Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

Direct Save Telecom Reviews

Sponsored Links
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
10 Reviews
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 11th Jan, 2024    By: Peter
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
I had Broadband installed in August 2023. It didn't work properly, with poor and intermittent service. They eventually sent out an engineer and I was told this would be free of charge. They fixed the faulty box in November and today (8th January) I received their invoice for £193 for the engineer call out. Shocked? Obviously I called them to get the mistake rectified, only to be spoken to with contempt and rudeness by unhelpful so called "Service Agents". Even after speaking to a "manager" they flatly refused to remove the engineer charge (or even reduce it). Absolutely dreadful company: their policy is "once we have them in contract we can totally rip them off". My advice? Don't use them and if you do, certainly don't trust them!

Time With Provider: 4 Months
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 28th Jan, 2015    By: bianchiman
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Direct Save appear to have a monopoly on monthly contracts and as I only wanted a 6 month service I had littel alternative.
They charge a premium rate and since signing up in Sept 14 I have had nothing but problems. Frequently no connection at all interspersed with a week or two at 10 mb/s then lost connection again and 0.31 mb/s upload speed!! All this with frequent calls to their service desk, which always took at least half an hour to get an answer.
Frequent requests to have an extremely crackly phone line checked out fell on deaf ears and they would usually say they had checked the line and it was fine.
Eventually they sent me a new router - the result - the service is worse!
I have now sent them an email cancelling my contract with 28 days notice and telling them (politely) how poor my connection was and saying I would not recommend them to friends. Their response?.. to tell me that they would have sent an engineer to the house to check it out, but were not inclinded to "because of the tone of my message to them"... Believe me, I was frustrated and exasperated, but not abusive, nor did I use bad language. Avoid this ISP at all costs!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 07th Nov, 2011    By: tomrob
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Title: Avoid DST
I signed up with DST when I moved in February 2007 as I'd found some decent reviews which had been complimentary about service levels and the price at the time was competitive. I'm not sure what happened but I think they must have sacked all the staff who cared about customer service.

When the 9 houses in my road lost their broadband last winter everyone else in the road was reconnected in a day. I remained without connection for weeks. That was bad enough but getting anyone at DST to care about the problem was close to impossible I never had a proactive call and rarely had a prompt call back. Every time I chased I was fobbed off.

I determined to cancel but was in the process of trying to sell my house at the time and I didn't want to get caught in a minimum contract period with a new supplier.

Once I had a date for leaving the house I gave notice of cancellation. It was within a month of my call to them in mid-July so I advised them that they should charge me for the full month from the date of the call.

I had expected to pay at worst to the end of August but I subsequently received a bill for line rental and call/broadband package for the September service period and also a £19.50 "no notice" invoice despite notice having been given.

I had cancelled my direct debit back when I had had no service last winter. I have lost count of the number of letters demanding payment, email replies and telephone conversations explaining the situation that have passed between us but all to no avail. At least now they have moved on from threatening disconnection (communication you see is not the strong suit of this communications company) and the latest demand merely threatens a county court summons.

I can only recommend that anyone and everyone avoids this company.


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 28th Apr, 2008    By: Rob
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Used to be a very good service. Unfortunately tis last 6 weeks i have found it increasingly dificult to actually GET ON the internet during peak hours. Pages do not load up or time out, i have done a multitude of speed tests and I am geting 0.1 mbps during peak hours. They are re-sellers for Eclipse. Before 8am the service is fine as is weekends when i am getting up to 3mbps, my sync is 6.4mbps. Unfortunately I do not want to USE the internet just at off peak times. I have sent data about my download speeds (haven\'t received a reply yet. So I have requested my MAC code).
Bundled telephone service is ok, price is good.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Speed
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 28th Apr, 2008    By: Rob
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Hope this is not tempting fate, but after the terrible talktalk service DST seems like nirvana!
Telephone helpline is first class, sometimes a small wait to get through, but the staff are very helpful and really know their onions.
Installation from CD is quick and simple, even for a newcomer to broadband. I have only given 6 for speed since I am at extreme range from exchange and was warned in advance that I could not expect any high speeds, so I can only say that jumping from 30kbps to around 550 seems like lightening to me!
Price for package of line rental, unlimited calls 24/7 and broadband is very reasonable. So far so good!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Posted: 28th Apr, 2008    By: Rob
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
This is my second day with Direct Save Telecom ,I am a silver surfer every e-mail I have sent them has been answered .their e-mail page was down ,so I e-mailed them .Without asking they phoned me ,and set up my e-mail on the spot ,It is now all working ,it is a direct save email address ,and it is configured to work through Outlook Express.My speed is 6.1 mbps the computer has been on constant for 2 days and everything is perfect.I know its early days but fingers crossed and all that.I hope this early review has been a help.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Posted: 28th Apr, 2008    By: Rob
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
The broadband is provided by eclipse so is quite good but not spectacular, speed suffers at times.
Service response to telephone enquiries is excellent and you can call on a standard landline number, however response to e-mail enquiries is poor to non existant.
The main gripe I have is they advertise e-mail but do not actually provide it unless you are happy with one through eclipse until they eventually get their own up and running. I have been waiting 5 months, and now use web mail.
Package cost of line rental, 24/7 calls and broadband is about ?30 if you add caller ID in (free from BT) which I think is very good value

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 28th Apr, 2008    By: Rob
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Sorry - couldn\'t rate them on much! Got absolutely no service from them at all - the broadband worked for 1 day!!! They gave no support at all, have ignored my emails - their customer service department is non-existent and I think their complaints department is a figment of their imagination!! I didn\'t get to test their speed but don\'t think it would have been great considering!! As for value - terrible when you have paid them for 6 months for non existent broadband...they won\'t credit you because they ignore your complaint and then take you to a debt collection agency! Steer clear at all costs!!!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 28th Apr, 2008    By: Rob
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Title: Good Value
I did a lot of research before deciding on (relatively obscure) DST as my broadband ISP. Their service to date is very professional with a bang on time ADSL connection. You phone them, they answer immediately and you speak to someone intelligent who answers your questions. What more can you ask? ...... oh yeah, their pretty cheap too.

All this for ?16.95 including all UK landline calls and a reduced rate line rental.

I think they are excellent and have recommended them to several friends.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Posted: 28th Apr, 2008    By: Rob
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed too slow, and I keep getting time-outs.
They promise to get it fixed, but they cannot say when that will be.
Not getting 8mb, or anyting near it a lot of the time.
I will probably just pay the ?50 penalty for jumping ship before 12 months are up.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £17.99
    Speed 33Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • UtilityWarehouse £19.99
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
  • NOW £23.00
    Speed 63Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £24.00
    Speed 73 - 82Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Shell Energy £24.99
    Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest Ultrafast ISPs
  • Gigaclear £15.00
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Zzoomm £19.95
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • YouFibre £19.99
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Community Fibre £21.00
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • BeFibre £21.00
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £25 Love2Shop Card
Large Availability | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Sponsored Links
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (5409)
  2. BT (3491)
  3. Politics (2499)
  4. Openreach (2279)
  5. Business (2227)
  6. Building Digital UK (2218)
  7. FTTC (2039)
  8. Mobile Broadband (1943)
  9. Statistics (1766)
  10. 4G (1641)
  11. Virgin Media (1595)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (1439)
  13. Wireless Internet (1380)
  14. Fibre Optic (1380)
  15. FTTH (1379)
  16. 5G (1217)
  17. Vodafone (1128)
  18. EE (1112)
  19. TalkTalk (927)
  20. O2 (918)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules