Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Vodafone Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
28 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 22nd Feb, 2020    By: Mark
Hands down the worst fibre broadband I have ever had.
I went for the "Superfast 2" option, it constantly drops the connection when multiple devices are connected so it's not suitable for an average size family home, decent enough speed for 1 or 2 devices but that's it. If you have a few X-boxes, phones, Netflix, etc running at the same time then stay well clear of this company, you will be left severely disappointed and counting the days down until your 18 month contract runs out.

When you start asking questions about the poor quality of service you will be put through to the technical team who's first response is to inform you that your connection is syncing at the maximum speed ~63Mb, why this is important I don't know as the actual data throughput from this connection is woeful.
They will then "help" you diagnose the quality issues you are experiencing, unplugging filters, cables, reset router, etc. Ultimately this results in them sending you a new router which makes absolutely no difference what so ever.
At this stage its then just a case of wash, rinse & repeat every time you contact them, I think I was on my forth router by the time my contract was up.

Switched to a new provider advertising the same speeds as Vodafone and the difference in quality of service, primarily download speed and throughput is day and night.


Time With Provider: 18 Months
Package Name: Superfast 2
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 03rd Feb, 2020    By: triffid276
As an existing Vodafone mobile customer I accepted an offer of their broadband service on 10 Jan with an installation date of the afternoon of 23 January.
I then received a text from Vodafone changing the time to the morning. I waited all morning and the engineer arrived in the afternoon as he had not been informed of the change in times. He was unable to complete the required work and left, warning me to contact Vodaphone to warn them that the broadband connection had not been made and that they must therefore not switch over my existing land-line number.
I was subsequently given a completion date of 18 February but in the meantime Vodafone assumed control of my landline despite being unable to connect it.
I then noticed that Vodafone had in fact started charging me for their supposed "service' since 10 January.
So to summarise: they have managed to make a complete mess of the actual installation, they have cut my business land-line and have charged me for their complete inadequacy. Oh, and the phone call this morning took 35 mins to connect with a further 55 mins to explain the situation and be kept of hold.
AVOID - ******* useless.

Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name: 1
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 23rd Jan, 2020    By: Fuji246
Much faster than my old ISP, speed around 25 Mbps compared to 18 Mbps. Got a discount when speed dropped below 25 Mbps. Now this ISP has slowed down to 18 Mbps.

Time With Provider: 5 Months
Package Name: Vodafone superfast 1
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 15th Jan, 2020    By: c27078
Never had an issue. Never went down. Always consistent speed. No throttling.

Time With Provider: 18 Months
Package Name: Super Fast 2
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 26th Nov, 2019    By: Philds
So if you are considering broadband please think again.
Great price but my line suffered from constant drop outs lowering my speed.
It appears there is a bug within the router which creates a self re boot.
The constant reboots lowered my line speed from 55 to now 18 and now i am told that there is no fix likely until January.
All watches are disconnected and my line is now stable but no one is taking responsibillty
Am told i cannot leave as in contract despite vodafone not commiting to a min speed of 30meg
avoid!!!!!!!!!!

Time With Provider: 16 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 15th Nov, 2019    By: djgordyp1
In the past never had to wait more than a couple of hours to be reconnected after making a late payment. My last ISP was best. Reconnected within seconds of payment.
Almost 24 hours since I made a late payment to Vodafone and still no broadband. Was lied to this morning when advisor said my case was been escalated and I would be reconnected within 30 minutes. Later spoke to an an advisor on the phone who said it would be 2 to 24 hours, blaming BT openreach. I regret leaving Sky now.

Time With Provider: 6 Weeks
Package Name: Superfast 1
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 16th Jun, 2019    By: Crimson
By now broadband is something that should "just work", and if it doesn't "just work" it should be easy to identify and fix problems.

So, my actual speed is as good as I'm going to get here - for the time being at least. The problem with Vodafone seems to be their fetish for believing every issue to be WiFi related, and that by whispering the magic words "have you split the SSIDs", every network and even world peace issue can be solved!

So when the Vodafone network itself has issues, they seem to have either no means to see them, or are just incapable of seeing them.

Then there is the Vodafone router! It's quicker to list what works properly on the router than what doesn't work/is not supported. It's "on-paper" specs suggest it should be okay, but the implementation is beyond appalling. So while even the average user will struggle to get it to do the basics, Vodafone themselves cling vainly to the belief that it's future proof and the best thing on the market.

Time With Provider: 14 Months
Package Name: Superfast 2
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 29th May, 2019    By: Neif1983
Broadband services (or lack of) are utter rubbish. Speed is below the minimum and the WAN keeps disconnecting (some days once, and some days 10 times). I do a lot of LIVE streaming and Online gaming, very bad for business when it decides on its own to disconnect in the middle of the stream or game. Vodafone doesn't know what's wrong, Open reach Engineer came to visit and confirmed the line is perfect. Bear in mind, on the same line and path, I previsouly had BT and EE and it never did this... Avoid if you can!

Time With Provider: 8 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 10th May, 2019    By: s.m.nz
Leaving this review after finally cancelling my VF contract.

Start with the Pro's of Broadband with Vodafone: The Price. And that's it.

Here come the Con's
- Speed advertised at up to 76Mbps when first signing up. Later told in the process a guaranteed 60Mbps - not too bad. Dropped to 40Mbps within first 6 months, still bareable. Later to 20Mbps, and finally down to 2 (TWO!) Mbps during peak times.
- Numerous excuses and stalling tactics when dealing with poor connection performance. Despite evidence to the contrary, they were convinced slow speeds and high latency were a local issue (they weren't).
- Constant battles with Customer Service teams just to get basic information or be provided with assistance. Refused at one point to help because their CRM went down. Told me I'd need to go into a store for a security check.

This is one of the worst performing FTTC connections I've ever had, and some of the worst service I've experienced from an ISP. Steer clear of Vodafone - they are one of the least transparent and most time-costly companies supplying Broadband in Britain.

Time With Provider: 18 Months
Package Name: 76Mbps Superfast
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 05th Apr, 2019    By: lewis
I was having some stream jank, and strange ping spikes so I took at look at pfSense where I noticed that my configured gateway (which is configured to check conn every 500ms) was seeing packet loss and ping spikes in the region 3-6 seconds for ~1 minute every 20 minutes.

I setup SmokePing to check the connection against other services to rule out the Vodafone gateway, they also experienced the same issues. ~60% packet loss and ping spikes every 20 minutes.

I contacted support, where they tred to help with my 'WiFi' issues. Eventually got escalated to second level technical support, where they ran line tests (which unsurprisingly came back fine as my line wasn't entirely dropping). This went back and forth for 2 weeks, eventually I caved and cancelled my contract incurring a £100 charge. Switching to Zen.

Signed up in May 2018, couldn't make it a year, ended up in a loop of them saying the issue was my hardware (the issue was also present on their provided router), with no end in sight.

Time With Provider: 11 Months
Package Name: Unlimited Fibre 76
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £19.95 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £50 Gift Card
  • Post Office £20.90 (*37.00)
    Avg. Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £21.95
    Avg. Speed 63Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • SSE £22.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
  • xln telecom £22.74 (*47.94)
    Avg. Speed 66Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2620)
  2. FTTP (2411)
  3. FTTC (1713)
  4. Building Digital UK (1649)
  5. Politics (1513)
  6. Openreach (1488)
  7. Business (1305)
  8. FTTH (1200)
  9. Statistics (1141)
  10. Mobile Broadband (1106)
  11. Fibre Optic (1010)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (962)
  13. 4G (955)
  14. Wireless Internet (953)
  15. Virgin Media (912)
  16. EE (632)
  17. Sky Broadband (625)
  18. TalkTalk (609)
  19. Vodafone (577)
  20. 3G (433)
Vodafone - Broadband Fixed Line Rated 2.232142857142857 / 5 based on 28 reviews. 0. | Review Me
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules