Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Sky Broadband Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
186 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 24th Nov, 2017    By: JamesT1973
Title: Sky review
we live in a rural area where we struggle to get 5Mbps hence we're looking into alternatives - as far as I'm aware it would be no different at the moment whether we used Sky or a different provider

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 31st Jan, 2017    By: purplebogmonste
I changed to Sky ADSL a couple years ago after terrible trouble with BT. There was a problem in the BT exchange that caused disconnects every time the phone rang. Openreach replaced everything including a new wire to the property to no avail as it was not an Openreach issue. Sky was the only alternative LLU option and as soon as the switch over the issues resolved. I have had a couple of communications with Sky because of line faults and they have been polite and professional. Our line is poor due to a 6km overhead copper cable that runs straight to the exchange resulting in 3Mbps. The Sky service itself has been reliable with no slow downs and I would recommend Sky. According to BT I am on sub 2Mbps line and as such I believe that Sky would not now accept me as a new customer which is a great shame.

I have not tried using the Sky router.

I am just about to switch to Voneus fixed wireless internet so will be leaving Sky. Lets hope the Sky service termination process is simple.

In summary the Sky experience has been uneventful which is a compliment.

C.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 04th Jan, 2017    By: pauldon
Ive had nothing but problems with sky, left me without broadband for 4 weeks down to their fault trying to pass blame on openreach, there customer service is hopeless

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 04th Dec, 2016    By: PickledTiger
So I live in a built up area (Canterbury). By no means a remote area in the countryside where you'd expect the internet to be poor. I'm a student who moved into this house in September. I found out that the previous student tenants left without handing over the account details over to the landlord so we didn't have access to the account details or cancelling the contract.
So i move in and begin to notice that the internet speeds are absolutely abysmal. Highest of 4.8mbps download on Speedtest.net and fairly frequently going as low as 0.5mbps. So i check what Sky are offering in the area and discover they advertise my postcode as up to 17mbps. Being frustrated and busy with 3rd year uni work, i quickly tweet to shame sky on what a joke their ISP is.
2 Days later i receive replies from Sky asking to private message them on twitter. From here i begin explaining the situation with the account details and speeds. They ask me to check what speeds i'm receiving and i tell them 4.5mbps and get told "yeah that sounds about right". When i voice my outrage at this I find someone else has picked up my issue on twitter and asks for my account details, so i have to explain YET AGAIN I haven't got the details along with pretty much my entire situation all over again because "Jason" clearly didn't bother reading the messages before.
Finally i managed to get Jason to refer me to speak to Sky experts on their website however every single time i have checked, they've been busy and we don't have a phone to call them and i have a cheap phone contract that doesn't give me a great deal of minutes to sit on a phone on hold for long periods of time without wracking up a large phone bill.
So not only is the actually service an absolute joke and terrible in terms of speeds being about on par with dial up internet but the general customer service i've received was lazy and poor.
Don't use Sky. They terrible. In many ways and as soon as i can get hold of their crappy sky "experts" i will be cancelling my contract and hopefully receiving some form of refund for the just awful service we've had.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 23rd Nov, 2016    By: timeless
lve been a customer of fibre for many years now.. and have always had a pretty solid connection, and support lve received has always been pretty good.

one grouch has always been the price, while l did spend some time looking at other ISP to see if l could get cheaper l decided to call sky on the off chance l could lower my bill somehow, and according to google its worth checking in every so often to see if new deals become available..

suffice to say called today, spoke to a rep and my bill has gone from £37 down to £25 per month (Fibre usually £20 now £15 line rental usually £17 now £10), turns out its well worth checking in with your ISP to see if there are deals for continued custom etc. (only reason l gave value a 9 was because before it wasnt as well priced as it is now).

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 13th Oct, 2016    By: Jbod
I have no broadband this morning because of admin errors. Today My service was switched across to Sky. But they have not sent me a sky hub (and they told me yesterday evening that they are not going to send me one as I have been rejected as a customer!).
Their letter of 1 Oct told me I had joined Sky and the hub would be sent to me. I have phoned twice to point out it had not arrived. (Dreadful telephone wait times). I told them what was about to happen, but they didn't seem concerned.
I am left with no internet in a rural area with a poor mobile signal.


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 05th Oct, 2016    By: replicon1
After a 6 month long very shaky start the service has been very reliable so far. The initial issue that was eventualy resolved after the 3rd engineer that was sent out found the root of the problem under the manhole cover outside the house. Be aware that if you call their customer support line from a mobile it may well cost you a fortune, I got stung for £20 after being kept on the line for 10 mins when my landline and broadband had stopped working.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 14th Oct, 2015    By: mlmclaren
I write this on behalf of a recently retired man!

His needs where simple, A broadband connection, good enough for 2 laptops and the odd bit of streaming!

Sky's Broadband Unlimited (ADSL) was perfect for them, they lived within a decent line length from the exchange and got a solid 10/1 service, this was great for him, a good value phone package for the wife too, Anytime Calls to Landlines was sufficient enough and TV that wasn't really needed but worked as promised.

So what prompted him to leave you may ask, well Sky followed in the tracks of other providers and upped the "line rental" by £1 (no biggy) But then notification came that as Sky has stopped selling the traditional Anytime UK Landline Calls at £5 and now released a new package £8 that included mobile he wouldn't have any choice but to move to such package.

Now he agreed that it was good value still, unlimited mobile calls swell as landline for £8 was great and no relying on pesky mobile signals, but unfortunately monthly outgoing's where going to need a cut due to his income being cut due to retirement.

Between myself and the gentleman we contact Sky's leaving department to haggle a new deal for new contract, the thought it would be wise to cancel TV due to the lack of use, but then said everything else looked fine, didn't mention anything about price rises and even when prompted wouldn't give any sort of loyalty discount or reward, even after being thanked for being a loyal customer for many years.

So that was that, no discount for loyal pensioner, but free for 12 months with a gift for a new customer... subsidisation at its best...

So an order has now been placed with a competitor that has offered him the same package with a few discounts, a voucher and even lower prices once the discounts run out (in 18 months)

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 18th Jun, 2015    By: H20afy
BEWARE have had a few broadband suppliers in the past I have to sky is appalling service all round never experienced such issues with a provider, had the service for a year constantly dropping service I mean at least up to 10 times a day speeds were terrible trying to run a business at home was made so terrible by these clowns and when u call them they go through the same robotic rubbish with you each time and fob u off luckily my contract has now expired and going to virgin they had the cheek to call and offer 12 months free line rental as I cancelled the contract but I told them to stick it were the sun doesn't shine, that take ur money and give u a poor poor service and think it's ok, best of it is my previous provider O2 was excellent but was bought by these muppets so overall if u want broadband stay away sky as they live in the sky I think lol do ur homework first.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 28th Apr, 2015    By: Holdon
Title: sky
Good service good manners prompt.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £15.00 (*25.00)
    Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £19.50 (*22.50)
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • NOW £20.00 (*32.00)
    Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Shell Energy £21.99 (*30.99)
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Plusnet £22.99 (*38.20)
    Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £70 Reward Card
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest Ultrafast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £20.00 (*35.00)
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £24.00 (*27.00)
    Speed: 100Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Community Fibre £25.00 (*29.50)
    Speed: 300Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Gigaclear £27.00 (*59.00)
    Speed: 500Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Virgin Media £27.00 (*51.00)
    Speed: 108Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (3500)
  2. BT (3008)
  3. Politics (1923)
  4. Building Digital UK (1917)
  5. FTTC (1882)
  6. Openreach (1821)
  7. Business (1677)
  8. Mobile Broadband (1469)
  9. Statistics (1405)
  10. FTTH (1364)
  11. 4G (1271)
  12. Fibre Optic (1166)
  13. Virgin Media (1159)
  14. Wireless Internet (1152)
  15. Ofcom Regulation (1139)
  16. Vodafone (836)
  17. EE (830)
  18. TalkTalk (760)
  19. 5G (760)
  20. Sky Broadband (744)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules