Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

BT Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
148 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 25th Dec, 2018    By: turbulance
After 2 years of using BT, I have had no issue with the connection it's self, until I came to cancel, where BT lied saying they had canceled my services and payments but continued to take money, it took another 4 phone calls to stop them taking money and they agreed to repay the money owed.

However they then backed out of that saying that my service was still active and I should of contacted them soon, even though I had canceled. Would highly recommend avoiding as they are not below lieing to your face and changing their mind, backing out of agreements that needed to be made because they decided to lie in the first place.

Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 08th Aug, 2018    By: lukewd
I have FTTP from BT. As much as BT's customer service is poor, their product pricing is actually pretty reasonable.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 14th May, 2018    By: IcedKiwi
Been with BT FTTC for the past ~5 years. Don't have a reason to complain about the actual service provided. Always had the full 80/20 - but the cabinet is right outside my house so I'd hope that would be the case.
Had issues with the HomeHub wifi performance but since moving to a 3rd party router it's been great.
Just finishing a fixed 2 year contract (through retentions) and now moving to Pulse8.
Main issue was with the new price, customer service and dubious practises with "extras" they provided for free for 12 months then start charging you for (I don't regularly check my bills).
Hopefully moving to Pulse8 who have simple contract, no initial term special prices, no unwanted extras that I'm paying for (cloud storage, bundled router etc.) and hopefully better CS.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 09th Mar, 2018    By: michaelvladeanu
Title: BT
have BT infinity 2 and im disappointed speeds differ everyday and latency and jitter are too high for gaming customer service is also woeful

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 06th Mar, 2018    By: Alex_UK
I used to have FTTP on my previous property, then moved into an area with FTTC, to avoid the cancellation penalties I got a new contract for FTTC at the new location which has been a nightmare for the last 8 months since I moved in.

The line keeps dropping sync, but BT insists everything is fine. We got new router sent over, Openreach visited the premises and many phone calls having to nearly shout at people to understand the problem is still present.

Anyway, we are in a contract, we can;t move away and BT doesn't let us go to another provider even though they provide a crap service.

BT customer service in india is horrible, you can barely make up what they say and they don't give a damn. Their way of retaining customer is via a contract and pretending your line works when it actually doesn't

Avoid at any cost!


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 03rd Mar, 2018    By: RJMorrison
In December 2017 I moved from SKY to BT, just to get BT Sport to watch the Ashes from Aus. What a stupid thing to do. SKY were delivering 10.5mbps but BT started off delivering 6.5mbps which in the last couple of weeks has gone down to 3.5mbps. When I complained BT said they were within the contracted speeds, ie. 1-7mbps. They just weren't interested.
My advice to anyone thinking of moving to BT is DON'T, YOU WILL REGRET IT!!!!!
I am just waiting until the end of my 12 month contract to move back to SKY.


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 16th Feb, 2018    By: adymac
I had 2 lines with BT both supposedly giving the same service. One connected at ADSL1 speeds (8Mb) and the other at ADSL2+ (12Mb). When I called to ask them to sort the slower line out I was passed between multiple departments who simply didn't understand the problem. The ignorance of the BT staff I spoke to was staggering. They refused to involve OpenReach because I was getting the minimum speed they were contracted to provide.
I cancelled both lines - moved to AAISP and both lines now sync at just under 18Mb. ON THE SAME PHYSICAL COPPER PAIRS!!!
I feel sorry for so many regular consumers who may not understand some of the ADSL technology and terminology and aren't aware that they are likely getting a poor service because they can't get past BT retail.


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 26th Dec, 2017    By: nnneilboss
Several years of faultless BT Infinity 2. But never realised how lucky I was to live only 50 yards from the green cabinet. Have just moved house and getting fast broadband is proving a headache. I am paying for Infinity 2 and getting 5 - 10 MBps - BT says I should give it 10 days, but I cannot see how that will make a difference.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Sep, 2017    By: carlosthejackal
Initially I had constant problems with the Home Hub 6 and its WiFi.
Every time I rang the technical department I was either given a solution that failed to solve the problem or more often than not I was cut off before completing my conversation.
I was sent a replacement HH6 which did not resolve the issue and eventually I was sent a HH5 which did thankfully cure the problem.
However, the customer service and billing have continued to be well below standard.

My latest bill included a £65 charge supposedly for asking to leave the broadband service early, something I didn't ask for or was discussed with anyone at BT.

When I tried to resolve this by phone, I spoke to an advisor who initially tried to tell me the £65 charge wasn't actually a cancellation fee as stated but rather a charge for one of the routers? When I explained this wasn't the case as the only router that worked was the HH5, He put me on hold and never returned, leaving me hanging on the phone for 20 minutes + listening to "On Hold" music.
I then tried to ring back later only to be put in a queue with no answer, and when BT turned their phone lines off at 9pm I was cut off despite waiting 45 minutes for a reply.
I then attempted to contact BT via the online chat, eventually after a 30 minute wait I spoke to a lady call advisor who initially told me the £65 was credited back to my account in a payment of £75.95 to my account in July.
I explained that this was incorrect and the £75 95 credit was a refund promised to me for leaving my previous provider Plusnet early to cover their early cancellation fee. BT repaid me the charges made to me by Plusnet.
She then said I would receive a £65 refund to my account, She also insisted I should "relax" something that I feel wasn't appropriate at the time.
When I demanded that I wanted to escalate my complaint to a supervisor, She stalled for a while and eventually passed my complaint over to a supervisor.
He asked what could be done to resolve my complaint and I explained I wanted early cancellation of my contract with no cancellation fees as I felt the service isn't fit for purpose.
He told me he couldn't do this and would have to escalate this further and promised me a callback in 48 hours.
No callback was made to me, despite being promised and yet again I had to contact them via the online chat. I spoke to an advisor who told me I would receive a call tomorrow.
After explaining the promise made by the supervisor, I eventually received another call from another supervisor who explained he failed to callback as he was tied up with another complaint (A complaint that appears to have taken 48 hours)
Again, he claimed it wasn't something he couldn't deal with and I again have been promised yet another callback that could happen at anytime over the past week. (I have no confidence it will happen at all).
Had I have known what poor customer service BT had I would have never have left my previous ISP Plusnet.
I have no desire to remain a BT customer, as I feel I have been treated very badly.
Promises have been made that haven't been kept, money taken out of my account that shouldn't have been and I have had to constantly endure terrible customer service in an attempt to resolve the problems created by BT

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Sep, 2017    By: pav62
I signed up for BT Infinity around the rush to get it up and running before the Olympics in 2012.

Since then, I have never experienced the true superfast connection due to a number of things. The cab is over 500m from me and there is a lot of aluminium cabling.

I am not sure I will ever be able to get FTTP, FTTrN, G.Fast or stuff like that which is being developed and rolled out. It is a shame that even in the centre of town, one can still be in a similar situation to someone in the countryside and be in a "not spot" for connection to the internet.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £19.95 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: HYPER20
  • NOW TV £22.00 (*40.00)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • SSE £22.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • xln telecom £22.74 (*47.94)
    Avg. Speed 66Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £22.95
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2698)
  2. FTTP (2547)
  3. FTTC (1745)
  4. Building Digital UK (1685)
  5. Politics (1580)
  6. Openreach (1545)
  7. Business (1366)
  8. FTTH (1287)
  9. Statistics (1193)
  10. Mobile Broadband (1161)
  11. Fibre Optic (1037)
  12. 4G (1001)
  13. Wireless Internet (989)
  14. Ofcom Regulation (987)
  15. Virgin Media (963)
  16. EE (668)
  17. Sky Broadband (651)
  18. TalkTalk (634)
  19. Vodafone (629)
  20. 5G (464)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules