Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

BT Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
154 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 03rd May, 2021    By: TheProfessor
Good all round

I want my broadband to come close to 100% reliable

To achieve this you need a backup from another network

With BT Hybrid connect I have got a 4G Backup

I did send a message last year saying I was looking for it and here it is

Time With Provider: 13 Years
Package Name: BT Broadband Hybrid connect
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 31st Mar, 2021    By: jameshart012
Title: BT FTTP
After having this package for a year I’d like to share my experience of it.
BT offered me an upgrade from their 150Mb package at 44.99 to this 910Mb package at 54.99, an absolute bargain in my eyes.
Speed is exceptional and the support (the one time I needed it) was great. This is the cheapest “1Gbps” service in my area.
Even through the worlds events of the last year, this service has performed exceptionally well, handling 10’s of Terabytes of data each month with no downtime.
I’d really recommend if you have FTTP to strongly consider this package. It even includes a next day 4G router if your fixed line service goes offline.

Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name: Full Fibre 900 with Halo 2
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 23rd Feb, 2021    By: SLY1961
In short, I am a long term customer paying £50 per month and getting constant line drops on an FTTC service. BT seem content to close the case after their eng and Openreach find no fault. I have a new Openreach master socket and a Draytek 2862 CPE and I know the problem is either at the Exchange or the cabinet or the copper line to the house. I have discovered that BT is not LLU at the exchange and VF, SKY and Talk Talk are LLU. A friend advises this may make a difference as BT are piggybacking on the other LLU ISP kit. I am moving to another ISP as the speeds have now dropped to under 50% of the BT guarantee the worst thing is not having a reliable, consistent and predictable service. My advice is don't use them unless you really have zero choices. Also check out on SamKnows where your exchange and cabinet is located and which ISP has LLU, as this may make a difference. Goodbye BT thanks for not going the extra mile with the RCA and fix and going above and beyond standard service.

Time With Provider: 5 Weeks
Package Name: Fibre with BT Halo 1
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 23rd Jan, 2021    By: Tomhumph97
I have had several Internet providers. Three 4G wireless broadband and Sky over a copper line. I chosen BT our home got upgraded to full fibre BT Fibre 900 at the end of 2020. Wow speeds are fantastic but on it just seemed that I needed another Wi-fi 6 router ASUS AX88U to Max the speed over wireless as the current BT SH2 was not capable to reach 900 mbps download speed wirelessly. I had the complete Wi-fi package but unfortunately I didn’t realise that it would not work with third party router so it now collecting dust in the cupboard- but third party router ASUS AX88U signal range capable of reaching around the house better the BT SH 2 even with Complete Wi-fi.

Value Contract is lengthy 24 months it’s very pricey at £65 month , Cityfibre seem to be a lot cheaper but that was not available for the property. but you get what you pay for to be honest a lot faster than our previous unstable Three UK4G home broadband.
It a shame that I had to purchase a separate Router as BT could not provide a dedicated Wi-fi 6 router to provide that are on the 900 Package the speed I bet probably they will release one with Wi-fi 6 before end of the year to make up for it.

Excellent support service from BT but takes a long wait to be able to speak to an advisor.


Time With Provider: 2 Months
Package Name: Fibre 900
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 05th Oct, 2020    By: Weather_Jude
Had since 2018 over 2 addresses. First one had a faulty line which they replaced for free. Then it worked well but was far from cabinet so couldn't go over 40mbps. Moved to new house in March and the connection here is amazing. Consistent 65mbps down and 19mbps up. It drops to like 62mbps at peak times but you don't even notice unless you do a speed test. Ping is extremely low which means it's great for gamers. Even using 5ghz WiFi there is no lags or jitter. The smart hub 2 covers my house with strong signal everywhere and the WiFi disc supplied covers the large garden completely and that came in very handy during the summer. Overall I will be sticking with bt and have had nothing but good experiences and miles better than the "200mbps" connection I had with virgin 3 years ago. 10/10 great isp aslong as the area is good.

Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name: Bt fibre 2 (up to 76mbps)
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 10th Jul, 2020    By: mistermuttley
Have had several Internet providers. Talktalk useless ,smaller companies not too bad. BT are the only company I have used twice. First time initial speeds seemed good but as the contract carried on it just seemed to get slower and slower with others in the house also noticing this. Switched to Sky and for the contract the speed always seemed decent, 18 months. After Sky would not give me a deal which they were offering to new customers and expected me to pay silly prices for their service, I went back to BT. Exactly the same as before initial speeds were good , but over time it just got slower and slower. So going back now to Sky. If they keep the speeds the same through the contract I may just stay with them this time. Are BT manipulating the speeds for their customers? I don't know but having had 2 contracts with them now, it certainly looks like it.

Time With Provider: 18 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th May, 2020    By: Wilf
I have three properties with BT fttp installed. Then install process at 2 of them was very smooth, the other less so. The property which had large delays, due to openreach, was given a free adsl line for the 3 month delay, and bt compensated £5 per day during the delay, so they coped with it well.

I have frequently changed add ons on the plan, tv and phone, very easily. I believe all BT call centres are back in the UK, and I have found them very helpful, if a little slow on some occasions.

Speed is good on fttp very little fluctuation, but still in early uptake days, will keep updated if that changes as more people take and lines become more congested.

I use BT smart hub 2 at 2 properties, both perform very well - good coverage up to modern 5 bed.

Overall I am pleased with fttp performance.

Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name: Ultrafast 1/2
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 09th Mar, 2020    By: BloodyTerrible
After 6 years of reliable service, I’ve now lost faith in BT.

I was informed by Openreach in November 2019 that FTTP infrastructure was in place in my area (Salisbury) and that packages would be available within a week or two.

These did not actually become available until February 2020. I signed up immediately with BT for ultrafast fibre 250. The BT engineer didn’t turn up on the appointed day and I received no contact from BT. When I chased them they said that due to system issues they had to cancel and rebook the order. I’m now on my third cancellation by BT with no idea when they’ll be able to deliver the service, despite the infrastructure being in place.

Time With Provider: 6 Years
Package Name: Ultrafast Fibre 250
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 23rd Feb, 2020    By: Daytona
£40.49pm for ADSL2+ 15Mbps, 15Gb cap
£9pm for free UK calls (Anytime)

Their equipment at the exchange or cabinet was faulty about once a year and each time they'd try to intimidate me by saying they believed the fault was on my (newish) property and I'd be liable for the £125 engineers bill.

The free WiFi has degenerated badly over the years, completely failing to connect for hours every couple of days where there's a strong signal and it normally works well.

All the other features they bundle in are worthless to me - email, storage, Web Protect, BT Virus Protect and BT Parental Controls


Time With Provider: 4 Years
Package Name: ADSL2+, free calls
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 04th Nov, 2019    By: Duane
For many years I had to manage with ADSL limping along at 1.8Mbps with several drop-outs per day. Three months ago fttp finally became available and I immediately ordered from BT as their offer was so much better than Zen, who I originally wanted to go with. I looked at BT’s website and factored in TopCashBack as well but then called the fttp number ( tel:0800 587 4787) where they offered an even better deal and for only 12 months rather than 18 months. To save nearly £20 per month I felt it was worth taking a chance. I have been monitoring the line to a remote site and have not had a single interruption in the three months and the the speed has only occasionally dipped by 1Mbps from the usual maximum. I acknowledge I haven’t tested their support because I haven’t needed to but, if I do, then I will call the specialist number. In summary, if you haggle with BT you can get a really good deal and fttp is so reliable you don’t need support!

Time With Provider: 3 Months
Package Name: 76Mbps fttp
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • TalkTalk £22.00 (*29.95)
    Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £22.00 (*25.00)
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £22.00
    Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: HYPERSPRING
  • Shell Energy £22.99 (*30.99)
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: 12 Months of Norton 360
  • Plusnet £22.99 (*36.52)
    Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £50 Reward Card
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest Ultrafast ISPs
  • Gigaclear £24.00 (*44.00)
    Speed: 100Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Offer Code: SPRUCE20
  • Vodafone £26.00 (*29.00)
    Speed: 100Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Virgin Media £28.00 (*44.00)
    Speed: 108Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £29.00 (*35.00)
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: HYPERSPRING
  • TalkTalk £29.95 (*39.95)
    Speed: 145Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (3225)
  2. BT (2930)
  3. Building Digital UK (1855)
  4. FTTC (1853)
  5. Politics (1838)
  6. Openreach (1753)
  7. Business (1596)
  8. Mobile Broadband (1379)
  9. FTTH (1359)
  10. Statistics (1354)
  11. 4G (1188)
  12. Fibre Optic (1131)
  13. Wireless Internet (1111)
  14. Virgin Media (1103)
  15. Ofcom Regulation (1101)
  16. EE (789)
  17. Vodafone (781)
  18. TalkTalk (737)
  19. Sky Broadband (715)
  20. 5G (674)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules