Reviews » Mobile Broadband » 

Three Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
24 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 06th Jan, 2021    By: Buggerlugz
I Joined three's 4g home mobile broadband service at the end of August 2019. Went to a local three store, signed up, left with a Huawei B535 router. Initial impression was absolutely amazing. During the first fortnight I got over 100Mbps consistently 24/7. However after this point the download speeds started plummeting. If it was a coincidence that this was the end of the cooling off period or not, who knows. By December 2019 I was lucky to see 60Mbps during the day, dropping to 30Mbps in the evenings. Then new year 2019 happened. Between 29th December and 5 January the service nose dived into uselessness with numerous hours in the day having zero connectivity, or just having no bandwidth availability at all. It became the norm during this period to reboot the router numerous times per day just to get connectivity. All during this time my router reported 5 bars and great signal. Over the entire of 2020 the download speed has continued to fall. Now I am lucky to see 40Mbps for 3 hours per day dropping to less than 10Mbps in the evenings. Three customer support proves utterly useless in solving any issues, I wouldn't even recommend ringing them to report problems. It'll just frustrate you even more. Three is well aware of its problems, but continues to ignore its customers whilst signing up more and more to 24 month contracts. High contention is the norm now. Avoid.

Time With Provider: 15 Months
Package Name: Home Fi
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 10th Jun, 2020    By: Mford
I’m on Sky now, but copper cables so decided to try Three 5G, as I was a past relish customer. First off the download speeds are great 50-100MB, I’m in Barnsbury near the Kings Cross 5G mast.

But the broadband is not usable. The upload speed is around 1% of the download speed. I was testing with 100% score on the built in position checker (the thing was dangling out of a top floor window) and with ethernet the upload speeds were terrible (maxed out at 5Mbps).

I’m not sure why they decided an asymmetrical speeds are usable, because as soon as anyone tries to use it for anything other than streaming it will grind to a haunt, it’s not even enough to do a video call.

Ended up cancelling and retuning on day one.

Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name: 5G Boradband Wifi
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 08th Jun, 2020    By: alrumbles
Title: Recommend
living in a rural area, broadband speeds are terrible. Took about HomeFi with Three and getting speeds of 50meg down and 20meg up.

Time With Provider: 6 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 06th Mar, 2020    By: Makendon
Delighted initially with the Three home broadband service.

Noticed they were overcharging - took three months to resolve

Then, bang.... internet starts playing up. Strangely the home broadband stops, but the 4g on my phone ( also from Three) is 25-30mbs.

Can’t wait for the contract to end

Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 24th Feb, 2020    By: cg0
I left Three half a year ago so this is my review of my experience up until then.

When I first joined I had a 30GB contract SIM which was instantly bumped up to unlimited by staff when my wifi calling didn't work which was a nice upgrade.

The network was fine, it wasn't amazingly fast but for the price it did all it needed to and allowed me to stream video on the go. Any issues I had would end up getting fixed with credit applied.

Then it took a turn for the worst, more and more areas seemed to be under capacity. Started off with an area on the way to the city centre, then most of the route, then the train station. I complained about it and was given credit but nothing happened, then more and more areas became affected, I could no longer get signal in Birmingham New Street despite getting very good speeds before, the area on my way to work is now under capacity.

I decided it was enough and cancelled the contract, I had a bunch of empty promises of how it will be fixed soon and 5G will save us all but I had enough and left. This is a very situational issue but the way this was all handled should be known before joining.

I have since checked the areas in question on their issues checker, still reported as under capacity and will be fixed soon almost a year after being reported.

Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 13th Jun, 2019    By: Bitster
I live in a good Three signal area and have always preferred the flexibility of Mobile Broadband (MBB) over wired landline installations like ADSL.

I have a £12 a month 3G Three Mifi, capped at 20GB a month, but this soon gets eaten up with Netflix and the Amazon FireStick chomping through my allowance.

Three have been offering their Unlimited HomeFi for £22 a month, so I took the plunge and phoned for an upgrade.

Homefi (Huawei B311 Lite) arrived two days later, installation consisted of taking the SIM out of the MiFi and sticking it in the HomeFi.

Result is between 40-50 Mb/s down, and 25 Mb/s up.

The Homefi B311 router has only one Ethernet port, though it's Gigabit. A £15 ethernet switch extends this if needed.

There's also a phone jack on the back which is not operative, as mentioned on the Three web page.

Wifi is 2.5Ghz only.

One complication is my Sipgate Basic VOIP phone package. The handset is a Grandstream GXP1400 with two lines (SIP accounts). This works very well with the HomeFi router, the proviso being that the SIP ALG feature has to be disabled in the Homefi. No other configuration is needed.

So far, so good. I haven't need Three's support but others are reporting billing errors for the first month, so it's wise to check your Three account when you're up and running.



Time With Provider: 6 Years
Package Name: Three HomeFi Unlimited Mobile Broadband
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 07th Jan, 2019    By: Mark.J
Generally a reasonable operator. Support has always been fine, although their Online Account pages don't offer the same upgrade deals as you get in their stores. Data speed is a bit on the weak side but I don't expect much from the cheapest operator, which gave me a few extra GigaByte's than their rivals.

My only real 3 Mobile UK gripe is with how some of my text messages don't get delivered, which is not a problem I've had in this area on other operators. Network coverage is also a bit more patchy.

Good for the money though and the recent removal of their Tethering (Personal Hotspot) cap is most welcome.

Time With Provider: 7 Years
Package Name: Advanced Plan
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 14th Sep, 2017    By: pessimist
We rely on three for our main broadband connection (no fibre, very slow adsl). It failed today for the second time in a week. After 10 minutes we were in touch with their "customer service" operative. Told us they had a fault. We asked when it would be fixed. Told us they didn't know but would send us a text. We pointed out that their service was down and a text would not arrive, how about email (slow adsl is o.k. for that). Replied that they would send us a text.

Gave up.

The above is fairly typical of our experiences with their "customer services" - not much sign of "making it right".

If you have no alternative then use them. If there is an alternative I would suggest avoiding them like the plague.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 17th Sep, 2014    By: otester
Title: Meh - Wow
As long as you don't need the support they are good.

Average speed:

http://www.speedtest.net/result/3765384303.png

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 07th Apr, 2014    By: chrisl
I've been with Three for a few years and am pleased with their mobile broadband offering. I've used Three both on a mobile phone (The One Plan) and via a portable MiFi unit.

Coverage 6/10

Good coverage in the cities, varies indoors in some places. Seems to be on par with other networks when it comes to commuting, 3G drifting in and out of coverage. Overall I've had more availability from Three than I had from Orange, O2 and Vodafone, all of whom I have also used previously.

Three were happy to offer me a guarantee when I joined them - test for a week, if there is no coverage where I need it then I can cancel the contract with no penalty. I had full coverage and didn't need to. If you're unsure check the coverage maps and make a deal with them in person at your local Three store.

Services 7/10

Based on experience of mobile 3G coverage and also The One Plan. Data, throughput, voicemail, roaming, all standard stuff well implemented. Could be a bit slicker. Reliability has been good over the years I've used them with only a couple of half-day UK-wide wobbles on 3G recently, reported in the news when they happened.

Support 5/10

I've not really needed to use support but the phone support goes through to a foreign call center which is not very good and works to a script. That said, once you get someone who can help they tend to stick with you and try to resolve the problem as best they can.

Speed 10/10

Full marks here, Three's standard 3G is rapid and their DC-HSDPA "Ultrafast" 3G is not far off 4G speeds. 4G is rolling out now, available free to all customers who have suitable hardware, which is a good move considering how much the 4G incumbents want to charge for the privilege. Latency is quite poor at times but I think this is an artifact of mobile broadband in general.

Value 10/10

Full marks again. Great Ultrafast 3G and 4G speed and connectivity and realistic data packages at sensible prices. Happy customer.


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £22.00
    Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: HYPER21
  • Plusnet £22.50 (*36.52)
    Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £60 Reward Card
  • Onestream £22.50 (*27.99)
    Speed 45Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • xln telecom £22.74 (*47.94)
    Speed 66Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £22.95
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest Ultrafast ISPs
  • Vodafone £26.00
    Speed: 100Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Virgin Media £27.99 (*51.00)
    Speed: 108Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £29.00 (*35.00)
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: HYPER21
  • TalkTalk £32.00 (*39.95)
    Speed: 145Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Giganet £35.00
    Speed: 200Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (3050)
  2. BT (2886)
  3. FTTC (1835)
  4. Building Digital UK (1815)
  5. Politics (1777)
  6. Openreach (1710)
  7. Business (1544)
  8. FTTH (1351)
  9. Mobile Broadband (1345)
  10. Statistics (1321)
  11. 4G (1158)
  12. Fibre Optic (1109)
  13. Wireless Internet (1081)
  14. Virgin Media (1072)
  15. Ofcom Regulation (1069)
  16. EE (767)
  17. Vodafone (747)
  18. TalkTalk (717)
  19. Sky Broadband (704)
  20. 5G (630)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules