Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Pulse8 Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
14 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 16th Oct, 2021    By: mpmc
As our time with P8 is coming to an end (more as to why later) I thought I'd post a review.

Reseller of TalkTalk Business, very good connection & latency.
Support is excellent and I mean excellent. They even help sort Virgin Media's number porting-out mess.

Overall a wonderful provider. We are only leaving due to how poor our OR line is, aluminium + length, causing drop-outs and slow speed. Yes it was raised as an issue with OR with other providers (many times) in the past but it still remains "unfixable" (says OR) terrible. This is NOT the fault of P8 but the awful lines provided by OR.

We've since gone with VM (I know I know), but when OR FTTP arrives we'll be going back to P8!

Time With Provider: 4 Months
Package Name: Home Fibre 38/10 + static IP and phone
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 12th Nov, 2020    By: FooManchu
Been with Pulse8 now for several months. On the rare occasions I have phoned support they have been very quick to answer and resolve issues. I was with Plusnet some years ago and that really makede me appreciate how important a responsive support desk is.

Very cheap phone calls are great and the main reason I switched from Zen (over 10 times the price).

Backhaul is TalkTalk but seems reliable and slightly faster than BT. I would not touch TT retail with a barge pole, but since all support is via pulse8 this is not an issue. Ping times reasonable. No problems with streaming.

Looking forward to a long relationship with them.

Time With Provider: 3 Months
Package Name: fiberoptic standard home
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 22nd Oct, 2020    By: Higgles
I moved my service over to Pulse8 a few months ago from Zen. The cost of the phone service on Zen was my main motivator to move with Zen charging a wapping 19p setup fee per call and then 15p per min call costs. Pulse8 on the other hand charge a fraction of this - 1p per min and no setup fee.

On moving over, I had issues with connecting to any site that used the Akamai Caching service (Microsoft, Sky, amongst others). It turned out that my new fixed IP address had been blacklisted. Not a problem. Within a few mins they had transferred me to a dynamic address to test the issue, and then to a new fixed IP address. Everything has been fine since. Throughout this issue, I was in touch with the same member of the support staff, and they took ownership of the problem. So refreshing to have great customer service.

I'm on a stable 61/20 line speed and have a ping of 9ms. Faster than Zen who were 54/20 with a ping of 12ms.

Time With Provider: 4 Months
Package Name: P8 Ultimate Home Fibre
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 08th Jul, 2020    By: Jim
Switched to Pulse8 (standard copper wire) a few months ago from the Phone Co-op. Both piggyback the TalkTalk network but the difference is night and day. I had constant stability problems with the Phone Co-op for years, and a number of times I was bumped down to slower standard ADSL from ADSL2 (but I am close enough to the exchange to benefit from ADSL2). Querying this was a pain as while the initial customer service was ok the tech support you get passed to was difficult and often dismissive.

The switch to Pulse6 was painless (on their silver ADSL package), stability is rock solid and speed has increased significantly (I have used my Billion 7800dxl modem/router for both providers).

I have also found their support to be excellent too, emails answered in seconds and a recent problem where I accidentally damaged my external phone line resolved by an Openreach visit within 24 hours, followed by Paulse8 contact to make sure everything was fixed and working ok. Can't recommend them enough!

Time With Provider: 3 Months
Package Name: XL Plus + Line ADSL
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 23rd Dec, 2019    By: MJ
I have now been with Pulse 8 for nearly 2yrs & have experienced consistently reliable top speeds. I have not experienced any slow down during peak times & not experienced any fault with the service.
After many years of poor service & unreliable speeds I can say that my decision to pay a little more per month for the Pulse 8 service has been well worth it.(recently reduced their prices twice)
The telephone service is extremely good value too & all this on a 30day contract.
Highly recommended


Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name: 76/20 fttc
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 18th Dec, 2019    By: Pinuk
Have been with Pulse8 for a year now and I have to say I'm impressed. My connection has been reliable and consistent over the last 12 months, with any issues being dealt with quickly and effectively (important as I work from home a couple of days each week).

They may seem more expensive than more well known competition, however this is only true if you compare them against other ISPs new joiner offers (or retention deals) with long contracts. They are cheaper than most (if not all) of the big ISPs out of contract rates.

In fact, in the year I have been a customer they have reduced their prices twice which is a refreshing change and means I avoid the rigmarole of chasing a retentions deal or moving to another ISP just to avoid a significant price rise.

Their offering of no setup fees, 30 day contracts and very cheap landline call rates is good value in my opinion.

I can't really fault them and have no plans to move.

Time With Provider: 13 Months
Package Name: 40/10 home fibre
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 17th Aug, 2019    By: MattUK
Pulse8 have been fantastic with my recent migration from Plusnet (the service of which I'd grown increasingly tired of).

I haven't been with one of the smaller ISPs before, so I was slightly hesitant, but Sam and the team at Pulse8 were very willing to help and answer any silly questions I had.

When Plusnet mucked up and hadn't released the line in time, help and advice was given very quickly and I fully trusted Pulse8 to get everything sorted (again, unlike Plusnet...).

Pricing is good for a smaller ISP and the 30 day contract gives peace of mind too!

Great decision to switch, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.

Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name: 80/20 home fibre
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 02nd May, 2019    By: Keyz
Title: Its good.
After leaving virgin,(300mbp+) we just wanted a decent, reliable internet connection!

Pulse8 was our choice, D,-70mb/18mb U, riding on the talktalk business side of things, our internet is great, 2 drop out in 2 years, 1 due to my phoneline, 1 tt,s fault. all traffic shapped with my pfsense box, the speed drop hasnt even been noticed.

My only gripe is, its expensive for what it is, staff who have no clue what hardware you are using ( pfsense ) try to get u to use draytek when you have no need to!

But the major pro's that swing it for me was, actual english speaking folk who actually talk to you, and its only a 1 month contract, with no cancellation fee either.. WIN WIN.

Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 13th Feb, 2019    By: minty
Been a Pulse8 Broadband customer for 3 years now and I'm happy with the decision.
No frills, business-based provider that also cater for home customers.
Excellent customer service via phone or email.
No email included, so if your existing email is tied to your ISP, you'll need a separate account (if you're switching from Sky, you can keep your Sky/Yahoo email after you leave them).
Rolling 1 month contract.
Static or fixed IP options.
Broadband and phone package has reasonably priced call charges.
ADSL line speed can vary at times, but mostly stable and reliable. Connections aren't throttled.
Packages can be tailored with extras as needed.
Like most non big-name providers, if there's a fault with the line you'll have to pay the Openreach fees (although they offer a £1 pcm "Openreach Charge Assurance" option). So if you have issues with your line, get your current ISP to sort them out first.
Router isn't included, so you may need to factor in the cost of a decent router to the initial setup costs, if you don't have one (or the one you have is locked to your current ISP). Just make sure you get a router that supports the type of internet connection you're getting (i.e. fibre (VDSL) or standard (ADSL)). Pulse8 give you all the config info and tech support you need.
Not as cheap as over-subscribed big names, but competitive compared to top ISP prices.

Time With Provider: 3 Years
Package Name: XL Plus
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 21st Sep, 2017    By: David W
During the 20-odd years prior to my signing up with Pulse8, my ISPs had been Metronet, Plusnet, ADSL24, Coms.com and Timico respectively. Moving from the excellent Metronet and ADSL24 was forced on me due to changes in ownership, and the result in both cases was a massive deterioration in quality.

The need to change again arose a few months ago, this time at my own instigation after Timico had 'accidentally' instructed Openreach to disconnect my line and needed 9 (nine!) days and lots of chasing before they requested reconnection following a catalogue of further internal errors. Chasing Timico via their premium rate customer service number cost over £30 in call charges, though this was eventually refunded without argument and they gave me a month's free subscription as 'goodwill' in answer to my request for three months.

I researched intensely for an ISP that I could trust to give the highest level of service at reasonable cost, looking into every provider listed within ISPreview. Pulse8 eventually made it to the top of my short list, but I had one more test to try in the form of an email asking several questions, and I received their fully answered and personalised reply just 12 minutes later. That sealed it for me, similar emails to a couple of other providers of high repute (and higher cost) receiving slow and/or not fully helpful replies.

Once I'd signed up with Pulse8, the transfer went without a hitch except that I'd chosen to use my own router and couldn't figure out the settings needed to connect. I called their customer service number (free-phone) and they answered within five seconds (no 'press 2... press 3...!). I was impressed that they already knew the make and model of my router (TP-Link Archer VR900 v2) from our previous correspondence, and they soon had the instructions for it on their screen. They talked me through the necessary key presses and connection was made quickly and easily.

A couple of days later I received an email asking if all was still OK and inviting suggestions for improvements to their service. I replied with the suggestion that their 'new customer' letter be made clearer on the method of connection for those, like me, who decide to use their own router. I received a reply from their senior partner the very next morning in which he outlined an addition he hoped to make to the letter to meet my suggestion.

Download and upload speeds have been well up on the estimate they provided (test results just now were 37.4/9.5, on their 'Up to 38/10' offering - I'm 500 metres from the green cabinet), with never a hiccup. Their service includes useful touches such as the monthly direct debit invoices listing phone calls by number, duration and cost - which my previous (more expensive) ISP was unable to provide - and their phone call charges are impressively low. Their monthly broadband plus line-rental charge is slightly higher than some of the bigger outfits, but they are so worth it (hence my ten star award).

I now see how they have the confidence to operate without tying customers to contracts. If all continues as at present, I won't ever be leaving!




Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Vodafone £19.50 (*22.50)
    Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • NOW £20.00 (*32.00)
    Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £20.00 (*25.00)
    Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: ROKUGIFT
  • TalkTalk £21.00 (*29.95)
    Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Plusnet £21.95 (*38.20)
    Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £75 Reward Card
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest Ultrafast ISPs
  • Gigaclear £20.00 (*54.00)
    Speed: 400Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £23.50 (*26.50)
    Speed: 100Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £25.00 (*35.00)
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: ROKUGIFT
  • Community Fibre £27.50 (*32.50)
    Speed: 200Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: First 6 Months Free
  • Virgin Media £28.00 (*52.00)
    Speed: 108Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (3663)
  2. BT (3043)
  3. Politics (1972)
  4. Building Digital UK (1942)
  5. FTTC (1897)
  6. Openreach (1862)
  7. Business (1717)
  8. Mobile Broadband (1500)
  9. Statistics (1427)
  10. FTTH (1367)
  11. 4G (1295)
  12. Virgin Media (1193)
  13. Fibre Optic (1184)
  14. Wireless Internet (1175)
  15. Ofcom Regulation (1165)
  16. Vodafone (859)
  17. EE (845)
  18. 5G (792)
  19. TalkTalk (779)
  20. Sky Broadband (756)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules