Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Freeola Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
8 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 04th Jan, 2016    By: andylaaauk
When we first signed up, I was pleased with our connection, ran a speed test and we were syncing at 16Mbps, however this was short lived as when we started to actually use the connection we suffered frequent disconnections and the sync speeds were heading through the floor. The problem was traced to a problem connection in one of BT's cabinets, up to this point freeola support couldn't really be faulted. After this was sorted speeds appeared to go back up, but alas, this was also short lived, again when the connection was used to capacity, again disconnects, I have explained the situation and tech support said they would make some changes to the connection to alleviate the problems, however since they have made the changes, pings are laughable and sync speeds again have fallen, to where they are at the moment 6Mbps, our property is within easily within 1.5km, therefore this speed is unacceptable. Freeola, after replying once to say this is possibly the fastest speed we can expect, seem to have taken to not replying, let alone trying to sort the situation out.

All I can say at this point is for years I enjoyed a rock solid braodband service from UKFSN that is an Entanet reseller as is Freeola, Freeola just seem to be incompetent in every sense of the word.

The service so far from them, seems to be an illustration of why the UK is so far behind when it comes to Broadband.

I will be requesting my MAC and migrating from these clowns as soon as possible.

as of 2016 still ongoing issues with poor line speeds now down to 2Mbps, whereas it had been a reasonable but stable 10Mbps for most of 2015, they are still blaming my equipment - they are a total shambles, technically inept (making a few tweaks and hoping for the best), now they want me to take up the matter with BT. IT IS FREEOLA I PAY FOR MY BROADBAND SO WHY SHOULDN'T THEY BE ABLE TO SORT IT OUT. Really if your thinking of changing ISP's, for the love of god, avoid this one like the plague.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 09th Jun, 2015    By: anoneemouse
Been with Freeola a few years. Very few problems.
When something has happened with the connection that needs a fault raising with BT they are always prompt to answer the phone (UK based) and the staff are knowledgeable and friendly.
Excellent free services, such as e-mail and web hosting.
Could be cheaper but you get what you pay for.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 21st Jul, 2012    By: m0aur
Smooth trouble-free migration from a nightmare Plusnet experience.
Good speeds, low pings and superb customer service. Added to un-metered from 7.00 pm and all weekends, free hosting and no contract tie-in, the end result seems to be the perfect high quality ISP

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Jan, 2012    By: keymaster
When I migrated over I had an ongoing issue with my line and had hoped the migration would cure it, it didnt. I called the support guys who were helpful and asked them to please leave it for 48hours and let them try to resolve, after the 48 hours nothing changed, I called back they said NOW reboot your router again and it has been 5- 5.5 meg since. I cannot really find any fault with this provider yet but I stayed away before because the phone line was premium rate and this always will bug me.
great value for money, great limits, great off peak periods and helpful support.
thanks guys
K

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 28th Apr, 2008    By: Rob
When I first signed up to Freeola, they were great. Great speeds, no blocked ports, and I was happy.
Since then, Entanet, part of Freeola, have introduced their own traffic-shaping software that limits my connection to 1Mbit, on a 8Mbit connection, from 10pm to 8am, which (funny enough) is the time you are meant to be able to download.
Freeola deny it, and simply shrug their shoulders and say their software dooesn\'t shape below 2Mbit, which is a complete lie.
They won\'t do anything about it, and even told me on the phone that, if I didn\'t like it then leave.
Nice attitude.
I would advise ANYONE, to simply look elsewhere, as I am myself now looking elsewhere.
A total shambles.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 28th Apr, 2008    By: Rob
I went from adsl4less to Freeola and I am so glad I did!

The support I recieved from their tech guys is second to none, i got a call back every day for a week to make sure all was ok when I had my first and only small problem. It was sorted in minutes!


The only gripe is that i was getting 2mb downloads for the first 3 months and it has now gone down to 1.5mb, although I dont think this is their problem and the price is a little high, but its justifible for the excellent support.

HIGHLY RECCOMENDED

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 28th Apr, 2008    By: Rob
I have been with Freeola for a few years now and have registered 5 domains through their sister site getdotted.com

I can\'t fault their service generally, I had a problem with my broadband connection when BT upgraded my exchange and seriously downgraded my download speed. But I got emails and phone calls from the support guys until it was resolved.

The distance I am from my exchange means I can\'t get better than a 512K connection, even though this is uncapped the ?26.99/month price tag has become just too much to bear.

I\'m leaving them and taking all 5 domains, 2 broadband and one dialup customer with me, just don\'t know where to yet.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 28th Apr, 2008    By: Rob
Migrated from Eclipse on 6th July due to sub 1Mb speeds for a month, which they blamed on BT. My speeds have now shot up to 5.5Mb, and while my line has to re-train, this is more like it.

30Gb a month at peak times, and 300Gb a month off-peak which includes all weekend. Perfect time for big downloads.

My website is hosted with GetDotted and access is fast and reliable, and with all sorts of features at my disposal, there is no need to putchase a hosting account as I\'ve done in the past.

With a 3 month contract at ?14.99, then ?24.99 after that, it\'s more than enough time to find out how good Freeola/Entanet is.

Give them a go.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £19.95 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: HYPER20
  • NOW TV £22.00 (*40.00)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • SSE £22.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • xln telecom £22.74 (*47.94)
    Avg. Speed 66Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £22.95
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2689)
  2. FTTP (2526)
  3. FTTC (1738)
  4. Building Digital UK (1677)
  5. Politics (1571)
  6. Openreach (1537)
  7. Business (1352)
  8. FTTH (1272)
  9. Statistics (1186)
  10. Mobile Broadband (1153)
  11. Fibre Optic (1033)
  12. 4G (996)
  13. Wireless Internet (984)
  14. Ofcom Regulation (983)
  15. Virgin Media (959)
  16. EE (663)
  17. Sky Broadband (648)
  18. TalkTalk (631)
  19. Vodafone (622)
  20. 5G (456)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules