Reviews » Mobile Broadband » 

Three Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
19 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 13th Jun, 2019    By: Bitster
I live in a good Three signal area and have always preferred the flexibility of Mobile Broadband (MBB) over wired landline installations like ADSL.

I have a £12 a month 3G Three Mifi, capped at 20GB a month, but this soon gets eaten up with Netflix and the Amazon FireStick chomping through my allowance.

Three have been offering their Unlimited HomeFi for £22 a month, so I took the plunge and phoned for an upgrade.

Homefi (Huawei B311 Lite) arrived two days later, installation consisted of taking the SIM out of the MiFi and sticking it in the HomeFi.

Result is between 40-50 Mb/s down, and 25 Mb/s up.

The Homefi B311 router has only one Ethernet port, though it's Gigabit. A £15 ethernet switch extends this if needed.

There's also a phone jack on the back which is not operative, as mentioned on the Three web page.

Wifi is 2.5Ghz only.

One complication is my Sipgate Basic VOIP phone package. The handset is a Grandstream GXP1400 with two lines (SIP accounts). This works very well with the HomeFi router, the proviso being that the SIP ALG feature has to be disabled in the Homefi. No other configuration is needed.

So far, so good. I haven't need Three's support but others are reporting billing errors for the first month, so it's wise to check your Three account when you're up and running.



Time With Provider: 6 Years
Package Name: Three HomeFi Unlimited Mobile Broadband
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 07th Jan, 2019    By: Mark.J
Generally a reasonable operator. Support has always been fine, although their Online Account pages don't offer the same upgrade deals as you get in their stores. Data speed is a bit on the weak side but I don't expect much from the cheapest operator, which gave me a few extra GigaByte's than their rivals.

My only real 3 Mobile UK gripe is with how some of my text messages don't get delivered, which is not a problem I've had in this area on other operators. Network coverage is also a bit more patchy.

Good for the money though and the recent removal of their Tethering (Personal Hotspot) cap is most welcome.

Time With Provider: 7 Years
Package Name: Advanced Plan
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 14th Sep, 2017    By: pessimist
We rely on three for our main broadband connection (no fibre, very slow adsl). It failed today for the second time in a week. After 10 minutes we were in touch with their "customer service" operative. Told us they had a fault. We asked when it would be fixed. Told us they didn't know but would send us a text. We pointed out that their service was down and a text would not arrive, how about email (slow adsl is o.k. for that). Replied that they would send us a text.

Gave up.

The above is fairly typical of our experiences with their "customer services" - not much sign of "making it right".

If you have no alternative then use them. If there is an alternative I would suggest avoiding them like the plague.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 17th Sep, 2014    By: otester
Title: Meh - Wow
As long as you don't need the support they are good.

Average speed:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/3765384303.png

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 07th Apr, 2014    By: chrisl
I've been with Three for a few years and am pleased with their mobile broadband offering. I've used Three both on a mobile phone (The One Plan) and via a portable MiFi unit.

Coverage 6/10

Good coverage in the cities, varies indoors in some places. Seems to be on par with other networks when it comes to commuting, 3G drifting in and out of coverage. Overall I've had more availability from Three than I had from Orange, O2 and Vodafone, all of whom I have also used previously.

Three were happy to offer me a guarantee when I joined them - test for a week, if there is no coverage where I need it then I can cancel the contract with no penalty. I had full coverage and didn't need to. If you're unsure check the coverage maps and make a deal with them in person at your local Three store.

Services 7/10

Based on experience of mobile 3G coverage and also The One Plan. Data, throughput, voicemail, roaming, all standard stuff well implemented. Could be a bit slicker. Reliability has been good over the years I've used them with only a couple of half-day UK-wide wobbles on 3G recently, reported in the news when they happened.

Support 5/10

I've not really needed to use support but the phone support goes through to a foreign call center which is not very good and works to a script. That said, once you get someone who can help they tend to stick with you and try to resolve the problem as best they can.

Speed 10/10

Full marks here, Three's standard 3G is rapid and their DC-HSDPA "Ultrafast" 3G is not far off 4G speeds. 4G is rolling out now, available free to all customers who have suitable hardware, which is a good move considering how much the 4G incumbents want to charge for the privilege. Latency is quite poor at times but I think this is an artifact of mobile broadband in general.

Value 10/10

Full marks again. Great Ultrafast 3G and 4G speed and connectivity and realistic data packages at sensible prices. Happy customer.


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 14th Oct, 2012    By: Lux
Slow!

£15 and I got a much needed smart phone plus it is has unlimited data.

If you buy a just a sim card and put it in a phone that has an external antenna then you might get some nice speed. Plus If you do that you can have unlimited data with an annoynimous connection if you go via the pay as you go route.

http://www.gadgetsdealer.com/product162055.html

But when I was in the small Village I got no connection.

when I used orange I used up my data in one night even though it said unlimited. All I did was leave my gps on during the night and that broke the fair use. . .

In my review I am not going to count poor connection against three because I think phone manufacturers are simply not doing a good enough job because consumers don't pay attention to how well a phone connects, and so I think it is their fault.

The staff in the three store are no help.

In the end it is probably the best of a bad bunch.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 23rd Oct, 2011    By: DTMark
Just to update the below, written in January:

Cell has been upgraded.

Now have an Edimax router and the E367 modem.

Performance averages 5.4Mbps down and 1Mbps up, latency averages about 70ms

Best seen is 6.6Mbps down 1.7Mbps up.

All other comments as previously

--

Live 2.5km from the phone exchange, 2.8km from the Three cell.

ADSL manages a 1750 IP profile.

Three 3G averages between 2 and 3Mbps with the dongle indoors near a window. Local cell only 3.6Mbps, but due for upgrade to 7.2Mbps in 2011.

Speeds quite consistent, abandoned landline 2+ years ago in favour of 3G and haven't looked back - it can't match it.

No image compression, no apparent throttling of any particular protocols, YouTube and iPlayer stream find at standard definitions.

You need to change your port for SMTP to work (587 I think) but MS Exchange works as is.

One 2 day outage due to major issue with cell, took 48 hours to resolve. All other outages for upgrades informed in advance via control panel.

Latency averages 90ms so not good for gaming, but in every other way walks all over ADSL on a circa 3km long line.

A real alternative to ADSL with the proviso that we're in a rural area, and so I could possibly be one of only a handful of people using it.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 06th Sep, 2011    By: Pillz
Just thought i'd chuck a small review in here for 3 mobile broadband as ive been using it for a month now.

Positives:

Its fast
Its easy to connect plug and play
Its easy to top up
Great signal
You can game online with it!
30 pounds free credit (3gbs)

Negatives:

Its expensive
The support line im assuming maybe based in India

Its pretty easy to sum up 3 mobile broadband , its simple to use and the signal in my area is pretty good , im almost always maxed out on signal , it barely ever drops out for me and the download speeds are about 6meg , so around 700kbs tops! Ive gamed online with it you get about a 70 ping in London servers , and on world of warcraft i barely got any lag or drops at all it seemed to fine just as fine as threw the line broadband. You get a nice bundle of 30 pounds free credit as well when you first buy it , it easily trumps all its competitors for value for money when you first buy the dongle nearly all of the other company's don't give you free usage.

You can also get the pay per day services 2 pounds 99p 500megabytes to last you 24 hours which is ideal for a lot of people who just wanna quick browse during the day and night!

Overall.

7/10

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 25th May, 2011    By: overcorpes
Noticed advert in the paper from Three offering all you can eat data which also allowed tethering and at first was a bit dubious of the offer.Decided to chance my arm and am so glad i did.

First month in ive used 38 Gigs and i have not recieved any messages from Three telling me im a bad person.

I use my connection to stream from Iplayer,4od which in all honesty can get choppy between 6pm and 10 pm and gaming on both Xbox live and PSN which is absoultly fantastic (rock steady all through the day,and with a ping of 90-100ms allows me to be competative)

The only bug bear i have is the call centres,which are truly horrid.

So in closing i am one happy camper who is running a network of computer,Xbox and Ps3 from My HTC Hero.:)


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 06th Apr, 2011    By: steveinwales
Having tried to get a realisticly priced fixed line solution to my flat I failed. BT ran an advertising campaign offering a boradband package for £20. Looked good. Phoen them and found out it was actually £35 including the line rental.

Already being a three customer I decided to look inot what they could offer and discovered MiFi. Its great. Reliable connection that even allows me to use it for XBOX live (which was a real surprise).

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £15.00 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 30Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Code: FLASH19
  • Vodafone £22.00 (*24.00)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • TalkTalk £22.45
    Avg. Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Direct Save Telecom £22.95 (*29.95)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Origin Broadband £23.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2406)
  2. FTTP (1996)
  3. FTTC (1595)
  4. Building Digital UK (1547)
  5. Politics (1341)
  6. Openreach (1334)
  7. Business (1179)
  8. Statistics (1041)
  9. Mobile Broadband (966)
  10. FTTH (964)
  11. Fibre Optic (941)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (879)
  13. Wireless Internet (861)
  14. 4G (847)
  15. Virgin Media (808)
  16. Sky Broadband (574)
  17. TalkTalk (556)
  18. EE (555)
  19. Vodafone (469)
  20. Security (394)
Three - Mobile Broadband Rated 3.026315789473684 / 5 based on 19 reviews. 0. | Review Me
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules