Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

BT Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
144 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 06th Mar, 2018    By: Alex_UK
I used to have FTTP on my previous property, then moved into an area with FTTC, to avoid the cancellation penalties I got a new contract for FTTC at the new location which has been a nightmare for the last 8 months since I moved in.

The line keeps dropping sync, but BT insists everything is fine. We got new router sent over, Openreach visited the premises and many phone calls having to nearly shout at people to understand the problem is still present.

Anyway, we are in a contract, we can;t move away and BT doesn't let us go to another provider even though they provide a crap service.

BT customer service in india is horrible, you can barely make up what they say and they don't give a damn. Their way of retaining customer is via a contract and pretending your line works when it actually doesn't

Avoid at any cost!


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 03rd Mar, 2018    By: RJMorrison
In December 2017 I moved from SKY to BT, just to get BT Sport to watch the Ashes from Aus. What a stupid thing to do. SKY were delivering 10.5mbps but BT started off delivering 6.5mbps which in the last couple of weeks has gone down to 3.5mbps. When I complained BT said they were within the contracted speeds, ie. 1-7mbps. They just weren't interested.
My advice to anyone thinking of moving to BT is DON'T, YOU WILL REGRET IT!!!!!
I am just waiting until the end of my 12 month contract to move back to SKY.


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 16th Feb, 2018    By: adymac
I had 2 lines with BT both supposedly giving the same service. One connected at ADSL1 speeds (8Mb) and the other at ADSL2+ (12Mb). When I called to ask them to sort the slower line out I was passed between multiple departments who simply didn't understand the problem. The ignorance of the BT staff I spoke to was staggering. They refused to involve OpenReach because I was getting the minimum speed they were contracted to provide.
I cancelled both lines - moved to AAISP and both lines now sync at just under 18Mb. ON THE SAME PHYSICAL COPPER PAIRS!!!
I feel sorry for so many regular consumers who may not understand some of the ADSL technology and terminology and aren't aware that they are likely getting a poor service because they can't get past BT retail.


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 26th Dec, 2017    By: nnneilboss
Several years of faultless BT Infinity 2. But never realised how lucky I was to live only 50 yards from the green cabinet. Have just moved house and getting fast broadband is proving a headache. I am paying for Infinity 2 and getting 5 - 10 MBps - BT says I should give it 10 days, but I cannot see how that will make a difference.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Sep, 2017    By: carlosthejackal
Initially I had constant problems with the Home Hub 6 and its WiFi.
Every time I rang the technical department I was either given a solution that failed to solve the problem or more often than not I was cut off before completing my conversation.
I was sent a replacement HH6 which did not resolve the issue and eventually I was sent a HH5 which did thankfully cure the problem.
However, the customer service and billing have continued to be well below standard.

My latest bill included a £65 charge supposedly for asking to leave the broadband service early, something I didn't ask for or was discussed with anyone at BT.

When I tried to resolve this by phone, I spoke to an advisor who initially tried to tell me the £65 charge wasn't actually a cancellation fee as stated but rather a charge for one of the routers? When I explained this wasn't the case as the only router that worked was the HH5, He put me on hold and never returned, leaving me hanging on the phone for 20 minutes + listening to "On Hold" music.
I then tried to ring back later only to be put in a queue with no answer, and when BT turned their phone lines off at 9pm I was cut off despite waiting 45 minutes for a reply.
I then attempted to contact BT via the online chat, eventually after a 30 minute wait I spoke to a lady call advisor who initially told me the £65 was credited back to my account in a payment of £75.95 to my account in July.
I explained that this was incorrect and the £75 95 credit was a refund promised to me for leaving my previous provider Plusnet early to cover their early cancellation fee. BT repaid me the charges made to me by Plusnet.
She then said I would receive a £65 refund to my account, She also insisted I should "relax" something that I feel wasn't appropriate at the time.
When I demanded that I wanted to escalate my complaint to a supervisor, She stalled for a while and eventually passed my complaint over to a supervisor.
He asked what could be done to resolve my complaint and I explained I wanted early cancellation of my contract with no cancellation fees as I felt the service isn't fit for purpose.
He told me he couldn't do this and would have to escalate this further and promised me a callback in 48 hours.
No callback was made to me, despite being promised and yet again I had to contact them via the online chat. I spoke to an advisor who told me I would receive a call tomorrow.
After explaining the promise made by the supervisor, I eventually received another call from another supervisor who explained he failed to callback as he was tied up with another complaint (A complaint that appears to have taken 48 hours)
Again, he claimed it wasn't something he couldn't deal with and I again have been promised yet another callback that could happen at anytime over the past week. (I have no confidence it will happen at all).
Had I have known what poor customer service BT had I would have never have left my previous ISP Plusnet.
I have no desire to remain a BT customer, as I feel I have been treated very badly.
Promises have been made that haven't been kept, money taken out of my account that shouldn't have been and I have had to constantly endure terrible customer service in an attempt to resolve the problems created by BT

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Sep, 2017    By: pav62
I signed up for BT Infinity around the rush to get it up and running before the Olympics in 2012.

Since then, I have never experienced the true superfast connection due to a number of things. The cab is over 500m from me and there is a lot of aluminium cabling.

I am not sure I will ever be able to get FTTP, FTTrN, G.Fast or stuff like that which is being developed and rolled out. It is a shame that even in the centre of town, one can still be in a similar situation to someone in the countryside and be in a "not spot" for connection to the internet.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 27th Jul, 2017    By: Dancp083
Title: Ok
Not really had any problems except for a faulty hub which was replaced.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 27th Apr, 2017    By: notloyal
The good:

-The infrastructure and core internet network is actually pretty good, and they fix backhaul capacity issues far quicker than, for example, Virgin Media. If you have a very simple fault (eg cut copper pair) their 24/7 automated fault reporting phone service is surprisingly good.

-Speeds are rock-solid stable (and at the maximum 80/20 cap for me) and pings only around 10ms to London, again totally rock-solid. Just a shame they decide to artificially cap speeds (especially upload), there should be a package with totally uncapped speeds IMO

-The Smart Hub (HH6) has excellent WiFi range for a mainstream-ISP-provided modem/router. I'm a little miffed they wanted £120 for it as I recontracted just before it became available.

The bad:

-Their call centres are useless, like everyone knows. It's not even that they're rude or overseas, they've mostly fixed those problems now. They're just incompetent. Ask their automated menu system to get a new service or upgrade an existing one - i.e. PAY THEM MORE - and you get passed through around 5 or 6 departments before getting through to the right one. Of course, no-one knows what you've just said so you have to explain yourself again every time.

-The fault fixing department is very much script-based. No room for "I'm an advanced user, I know what the problem is, just fix it"

-Unless you're in the first year and you've got a good deal with introductory discounts, prepaid card and cashback, they're extortionately expensive. I'm aware that Ofcom mandates high price minimums, but you're not really getting value for money. There's also no excuse for call costs rising 3 times every 2 years, and certainly not for increases as steep as have happened, considering wholesale costs have plummeted. Ofcom certainly hasn't mandated that. Broadband increases are high, but I can understand a little more, as they sell mostly "unlimited" data and people use more data each year, but it's clear that most of the increases like line rental are simply funding cheap sport for football/rugby fans.

Conclusion:

If you're stuck on a Market A exchange with only 20CN, you don't have much choice if you need hundreds of gigabytes or more for a palatable price. If you're not in that situation, it makes little sense unless you have specific reasons for being with them, eg you're a football/rugby fan (BT Sport is cheap for what you get), or you have to have it because of compatibility or you have a stubborn relative etc. who insists on BT.

If you're with them, haggle all the way once you're outside the minimum term or when there's a price rise.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 13th Apr, 2017    By: Stevie1978
Title: Hate bt
Rubbish

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 15th Mar, 2017    By: trickydickie
4mbs ADSL only

£25k required to upgrade to FTTC

Surrounded by FTTC and FTTP but stuck in no mans land!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £20.00 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Direct Save Telecom £22.95 (*29.95)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Origin Broadband £23.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £23.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • SSE £23.00 (*33.00)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2486)
  2. FTTP (2138)
  3. FTTC (1645)
  4. Building Digital UK (1589)
  5. Openreach (1400)
  6. Politics (1397)
  7. Business (1222)
  8. Statistics (1087)
  9. FTTH (1041)
  10. Mobile Broadband (1019)
  11. Fibre Optic (963)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (907)
  13. Wireless Internet (894)
  14. 4G (882)
  15. Virgin Media (850)
  16. Sky Broadband (591)
  17. EE (582)
  18. TalkTalk (571)
  19. Vodafone (506)
  20. Security (408)
BT - Broadband Fixed Line Rated 2.013888888888889 / 5 based on 144 reviews. 0. | Review Me
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules