Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

BT Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
161 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 08th Jun, 2022    By: Leonmc
I’ve been trying to get fibre installed to my home but Openreach have been delaying it over and over because of a power cable that was resting on their fibre. The issue was raised by their engineer to my power company SSE

They’ve been waiting to hear back directly from SSE about this, but after speaking with them they’ve told me they don’t have any contact with Openreach. I got an SSE engineer to fix the cable same day, and told Openreach about this but they still won’t come and fit the fibre cables.

I’ve given them the job number from SSE that says it’s all fixed but apparently they have a different job number?

Im now left without internet for a month, and in an EE dead spot so can’t even use my mobile data.

Seems to be a very terribly run company, that just toy with their customers

Time With Provider: 1 Months
Package Name: Pure Fibre
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 26th Mar, 2022    By: andys1
Coming back to BT after years away, due to previously poor/infuriating CS, I have been surprised to find re-instated U.K. call centres are back and the staff seem to be helpful with a high degree of autonomy, albeit dealing with a slow IT system I think. I found myself in a painful wait for openreach to confirm FTTP date for new home, called up, and was sorted out with a temporary FTTC with an earlier date, waived cancellation fees upon eventual FTTP activation, and discount to boot. Told she’d keep a personal eye on it and call me back on certain date, imagine my shock when they actually did! Major CS improvements since last time, hope it lasts.

Time With Provider: 3 Weeks
Package Name: Fibre 100
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 01st Mar, 2022    By: aaronrumney1
Title: speedy
being with BT now for 4 years never had an issue on ADSL or FTTP the best thing of being with them is the ease to use my own Router

Time With Provider: 4 Years
Package Name: BT 900
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 25th Jan, 2022    By: E_J66
Tried BT Business again hoping they'd improved. What an error of judgement. Swerve them if you're considering it.

Easy to get through to business sales. Spoke to a pleasant lady. Order submitted and requests noted; two of which were 1) we don't need a router 2) we don't need phones. Agreed these wouldn't be sent and the postage charges voided.

When the confirmation emails arrived the whole order was clearly not what we'd discussed. I tried calling back sales, but they couldn't help as it was an existing order. After spending more than 3hrs trying to correct the billing and service addresses I lost all confidence and decided to cancel. BT had no idea what they were talking about, it was extremely poor. Their systems are far too complex.

I couldn't cancel via normal channels so raised a complaint. Everything was another teams responsibility, I had to speak with them. The complaints handler persistently wanted to close the complaint before anything had been resolved. I eventually ended up with three complaints, although this was not my intention and only confused things further.

A day later and account closure confirmed. BT sill tried to bill me. Had to raise another complaint to get this resolved. They still sent phones (to the wrong address) and demanded them back ASAP at our cost. They really dragged things out.

In conclusion, they are no better. Use another ISP.

Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 24th Sep, 2021    By: handsomeinked
When FTTP/H became available in my area I took a risk and went with BT as they were the only service provider offering 1Gbps. I had hoped that as a business they may have improved, alas I was sorely disappointed: Their router is not fit for a Gigabit (900Mbps as BT call it) service, it's the same hub used for VDSL so you instantly lose an ethernet port. As for the customer service, the people clearly try but there still seems to be the attitude that "We're the incumbent we can do as we please, if you don't like it go elsewhere (once you're no longer locked in).. Avoid at ALL costs. As for the speed, I'm lucky if I get over 700Mbps but as that's above their speed guarantee they don't seem to care! Honestly if I could give them zero I would.
*Update* Following a lot of testing of different config, I have found that with BT's hub connected to the ONT, the wifi off and my router in Access Point mode I hit an average of 800Mbps however when I'm using my router to establish the connection I am lucky to get more than 500Mbps. All the same cables are used in both setups only with the addition of another CAT6a cable from the ONT to the BT Hub. Quite honestly I am beyond furious and will go back to Virgin Media (yes I can't believe I'm saying that) as soon as the contract is over.

Time With Provider: 6 Months
Package Name: FTTP 900Mbps
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 23rd Aug, 2021    By: SLY1961
Update on the below- Openreach cable eng with a level of perseverance found the fault to be a cable that he said was lead and decades-old. in addition, the line was joined Heath Robinson style by the window fitters. Once new copper restored stability. BT need to learn from this and give the chap a pay rise and identify these infrastructure issues earlier. Got a refund and halved the £50 charge


In short, I am a long term customer paying £50 per month and getting constant line drops on an FTTC service. BT seem content to close the case after their eng and Openreach find no fault. I have a new Openreach master socket and a Draytek 2862 CPE and I know the problem is either at the Exchange or the cabinet or the copper line to the house. I have discovered that BT is not LLU at the exchange and VF, SKY and Talk Talk are LLU. A friend advises this may make a difference as BT are piggybacking on the other LLU ISP kit. I am moving to another ISP as the speeds have now dropped to under 50% of the BT guarantee the worst thing is not having a reliable, consistent and predictable service. My advice is don't use them unless you really have zero choices. Also check out on SamKnows where your exchange and cabinet is located and which ISP has LLU, as this may make a difference.

Time With Provider: 15 Years
Package Name: Fibre with BT Halo 1
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 17th Jul, 2021    By: pcoventry
Migrated to BT Internet. Smarthub 2 arrived the day before and the connection started off good with IPv6 and really good wifi signal. I am happy so far with my connection. Also got unlimited calls thrown in too. Not use support yet - not had to The Wifi is good when out and about

Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name: Home Essentials
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 15th Jun, 2021    By: MU
BT's service is appalling to the point of being fraudulent. I have had 9 visits by incompetent workmen who in most cases could not complete the work they came to do. I have also had 2 appointments cancelled without any notification. It's now 4 months since I started the contract and I still do not have the full service I paid for. Customer service is unhelpful and do not care if your installation is working but are only concerned with your payments. I have been lied to about the cost of the service and given incorrect information about future increases. I believe they are knowingly defrauding elderly users such as myself and will be reporting BT to Ofcom.

Time With Provider: 4 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 03rd May, 2021    By: TheProfessor
Good all round

I want my broadband to come close to 100% reliable

To achieve this you need a backup from another network

With BT Hybrid connect I have got a 4G Backup

I did send a message last year saying I was looking for it and here it is

Time With Provider: 13 Years
Package Name: BT Broadband Hybrid connect
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 31st Mar, 2021    By: jameshart012
Title: BT FTTP
After having this package for a year I’d like to share my experience of it.
BT offered me an upgrade from their 150Mb package at 44.99 to this 910Mb package at 54.99, an absolute bargain in my eyes.
Speed is exceptional and the support (the one time I needed it) was great. This is the cheapest “1Gbps” service in my area.
Even through the worlds events of the last year, this service has performed exceptionally well, handling 10’s of Terabytes of data each month with no downtime.
I’d really recommend if you have FTTP to strongly consider this package. It even includes a next day 4G router if your fixed line service goes offline.

Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name: Full Fibre 900 with Halo 2
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £17.99
    Speed 33Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Shell Energy £19.99
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • NOW £20.00
    Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Virgin Media £20.00
    Speed 54Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £22.00
    Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest Ultrafast ISPs
  • Gigaclear £17.00
    Speed: 200Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Community Fibre £20.00
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £22.00
    Speed: 158Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Virgin Media £24.00
    Speed: 108Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £25.00
    Speed: 100Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (4113)
  2. BT (3151)
  3. Politics (2117)
  4. Building Digital UK (2026)
  5. Openreach (1969)
  6. FTTC (1922)
  7. Business (1832)
  8. Mobile Broadband (1605)
  9. Statistics (1510)
  10. 4G (1378)
  11. FTTH (1371)
  12. Virgin Media (1277)
  13. Ofcom Regulation (1241)
  14. Wireless Internet (1233)
  15. Fibre Optic (1233)
  16. Vodafone (926)
  17. EE (905)
  18. 5G (898)
  19. TalkTalk (821)
  20. Sky Broadband (787)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules