Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Sky Broadband Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
180 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 29th Nov, 2018    By: Mark.J
I've been on Sky Fibre Unlimited now for a few years and was initially using the Sky Q Hub, which has improved since a few performance problems marred its early release. Luckily a few internet tricks meant I've long since been able to adopt a more modern third-party router from TP-Link (Archer VR200) that supports the Sky MER authentication system and that's been a good upgrade.

So far our house has been able to deliver a fairly steady download speed of 36-38Mbps (the advantage of having a street cabinet near your house!), but Sky are about to give me a free upgrade that will double this. Hopefully G.fast or FTTP will be launched soon and then I may adopt that instead.

Generally speaking the service, and support when we've needed it, have been reasonably good. Mind you we do have a the odd gripe. For example, the Sky Q Hub that the service offers by default only has two Ethernet ports on the back, which is no good for our home setup.

Time With Provider: 5 Years
Package Name: Sky Fibre Unlimited
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 19th Aug, 2018    By: aimdev
Used them for four years, satisfactory service until the line speed dropped.
CS not interested, refused to escalate, the one time I needed then they failed me.
Raised written complaint, got it sorted, but why did I have to do this?
Also no longer prepared to pay an extra 2.49 Sky TV tax, there are now better options
Also, not allowed to use own modem on fttc, recently changed, but they lost a years extra revenue.
CS is important to me, so will be trying a fttc service when the contract is up.

Time With Provider: 4 Years
Package Name: broadband unlimited
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 15th Feb, 2018    By: TomL
Unreliable hub and argumentative customer support advisers (who claim to know what your problem is even if the diagnostics say it is something else, and who are certain that everyone in the UK is replacing their phone sockets every 5 years). In addition, the speed check on the Sky website seems to come up with a different result to speed checks on other sites, more or less double the speed!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 17th Jan, 2018    By: LouiseR
Title: Be warned
I live in France (yes I know these are reviews for the UK) and if you are considering moving here do NOT assume Skydsl will be the answer to your internet. I am not technical in any way so I read what I could about satellite broadband and looked carefully (so I thought) at the Skydsl website. Realised I couldn't follow everything so rang them. A very helpful sales person talked my requirement through and recommended the 'L' package suitable for families. There are 3 of us in the house, 3 phones, 1 Mac, 1 laptop and 2 kindles plus a Firestick that will not work for Amazon programmes in France but OK for third party things already downloaded, like Netflix.

From the moment we set up the satellite, we had problems. Intermittent internet, slow speeds and it was impossible to stream anything, so no Netflix or YouTube.

I rang about 6 times to ask for help. Twice, technical staff made me do a series of speed tests over a space of time and email the results. Never showed more than 3.5Mb at any time of day. The package is for up to 24Mb. I repeatedly asked how many other people were in my contention ratio and never had an answer. One technical person told me that there was nothing wrong with the system and if I didn't like it I should cancel my service. (There is no contract, luckily). Another solution offered was to change to a 'Professionsl' package at 299€ a month!!! And finally I have been told by a sales person that satellite is not suitable for streaming and you can't use it for Netflix or YouTube.

I also had a TV gizmo from them to attach to the satellite dish to pick up programmes from the Astra satellite. I was not aware that I would also need a decoder, which I bought, to find that we still cannot tune in anyway!!

I have cancelled with Sky but it had cost me 250€ for the hardware and delivery and I just know there will be an argument about a refund and the cost to return the hardware. I will stand my ground as EU law states they have to pay because the system didn't work.

I feel mislead but also confused. Say there is the full 50 households in my contention ratio, then they must all be having problems. Surely Sky would be getting complaints from them all? I have pointed out their website is misleading when it says it is a suitable package for families. If you cannot stream then it is not a family package!!

I am frustrated, angry, disappointed and feel an idiot for being mislead.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 24th Nov, 2017    By: JamesT1973
Title: Sky review
we live in a rural area where we struggle to get 5Mbps hence we're looking into alternatives - as far as I'm aware it would be no different at the moment whether we used Sky or a different provider

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 31st Jan, 2017    By: purplebogmonste
I changed to Sky ADSL a couple years ago after terrible trouble with BT. There was a problem in the BT exchange that caused disconnects every time the phone rang. Openreach replaced everything including a new wire to the property to no avail as it was not an Openreach issue. Sky was the only alternative LLU option and as soon as the switch over the issues resolved. I have had a couple of communications with Sky because of line faults and they have been polite and professional. Our line is poor due to a 6km overhead copper cable that runs straight to the exchange resulting in 3Mbps. The Sky service itself has been reliable with no slow downs and I would recommend Sky. According to BT I am on sub 2Mbps line and as such I believe that Sky would not now accept me as a new customer which is a great shame.

I have not tried using the Sky router.

I am just about to switch to Voneus fixed wireless internet so will be leaving Sky. Lets hope the Sky service termination process is simple.

In summary the Sky experience has been uneventful which is a compliment.

C.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 04th Jan, 2017    By: pauldon
Ive had nothing but problems with sky, left me without broadband for 4 weeks down to their fault trying to pass blame on openreach, there customer service is hopeless

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 04th Dec, 2016    By: PickledTiger
So I live in a built up area (Canterbury). By no means a remote area in the countryside where you'd expect the internet to be poor. I'm a student who moved into this house in September. I found out that the previous student tenants left without handing over the account details over to the landlord so we didn't have access to the account details or cancelling the contract.
So i move in and begin to notice that the internet speeds are absolutely abysmal. Highest of 4.8mbps download on Speedtest.net and fairly frequently going as low as 0.5mbps. So i check what Sky are offering in the area and discover they advertise my postcode as up to 17mbps. Being frustrated and busy with 3rd year uni work, i quickly tweet to shame sky on what a joke their ISP is.
2 Days later i receive replies from Sky asking to private message them on twitter. From here i begin explaining the situation with the account details and speeds. They ask me to check what speeds i'm receiving and i tell them 4.5mbps and get told "yeah that sounds about right". When i voice my outrage at this I find someone else has picked up my issue on twitter and asks for my account details, so i have to explain YET AGAIN I haven't got the details along with pretty much my entire situation all over again because "Jason" clearly didn't bother reading the messages before.
Finally i managed to get Jason to refer me to speak to Sky experts on their website however every single time i have checked, they've been busy and we don't have a phone to call them and i have a cheap phone contract that doesn't give me a great deal of minutes to sit on a phone on hold for long periods of time without wracking up a large phone bill.
So not only is the actually service an absolute joke and terrible in terms of speeds being about on par with dial up internet but the general customer service i've received was lazy and poor.
Don't use Sky. They terrible. In many ways and as soon as i can get hold of their crappy sky "experts" i will be cancelling my contract and hopefully receiving some form of refund for the just awful service we've had.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 23rd Nov, 2016    By: timeless
lve been a customer of fibre for many years now.. and have always had a pretty solid connection, and support lve received has always been pretty good.

one grouch has always been the price, while l did spend some time looking at other ISP to see if l could get cheaper l decided to call sky on the off chance l could lower my bill somehow, and according to google its worth checking in every so often to see if new deals become available..

suffice to say called today, spoke to a rep and my bill has gone from £37 down to £25 per month (Fibre usually £20 now £15 line rental usually £17 now £10), turns out its well worth checking in with your ISP to see if there are deals for continued custom etc. (only reason l gave value a 9 was because before it wasnt as well priced as it is now).

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 13th Oct, 2016    By: Jbod
I have no broadband this morning because of admin errors. Today My service was switched across to Sky. But they have not sent me a sky hub (and they told me yesterday evening that they are not going to send me one as I have been rejected as a customer!).
Their letter of 1 Oct told me I had joined Sky and the hub would be sent to me. I have phoned twice to point out it had not arrived. (Dreadful telephone wait times). I told them what was about to happen, but they didn't seem concerned.
I am left with no internet in a rural area with a poor mobile signal.


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £18.00 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 30Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Code: CHRISTMAS18
  • Onestream £19.95 (*34.99)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • TalkTalk £22.50
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Direct Save Telecom £22.95 (*29.95)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £23.00 (*25.00)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2290)
  2. FTTP (1755)
  3. FTTC (1521)
  4. Broadband Delivery UK (1491)
  5. Openreach (1234)
  6. Politics (1228)
  7. Business (1093)
  8. Statistics (965)
  9. Mobile Broadband (886)
  10. Fibre Optic (881)
  11. FTTH (819)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (813)
  13. Wireless Internet (807)
  14. 4G (768)
  15. Virgin Media (743)
  16. Sky Broadband (546)
  17. TalkTalk (525)
  18. EE (509)
  19. Vodafone (398)
  20. Security (371)
Sky Broadband - Broadband Fixed Line Rated 2.986111111111111 / 5 based on 180 reviews. | Review Me
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules