Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

BT Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
149 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 10th Jul, 2020    By: mistermuttley
Have had several Internet providers. Talktalk useless ,smaller companies not too bad. BT are the only company I have used twice. First time initial speeds seemed good but as the contract carried on it just seemed to get slower and slower with others in the house also noticing this. Switched to Sky and for the contract the speed always seemed decent, 18 months. After Sky would not give me a deal which they were offering to new customers and expected me to pay silly prices for their service, I went back to BT. Exactly the same as before initial speeds were good , but over time it just got slower and slower. So going back now to Sky. If they keep the speeds the same through the contract I may just stay with them this time. Are BT manipulating the speeds for their customers? I don't know but having had 2 contracts with them now, it certainly looks like it.

Time With Provider: 18 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th May, 2020    By: Wilf
I have three properties with BT fttp installed. Then install process at 2 of them was very smooth, the other less so. The property which had large delays, due to openreach, was given a free adsl line for the 3 month delay, and bt compensated £5 per day during the delay, so they coped with it well.

I have frequently changed add ons on the plan, tv and phone, very easily. I believe all BT call centres are back in the UK, and I have found them very helpful, if a little slow on some occasions.

Speed is good on fttp very little fluctuation, but still in early uptake days, will keep updated if that changes as more people take and lines become more congested.

I use BT smart hub 2 at 2 properties, both perform very well - good coverage up to modern 5 bed.

Overall I am pleased with fttp performance.

Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name: Ultrafast 1/2
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 09th Mar, 2020    By: BloodyTerrible
After 6 years of reliable service, I’ve now lost faith in BT.

I was informed by Openreach in November 2019 that FTTP infrastructure was in place in my area (Salisbury) and that packages would be available within a week or two.

These did not actually become available until February 2020. I signed up immediately with BT for ultrafast fibre 250. The BT engineer didn’t turn up on the appointed day and I received no contact from BT. When I chased them they said that due to system issues they had to cancel and rebook the order. I’m now on my third cancellation by BT with no idea when they’ll be able to deliver the service, despite the infrastructure being in place.

Time With Provider: 6 Years
Package Name: Ultrafast Fibre 250
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 23rd Feb, 2020    By: Daytona
£40.49pm for ADSL2+ 15Mbps, 15Gb cap
£9pm for free UK calls (Anytime)

Their equipment at the exchange or cabinet was faulty about once a year and each time they'd try to intimidate me by saying they believed the fault was on my (newish) property and I'd be liable for the £125 engineers bill.

The free WiFi has degenerated badly over the years, completely failing to connect for hours every couple of days where there's a strong signal and it normally works well.

All the other features they bundle in are worthless to me - email, storage, Web Protect, BT Virus Protect and BT Parental Controls


Time With Provider: 4 Years
Package Name: ADSL2+, free calls
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 04th Nov, 2019    By: Duane
For many years I had to manage with ADSL limping along at 1.8Mbps with several drop-outs per day. Three months ago fttp finally became available and I immediately ordered from BT as their offer was so much better than Zen, who I originally wanted to go with. I looked at BT’s website and factored in TopCashBack as well but then called the fttp number ( tel:0800 587 4787) where they offered an even better deal and for only 12 months rather than 18 months. To save nearly £20 per month I felt it was worth taking a chance. I have been monitoring the line to a remote site and have not had a single interruption in the three months and the the speed has only occasionally dipped by 1Mbps from the usual maximum. I acknowledge I haven’t tested their support because I haven’t needed to but, if I do, then I will call the specialist number. In summary, if you haggle with BT you can get a really good deal and fttp is so reliable you don’t need support!

Time With Provider: 3 Months
Package Name: 76Mbps fttp
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 15th Sep, 2019    By: John W
I signed up with BT through Quidco, getting £120 cashback, plus the BT offers on the fibre broadband service and a prepaid card. Between the three, it makes the service alright value, but I wouldn't (and won't be) using the service at standard pricing.

The service itself has been reliable enough, though it does disconnect without warning during the daytime when they decide they need to do maintenance on the cabinet outside - (I can see it from my window.) Thankfully, it's only been three times in the year I've been with them, but it's extremely frustrating to have maintenance performed during the day without being told about it.

They did also upgrade my service from the 40/10 package I'd ordered to the 55/10 service at no extra cost to me, so I can't complain there at all.

Time With Provider: 13 Months
Package Name: Superfast Fibre Unlimited
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 22nd Aug, 2019    By: BT sucks
Title: Avoid BT
Avoid avoid avoid

BT sold me BT TV which was cheaper than the app. Did not inform me of a discount period, then increased the price without my knowledge or consent. Contacted bt who said they emailed me (Was sitting in spam) said I was in contract and nothing could be done.



HOW DOES BAD TELECOM EXPECT TO KEEP ME AS A CUSTOMER WHEN THEY HAVE ROBBED ME.



Honestly stay away. AVOID THE VERY POOR CUSTOMER SERVICE AND EXPENSIVE PRICE STRUCTURES.



Not a wonder their customer churn rate is so high.

Time With Provider: 6 Months
Package Name: Shyster churn rate high
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 30th May, 2019    By: anglia
Title: Appalling
In the past month, I have spoken to BT (presumably India) once using Live Chat and the other on the phone,
I asked them the date my contract ended and what financial penalties I would receive if I left early.
In the case of Live Chat, I was told I was taking up too much of their time and they pulled the plug on me
Same again on the phone, soon as I said I wanted to leave they lost interest in the conversation and hung up.
Shocking attitude.


Time With Provider: 8 Years
Package Name: Basic
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 29th May, 2019    By: bennedup0
Persistently hung-up on, argued with, promised call-backs... Utterly horrible company to deal with.
Off-shore call centers do not care at all.

Speed was decent generally, but if you need to contact customer service, it's just easier to leave.


Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 26th Jan, 2019    By: Barzey
I installed the Complete Wi-Fi System with their latest Smart Hub 2 with Disk 4 days ago now having been with them for 7 years and found it to usually be reliable using their Hubs 3, 5 and 6 over that period. I am on 'Infinity 2' and usually get 70/72 meg speeds. BT contacted me last week and stated that if I went over to this Complete Wi-Fi system then it will instantly push my speeds up to 80 meg and the deal would be around £3 LESS per month everything else exactly the same.
I was always able to get Wi-Fi in every room as we are in a Bungalow so their claim that "You will get Wi-Fi in EVERY room" is immaterial to me, but in all fairness to them yes you can but it seems that it must come as a cost of the Download speed.
All I can recommend to everyone is do NOT bother with it. In fact avoid it like the plague as my speeds have now crashed to 56/64 max. BT whom always used to make sure I had the 70/72 if there were problems in the past now say that as I am getting over 54meg then there is nothing they will do!!
This leaves me with no alternative than to consider Virgin which is now in the area. So I must reluctantly leave BT however requested that I give it 10 days to see if there is a chance at least get back to the 70/72 speed but hopefully 80 as promised to me on point of sale; or very reluctantly it will have to be goodbye B.T.


Time With Provider: 7 Years
Package Name: Complete Wi-Fi
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £22.00
    Avg. Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Onestream £22.49 (*29.99)
    Avg. Speed 45Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • xln telecom £22.74 (*47.94)
    Avg. Speed 66Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Plusnet £22.99 (*35.98)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £50 Reward Card
  • Vodafone £23.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2768)
  2. FTTP (2746)
  3. FTTC (1783)
  4. Building Digital UK (1740)
  5. Politics (1662)
  6. Openreach (1619)
  7. Business (1429)
  8. FTTH (1340)
  9. Statistics (1240)
  10. Mobile Broadband (1221)
  11. Fibre Optic (1062)
  12. 4G (1052)
  13. Wireless Internet (1020)
  14. Ofcom Regulation (1014)
  15. Virgin Media (1004)
  16. EE (696)
  17. Sky Broadband (668)
  18. Vodafone (666)
  19. TalkTalk (661)
  20. 5G (514)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules