Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

BT Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
157 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 24th Sep, 2021    By: handsomeinked
When FTTP/H became available in my area I took a risk and went with BT as they were the only service provider offering 1Gbps. I had hoped that as a business they may have improved, alas I was sorely disappointed: Their router is not fit for a Gigabit (900Mbps as BT call it) service, it's the same hub used for VDSL so you instantly lose an ethernet port. As for the customer service, the people clearly try but there still seems to be the attitude that "We're the incumbent we can do as we please, if you don't like it go elsewhere (once you're no longer locked in).. Avoid at ALL costs. As for the speed, I'm lucky if I get over 700Mbps but as that's above their speed guarantee they don't seem to care! Honestly if I could give them zero I would.
*Update* Following a lot of testing of different config, I have found that with BT's hub connected to the ONT, the wifi off and my router in Access Point mode I hit an average of 800Mbps however when I'm using my router to establish the connection I am lucky to get more than 500Mbps. All the same cables are used in both setups only with the addition of another CAT6a cable from the ONT to the BT Hub. Quite honestly I am beyond furious and will go back to Virgin Media (yes I can't believe I'm saying that) as soon as the contract is over.

Time With Provider: 6 Months
Package Name: FTTP 900Mbps
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 23rd Aug, 2021    By: SLY1961
Update on the below- Openreach cable eng with a level of perseverance found the fault to be a cable that he said was lead and decades-old. in addition, the line was joined Heath Robinson style by the window fitters. Once new copper restored stability. BT need to learn from this and give the chap a pay rise and identify these infrastructure issues earlier. Got a refund and halved the £50 charge


In short, I am a long term customer paying £50 per month and getting constant line drops on an FTTC service. BT seem content to close the case after their eng and Openreach find no fault. I have a new Openreach master socket and a Draytek 2862 CPE and I know the problem is either at the Exchange or the cabinet or the copper line to the house. I have discovered that BT is not LLU at the exchange and VF, SKY and Talk Talk are LLU. A friend advises this may make a difference as BT are piggybacking on the other LLU ISP kit. I am moving to another ISP as the speeds have now dropped to under 50% of the BT guarantee the worst thing is not having a reliable, consistent and predictable service. My advice is don't use them unless you really have zero choices. Also check out on SamKnows where your exchange and cabinet is located and which ISP has LLU, as this may make a difference.

Time With Provider: 15 Years
Package Name: Fibre with BT Halo 1
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 17th Jul, 2021    By: pcoventry
Migrated to BT Internet. Smarthub 2 arrived the day before and the connection started off good with IPv6 and really good wifi signal. I am happy so far with my connection. Also got unlimited calls thrown in too. Not use support yet - not had to The Wifi is good when out and about

Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name: Home Essentials
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 15th Jun, 2021    By: MU
BT's service is appalling to the point of being fraudulent. I have had 9 visits by incompetent workmen who in most cases could not complete the work they came to do. I have also had 2 appointments cancelled without any notification. It's now 4 months since I started the contract and I still do not have the full service I paid for. Customer service is unhelpful and do not care if your installation is working but are only concerned with your payments. I have been lied to about the cost of the service and given incorrect information about future increases. I believe they are knowingly defrauding elderly users such as myself and will be reporting BT to Ofcom.

Time With Provider: 4 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 03rd May, 2021    By: TheProfessor
Good all round

I want my broadband to come close to 100% reliable

To achieve this you need a backup from another network

With BT Hybrid connect I have got a 4G Backup

I did send a message last year saying I was looking for it and here it is

Time With Provider: 13 Years
Package Name: BT Broadband Hybrid connect
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 31st Mar, 2021    By: jameshart012
Title: BT FTTP
After having this package for a year I’d like to share my experience of it.
BT offered me an upgrade from their 150Mb package at 44.99 to this 910Mb package at 54.99, an absolute bargain in my eyes.
Speed is exceptional and the support (the one time I needed it) was great. This is the cheapest “1Gbps” service in my area.
Even through the worlds events of the last year, this service has performed exceptionally well, handling 10’s of Terabytes of data each month with no downtime.
I’d really recommend if you have FTTP to strongly consider this package. It even includes a next day 4G router if your fixed line service goes offline.

Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name: Full Fibre 900 with Halo 2
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 23rd Jan, 2021    By: Tomhumph97
I have had several Internet providers. Three 4G wireless broadband and Sky over a copper line. I chosen BT our home got upgraded to full fibre BT Fibre 900 at the end of 2020. Wow speeds are fantastic but on it just seemed that I needed another Wi-fi 6 router ASUS AX88U to Max the speed over wireless as the current BT SH2 was not capable to reach 900 mbps download speed wirelessly. I had the complete Wi-fi package but unfortunately I didn’t realise that it would not work with third party router so it now collecting dust in the cupboard- but third party router ASUS AX88U signal range capable of reaching around the house better the BT SH 2 even with Complete Wi-fi.

Value Contract is lengthy 24 months it’s very pricey at £65 month , Cityfibre seem to be a lot cheaper but that was not available for the property. but you get what you pay for to be honest a lot faster than our previous unstable Three UK4G home broadband.
It a shame that I had to purchase a separate Router as BT could not provide a dedicated Wi-fi 6 router to provide that are on the 900 Package the speed I bet probably they will release one with Wi-fi 6 before end of the year to make up for it.

Excellent support service from BT but takes a long wait to be able to speak to an advisor.


Time With Provider: 2 Months
Package Name: Fibre 900
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 05th Oct, 2020    By: Weather_Jude
Had since 2018 over 2 addresses. First one had a faulty line which they replaced for free. Then it worked well but was far from cabinet so couldn't go over 40mbps. Moved to new house in March and the connection here is amazing. Consistent 65mbps down and 19mbps up. It drops to like 62mbps at peak times but you don't even notice unless you do a speed test. Ping is extremely low which means it's great for gamers. Even using 5ghz WiFi there is no lags or jitter. The smart hub 2 covers my house with strong signal everywhere and the WiFi disc supplied covers the large garden completely and that came in very handy during the summer. Overall I will be sticking with bt and have had nothing but good experiences and miles better than the "200mbps" connection I had with virgin 3 years ago. 10/10 great isp aslong as the area is good.

Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name: Bt fibre 2 (up to 76mbps)
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 10th Jul, 2020    By: mistermuttley
Have had several Internet providers. Talktalk useless ,smaller companies not too bad. BT are the only company I have used twice. First time initial speeds seemed good but as the contract carried on it just seemed to get slower and slower with others in the house also noticing this. Switched to Sky and for the contract the speed always seemed decent, 18 months. After Sky would not give me a deal which they were offering to new customers and expected me to pay silly prices for their service, I went back to BT. Exactly the same as before initial speeds were good , but over time it just got slower and slower. So going back now to Sky. If they keep the speeds the same through the contract I may just stay with them this time. Are BT manipulating the speeds for their customers? I don't know but having had 2 contracts with them now, it certainly looks like it.

Time With Provider: 18 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th May, 2020    By: Wilf
I have three properties with BT fttp installed. Then install process at 2 of them was very smooth, the other less so. The property which had large delays, due to openreach, was given a free adsl line for the 3 month delay, and bt compensated £5 per day during the delay, so they coped with it well.

I have frequently changed add ons on the plan, tv and phone, very easily. I believe all BT call centres are back in the UK, and I have found them very helpful, if a little slow on some occasions.

Speed is good on fttp very little fluctuation, but still in early uptake days, will keep updated if that changes as more people take and lines become more congested.

I use BT smart hub 2 at 2 properties, both perform very well - good coverage up to modern 5 bed.

Overall I am pleased with fttp performance.

Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name: Ultrafast 1/2
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Vodafone £19.50 (*22.50)
    Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • NOW £20.00 (*32.00)
    Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £20.00 (*25.00)
    Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: BIRTHDAY10
  • Shell Energy £21.99 (*30.99)
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Plusnet £22.00 (*38.20)
    Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £60 Reward Card
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest Ultrafast ISPs
  • Gigaclear £24.00 (*49.00)
    Speed: 300Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £24.00 (*27.00)
    Speed: 100Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Community Fibre £25.00 (*27.50)
    Speed: 200Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £25.00 (*35.00)
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Promo Code: BIRTHDAY10
  • Virgin Media £28.00 (*52.00)
    Speed: 108Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (3552)
  2. BT (3021)
  3. Politics (1935)
  4. Building Digital UK (1924)
  5. FTTC (1887)
  6. Openreach (1834)
  7. Business (1690)
  8. Mobile Broadband (1478)
  9. Statistics (1408)
  10. FTTH (1365)
  11. 4G (1276)
  12. Fibre Optic (1172)
  13. Virgin Media (1167)
  14. Wireless Internet (1159)
  15. Ofcom Regulation (1147)
  16. Vodafone (845)
  17. EE (834)
  18. 5G (770)
  19. TalkTalk (769)
  20. Sky Broadband (747)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules