) i've found my nest doorbell no longer drops off wifi.

just wish openreach would hurry up with FTTP


Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 31st May, 2020    By: PokerPlayer
Poor throughput speeds due to congestion/overloaded service from Vodafone. My router syncs solidly at 74.4Mbs but throughput speeds have never been above 30Mbps from day one and are often between 2Mbs and 15Mbs. Tech support go through the same script every time and tell you that you have issues with your wifi, despite me getting the same speeds when using an ethernet cable. Throughput drops out several times per hour, however the router remains sync'd.

Their "speed guarantee" is ONLY on sync speed, which for this package is 55Mbs, so as far as Vodafone are concerned, the issue is after the router, i.e. our wifi and ethernet!

My neighbours on both sides are with BT and have similar sync speeds to mine and get minimum throughputs 50Mbs+ at peak times, so that rules out any issues with our local exchange.

As with all things, it's cheap for a reason!

EDIT:
From sheer frustration at the 0.6Mbps speeds today, I have just factory reset the Vodafone Connect router. I now have 30-40Mbps of ACTUAL THROUGHPUT. How long this will last remains to be seen...

Time With Provider: 18 Months
Package Name: Superfast 2 Fibre (upto 80Mbps)
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 26th May, 2020    By: Barney
Moved to a new house in Jan 2019 signed up with Vodafone. Service commenced at 55Mb and has got worse since then. I have made so many complaints and it doesn't make any difference. Service is clearly throttled, been through the same nonsense with the wifi. I have a proper network at home and only use the router to connect to my equipment. I was told to press and hold the WDS button for 10 seconds which would have reset the router. The technician didn't like it when I called him out on this.
Current bandwidth is around 25Mb and is very unstable.

But there is hope, they have cabled our estate with Fibre so I will be leaving Vodafone. Vodafone service is appalling, but Ofcom does nothing!!

I have had service with multiple providers but Vodafone is bottom of the league. You will regret it if you take the service.


Time With Provider: 17 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 26th May, 2020    By: zombie_chris
We moved house, and ordered Vodafone Broadband Superfast 2. After we had moved in, the router got sent to our old address, and ordered another one, which pushed back the activation date by OpenReach 4 weeks instead of 2, no compensation offered either in-store or online.

We've never had anything like the maximum sync speed that they advertise and always have to claim out 15% discount. No one investigates. The last 10 days have seen our 55Mb/sec minimum speed shrink to a crawling 5.8Mb/sec, then 5.2Mb/sec with 0.8MB/sec uploads, which essentially shutdown my online backup - these are values measured with their own apps to their own servers.

Contacted tech support twice who won't do anything (Even register it as a complaint on your account) until the splitter has been plugged into the test plug on the master socket for 72 hours - despite the fault existing for 10 days.

Support offered £5 credit to our bill, and we got a 15% discount, but still nothing like even half of what they say should be the minimum. I use a VPN and can see clearly that they throttle downloads, 3-5Mb/sec without the VPN, 28-32Mb/sec with. Avoid.

Time With Provider: 12 Weeks
Package Name: Superfast 2
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 22nd Feb, 2020    By: Mark
Hands down the worst fibre broadband I have ever had.
I went for the "Superfast 2" option, it constantly drops the connection when multiple devices are connected so it's not suitable for an average size family home, decent enough speed for 1 or 2 devices but that's it. If you have a few X-boxes, phones, Netflix, etc running at the same time then stay well clear of this company, you will be left severely disappointed and counting the days down until your 18 month contract runs out.

When you start asking questions about the poor quality of service you will be put through to the technical team who's first response is to inform you that your connection is syncing at the maximum speed ~63Mb, why this is important I don't know as the actual data throughput from this connection is woeful.
They will then "help" you diagnose the quality issues you are experiencing, unplugging filters, cables, reset router, etc. Ultimately this results in them sending you a new router which makes absolutely no difference what so ever.
At this stage its then just a case of wash, rinse & repeat every time you contact them, I think I was on my forth router by the time my contract was up.

Switched to a new provider advertising the same speeds as Vodafone and the difference in quality of service, primarily download speed and throughput is day and night.


Time With Provider: 18 Months
Package Name: Superfast 2
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 03rd Feb, 2020    By: triffid276
As an existing Vodafone mobile customer I accepted an offer of their broadband service on 10 Jan with an installation date of the afternoon of 23 January.
I then received a text from Vodafone changing the time to the morning. I waited all morning and the engineer arrived in the afternoon as he had not been informed of the change in times. He was unable to complete the required work and left, warning me to contact Vodaphone to warn them that the broadband connection had not been made and that they must therefore not switch over my existing land-line number.
I was subsequently given a completion date of 18 February but in the meantime Vodafone assumed control of my landline despite being unable to connect it.
I then noticed that Vodafone had in fact started charging me for their supposed "service' since 10 January.
So to summarise: they have managed to make a complete mess of the actual installation, they have cut my business land-line and have charged me for their complete inadequacy. Oh, and the phone call this morning took 35 mins to connect with a further 55 mins to explain the situation and be kept of hold.
AVOID - ******* useless.

Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name: 1
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 23rd Jan, 2020    By: Fuji246
Much faster than my old ISP, speed around 25 Mbps compared to 18 Mbps. Got a discount when speed dropped below 25 Mbps. Now this ISP has slowed down to 18 Mbps.

Time With Provider: 5 Months
Package Name: Vodafone superfast 1
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 15th Jan, 2020    By: c27078
Never had an issue. Never went down. Always consistent speed. No throttling.

Time With Provider: 18 Months
Package Name: Super Fast 2
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 26th Nov, 2019    By: Philds
So if you are considering broadband please think again.
Great price but my line suffered from constant drop outs lowering my speed.
It appears there is a bug within the router which creates a self re boot.
The constant reboots lowered my line speed from 55 to now 18 and now i am told that there is no fix likely until January.
All watches are disconnected and my line is now stable but no one is taking responsibillty
Am told i cannot leave as in contract despite vodafone not commiting to a min speed of 30meg
avoid!!!!!!!!!!

Time With Provider: 16 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £19.95 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: HYPER20
  • Plusnet £21.99 (*35.98)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £50 Reward Card
  • SSE £22.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • xln telecom £22.74 (*47.94)
    Avg. Speed 66Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • TalkTalk £22.95 (*29.95)
    Avg. Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2717)
  2. FTTP (2605)
  3. FTTC (1756)
  4. Building Digital UK (1701)
  5. Politics (1606)
  6. Openreach (1565)
  7. Business (1389)
  8. FTTH (1312)
  9. Statistics (1207)
  10. Mobile Broadband (1177)
  11. Fibre Optic (1044)
  12. 4G (1013)
  13. Wireless Internet (997)
  14. Ofcom Regulation (993)
  15. Virgin Media (977)
  16. EE (671)
  17. Sky Broadband (655)
  18. TalkTalk (644)
  19. Vodafone (641)
  20. 5G (472)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules