Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Hyperoptic Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
14 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 18th Jun, 2018    By: amarnath
I recently moved apartments and since my last provider EE didn't have fibre option at my new address, i decided to switch. Found out that my new block is hyperoptic enabled. Immediately rang my friend who has been using hyperoptic for last 2 years to know his experience and he not only recommended me for its excellent service but also sent me a referral link which gave both of us £50 statement credit. You can use amarnath21@gmail.com if you want referral. it's quite simple - Orders a 12 month subscription, selects 'I was referred' and submits my email address.

I started from hyperoptics website and it took me less than 5 minutes to complete my request. It was less than a week for me to move to my new apartment and they managed to find a slot for engineer to install my router on my move day so that i would have access to internet as soon as I move which was excellent. Also received all confirmation emails after placing order and on day of installation they kept me updated on the expected time to engineer arrival.

The installation process was very smooth and took less than 45 min and was done very professionally including discreetly surface - mounting the
white cabling to the socket to make it look very smart. Within 5 minutes of the installation, internet was up and running.

I am only on 30 Mbps which costs me only £15 a month as they offered 10% spring discount on top of £50 referral but in my experience so far it's performance is better than 50+ Mbps i have been with Sky, BT and EE in the past. It gives me close to 30 Mbps download speed as promised without any drop-offs.

Another plus point - Hyperoptics installed dual-band ZTE HyperHub router offers 2 wireless frequencies, 2.4 Ghz and 5 Ghz. You will see a separate Wi-Fi network (SSID) for each band when you view available networks on your device.



Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 13th May, 2018    By: Sebastian Lyle
Not Happy & Would NOT Recommend: Ongoing Problems Develop Over Time
(I have to use tether 4G iPhone connection to write this as HyperOptic is again not working)
HyperOptic were installed in our block in Westminster and after HyperOptic initially cancelled the installation, eventually it was installed. All worked fine to begin with but then the problems started to develop.
Interestingly, after many years with Talk Talk on normal copper wire broadband, these problems never happened, and that was with Talk Talk(!).
Firstly, the HyperOptic Internet connection comes in and out, and HyperOptic speeds move up and down. The signal strength on Wifi for a device next to to the router moves in and out.
Then, more problems develop. The Internet goes down for no reason. This has happened a few times now and usually in the morning. The Customer Service team just make excuses, like it is something to do with my iPhone, iPad, Android phone, Windows laptop, Amazon Fire Stick, Echo Dot etc.
Then the speed slows down dramatically, to slower than my old broadband with Talk Talk. Websites don't load up quickly at all.
HyperOptic make ongoing excuses, like it is the Wifi router that they provided (yeah... right!), and it is the 2.5 Mhz or the 5 Mhx Wifi channels impacting one another (then why does your Wifi router offer both?).
I worry why the Internet is so unreliable and slow with HyperOpic. I worry that they utilise the network differently over night and in the morning, redirecting capacity.
I would not not recommend the HyperOptic service. The problems continue and are painful to deal with their Customer Service.
I know this sounds odd but as soon as I can get out of my contract, I will go back to Talk Talk(!).

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 18th Sep, 2016    By: sparkatb
Best ISP I've ever had over the last 17 years.

Edited to say that now after 6 months my 1Gb broadband is still rock solid great.

The only thing that needs improvement is they need to offer a better router with the latest Wifi technology as their current Hyperhub only gives speeds of 80Mb over wifi, which I suppose is fine if you have the 100Mb package.

I've bought an Access Point just to boost my home wifi, now getting up to 500Mb, usually 400-450Mb.

Ethrnet speeds are great at 750-900Mb, and latency times of 3ms to local servers around Birmingham-Manchester, 7ms to London, 14-17ms to west EU servers.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 30th Aug, 2015    By: brj
I now use Hyperhub as a modem, and a NETGEAR router. WIFI speeds are about 200mbps. Pleased with the improvement.


---------
Having read several positive reviews here, I had eagerly ordered the 1GB fibre optic plan this month.

Am quite disappointed with the Installation process & New Customer assistance until now - across service, support & performance.

a) Day of Installation:
Was told would be activated within about 1hr after cabling, on a Friday morning. Wired walls, socket provided, & cabled but no service until 9pm Fri evening. On pursuing, I was told an earliest Monday start - ie all weekend down. Unacceptable, so after much pleading, they activated me Fri 9.30pm

b) Speeds:
For a 1G product, am seeing just 94mb on cable at speedtest.hyperoptic, & pending an engineer visit only next week, having raised the issue a week ago, ie 2 week wait period for a visit.

c) Support:
Well someone does pick up the phone every time, or emails me responses. We politely go through every possible check & test. However nobody has resolved the core issue of failing speeds as yet.

d) Availability:
Engineers are fully booked at least 2-3 weeks ahead. Rather impossible to slot in urgent visits for critical issues that do not have telephone resolution.

My block has had several subscribers over the past year. Am hoping I am able to see near 1G speeds on cable & amend this review.

Until now, Hyperoptic just feels hyped without the 1G optic.

1G still a mirage at my apartment.

Am hoping I am served by Hyperoptic & return to amend this review as soon as if/when I see 1G speeds on cable.

St George Wharf
SW8 London

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 16th Jan, 2015    By: mewhome
Title: Bravo!
Extremely stable network and bandwidth! Super caring and fast responding customer service. All 10! I am recommending this company to all my friends. A legendary company like this deserves to grow big and strong!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 18th Dec, 2013    By: Gallaghl
Just moved into new apartment already wired for Hyperoptic

1) Service was great - easy to sign up, due to some glitch they couldn't activate the account as they would normally, but I got an unsolicited contact from them within 24 hours saying they'd noticed the connection hadn't been activated so could they get some info to resolve issue (which was done promptly)

2) speed - am on the 'basic'' package for now, and faster than I ever had with BT and Sky (iTunes downloads used to be horrendously slow)

3) cost - great deal vs what I paid before, and rolling contract.

4) and no junk installed on PC a la BT...

If you can sign-up for them, do it

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 14th Oct, 2013    By: Joao
This does not need to be a long review as Hyperoptic as been the best internet provider from far in all areas. I went for the 20mb fibre optic service which delivered a constant and stable service. This meant that many times I was doing downloads at 5mb/s which is insane. Also, the instalation and customer service have been excelent and for this reason I am writting my first review regarding any service I ever used.. I do live in the Canada water area where the average internet speed is 5mb which in reality meant that sometimes I could not even access my email! I also make the following words my words: "I would recommend Hyperoptic if it's available in your building, and if it's not... then register your interest, pressure your neighbours into doing the same, tell your management company you want it, show them there's interest in the product". You really can't go wrong with hyperoptic. Regards

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 16th Sep, 2013    By: jpl1953
well our building went live just over two weeks ago and we were connected on the same day. Since oving in over 6 years ago we have been stuck with a maximum speed of about 5Mbps with no hope of any fibre to the cabinet in the near future. After having Fibre to the building installed who wants fibre to the cabinet anyway!

Installation was quick and efficient with the engineer going out of his way to put the faceplate in the best place for us.

So what about the service? we went for the 1Gig as there are 3 of us here on the net all the time and even when we all jump online Im still getting
Download Speed: 580479 kbps (72559.9 KB/sec transfer rate)
Upload Speed: 190200 kbps (23775 KB/sec transfer rate). Latency to the BBC site as others have said is average of 1ms with the speed tester recording an average of 3-5ms. So no complaints here! Its like the internet on steroids :)

We also took the VOIP line and calls are crystal clear and when you take everything on board are cheeper than BT. We had a few teething problems with caller ID but customer service was great and soon had it sorted.

Ours is a big development and the only problem Im having is jealousy from other residents whose blocks haven't gone live yet.

Well done Hyperoptic!!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 06th Nov, 2012    By: amir.din
one word...WOW!

I've been stuck on a 2mbps line for the past 3 years with no hope of fibre optic in my area; until... i got a letter in the post from Hyperoptic offering a whopping 1Gbps internet connection. Being a techy i thought i was going to have a heart attack...

I ordered the 1Gbps service and the installation was done swiftly hassle free. Very simple to setup even for a non techy. The speed is AMAZING i'm getting close to 940mbps without any problems, and its FAST FAST FAST! (Xbox online gaming haven't been the same again :P)

The only bad point is when i leave my house i have to deal with everyone else's slow internet hehe lol

Customer service - i have been with many ISP's in the past Virgin, Sky, BT, O2, the customer service i receive from Hyperoptic is EXCELLENT. Everyone is really helpful on the phone and if any problems occur, then matters are escalated immediately and problems get fixed straight away.

if you want superfast broadband then hyperoptic is the way forward!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 31st Oct, 2012    By: 747flier
Hyperoptic are very good at marketing spin. They get the press coverage, but can they live up to the hype?

Well, yes, mostly. The speeds are good. I'm on the 1Gig package. Nothing really needs these speeds however it is nice to be able to use services like iPlayer and have no buffering.

Latency to the BBC site is on average 1ms, for those techies who are wondering:
Minimum = 1ms, Maximum = 2ms, Average = 1ms

I could do without the VOIP line, and at £12.50 a month you do wonder how they can say you can ditch your BT line, when they make you pay a similar fee a month for VOIP, which if you hardly use it, it seems a lot of money, but it's only effectively £2.50 more to have the line, as you pay more for the broadband if you don't have it. Naked Broadband should be the future, but I assume it's a financial decision.

Hyperoptic is installed mostly in places that can't get Infinity, such as large blocks of flats, so it was 7Mbps max with my current ISP, or this, and I'm glad I did.

With the ratings, not sure what to put for services. Hyperoptic don't really provide any. Not even an SMTP gateway, so this may be an issue for some. I use Google Apps for my outgoing mail.

I would recommend Hyperoptic if it's available in your building, and if it's not, and you can't get Infinity, then register your interest, pressure your neighbours into doing the same, tell your management company you want it, show them there's interest in the product.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £17.00 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 30Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Code: ONLINEDEAL
  • Vodafone £21.00 (*23.00)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • TalkTalk £22.50
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Plusnet £23.99 (*34.98)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • First Utility £24.99 (*31.99)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2243)
  2. FTTP (1677)
  3. FTTC (1483)
  4. Broadband Delivery UK (1467)
  5. Openreach (1196)
  6. Politics (1192)
  7. Business (1066)
  8. Statistics (943)
  9. Fibre Optic (863)
  10. Mobile Broadband (856)
  11. Ofcom Regulation (791)
  12. Wireless Internet (780)
  13. FTTH (770)
  14. 4G (746)
  15. Virgin Media (725)
  16. Sky Broadband (536)
  17. TalkTalk (511)
  18. EE (491)
  19. Vodafone (382)
  20. Security (364)
Hyperoptic - Broadband Fixed Line Rated 4.5 / 5 based on 14 reviews. | Review Me
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules