Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Sky Broadband Reviews

Sponsored Links
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
188 Reviews
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 25th Jul, 2023    By: Jazzy
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
I had very little to fault with Sky until now

Back in 2010 I moved from BT to Sky with their ADSL2 service partly because BT wanted a lot more to upgrade from their 2MB broadband & I was with Sky anyway for TV

When I was connected to Sky, it came in at 18MB as I am close to the cabinet. I then got FTTC a few years later as a free upgrade which came in at an amazing 68MB and in December 2021, my area was upgraded to FTTP so I now have the 500MB service for the same price as the 68MB service. I have never had to pay for any new boxes (even when one broke down) or any installation fees

However, my contract is up in October 2023 and my TV contract is up in August 2023 so they've been keen to tie me back in. They have phoned me half a dozen times

They want to increase my internet from £37/month to £53/month. I have said no and they offered it at £48/month if I tie in with the TV too in August. They are offering this deal at £35/month on comparison sites and I feel ripped off after being with Sky, as a customer for 23 years

In October I am going to transfer to BT Broadband, whose 500mb service is £32.99/month to swap over to them. At £32.99 a month - this is a saving of £360 over 24 months.

It's a service coming down the same fibre to the same ONT in the same house. If Sky have no loyalty to me after 23 years, then they can sing for my loyalty

Time With Provider: 13 Years
Package Name: Ultrafast +
Value
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Posted: 23rd Jan, 2023    By: Meatball
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
January 2023 contract renew.

On behalf of an elderly father in-law I renewed his Sky contract (full monty)

Offer on-line account was £128.50 which was around £2 more than current and viewed good compared to inflation rises. Then the letters arrived which provide no visibility of what his overall bill would be and SkyTalk Anytime Plus stood out at its standard price of £12/m. Checked on line and forecast bills would be £134.50.

Verified with Sky, they could not offer any better offers on his Sky TV or Broadband and would not reduce SkyTalk or offer any other call plan under the new offer. Frustrating as their sibling NOW is still offering free calls.

If he wasn't 86 I would have cancelled it all. But it is his main pleasure and would be difficult for him and his wife if I cobbled together an alternative.

Therefore all I could do was remove SkyTalk Anywhere Plus and apply PAYG. This reduced the forward bills to £122.50

They can use the phone on rare occasions if required for a lot less, it remains available for emergency calls and any of course any incoming. All I need to do is set up a phone/device (under £50) to connect to their mobiles (via Bluetooth) so they can make outgoing comfortably.



Time With Provider: 17 Years
Package Name: SkyTalk Anytime PLUS (part of TV/BB)
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 21st May, 2022    By: Mark.J
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
I've been on Sky Fibre Max now for a few years and was initially using the Sky Q Hub, which has improved since a few performance problems marred its early release. Luckily a few internet tricks meant I've long since been able to adopt a more modern third-party router from TP-Link (Archer VR900) that supports the Sky MER authentication system and that's been a good upgrade.

So far our house has been able to deliver a fairly steady download speed of 56Mbps, but CityFibre are now available so we'll shortly be leaving Sky.

Generally speaking the service, and support when we've needed it, have been reasonably good. Mind you we do have the odd gripe. For example, the router that the service offers by default is a fairly basic model and doesn't deliver particularly good WiFi.

Time With Provider: 7 Years
Package Name: Sky Fibre Max
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Posted: 21st Jul, 2021    By: Lurch
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Broadband down since 13,7,21, spoke to sky go who request i unplug and then plug equipment in and out numerous times with no joy tells me he is testing line while i am speaking to him and it tests ok ? But you Cant check line while phone in use he says he can, orders new router.new router arrives but still same. After 8 days and hours on phone trying to sort out and lost count of times reset router.I tell them send engineer to site or i will terminate all package. Heated exchange of words this company as lost sight of who pays for their service woeful company and can not wait to get out been with them from day sky started.

Time With Provider: 35 Years
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 15th Dec, 2020    By: Morty Park
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Just tried signing up with them, they were keep changing the installation date and realised that their knowledge is not adequate enough therefore when a problem comes they are way slower than even TalkTalk. So I had to cancel and go back with TalkTalk for now. I have to mention that I am not entirely happy with TalkTalk either but it seems that I have no other choice.

Time With Provider: 2 Weeks
Package Name: they were keep changing the installation
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 22nd Oct, 2020    By: StevioNewcastle
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
I have been with Sky Broadband over 8 years, moving to ADSL2 with them then onto their FTTC service when it first started, which was called Fibre Pro at the time

Had faultless service, immediate upgrade to latest routers when I requested a new one, no additional charges for equipment and in all that time, the service has gone down once when a company sliced through the cables at the top of my street. Never gone down by them

I have a FTTC service which comes in at 65MB download and 19MB upload

No issues with their router boxes but ensure you renegotiate it every 12/18 months to keep the best deal. Currently paying £25 for FTTC and line rental thrown in. Needs renegotiated next February but if they offer a competitive deal I will stay. Although they are ok, I am well aware that other services use the same cabling to my home as they do and how easy it is to switch. I make that part of my negotiations and I have made them undercut advertised Plusnet offers on two occasions

Time With Provider: 8 Years
Package Name: Fibre Max
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Posted: 11th May, 2020    By: Zen
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
I'll try to keep this short as possible.

1: Overpriced
2: False words = When you report something, they'll say they'll send an engineer, even as far as to go and book an engineer, give it few days, boom, your engineer is cancelled and text says "hope your issue is solved".
3: Never getting the expected speed.

Finally, their customer service is a utter disappointment and all their capable is telling false words that they are even lazy to fulfil or just trying to save money.

MORE than once I called them and every time the same thing.

Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 27th Jun, 2019    By: lcwduk
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
rip off company tried cancelling over 2 years ago, thought account was now closed as spoke to many people at sky, now they have pased on to a *third* debt recovery company even after sending me letters every few weeks : come back to Sky! no Way!!!!

Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 09th Mar, 2019    By: Muttly71
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
I have had Sky Fibre Max for a couple of years now and I cannot complain about the speed as it is constantly what they say it will be. But I have been looking to reduce costs so I rang them up, now they have the same package I am on £13 cheaper so I asked to to get it at the cheaper price. They point blank refused then started trying to sell me other products. As much as I hate to do it I will be changing service providers.

Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name: Sky Fibre Max
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 19th Aug, 2018    By: aimdev
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Used them for four years, satisfactory service until the line speed dropped.
CS not interested, refused to escalate, the one time I needed then they failed me.
Raised written complaint, got it sorted, but why did I have to do this?
Also no longer prepared to pay an extra 2.49 Sky TV tax, there are now better options
Also, not allowed to use own modem on fttc, recently changed, but they lost a years extra revenue.
CS is important to me, so will be trying a fttc service when the contract is up.

Time With Provider: 4 Years
Package Name: broadband unlimited
Value
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £17.99
    Speed 33Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • UtilityWarehouse £19.99
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
  • NOW £23.00
    Speed 63Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £24.00
    Speed 73 - 82Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Shell Energy £24.99
    Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest Ultrafast ISPs
  • Gigaclear £17.00
    Speed: 200Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Zzoomm £19.95
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • YouFibre £19.99
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Community Fibre £20.00
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • BeFibre £21.00
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £25 Love2Shop Card
Large Availability | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Sponsored Links
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (5387)
  2. BT (3490)
  3. Politics (2494)
  4. Openreach (2275)
  5. Business (2222)
  6. Building Digital UK (2215)
  7. FTTC (2038)
  8. Mobile Broadband (1940)
  9. Statistics (1763)
  10. 4G (1639)
  11. Virgin Media (1590)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (1438)
  13. FTTH (1379)
  14. Wireless Internet (1378)
  15. Fibre Optic (1376)
  16. 5G (1215)
  17. Vodafone (1126)
  18. EE (1111)
  19. TalkTalk (927)
  20. O2 (915)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules