Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Zen Internet Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
109 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 28th Feb, 2021    By: olliereedshipflask
I moved to Zen in 2017, following declining support standards and speed issues with my former ISP.

Both of these frowns turned upside when I joined Zen. I was a happy camper. Now I've got some beefs.

Support
-------

I've gotten satisfactory tech support over email, which is good because lately it's become all but impossible to use online chat anymore - just the option to leave a message. Given that this is one reason I left my ex-ISP, it makes me a little uneasy that things are going in the mega-provider direction.

Of bigger concern are the two messages (used via the 'leave a message' system detailed above) to sales since Christmas. All I wanted to do is upgrade my Fritz!Box which is allegedly offered to existing customers at a discounted rate. However they seem to be disinterested - I've not even had a reply.

Speed
-----

No quibbles here - puts Yorkshire's finest to shame.

Value
-----

Not the cheapest, but I don't care so much about that. I am dependent on reliable and fast, and I get that. So the value is there for me.

Services
--------

Not much to add of value here, I get what I need.

--

Contract renewal time soon, and since they don't seem to want to take my money for a new router - and I can't even get anyone to talk to me about taking my money - it's causing my eye to wander onto what else is out there.

Time With Provider: 4 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 23rd Feb, 2021    By: Kevin
Once upon a time Zen were fantastic. Having been a customer of theirs for some 20 years, I can only say that their customer service has declined dramatically in the last 2 years.

Recent fibre problems took 2 months to resolve, and whilst BT broadband were primarily to blame Zen displayed poor communications and no desire to add any urgency to proceedings.

More recently they blatantly lied about how my package was the best value, whilst offering more cost effective packages to others. Eventually they agreed to regrade us - no apologies etc. 6 weeks later the regrade has not happened, and after several sessions of 30minutes on hold i'm giving up trying to talk to them to find out what's going on.

if I want that level of service I may as well go to BT who at least offer some fall-backs if there is a problem with the line.

I don't recommend them anymore...

Time With Provider: 20 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 13th Jan, 2021    By: jameshammy
Recently moved house into the country and it was an FTTP-enabled area so naturally I wanted to order the fastest tier available. I came from a BT FTTC product (80Mbit/20Mbit) at mt previous address which in all honesty, never skipped a beat and was solid for the 7 years we had it.

I had an FTTP activation date set after dealing with a very easy over the phone order, before I moved in. I had the router arranged to be delivered ahead of time to my old address, which arrived a couple of days later.

When the activation day arrived, I had an email at the crack of dawn letting me know the line had been transferred to Zen and the service was now active. PPPoE connections were completely unresponsive. I called Zen tech support and explained the situation and straight away was speaking to someone who I could talk to about RADIUS servers etc so we were on the same page. We tested PPPoE on a computer plugged straight into the ONT. Still no dice so an Openreach engineer visit was booked. He turned up next day, tested the optical status (perfect) and called their NOC who worked out the problem and fixed immediately. I got a follow-up call from Zen that day.

I have to say, it was so refreshing to speak to an ISP with UK-based staff who actually know their stuff and care about their customers.

Highly recommended. Oh and I get more than 900Mbit down and 115Mbit up speeds!

Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name: Full Fibre 900
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 09th Jan, 2021    By: Roskers
I transferred to Zen from another all-inclusive package - phone calls included. I delayed the installation by a week or so, by phone, as the date they gave wasn't right for me. Then I started to receive call charges - eventually doubled the bill. But I had stipulated calls included, which they denied. There's no proof in the order paperwork. So be very careful and double/triple check that you are getting what you want before signing up.

Time With Provider: 3 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 06th Dec, 2020    By: Stevet
Zen terminated contract for no reason at all, so I lost both internet and landline. Ten days ago they agreed to restore service and I am still waiting. How wonderful to have another obstacle to keeping my business going pre-Christmas and during a pandemic. Avoid them, they are unreliable and cannot even spell "service", let alone provide it

Time With Provider: 5 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 28th Aug, 2020    By: Dja1000
Been with zen for 3 years and they were fine up till I had a problem.

Getting them to answer the phone or an email is a task in itself. They have left me now with no service for 7 days, and each day when I call I am on hold for 40 minutes.

They sell a premium service but BT do not provide them feedback or keep them in the loop and Zen are unable to push then to get resolution, they are a middleman offering no value.

Do not pay the premium to join this service,

Time With Provider: 3 Years
Package Name: FTTP
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 16th Aug, 2020    By: KS
I was with Zen for about 7 years and the service went from bad to worse over that time, price hikes, I was paying £67.50 for 2 landline phones and ADSL broadband on one line.
Endless outages, Poor service, diabolical tech support, nothing but a bunch on amateurs who made endless excuses for their poor service like blaming my router and computer, both of which were top spec and brand new.
I was glad to migrate away from them after the abuse I suffered by email from both their staff and CEO for daring to complain.
I am now taking them over the coals with the Ombudsman and I would never ever go near them again.
My advice, steer well clear, they will never give you value for money and they are downright arrogant and rude.
They compromised my business and I lost a lot of money as a result.
Value for money - ZERO stars.
Support - ZERO stars.
Speed - ZERO stars. (Dial up was faster in the 1990's!)
Services - ZERO stars.
Utter disgrace.

Time With Provider: 7 Years
Package Name: Zen Home Talk +Unlimited ADSL Broadband
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 30th Jul, 2020    By: Bear4
I went with Zen excited to get my first fibre broadband service, my previous ISP was unspectacular but the service just worked over many years with almost zero issues. With Zen Internet it started well, but then I was without internet for around 6 days earlier in the year due to a fault, it took long enough to resolve that compensation was paid but what’s really lost my confidence in Zen to provide a good service is the constant disconnections. This started a few months ago and has completely disrupted my service, looking today I had around eight disconnections, late afternoon to early evening. This causes havoc with Zoom calls and other similar activities that we all need these days, to the point I have to plan around the issue.

I have of course raised this with support where I made little progress, as I understood it, they suggested it was a problem at my end, which I don’t believe it is. They didn’t make it clear on how I could escalate the issue and they have not been proactive, it’s very clear how bad the connection is but the onus is on me to prove that the fault lies with them, that’s what it feels like anyway. I’ll be looking elsewhere once my contact is up, if my service improves I’ll happily revise this review but I don’t trust this company to deliver and certainly wouldn’t recommend Zen Internet in any capacity.

Time With Provider: 9 Months
Package Name: Unlimited Fibre 2
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 30th Jun, 2020    By: grantfinlay
Joined Zen 3 years ago after having tried BT, Sky and Talk Talk - and suffering the same problems of intermittent dropouts and loss of service. All of the ISPs failed to sort the problem, so we joined Zen, a premium service, in the expectation they would take things more seriously. But they relied on data they had at their end, which told them there was no problem, rather than accepting our lived experience. It took two years (and a promise to underwrite the £130 cost of doing so) before they agreed to call in an Openreach engineer - who found our wires 'half hanging loose' in the cabinet. So years of poor service, unhelpful technical support - in return for a £20/month premium!

Have just signed up elsewhere for a faster service (fingers crossed) and a £20/month saving.

Time With Provider: 3 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 11th Jun, 2020    By: storm4
Was with Zen for about 18 months, almost all of that time the service was top notch. I experienced only one issue and their team could not have been more helpful. The only reason I left in the end was down to Cityfibre being installed in my street and I wanted a faster speed. Not the cheapest but certainly one of the best.

Time With Provider: 18 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £22.00
    Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: HYPER21
  • Plusnet £22.50 (*36.52)
    Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £60 Reward Card
  • Onestream £22.50 (*27.99)
    Speed 45Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • xln telecom £22.74 (*47.94)
    Speed 66Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £22.95
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest Ultrafast ISPs
  • Vodafone £26.00
    Speed: 100Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Virgin Media £27.99 (*51.00)
    Speed: 108Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £29.00 (*35.00)
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: HYPER21
  • TalkTalk £32.00 (*39.95)
    Speed: 145Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Giganet £35.00
    Speed: 200Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (3049)
  2. BT (2886)
  3. FTTC (1835)
  4. Building Digital UK (1815)
  5. Politics (1777)
  6. Openreach (1710)
  7. Business (1544)
  8. FTTH (1351)
  9. Mobile Broadband (1345)
  10. Statistics (1321)
  11. 4G (1158)
  12. Fibre Optic (1109)
  13. Wireless Internet (1080)
  14. Virgin Media (1072)
  15. Ofcom Regulation (1069)
  16. EE (767)
  17. Vodafone (747)
  18. TalkTalk (717)
  19. Sky Broadband (704)
  20. 5G (630)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules