Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Vivaciti Reviews

Sponsored Links
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
26 Reviews
Value
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 08th May, 2017    By: Bastien
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Vivaciti (J and V data services ltd) violated every possible rules and regulations in their scheme to [redacted] money from me by holding my internet as hostage. Long story short, after much dispute, they sued me, I countersued, I won, judge ordered them to pay, and they won't pay.

What I have learned is Vivaciti (J and V data) is run by people who will [redacted], my internet was held for [redacted] while they suspended my internet, trapping me by blocking my migration, prevented me seeking help on forums with threats and lies, freely changing the T&C, abused my data, violated my privacy, denied me from ADR, harassed me for absurd amounts, they have proven to be completely unreasonable, and absolutely corrupt.

Just want to share a story of how this company did all the wrong things and then lost in court, ordered to pay, and now won't pay up.

Vivaciti (J and V data) was my ISP since 2013, but in December 2015 I was moving to a different place hence had to move my broadband with me. I was quoted £8 for the move but was billed many extra items afterwards. I disputed the bill, but then Vivaciti proceeded to: (in no chronological order)

- immediately suspend my internet
- ironically, continue to communicate to me with emails
- "no pay, no internet"
- fabricated a 12 month contract to try to charge me extra (I was on a monthly contract)
- blocked my migration to another ISP (very against OFCOM codes) to trap me
- and on top of that suddenly terminating my service permanently with zero notice (so now I cannot migrate and have to pay extra for line reactivation)
- exposed my personal data on a public forum (data protection don't allow this)
- threatened to sue me because of me sharing some of the emails
- socially engineered a forum thread to close down thereby stopping me from getting help (a typical tactic in [redacted])
- stalked me on social media which is very against data protection rules (on data collection) imagine the jump scare when "[name redacted] from J and V data has viewed your profile"
- lied to ADR saying the case was closed to make them dismiss my complain (but eventually I got to ADR the second time)
- sent debt collection after me and harassed me for payment of arbitrary and absurd amounts
- falsifying T&C in stealth by editing their website to match their narratives (luckily I had screenshots)
- and then sued me in small claim purely as scare tactic to divert my second ADR attempt (although the ADR succeeded and I was offered compensation, it was well into the court process, too little too late)

I countersued. I printed out all the emails and screenshots and went to the court hearing.

And then I won. Now Vivaciti (J and V data) owes me £351. But now they won't pay up.

The judge ordered the amount to be paid on or before 25 April 2017, but no payment so far.

Edit: redacted sensitive lines

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 16th Nov, 2015    By: wiv
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Been with Vivaciti since 2011 and the customer service was quite responsive. Since upgrading to FTTC in March 2015 they have had capacity problems and I have had six outages lasting from a few hours to a couple of days every time Microsoft updates are released. The outages are not complete disconnections, but the speed drops to below 3mbit, and sometimes less than 1mbit from my normal connection speed of 55mbit. (>95% slower).

TAP3 tests confirm the issue is with Vivaciti and they have repeatedly told me they have increased capacity but the problem does not get solved. I asked them to terminate my contract early and they refused. I am now in the process of taking further action against them for breach of contract.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 28th Sep, 2015    By: Rob
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Excellent service: if they\'re not on the line, they phone back quickly and they\'re helpful. Upgrading and downgrading is a matter of an email. Superb speeds. I think it\'s worth paying that little bit extra rather than regretting using one of the other services.
UPDATE, one year on:
I stand by my previous opinion. Also, as I am about to do a lot abroad, I am cancelling my broadband so I can comment on their closure facilities. They have been very flexible and helpful. Once again, excellent.
UPDATE
My previous reviews of Vivaciti were in 2007 and 2008, after which I moved away. On both occasions, as you can see above, I was congratulatory.

Being a loyal person when reasonably possible, on my return, I went back to Vivaciti over autumn 2014 to autumn 2015. Unfortunately, they have slipped.

There have been quite a few slowdowns. I have found hq rather loathe to do much; everything is an effort to them and their answer is to
ask the subscriber to carry out a whole range of tests, none of which are collated or used to the best of my knowledge. When I gave notice, they asked me why and I explained it. Then, later, when I made sure that notice was given, the same person asked me again. The final, rather odd, thing was that they billed me extra (admittedly it was a small sum which they wouldn't follow up because it wasn't worth it), because I transferred a day before my contract was due to expire. Yes, a charge for using their services - services I had paid for in advance - a bit less! So presumably, had I moved rather earlier to another service, they would have surcharged me handsomely!
I tried to find out the logic behind it, but did not receive a logical answer, not that a logical answer was likely (charging extra for using a service less - sounds right doesn't it).

Sorry, but Vivaciti is now a service rendered begrudgingly. Their original selling point was 'you get what you pay for'. Sorry, but there are other 'premium' services that cost less
but would appear to be better. I'm now trying Uno and will review after a while.



Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Posted: 26th Jan, 2015    By: cyclope
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
I joined Vivaciti several months ago on the 02 wholesale annex m package, from Be retail,
My base latency saw an overall increase, Due to the way things got routed onto Entanet's network,
My connection became very unstable over the short time that i was with vivaciti, and entanet support where IMO useless
The one improvement was no buffering with bbc i player, but that didn't justify the premium in price for me, so i moved on

As Vivaciti have responded re my review, without wishing into getting into an argument, I would like to say that i have all the e-mail's from vivacti, and there is only one reply opening of the ticket, this issue was never resolved hence why i migrated away

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Posted: 03rd Jul, 2014    By: teaker1s
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
the face of it it looked a good static ip deal,until the repeated unusable connection or ghosting on network meaning you couldn't log in. Over a week of no internet access and no compensation as you pay asdl not service. The final straw they give me notice of change to another provider and login details, only to tell me that the service isn't available and I can either choose another product or migrate. So this evening without warning my website goes down, I've been given a mac code and am in process of moving to zen active as I wait to see if my dad will regain consciousness in intensive care. So my advice is avoid vivaciti like the plague, they are neither cheap reliable or customer focused. Further to this Glenn Cash their customer services manager initiated email contact, he has absolutely no compassion and after stating that they needed to know when I was migrating "Please stop billing on my account and further to this I have put what I believe to be an honest review http://www.reviewcentre.com/Broadband-Reviews/Vivaciti-Broadband-www-vivaciti-com-review_2696029?utm_source=trigger_email&utm_medium=email&utm_campaign=Review_Approved On 27 Jun 2014 16:16, wrote: > > When do I have to jump ship as Zen 200gb limit fits my purpose- but I want to get what I have paid for before leaving. When do I need to decide date wise please?" *******@vivaciti.com "If you want to throw your toys out of the pram then you are barking up the wrong tree, I just work here, and I sleep well at night with the knowledge that I do all I can to help people. I would thank you to not send anything further to my email address." So he initiated the emails asking for conformation when I intended to leave. If you want spitefulness, poor reliablity and zero compensation when you internet stops for a week and as server running on it so does your website- join VIVACITI. For a minor amount more I get double the bandwidth with ZEN. If I don't get an apology from Vivaciti for their customer service managers egotistical behaviour- the emails and recorded telephone call will find it's way on youtube

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 25th Mar, 2014    By: Old dude
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
While not the most expensive of ISPs, they are not cheap, and support is useless. Moved to ADSL max, and had nothing but problems. Instead of helping, they have not endless questions but never raised it to their provider (seemingly talk talk for the LLU) and didn't give me the MAC code when first asked. I'm still waiting, although it hasn't yet been 5 working days yet. Funnily enough, my connection has gotten vastly worse since asking for the MAC code. Avoid.

ISPreview Sanctioned 'Right to Reply' (RtR) by Vivaciti Follows (DO NOT REMOVE)

Related Rule(s) - http://www.ispreview.co.uk/rules.shtml#3

A number of changes were made to try to resolve your issue with the carriers and ourselves, and the last reply to us was that your service had stabilised. Before closing the fault down we asked if the service was still stable and had no reply, so closed the ticket down. As we had no reply it is not possible for us to know a fault has reoccurred without it being raised to us.


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 05th Jul, 2013    By: Yingo
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Title: Vivaciti
I have been with Vivaciti (Using TalkTalk LLU equipment) now for just over a year, what a wonderful service I have had.

Before choosing Vivaciti, I did look at all the good options in front of me, AA, Xilo etc ... but went ahead with Vivaciti

My previous ISP (who I was happy with for over 10 years !) was brought out by one of the "big boys" and service levels dipped which prompted me to change supplier.

My internet speed is very fast as the exchange is just round the corner from me, but obviously speeds varies depending how far away you live from the exchange.

Keep up the good work !





Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Posted: 28th May, 2012    By: neolojik
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
I swapped from A&A to Vivaciti 2 months ago when our need for more peak usage increased. Whilst I was never displeased with A&A, their peak usage charges were quite, understandably, expensive.

With the unbundling of my local exchange I began looking for a TalkTalk reseller which met my needs and I found Vivaciti.

My pre-sales questions were answered quickly and expertly, and my entire migration was almost seamless. There was a small hitch regarding my login but that was quickly solved and customer support phoned me back exactly when they said they would =)

I moved on to Surfwise Variety with the file-share bolt-on. Now we can use the internet when we want, as much as we want, for less than the monthly fee to A&A. Speeds, pings, uptime are all excellent.

I never thought another ISP would come close to the service I received with A&A, but I'm more than happy with Vivaciti.

Keep up the fantastic work!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Posted: 27th May, 2012    By: EmznEmz
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
We've been with Vivaciti for a few months now, so thought I'd write a review now there's been a chance to see what Vivaciti are like to live with, so to speak.

We're on the Premium Annex M package and receive higher speeds that with the previous ISP (Utility Warehouse TalkTalk LLU). We were getting 13Mb down and 1Mb up before, and are now receiving 14.2Mb down and 1.6Mb up (This is with Annex M on, so trading some download speed for an increase in upload speed, and Fastpath/SNR at 3dB). Fastpath also lowered the ping, so great for gaming.

Can't fault the service, everything has been sorted out fast enough for our liking, and the service has been solid as a rock.

Current prices are £27.60 pcm for the package, not as cheap as some other ISPs but for the standard of service and stable connection the wee bit extra is worth it.

Package also comes with email and webspace, should you need it. Just signed up for their web hosting service as well, so will update on that side as and when.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Posted: 16th Jan, 2011    By: Kyle
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Please see http://www.ispreview.co.uk/talk/showthread.php?t=30557 to read the full review as I was capped to a maximum of 500 words!

A good read if you're thinking of joining this sham of a business...

--------------

I am not one for writing reviews, but I thought I owed Vivaciti justice for the fantastic service!

I have been with a large number of ISP's over the years, even having a dabble with my own dialup ISP at one point!

However, for the last year, I have been on BT BB Option 3 and whilst I have only had one problem which was rectified with a quick call, the biggest downfall was price: £45 a month for internet.

I decided that I wanted to leave, although I was nervous as generally, the service had been quite good. After much deliberation, I stumbled upon Vivaciti. Naturally, I was nervous, as the Surfwise package (LR+BB) is LLU and we all know too well what happens when the likes of TalkTalk take over your line! Coincidentally, that's why I ended up with BT as I gave TalkTalk a second chance but they put an end to my custom for referring me to a debt collections agency when I hadn't even had a bill produced. Another story, I know...!

However, I am seriously pleased with Vivaciti. Given, their website is not flash and fancy and they don't do jingles but that's what I enjoy about them. It's a bit like many moons ago, when you used to find a well-hidden ISP on dialup that you could always connect to after every 2 hour session! ;)

I award full marks for support, speed and value. Although I don't have any problems with not getting webspace or e-mail as I have my own, they are not offered. More of an observation, rather than a critique.

Seriously, my speed has gone from 5.33 Meg with BT to 10.26 Meg with Vivaciti and in return, I am paying £15 per month less! I really can't complain and I hope I don't have to!

Signup was painless, it switched on the agreed date and all was completed by 9AM.

Well done Vivaciti! If you are on one of their exchanges, I would highly recommend them! You can't go wrong!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £17.99
    Speed 33Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • UtilityWarehouse £19.99
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
  • NOW £24.00
    Speed 63Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £24.00
    Speed 73 - 82Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Shell Energy £24.99
    Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest Ultrafast ISPs
  • Gigaclear £17.00
    Speed: 200Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Zzoomm £19.95
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • YouFibre £19.99
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Community Fibre £20.00
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • BeFibre £21.00
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £25 Love2Shop Card
Large Availability | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Sponsored Links
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (5389)
  2. BT (3490)
  3. Politics (2494)
  4. Openreach (2275)
  5. Business (2222)
  6. Building Digital UK (2215)
  7. FTTC (2038)
  8. Mobile Broadband (1940)
  9. Statistics (1763)
  10. 4G (1639)
  11. Virgin Media (1591)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (1438)
  13. FTTH (1379)
  14. Wireless Internet (1378)
  15. Fibre Optic (1376)
  16. 5G (1215)
  17. Vodafone (1126)
  18. EE (1111)
  19. TalkTalk (927)
  20. O2 (916)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules