Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Hyperoptic Reviews

Sponsored Links
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star
26 Reviews
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star
Posted: 15th Mar, 2024    By: nioan
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
The internet speeds are quite satisfactory, and the customer service team is friendly and seems earnest in attempting to solve problems. However, I'd advise against choosing this provider if your internet connection is crucial for your work.

The company's organization leaves much to be desired. When signing up, I received contradictory information from different representatives about their services and the signup process, which was concerning. This lack of consistency had me worried about potential issues with our connection down the line, and unfortunately, my concerns were justified.

Recently, two technicians unexpectedly showed up at my place, performed some work outside, and in the process, my internet connection was lost. When I inquired about the restoration of my service, they mentioned they "hoped" to fix it but left without resolving the issue.

To make matters worse, upon contacting the company for assistance, I discovered they had no record of any work being scheduled at my location. This situation suggests a disconcerting level of disorganization, where contractors can interfere with the infrastructure without the company's knowledge.

After spending an hour trying to reach their support line without success, my frustration only grew. The just do not have their act toghether.

Time With Provider: 26 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 21st Dec, 2023    By: Danny
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Oversold service has extreme latency and slow downs during peak times. Hyperoptic support literally takes months to respond.

I was faced with 20% packet loss during peak times with my download speeds as low as 2 Mbps on a 1 Gbps package!

Absolutely unbelievable with Hyperoptic blaming my equipment when my internal LAN speed test shows my hardware is fully capable of 1Gbps up and down (actually got a new router after leaving them and I'm getting 2.5 Gbps up and down over my LAN).

Hyperoptic will blatnantly lie to you with months to respond. Do yourself a favour and immediately raise a formal complaint and get out of the contract ASAP. I was naïve thinking they'd actually try to fix it but after two engineer visits they didn't do anything.

Issues are easily verified to be outside the house with tests directly from the ONT facing the exact same issues (bypassing the router).

They also use CGNAT forcing you to pay £5 extra PER month for a static IP if you want to port forward for any hosted services.

I will NEVER ever go back with Hyperoptic and am now with an Openreach provider getting 15-20ms ping lower on League of Legends with 0 packet loss.

Avoid Hyperoptic at ALL costs. If you're with them, get out ASAP.

Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name: 1 Gbps
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 30th May, 2023    By: vasileva13
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
I have had an awful experience with them. When I reached out to them after the contract ended to downgrade as I DID NOT NEED that level of internet, they argued with me that for the same price, I can have faster internet and that it was a better deal. I was not told that this was another fixed-term contract. However, after I agreed to it they sent me the T&C so that I could not get out of the contract. Now when I am moving home and they are not available at the new location - they are forcing me to pay the remainder of that contract up-front. Although they are the ones that have determined it's not financially viable to provide internet at that location. Absolutely appalling behavior towards the loyal continuous customer... especially during the cost of living crisis. I would not be recommending them to anyone I know.

Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 25th May, 2023    By: StevenM
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
I've been with Hyperoptic for about 4 and a half years and until now, they've been fairly decent with minimal outages and resolved within a reasonable timeframe. Though I believe that what really shows a service's worth is how they act when there is a reasonable impact and Hyperoptic have been incredibly bad in that sense.

On the morning of May 20th our internet was completely out. This came at a terrible time for me as I'm in the middle of an important work-related certification online bootcamp. Hyperoptic is saying that they can't send an engineer until May 31st. That's a 12 day outage.

Furthermore, there seems to be a pattern where after an engineer visit, a new outage occurs elsewhere in the building. I reported this to Hyperoptic, but they seem to insist that it's a "isolated incident". It's clearly not isolated as I've confirmed there are other residents with the same issues in the same building that utilize the same patching switch.

Since, I've heard from another resident that there was an engineer on site yesterday to resolve an issue of their neighbour with what sounds like the same issue. Seems like they have a poor scheduling processes in place.

I believe the true measure of a company is how they handle problems, and so far, Hyperoptic hasn't been good.

Time With Provider: 4 Years
Package Name: 1GB
Value
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 29th Apr, 2021    By: anyotherbiznz
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
We bought the fastest (and most expensive) available hyperoptic package as we were tired with BT's intermittent service. It is indeed fast - but only as long as you are right next to the box. Stroll a couple of yards down the hall to my bedroom and I get less than 0.5mbps download speed. Honestly! Just awful! Does anyone know a provider that can deliver a service in the whole flat?

Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name: 1gb hyperfast
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 23rd Apr, 2021    By: Y
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Great bandwidth. Unfortunately poor customer service. It’s the second time that they have given us 2 weeks notice for planned maintenance. As someone who has to work from home, their planned maintenance/outage during office hours can’t come at a more inconveniet time.

We have begged them to either carry out the work during out of office hours or weekends, but they were not willing to change

Time With Provider: 3 Years
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 22nd Dec, 2020    By: meyerbro
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Every year the same history!

Yes, every year if you want to renew with these guys you better just CANCEL the service and become a NEW CLIENT. Trust me!

This time I'm just shocked, I decided to try replying the renovation options email and I actually could get Jovana to agree with the "management" to give me 150Mbps for £25 a month (that's a £4 discount goodwill gesture that they applied on my account).

After 2 weeks I decided to check if I could instead go with 250Mbps that is £3 extra a month. Do you know what the "management" said?

"No Felipe, if you go with 250Mbps you will lose the £4 goodwill discount, which means you will have to pay £7 extra a month!"

Yes, that's Hyperoptic but now I'm in a horrible situation, I have 12 months with them and will need to wait that to cancel it again and become a new customer and pay £20 a month for 150Mbps, or even less if you count the cashback with Quidco for example.

CANCEL every year and become a NEW CLIENT, that's the only way to go with Hyperoptic.

Time With Provider: 4 Years
Package Name: 150Mbps
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 30th Jun, 2020    By: hyperopticsuck
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
It shows that a lot of these reviews on here are fake. Their service is POOR, POOR, POOR. Don't use.

Hyperoptic installed it, went fine, they arrived on time. Since then the connection has been horrendous. I've challenged them on this and they told me to upgrade. This will solve all of the problems and guess what, it didn't.

In subsequent conversations they were patronising and condescending telling me that walls slow down the connection. From what I know, everywhere has a wall. Then I was told if something blocks it like a wall you can expect really terrible wifi. This is exactly where their engineer installed it, by a wall.

They then said they would do some things to increase the speed, they actually made it worse. Their support team then blamed me, even though everything is all in their hands and said there was nothing else to do, even after they now charge me more and forced me to mail them back an old router which didn't work.

In addition they have now asked me to buy a wifi extender at my own cost.

POOR, POOR, POOR.

Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 21st Jun, 2020    By: James R
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
I have been a HyperOptic customer for almost two years now and their service is miles ahead of the major ISPs.
With no less than 10 connected devices connected to my home network at any time the internet has always been very fast and incredibly reliable (this includes 4K video streaming on two of the devices and gaming on another with 2-4ms ping)
For the same price as the best package from any of the major ISPs you get at least double the download speed and up to 10x the upload speed.

If you don't have any of their services available in your area do register your interest on their website (and hope they are coming your way soon)

It is going to be a sad day when I move and have to go back to one of the major ISPs for lack of having HyperOptic available

Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name: 1Gb Fibre Connection - Broadband Only
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Posted: 10th Jun, 2020    By: lp2020
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
So I've been a Hyperoptic customer for the past 6 years, I've chosen to write this review as we are moving and I will genuinely miss their service. When I first moved into the property we were very badly served by BT, and BT had no plans to upgrade the cabinets that served our buildings. This is where Hyperoptic stepped in and ran fibre to our block of flats.

The installation is very straightforward, the service is presented via a standard Ethernet port that is installed wherever you choose to be most convenient, the engineer was very helpful in this regard and performed a clean and professional job.

I have that connection plugged into a Netgear R7000 and have been enjoying speeds of 920 Down / 910 Up for the past 6 years or so, with no outages that I can think of. Maintenance is always performed at reasonable times and you are given prior notice. I can't comment for the bundled router but obviously those speeds are only attainable with a wired connection. I see about 400Mbps on wireless.

Customer service has always been great, I have contacted them in the past about renewing my contract with existing offers and they have always been quick to oblige, the only one negative is that the price out of contract can be expensive compared to the new customer offers. But ultimately you get what you pay for, and I can't speak highly enough of the service I've received.

Time With Provider: 6 Years
Package Name: Hyperfast
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Cheap BIG ISPs for 100Mbps+
Community Fibre UK ISP Logo
150Mbps
Gift: None
Virgin Media UK ISP Logo
Virgin Media £25.00
132Mbps
Gift: None
Vodafone UK ISP Logo
Vodafone £26.50 - 27.00
150Mbps
Gift: None
Sky Broadband UK ISP Logo
100Mbps
Gift: None
Plusnet UK ISP Logo
Plusnet £27.99
145Mbps
Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest ISPs for 100Mbps+
Gigaclear UK ISP Logo
Gigaclear £17.00
200Mbps
Gift: None
Community Fibre UK ISP Logo
150Mbps
Gift: None
BeFibre UK ISP Logo
BeFibre £19.00
150Mbps
Gift: None
YouFibre UK ISP Logo
YouFibre £21.99
150Mbps
Gift: None
Hey! Broadband UK ISP Logo
150Mbps
Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Sponsored Links
The Top 15 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (5645)
  2. BT (3547)
  3. Politics (2578)
  4. Openreach (2326)
  5. Business (2303)
  6. Building Digital UK (2263)
  7. FTTC (2052)
  8. Mobile Broadband (2012)
  9. Statistics (1815)
  10. 4G (1700)
  11. Virgin Media (1653)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (1485)
  13. Fibre Optic (1414)
  14. Wireless Internet (1410)
  15. FTTH (1382)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules