Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Sky Broadband Reviews

Sponsored Links
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
188 Reviews
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 15th Feb, 2018    By: TomL
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Unreliable hub and argumentative customer support advisers (who claim to know what your problem is even if the diagnostics say it is something else, and who are certain that everyone in the UK is replacing their phone sockets every 5 years). In addition, the speed check on the Sky website seems to come up with a different result to speed checks on other sites, more or less double the speed!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 17th Jan, 2018    By: LouiseR
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Title: Be warned
I live in France (yes I know these are reviews for the UK) and if you are considering moving here do NOT assume Skydsl will be the answer to your internet. I am not technical in any way so I read what I could about satellite broadband and looked carefully (so I thought) at the Skydsl website. Realised I couldn't follow everything so rang them. A very helpful sales person talked my requirement through and recommended the 'L' package suitable for families. There are 3 of us in the house, 3 phones, 1 Mac, 1 laptop and 2 kindles plus a Firestick that will not work for Amazon programmes in France but OK for third party things already downloaded, like Netflix.

From the moment we set up the satellite, we had problems. Intermittent internet, slow speeds and it was impossible to stream anything, so no Netflix or YouTube.

I rang about 6 times to ask for help. Twice, technical staff made me do a series of speed tests over a space of time and email the results. Never showed more than 3.5Mb at any time of day. The package is for up to 24Mb. I repeatedly asked how many other people were in my contention ratio and never had an answer. One technical person told me that there was nothing wrong with the system and if I didn't like it I should cancel my service. (There is no contract, luckily). Another solution offered was to change to a 'Professionsl' package at 299€ a month!!! And finally I have been told by a sales person that satellite is not suitable for streaming and you can't use it for Netflix or YouTube.

I also had a TV gizmo from them to attach to the satellite dish to pick up programmes from the Astra satellite. I was not aware that I would also need a decoder, which I bought, to find that we still cannot tune in anyway!!

I have cancelled with Sky but it had cost me 250€ for the hardware and delivery and I just know there will be an argument about a refund and the cost to return the hardware. I will stand my ground as EU law states they have to pay because the system didn't work.

I feel mislead but also confused. Say there is the full 50 households in my contention ratio, then they must all be having problems. Surely Sky would be getting complaints from them all? I have pointed out their website is misleading when it says it is a suitable package for families. If you cannot stream then it is not a family package!!

I am frustrated, angry, disappointed and feel an idiot for being mislead.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 24th Nov, 2017    By: JamesT1973
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Title: Sky review
we live in a rural area where we struggle to get 5Mbps hence we're looking into alternatives - as far as I'm aware it would be no different at the moment whether we used Sky or a different provider

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 31st Jan, 2017    By: purplebogmonste
Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star
I changed to Sky ADSL a couple years ago after terrible trouble with BT. There was a problem in the BT exchange that caused disconnects every time the phone rang. Openreach replaced everything including a new wire to the property to no avail as it was not an Openreach issue. Sky was the only alternative LLU option and as soon as the switch over the issues resolved. I have had a couple of communications with Sky because of line faults and they have been polite and professional. Our line is poor due to a 6km overhead copper cable that runs straight to the exchange resulting in 3Mbps. The Sky service itself has been reliable with no slow downs and I would recommend Sky. According to BT I am on sub 2Mbps line and as such I believe that Sky would not now accept me as a new customer which is a great shame.

I have not tried using the Sky router.

I am just about to switch to Voneus fixed wireless internet so will be leaving Sky. Lets hope the Sky service termination process is simple.

In summary the Sky experience has been uneventful which is a compliment.

C.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star
Posted: 04th Jan, 2017    By: pauldon
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Ive had nothing but problems with sky, left me without broadband for 4 weeks down to their fault trying to pass blame on openreach, there customer service is hopeless

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 04th Dec, 2016    By: PickledTiger
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
So I live in a built up area (Canterbury). By no means a remote area in the countryside where you'd expect the internet to be poor. I'm a student who moved into this house in September. I found out that the previous student tenants left without handing over the account details over to the landlord so we didn't have access to the account details or cancelling the contract.
So i move in and begin to notice that the internet speeds are absolutely abysmal. Highest of 4.8mbps download on Speedtest.net and fairly frequently going as low as 0.5mbps. So i check what Sky are offering in the area and discover they advertise my postcode as up to 17mbps. Being frustrated and busy with 3rd year uni work, i quickly tweet to shame sky on what a joke their ISP is.
2 Days later i receive replies from Sky asking to private message them on twitter. From here i begin explaining the situation with the account details and speeds. They ask me to check what speeds i'm receiving and i tell them 4.5mbps and get told "yeah that sounds about right". When i voice my outrage at this I find someone else has picked up my issue on twitter and asks for my account details, so i have to explain YET AGAIN I haven't got the details along with pretty much my entire situation all over again because "Jason" clearly didn't bother reading the messages before.
Finally i managed to get Jason to refer me to speak to Sky experts on their website however every single time i have checked, they've been busy and we don't have a phone to call them and i have a cheap phone contract that doesn't give me a great deal of minutes to sit on a phone on hold for long periods of time without wracking up a large phone bill.
So not only is the actually service an absolute joke and terrible in terms of speeds being about on par with dial up internet but the general customer service i've received was lazy and poor.
Don't use Sky. They terrible. In many ways and as soon as i can get hold of their crappy sky "experts" i will be cancelling my contract and hopefully receiving some form of refund for the just awful service we've had.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 23rd Nov, 2016    By: timeless
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
lve been a customer of fibre for many years now.. and have always had a pretty solid connection, and support lve received has always been pretty good.

one grouch has always been the price, while l did spend some time looking at other ISP to see if l could get cheaper l decided to call sky on the off chance l could lower my bill somehow, and according to google its worth checking in every so often to see if new deals become available..

suffice to say called today, spoke to a rep and my bill has gone from £37 down to £25 per month (Fibre usually £20 now £15 line rental usually £17 now £10), turns out its well worth checking in with your ISP to see if there are deals for continued custom etc. (only reason l gave value a 9 was because before it wasnt as well priced as it is now).

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Posted: 13th Oct, 2016    By: Jbod
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
I have no broadband this morning because of admin errors. Today My service was switched across to Sky. But they have not sent me a sky hub (and they told me yesterday evening that they are not going to send me one as I have been rejected as a customer!).
Their letter of 1 Oct told me I had joined Sky and the hub would be sent to me. I have phoned twice to point out it had not arrived. (Dreadful telephone wait times). I told them what was about to happen, but they didn't seem concerned.
I am left with no internet in a rural area with a poor mobile signal.


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 05th Oct, 2016    By: replicon1
Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star
After a 6 month long very shaky start the service has been very reliable so far. The initial issue that was eventualy resolved after the 3rd engineer that was sent out found the root of the problem under the manhole cover outside the house. Be aware that if you call their customer support line from a mobile it may well cost you a fortune, I got stung for £20 after being kept on the line for 10 mins when my landline and broadband had stopped working.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 14th Oct, 2015    By: mlmclaren
Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star
I write this on behalf of a recently retired man!

His needs where simple, A broadband connection, good enough for 2 laptops and the odd bit of streaming!

Sky's Broadband Unlimited (ADSL) was perfect for them, they lived within a decent line length from the exchange and got a solid 10/1 service, this was great for him, a good value phone package for the wife too, Anytime Calls to Landlines was sufficient enough and TV that wasn't really needed but worked as promised.

So what prompted him to leave you may ask, well Sky followed in the tracks of other providers and upped the "line rental" by £1 (no biggy) But then notification came that as Sky has stopped selling the traditional Anytime UK Landline Calls at £5 and now released a new package £8 that included mobile he wouldn't have any choice but to move to such package.

Now he agreed that it was good value still, unlimited mobile calls swell as landline for £8 was great and no relying on pesky mobile signals, but unfortunately monthly outgoing's where going to need a cut due to his income being cut due to retirement.

Between myself and the gentleman we contact Sky's leaving department to haggle a new deal for new contract, the thought it would be wise to cancel TV due to the lack of use, but then said everything else looked fine, didn't mention anything about price rises and even when prompted wouldn't give any sort of loyalty discount or reward, even after being thanked for being a loyal customer for many years.

So that was that, no discount for loyal pensioner, but free for 12 months with a gift for a new customer... subsidisation at its best...

So an order has now been placed with a competitor that has offered him the same package with a few discounts, a voucher and even lower prices once the discounts run out (in 18 months)

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Cheap BIG ISPs for 100Mbps+
Community Fibre UK ISP Logo
150Mbps
Gift: None
Virgin Media UK ISP Logo
Virgin Media £26.00
132Mbps
Gift: None
Shell Energy UK ISP Logo
Shell Energy £26.99
109Mbps
Gift: None
Sky Broadband UK ISP Logo
100Mbps
Gift: None
Plusnet UK ISP Logo
Plusnet £27.99
145Mbps
Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest ISPs for 100Mbps+
Gigaclear UK ISP Logo
Gigaclear £17.00
200Mbps
Gift: None
YouFibre UK ISP Logo
YouFibre £19.99
150Mbps
Gift: None
Community Fibre UK ISP Logo
150Mbps
Gift: None
BeFibre UK ISP Logo
BeFibre £21.00
150Mbps
Gift: £25 Love2Shop Card
Hey! Broadband UK ISP Logo
150Mbps
Gift: None
Large Availability | View All

Helpful ISP Guides and Tips

Sponsored Links
The Top 15 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (5527)
  2. BT (3518)
  3. Politics (2541)
  4. Openreach (2298)
  5. Business (2265)
  6. Building Digital UK (2246)
  7. FTTC (2044)
  8. Mobile Broadband (1975)
  9. Statistics (1789)
  10. 4G (1666)
  11. Virgin Media (1621)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (1464)
  13. Fibre Optic (1396)
  14. Wireless Internet (1390)
  15. FTTH (1382)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules