Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Zen Internet Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
101 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 30th Jun, 2020    By: grantfinlay
Joined Zen 3 years ago after having tried BT, Sky and Talk Talk - and suffering the same problems of intermittent dropouts and loss of service. All of the ISPs failed to sort the problem, so we joined Zen, a premium service, in the expectation they would take things more seriously. But they relied on data they had at their end, which told them there was no problem, rather than accepting our lived experience. It took two years (and a promise to underwrite the £130 cost of doing so) before they agreed to call in an Openreach engineer - who found our wires 'half hanging loose' in the cabinet. So years of poor service, unhelpful technical support - in return for a £20/month premium!

Have just signed up elsewhere for a faster service (fingers crossed) and a £20/month saving.

Time With Provider: 3 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 11th Jun, 2020    By: storm4
Was with Zen for about 18 months, almost all of that time the service was top notch. I experienced only one issue and their team could not have been more helpful. The only reason I left in the end was down to Cityfibre being installed in my street and I wanted a faster speed. Not the cheapest but certainly one of the best.

Time With Provider: 18 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 31st Mar, 2020    By: AdamStanden
Having decided to leave BT due to cost and not being able to hat the same price as new customers, I chose to join Zen.

The order process was quick and easy with good communication throughout. On changeover day, I was up and running by 7.30 am!

The supplied modem/router was easy to setup and initial speed only slightly slower than BT. Will give it a few days to settle.

Would definitely recommend.

Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name: Unlimited Fibre 2
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 28th Feb, 2020    By: finbaar
Title: Great ISP
I've had 3 happy years with Zen. A solid 65mbps down most of the time and roughly 20mbps up. Any contact I've had with them has been dealt with by efficient and knowledgeable staff. Also they don't filter the internet, which is great.
But I'm leaving for Vodafone. This is purely down to price. Zen are £47 a month Vodafone are £21 as an existing customer with £85 cashback. That's £553 over 18 months and I can't turn that down. Wish me luck on Vodafone, I might need it.

Time With Provider: 3 Years
Package Name: Unlimited Home
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 03rd Feb, 2020    By: techohes
Pleasantly surprised by Zen, painless sign up process, everything went as planned. Then it activated and my download speeds are 63Mbit and Upload 13Mbit - I've had fibre since it was available here (with BT, Plusnet and Vodafone) and none of them could get anywhere near this. Not sure how? BT was the best of those others and they maxed out every time at 55/10.

So credit to Zen, amazing so far. Love the router too!

Time With Provider: 2 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 30th Jan, 2020    By: Rycleary
Unreliable company who take no responsibility for their own failures. Signed up to internet on the 21st with an agreed upon start date of 28th. Come the 28th no internet and an appointment booked for the 30th. Come the 30th no internet and another appointment booked for the 3rd with someone needing to be home (despite the fact we can’t work from home because no internet). Continually blaming others and delaying. Been over two weeks without internet. Stay away from this company

Time With Provider: 2 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 12th Dec, 2019    By: Gweezer
Good price for the high level of service, great speed, and responsive tech support. Full Ipv4/IPv6 stack supported with static IP addresses for both and more than adequate supplied gateway hardware. Are happy to deal with me direct as technical contact when supporting mutual customers. 10/10 and totally worth the small premium over budget providers.

Time With Provider: 3 Years
Package Name: Unlimited Fibre 2
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 04th Nov, 2019    By: Taunton81
Joined Zen last month after being with Plusnet. So far very impressed. The service was activated in just 3 days, quicker than the original date they gave me.
Really like the Fritz router that they have supplied. Very feature rich including things such as being a DECT base station allowing VoIP calls. Far better than the one that Plusnet provided.
In addition I like the fact it’s only a 12 month contract and they won’t increase the prices after the initial contract unlike other ISPs.

Time With Provider: 2 Weeks
Package Name: Unlimited Fibre 2
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 17th Oct, 2019    By: nickjb
I don't normally review services, but Zen deserves a bit of praise. I signed up with Zen after being a bt and plusnet customer for years. Zen's communications during sigup process were very good, their package was up to date in terms of what was important (cheap line rental, unlimited/uncapped packages) which worked out around 15-20% cheaper than plusnet equivalent. They provided a pre-configured fritz box, which is a great device and to top it off I've gone from 36mb download to 52mb and from 6mb to 8mb upstream speeds. Nothing on the line has changed apart from connecting the new equipment etc

Time With Provider: 2 Weeks
Package Name: Unlimited Fibre 2
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 15th Dec, 2018    By: Adrian M
Zen are very expensive so I wrongly assumed we would get a much better service than we did from Sky. Zen’s service speeds are even slower.

Since the very beginning we have had problems with Zen Internet.

We are getting nowhere near the Typical download speed they advertised. They still won’t let us change providers without huge early termination charges despite speeds that are much slower than promised.

Save yourself loads of hassle and avoid Zen Internet!

Time With Provider: 9 Months
Package Name: Unlimited Fibre 1 + phone
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £19.95 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: HYPER20
  • Plusnet £21.99 (*35.98)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £50 Reward Card
  • SSE £22.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • xln telecom £22.74 (*47.94)
    Avg. Speed 66Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • TalkTalk £22.95 (*29.95)
    Avg. Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2721)
  2. FTTP (2611)
  3. FTTC (1757)
  4. Building Digital UK (1705)
  5. Politics (1611)
  6. Openreach (1569)
  7. Business (1390)
  8. FTTH (1315)
  9. Statistics (1208)
  10. Mobile Broadband (1178)
  11. Fibre Optic (1044)
  12. 4G (1015)
  13. Wireless Internet (1002)
  14. Ofcom Regulation (993)
  15. Virgin Media (980)
  16. EE (672)
  17. Sky Broadband (657)
  18. TalkTalk (644)
  19. Vodafone (642)
  20. 5G (474)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules