Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Pulse8 Reviews

Sponsored Links
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
17 Reviews
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Posted: 08th Sep, 2023    By: T Scrim
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Pulse8 brilliantly succeded in considerably shortening the process of obtaining a new landline and ADSL connection for me in order to meet a very tight deadline. They went above and beyond.

The deadline was due to Openreach's "Stop Sell" on the 5th of September. Pulse8 delivered my new landline and ADSL connection on the 1st of September.

EDIT: (8th September 2023)

In response to Pulse8's very kind reply to the copy of this review I submitted to Truspilot, I have decided to add some more information to this review.

Pulse8 are retailers of ADSL and landlines provided by TalkTalk wholesale. About a week or two ago, I had a phone conversation with a member of support staff at TalkTalk who told me that TalkTalk would be implementing the Stop Sell and Switch Off at the same time as Openreach. However, after having done some more research, I have discovered that the member of support staff at TalkTalk was actually completely wrong about this.

This means that if you want a new ADSL service and I think perhaps also a new analogue voice line, you may still be in luck if you go with Pulse8.


Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Posted: 22nd Jul, 2023    By: Pinuk
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
-2023 update-
5 years with Pulse 8 and they have been nothing short of faultless. Now FTTP is available I have made the decision to move due to cost - Pulse8's current pricing isn't something I can stretch to. Their support has consistently been excellent – even down to sending me an email the next day after my call to confirm my services had been ceased on their systems. Try getting that from your average ISP!

I'm sad in a way to be leaving!

-2019 Review-
Have been with Pulse8 for a year now and I have to say I'm impressed. My connection has been reliable and consistent over the last 12 months, with any issues being dealt with quickly and effectively (important as I work from home a couple of days each week).

They may seem more expensive than more well known competition, however this is only true if you compare them against other ISPs new joiner offers (or retention deals) with long contracts. They are cheaper than most (if not all) of the big ISPs out of contract rates.

In fact, in the year I have been a customer they have reduced their prices twice which is a refreshing change and means I avoid the rigmarole of chasing a retentions deal or moving to another ISP just to avoid a significant price rise.

Their offering of no setup fees, 30 day contracts and very cheap landline call rates is good value in my opinion.

Time With Provider: 5 Years
Package Name: 40/10 home fibre
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Posted: 27th Jun, 2023    By: ColeDavis
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
History: I have had loads of internet service providers in my time, and have been happily subscribed to Pulse8 since May 2021 (so a little more than 2 years). I've moved up the gears, ADSL, then fibre to the junction, now fibre direct to my house. The service has remained the same: Pulse8 help with setting up of any given service, giving advice over the phone as to what to do. They help to sort out any problems; in my case, a speeding BT van came off the road and destroyed the junction box! Other than that, things are quiet, which is what one wants, with speedy and reliable internet. They are well worth the money.



Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Posted: 19th Dec, 2022    By: kevb
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Joined in February 2020 just before all the log downs! Only been done the once and one quick call to them and was back on pretty quick. Also quick to answer emails before I joined. Cant fault them. Use my own router so cant comment on here supplied one. Emailed the configurations by email at sign up. Month;y bills are emailed to you rather been on an online account. The price has changed twice in the time i been with them first was a reduction and then a slight increase. they provide the maximum your line can handle never noticed any throttling. highly recommended.

Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name: P8 home fibre
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Posted: 16th Oct, 2021    By: mpmc
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
As our time with P8 is coming to an end (more as to why later) I thought I'd post a review.

Reseller of TalkTalk Business, very good connection & latency.
Support is excellent and I mean excellent. They even help sort Virgin Media's number porting-out mess.

Overall a wonderful provider. We are only leaving due to how poor our OR line is, aluminium + length, causing drop-outs and slow speed. Yes it was raised as an issue with OR with other providers (many times) in the past but it still remains "unfixable" (says OR) terrible. This is NOT the fault of P8 but the awful lines provided by OR.

We've since gone with VM (I know I know), but when OR FTTP arrives we'll be going back to P8!

Time With Provider: 4 Months
Package Name: Home Fibre 38/10 + static IP and phone
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Posted: 12th Nov, 2020    By: FooManchu
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Been with Pulse8 now for several months. On the rare occasions I have phoned support they have been very quick to answer and resolve issues. I was with Plusnet some years ago and that really makede me appreciate how important a responsive support desk is.

Very cheap phone calls are great and the main reason I switched from Zen (over 10 times the price).

Backhaul is TalkTalk but seems reliable and slightly faster than BT. I would not touch TT retail with a barge pole, but since all support is via pulse8 this is not an issue. Ping times reasonable. No problems with streaming.

Looking forward to a long relationship with them.

Time With Provider: 3 Months
Package Name: fiberoptic standard home
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Posted: 22nd Oct, 2020    By: Higgles
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
I moved my service over to Pulse8 a few months ago from Zen. The cost of the phone service on Zen was my main motivator to move with Zen charging a wapping 19p setup fee per call and then 15p per min call costs. Pulse8 on the other hand charge a fraction of this - 1p per min and no setup fee.

On moving over, I had issues with connecting to any site that used the Akamai Caching service (Microsoft, Sky, amongst others). It turned out that my new fixed IP address had been blacklisted. Not a problem. Within a few mins they had transferred me to a dynamic address to test the issue, and then to a new fixed IP address. Everything has been fine since. Throughout this issue, I was in touch with the same member of the support staff, and they took ownership of the problem. So refreshing to have great customer service.

I'm on a stable 61/20 line speed and have a ping of 9ms. Faster than Zen who were 54/20 with a ping of 12ms.

Time With Provider: 4 Months
Package Name: P8 Ultimate Home Fibre
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Posted: 08th Jul, 2020    By: Jim
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Switched to Pulse8 (standard copper wire) a few months ago from the Phone Co-op. Both piggyback the TalkTalk network but the difference is night and day. I had constant stability problems with the Phone Co-op for years, and a number of times I was bumped down to slower standard ADSL from ADSL2 (but I am close enough to the exchange to benefit from ADSL2). Querying this was a pain as while the initial customer service was ok the tech support you get passed to was difficult and often dismissive.

The switch to Pulse6 was painless (on their silver ADSL package), stability is rock solid and speed has increased significantly (I have used my Billion 7800dxl modem/router for both providers).

I have also found their support to be excellent too, emails answered in seconds and a recent problem where I accidentally damaged my external phone line resolved by an Openreach visit within 24 hours, followed by Paulse8 contact to make sure everything was fixed and working ok. Can't recommend them enough!

Time With Provider: 3 Months
Package Name: XL Plus + Line ADSL
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Posted: 23rd Dec, 2019    By: MJ
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
I have now been with Pulse 8 for nearly 2yrs & have experienced consistently reliable top speeds. I have not experienced any slow down during peak times & not experienced any fault with the service.
After many years of poor service & unreliable speeds I can say that my decision to pay a little more per month for the Pulse 8 service has been well worth it.(recently reduced their prices twice)
The telephone service is extremely good value too & all this on a 30day contract.
Highly recommended


Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name: 76/20 fttc
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Posted: 17th Aug, 2019    By: MattUK
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Pulse8 have been fantastic with my recent migration from Plusnet (the service of which I'd grown increasingly tired of).

I haven't been with one of the smaller ISPs before, so I was slightly hesitant, but Sam and the team at Pulse8 were very willing to help and answer any silly questions I had.

When Plusnet mucked up and hadn't released the line in time, help and advice was given very quickly and I fully trusted Pulse8 to get everything sorted (again, unlike Plusnet...).

Pricing is good for a smaller ISP and the 30 day contract gives peace of mind too!

Great decision to switch, and I wouldn't hesitate to recommend them.

Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name: 80/20 home fibre
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Cheap BIG ISPs for 100Mbps+
Community Fibre UK ISP Logo
150Mbps
Gift: None
Virgin Media UK ISP Logo
Virgin Media £26.00
132Mbps
Gift: None
Sky Broadband UK ISP Logo
100Mbps
Gift: None
Plusnet UK ISP Logo
Plusnet £27.99
145Mbps
Gift: None
Zen Internet UK ISP Logo
Zen Internet £28.00 - 35.00
100Mbps
Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest ISPs for 100Mbps+
Gigaclear UK ISP Logo
Gigaclear £17.00
200Mbps
Gift: None
Community Fibre UK ISP Logo
150Mbps
Gift: None
BeFibre UK ISP Logo
BeFibre £19.00
150Mbps
Gift: None
YouFibre UK ISP Logo
YouFibre £19.99
150Mbps
Gift: None
Hey! Broadband UK ISP Logo
150Mbps
Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Sponsored Links
The Top 15 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (5594)
  2. BT (3536)
  3. Politics (2558)
  4. Openreach (2315)
  5. Business (2289)
  6. Building Digital UK (2256)
  7. FTTC (2050)
  8. Mobile Broadband (1998)
  9. Statistics (1804)
  10. 4G (1686)
  11. Virgin Media (1644)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (1477)
  13. Fibre Optic (1410)
  14. Wireless Internet (1403)
  15. FTTH (1382)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules