Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Zen Internet Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
113 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 06th May, 2021    By: Fancellu
Was supposed to have FTTP installed on the 27th.

Engineer came, and said it couldn't be done because fibre not set up properly

I contacted Zen, who said they'd get back to me today with an update. That didn't happen

I'd already arranged to have my current internet stopped today, as advised, so have no internet

Had to call them up again today to get them to chase openreach. Then get told I'll have to wait a week. Or more.

1) Why was a proper survey not done?
2) Why didn't Zen get back to me?
3) You would think an install for a date which didn't then change status to DONE would attract their attention

Zen have no ticketing system on their website, just email, and their email thinks I'm sending spam, so I can't even talk to them

My order on the website shows no sign of the new status, the new ETA. Any change whatsoever

Very disappointed

I chose Zen solely because of their previous good reputation. I see many people saying they aren't what they once were. Pity

---

The latest update is that I'm expected to wait until 13/06 for the extra work to be done. i.e. 7 weeks after my go live date, all the while without Fibre broadband

This is beyond a joke

Zen should not be offering a service they simply cannot supply

Should I ever get a service from them, I imagine their support will be equally unengaged

Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name: Full Fibre 900
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 30th Apr, 2021    By: Erica
I don’t understand where all the good reviews come from. The broadband has been having reliability issues for months and these issues have intensified in recent days. Instead of sorting out the problem – which appears to be a faulty router – they are dragging on with endless checks and temporary fixes. They have also said that I may have to pay a technician to attend my flat, hoping to stop me from asking for a router replacement/quick turnaround. This is disgusting, considering that I am paying for a service that is not delivered. I am very dissatisfied: I have switched despite being one of the most expensive providers, with the hope of a smooth service. Instead, my broadband works intermittently and customer service is unhelpful.

Time With Provider: 3 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 13th Apr, 2021    By: shevans
First off don’t expect anyone to reply to your emails or messages, beyond that if you telephone you get through to someone (20mins wait for tech support as April 2021) who is very knowledgeable, helpful and polite.

The Zen supplied Fritz! Router is probably a single very good reason alone for using Zen, this bit of kit does everything, work 100% and reliable.

I migrated to Zen from BT, saving £15 a month for same service, have slightly better ping times, a DNS server that works and a router which allows you to change all the settings.

Time With Provider: 1 Months
Package Name: Full Fibre 100
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 06th Apr, 2021    By: jiknee
We recently switched after our previous provider was awful but this provider is even worse. Wifi constantly cuts out several times a day. When online gaming the latency reaches up to 700 and frequently disconnects. The range is awful even with a booster - would not recommend to anyone. I have messaged the company about it but was ignored.

Time With Provider: 3 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 28th Mar, 2021    By: olliereedshipflask
I moved to Zen in 2017, following declining support standards and speed issues with my former ISP.

Both of these frowns turned upside when I joined Zen. I was a happy camper. Now I've got some beefs.

Support
-------

I've gotten satisfactory tech support over email, which is good because lately it's become all but impossible to use online chat anymore - just the option to leave a message. Given that this is one reason I left my ex-ISP, it makes me a little uneasy that things are going in the mega-provider direction.

Of bigger concern are the two messages (used via the 'leave a message' system detailed above) to sales since Christmas. All I wanted to do is upgrade my Fritz!Box which is allegedly offered to existing customers at a discounted rate. However they seem to be disinterested - I've not even had a reply.

Speed
-----

No quibbles here - puts Yorkshire's finest to shame.

Value
-----

Not the cheapest, but I don't care so much about that. I am dependent on reliable and fast, and I get that. So the value is there for me.

Services
--------

Not much to add of value here, I get what I need.

--

Contract renewal time soon, and since they don't seem to want to take my money for a new router - and I can't even get anyone to talk to me about taking my money - it's causing my eye to wander onto what else is out there.

Time With Provider: 4 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 23rd Feb, 2021    By: Kevin
Once upon a time Zen were fantastic. Having been a customer of theirs for some 20 years, I can only say that their customer service has declined dramatically in the last 2 years.

Recent fibre problems took 2 months to resolve, and whilst BT broadband were primarily to blame Zen displayed poor communications and no desire to add any urgency to proceedings.

More recently they blatantly lied about how my package was the best value, whilst offering more cost effective packages to others. Eventually they agreed to regrade us - no apologies etc. 6 weeks later the regrade has not happened, and after several sessions of 30minutes on hold i'm giving up trying to talk to them to find out what's going on.

if I want that level of service I may as well go to BT who at least offer some fall-backs if there is a problem with the line.

I don't recommend them anymore...

Time With Provider: 20 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 13th Jan, 2021    By: jameshammy
Recently moved house into the country and it was an FTTP-enabled area so naturally I wanted to order the fastest tier available. I came from a BT FTTC product (80Mbit/20Mbit) at mt previous address which in all honesty, never skipped a beat and was solid for the 7 years we had it.

I had an FTTP activation date set after dealing with a very easy over the phone order, before I moved in. I had the router arranged to be delivered ahead of time to my old address, which arrived a couple of days later.

When the activation day arrived, I had an email at the crack of dawn letting me know the line had been transferred to Zen and the service was now active. PPPoE connections were completely unresponsive. I called Zen tech support and explained the situation and straight away was speaking to someone who I could talk to about RADIUS servers etc so we were on the same page. We tested PPPoE on a computer plugged straight into the ONT. Still no dice so an Openreach engineer visit was booked. He turned up next day, tested the optical status (perfect) and called their NOC who worked out the problem and fixed immediately. I got a follow-up call from Zen that day.

I have to say, it was so refreshing to speak to an ISP with UK-based staff who actually know their stuff and care about their customers.

Highly recommended. Oh and I get more than 900Mbit down and 115Mbit up speeds!

Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name: Full Fibre 900
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 09th Jan, 2021    By: Roskers
I transferred to Zen from another all-inclusive package - phone calls included. I delayed the installation by a week or so, by phone, as the date they gave wasn't right for me. Then I started to receive call charges - eventually doubled the bill. But I had stipulated calls included, which they denied. There's no proof in the order paperwork. So be very careful and double/triple check that you are getting what you want before signing up.

Time With Provider: 3 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 06th Dec, 2020    By: Stevet
Zen terminated contract for no reason at all, so I lost both internet and landline. Ten days ago they agreed to restore service and I am still waiting. How wonderful to have another obstacle to keeping my business going pre-Christmas and during a pandemic. Avoid them, they are unreliable and cannot even spell "service", let alone provide it

Time With Provider: 5 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 28th Aug, 2020    By: Dja1000
Been with zen for 3 years and they were fine up till I had a problem.

Getting them to answer the phone or an email is a task in itself. They have left me now with no service for 7 days, and each day when I call I am on hold for 40 minutes.

They sell a premium service but BT do not provide them feedback or keep them in the loop and Zen are unable to push then to get resolution, they are a middleman offering no value.

Do not pay the premium to join this service,

Time With Provider: 3 Years
Package Name: FTTP
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • TalkTalk £22.00 (*29.95)
    Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £22.00 (*25.00)
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £22.00
    Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: HYPERSPRING
  • Shell Energy £22.99 (*30.99)
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: 12 Months of Norton 360
  • Plusnet £22.99 (*36.52)
    Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £50 Reward Card
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest Ultrafast ISPs
  • Gigaclear £24.00 (*44.00)
    Speed: 100Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Offer Code: SPRUCE20
  • Vodafone £26.00 (*29.00)
    Speed: 100Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Virgin Media £28.00 (*44.00)
    Speed: 108Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £29.00 (*35.00)
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: HYPERSPRING
  • TalkTalk £29.95 (*39.95)
    Speed: 145Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (3225)
  2. BT (2930)
  3. Building Digital UK (1855)
  4. FTTC (1853)
  5. Politics (1838)
  6. Openreach (1753)
  7. Business (1596)
  8. Mobile Broadband (1379)
  9. FTTH (1359)
  10. Statistics (1354)
  11. 4G (1188)
  12. Fibre Optic (1131)
  13. Wireless Internet (1111)
  14. Virgin Media (1103)
  15. Ofcom Regulation (1101)
  16. EE (789)
  17. Vodafone (781)
  18. TalkTalk (737)
  19. Sky Broadband (715)
  20. 5G (674)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules