Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

CIX Reviews

Sponsored Links
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
57 Reviews
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Posted: 07th Jul, 2012    By: YellerBelly
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
I was migrated from TalkTalk to ICUK on the 22nd of December without any fuss or difficulty, It took about 6 hours or a bit less for BT to get it done. Since then everything has been fine, My router is currently showing 17912 down & 443 up (ADSL2+) which is an improvement on TT's LLU.
The control panel for my account keeps track of everything I need to know, bb usage, calls made with their cost etc.

Early days, but I'm well satisfied so far.

The present ratings I've given are not a very good guide as it's too early to give a considered analysis, so I'll update them in a few weeks time.

6 months or so since I posted the above.
Not a lot to say, & that's a compliment. Sync speed is far better than TT LLU was. Now about 20000kbps, stable connection. Quick response to queries I've made. I was on 20meg monthly limit, but I've found that 10 is ample for my needs. I was able to change it online myself & cut monthly costs by £4. Phone calls are DIRT CHEAP - 1p + VAT for UK & about 1.8p + VAT for USA.
Total cost per month not much more than TT from a far more trustworthy company.

Well worth consideration if you're looking for a new ISP

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Posted: 27th Feb, 2012    By: jheath001
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Been with ICUK for just over a year. Generally very good. Recently though had alot of dropped connections whilst using my iPad2. Telephoned support (only Monday to Friday) and to be honest, not that impressed. Reset router. Check. Check for router update. Check. Migrated from their legacy infrastructure to new. Check. Problems remain. Error on iPad are words to the effect, "Cannot find server...." even though we had been surfing on another page on the website. I clear history, clear history and renew the lease on the router. This remedies the issue but it is hugely annoying.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Posted: 30th Jan, 2012    By: saltire1954
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Been with them since 2006.

Services comprehensive, wish they did VoIP too.

Service speed has slipped a bit in recent months, and quality of support a little variable too. Will stick with them for now, but hope it's not an augury of a further decline as user numbers ramp up.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Posted: 26th Dec, 2011    By: rayjay
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
This is an update of earlier reviews now that I’m coming up to the end of my second year with ICUK.

I switched to them after suffering sub-dialup speeds that my previous ISP was unable to resolve. I can’t expect lightning fast connections through our small rural exchange but ICUK provided a remarkably consistent performance at all hours of day and night. A year or so ago I found that the speed had fallen off. ICUK’s support team - who have continued to provide the excellent service I experienced when I migrated - quickly identified the problem and soon had me back to full speed again. More recently they introduced a major new revamp of their system (which included a free substantial increase in my download quota): briefly I encountered more erratic speeds, but when I contacted them about it they sorted it within a few hours and since then downloads have always been around 7 Mb/s, right at the top end of what the exchange can provide and substantially faster than anyone else I know round here.

The entire set-up is very user-friendly: helpful people at the other end of a phone or responding very quickly to emails, and with an online Control Panel providing detailed and clearly presented information and allowing the user to make instantaneous alterations and additions to the service.

One or two reviewers have commented that ICUK is not the cheapest provider - but that’s not what value is about. You only have to glance at a sample of reviews of the big cheap ISPs to recognise that even if their prices were half of ICUK’s they would be grossly over-charging in terms of what they provide for the money.

I also run my landline phone through ICUK: no problems and inexpensive.

In short, I cannot recommend them too highly.


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Posted: 04th Sep, 2011    By: wasa
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
They provide perfect and fast speeds all day, and truly unlimited usage.

If your speeds aren't good, I will bet you it is your own router, change that and everything should work.

(icuk won't ask you to change the router but they will try everything humanly possible to make sure the line on their side is good, but frankly most internet problems are router problems so it wasted a lot of time and complaining...)

With that in mind however, I think this ISP is wonderful and has opened up the internet in amazing ways.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Posted: 02nd Aug, 2011    By: SickCat
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Having spent more than two years with ICUK's 8MB Home product I am overall more than happy with their service. There's only been one outage in that time and that was sorted within a couple of hours.

Download speeds were excellent whatever the time of day and pings were invariably excellent too. I Found myself connecting with a 7MB profile instead of a 3MB that I used to with my previous ISP (ADSL24).

But now I am leaving, I am leaving because recently they've become almost unusable some days. When ICUK are having a bad day, which seems more and more frequent lately, they're really bad. You can forget about watching iPlayer or even waiting for a Gmail to load. But they assure me this will all be fixed when they migrate to their new network. But that's not soon enough for me!

Good luck ICUK :)

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Posted: 02nd Apr, 2011    By: otester
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Title: Great!
When I had a house at uni I choose them as they were in the Top10 and supplied unmetered LLU, no hidden stuff like traffic management/protocol shaping/AUP/FUP etc.

1km from the exchange, got 14Mbps / 0.8Mbps 24/7 with ~30ms ping. BT engineer said I had an aluminium line :(

Interestingly it seems ISPs that market 16Mbps, do it because they only dedicate enough bandwidth for 16Mbps, control panel said up to 5.5TB, which equates to using a 16Mbps connection all month. So if you got the full 24Mbps you go over the top, whether they or any others in their position would act remains to be seen.

Never needed support but I know from calling them regarding sales/cancellation they were quick to answer.

When it came to the end of my year at the house, cancelling was no problem.

Definitely recommend this ISP and if I am in their LLU coverage area again I will definately consider them.

The cost was £25 which is slightly higher than their competition however the service/support justifies this.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Posted: 02nd Feb, 2011    By: Mahneb
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
They are just poor in my opinion..

Problems with speed and they did absolutely nthing to sort out the problem.

I am Migrating....at my cost.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 02nd Dec, 2010    By: crvyaxley
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
I have had my telephone calls through ICUK for some years and always found their service to be excellent. My broadband, however, was with Ukonline. I was paying for a 2Mbps service but never got speeds much above 650 Kbps; often much lower. When I raised this with Ukonline they muttered about the line quality and my home telephone wiring and basically didn't want to know. So when Sky decided to give UKonline the chop, I decided to migrate to ICUK.

Their broadband service is also brilliant. The day I got my MAC from UKO (22 November), I was able to set up my account with ICUK. I then got an email telling me the transfer would be completed on 25th November. I was able to see the progress of the transfer process and set up a new e-mail address and use it immediately.

My phone calls were answered immediately by knowledgeable staff and emails were answered very quickly.

I found on the 25th that my connection speed was reported by my modem as 6.2 Mbps (expected speed was upto 8 Mbps and line tests had suggested I should get around 5.5 Mbps. I was therefore well pleased until I did a BT speedtest and found the actual speed was only 975 Kbps and the "IP Profile" was set to 1000 Kbps.

When I queried this by email to ICUK (on the Thursday afternoon), I got an immediate response telling me they would look into it, speak to BT and let me know. The next morning I was delighted to find that the IP Profile had been raised to 5000 Kbps and I was actually connecting at close to that speed.

Thank you ICUK - you are brilliant. I've given you straight 10s except for value, as I have found other providers offering slightly cheaper deals (but they don't give the kind of support you do).

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Posted: 12th Jul, 2010    By: qfimeister
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Title: Fantastic
You will never get this customer service elsewhere; Everytime I called the team had been very helpful. I moved in to my new flat and had no connection and previous tenants had a BT broadband and the line was closed down. In a week time they have activated the line and sorted everything out for me. The internet connection is perfectly stable and exactly as advertised. The service they provide is definitely the next generation of ADSL. A really trustworthy company. Speed is perfect, no lag in online games; Perfect streaming speeds for Youtube etc. The customer service is eager to help you on every subject and overall ICUK should be one of the best broadband providers in the UK. Definitely think before you buy broadband for ICUK is the best option for you if you are gaming or watching videos on the internet or simply anything! You might find the price a little bit expensive for you but I have no problems with it, I get the service I pay for and thats how it should be, instead of paying your money on phone bills sorting your connection out rather pay that on your monthly payment and avoid all those problems if you ask me.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Cheap BIG ISPs for 100Mbps+
Community Fibre UK ISP Logo
150Mbps
Gift: None
Virgin Media UK ISP Logo
Virgin Media £26.00
132Mbps
Gift: None
Shell Energy UK ISP Logo
Shell Energy £26.99
109Mbps
Gift: None
Sky Broadband UK ISP Logo
100Mbps
Gift: None
Plusnet UK ISP Logo
Plusnet £27.99
145Mbps
Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest ISPs for 100Mbps+
Gigaclear UK ISP Logo
Gigaclear £17.00
200Mbps
Gift: None
YouFibre UK ISP Logo
YouFibre £19.99
150Mbps
Gift: None
Community Fibre UK ISP Logo
150Mbps
Gift: None
BeFibre UK ISP Logo
BeFibre £21.00
150Mbps
Gift: £25 Love2Shop Card
Hey! Broadband UK ISP Logo
150Mbps
Gift: None
Large Availability | View All

Helpful ISP Guides and Tips

Sponsored Links
The Top 15 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (5527)
  2. BT (3518)
  3. Politics (2541)
  4. Openreach (2298)
  5. Business (2265)
  6. Building Digital UK (2246)
  7. FTTC (2044)
  8. Mobile Broadband (1975)
  9. Statistics (1789)
  10. 4G (1666)
  11. Virgin Media (1621)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (1464)
  13. Fibre Optic (1396)
  14. Wireless Internet (1390)
  15. FTTH (1382)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules