Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

BT Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
140 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 26th Jan, 2019    By: Barzey
I installed the Complete Wi-Fi System with their latest Smart Hub 2 with Disk 4 days ago now having been with them for 7 years and found it to usually be reliable using their Hubs 3, 5 and 6 over that period. I am on 'Infinity 2' and usually get 70/72 meg speeds. BT contacted me last week and stated that if I went over to this Complete Wi-Fi system then it will instantly push my speeds up to 80 meg and the deal would be around £3 LESS per month everything else exactly the same.
I was always able to get Wi-Fi in every room as we are in a Bungalow so their claim that "You will get Wi-Fi in EVERY room" is immaterial to me, but in all fairness to them yes you can but it seems that it must come as a cost of the Download speed.
All I can recommend to everyone is do NOT bother with it. In fact avoid it like the plague as my speeds have now crashed to 56/64 max. BT whom always used to make sure I had the 70/72 if there were problems in the past now say that as I am getting over 54meg then there is nothing they will do!!
This leaves me with no alternative than to consider Virgin which is now in the area. So I must reluctantly leave BT however requested that I give it 10 days to see if there is a chance at least get back to the 70/72 speed but hopefully 80 as promised to me on point of sale; or very reluctantly it will have to be goodbye B.T.


Time With Provider: 7 Years
Package Name: Complete Wi-Fi
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 30th Dec, 2018    By: wantedbanter
Been with them for more than 3 years now and have never reached the guaranteed download speed over wifi. Even with an ethernet cable running straight out of the BT SmartHub I still only get about 42mbps when I was guaranteed 67mbps.

I am paying a terrible price for terrible speeds through a terrrible company.



Time With Provider: 3 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 25th Dec, 2018    By: turbulance
After 2 years of using BT, I have had no issue with the connection it's self, until I came to cancel, where BT lied saying they had canceled my services and payments but continued to take money, it took another 4 phone calls to stop them taking money and they agreed to repay the money owed.

However they then backed out of that saying that my service was still active and I should of contacted them soon, even though I had canceled. Would highly recommend avoiding as they are not below lieing to your face and changing their mind, backing out of agreements that needed to be made because they decided to lie in the first place.

Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 08th Aug, 2018    By: lukewd
I have FTTP from BT. As much as BT's customer service is poor, their product pricing is actually pretty reasonable.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 14th May, 2018    By: IcedKiwi
Been with BT FTTC for the past ~5 years. Don't have a reason to complain about the actual service provided. Always had the full 80/20 - but the cabinet is right outside my house so I'd hope that would be the case.
Had issues with the HomeHub wifi performance but since moving to a 3rd party router it's been great.
Just finishing a fixed 2 year contract (through retentions) and now moving to Pulse8.
Main issue was with the new price, customer service and dubious practises with "extras" they provided for free for 12 months then start charging you for (I don't regularly check my bills).
Hopefully moving to Pulse8 who have simple contract, no initial term special prices, no unwanted extras that I'm paying for (cloud storage, bundled router etc.) and hopefully better CS.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 09th Mar, 2018    By: michaelvladeanu
Title: BT
have BT infinity 2 and im disappointed speeds differ everyday and latency and jitter are too high for gaming customer service is also woeful

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 06th Mar, 2018    By: Alex_UK
I used to have FTTP on my previous property, then moved into an area with FTTC, to avoid the cancellation penalties I got a new contract for FTTC at the new location which has been a nightmare for the last 8 months since I moved in.

The line keeps dropping sync, but BT insists everything is fine. We got new router sent over, Openreach visited the premises and many phone calls having to nearly shout at people to understand the problem is still present.

Anyway, we are in a contract, we can;t move away and BT doesn't let us go to another provider even though they provide a crap service.

BT customer service in india is horrible, you can barely make up what they say and they don't give a damn. Their way of retaining customer is via a contract and pretending your line works when it actually doesn't

Avoid at any cost!


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 03rd Mar, 2018    By: RJMorrison
In December 2017 I moved from SKY to BT, just to get BT Sport to watch the Ashes from Aus. What a stupid thing to do. SKY were delivering 10.5mbps but BT started off delivering 6.5mbps which in the last couple of weeks has gone down to 3.5mbps. When I complained BT said they were within the contracted speeds, ie. 1-7mbps. They just weren't interested.
My advice to anyone thinking of moving to BT is DON'T, YOU WILL REGRET IT!!!!!
I am just waiting until the end of my 12 month contract to move back to SKY.


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 16th Feb, 2018    By: adymac
I had 2 lines with BT both supposedly giving the same service. One connected at ADSL1 speeds (8Mb) and the other at ADSL2+ (12Mb). When I called to ask them to sort the slower line out I was passed between multiple departments who simply didn't understand the problem. The ignorance of the BT staff I spoke to was staggering. They refused to involve OpenReach because I was getting the minimum speed they were contracted to provide.
I cancelled both lines - moved to AAISP and both lines now sync at just under 18Mb. ON THE SAME PHYSICAL COPPER PAIRS!!!
I feel sorry for so many regular consumers who may not understand some of the ADSL technology and terminology and aren't aware that they are likely getting a poor service because they can't get past BT retail.


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 26th Dec, 2017    By: nnneilboss
Several years of faultless BT Infinity 2. But never realised how lucky I was to live only 50 yards from the green cabinet. Have just moved house and getting fast broadband is proving a headache. I am paying for Infinity 2 and getting 5 - 10 MBps - BT says I should give it 10 days, but I cannot see how that will make a difference.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £18.00 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 30Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Code: SPRING19
  • Vodafone £21.00 (*23.00)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • TalkTalk £22.50
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Direct Save Telecom £22.95 (*29.95)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • SSE £23.00 (*33.00)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2366)
  2. FTTP (1917)
  3. FTTC (1566)
  4. Broadband Delivery UK (1529)
  5. Politics (1305)
  6. Openreach (1303)
  7. Business (1151)
  8. Statistics (1017)
  9. Mobile Broadband (942)
  10. FTTH (925)
  11. Fibre Optic (924)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (857)
  13. Wireless Internet (851)
  14. 4G (822)
  15. Virgin Media (788)
  16. Sky Broadband (565)
  17. TalkTalk (545)
  18. EE (538)
  19. Vodafone (452)
  20. Security (387)
BT - Broadband Fixed Line Rated 2.0285714285714285 / 5 based on 140 reviews. | Review Me
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules