Reviews » Broadband Satellite » 

bigblu Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
39 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 06th Nov, 2019    By: Dan
Title: D
I signed up with Eurposat in 2017, which converted to bigblu last year. Their connection and speeds are 50/50, tends to slow down around 5pm to 11pm I'll assume when everyone gets home from work.
I moved off the property I was renting in October 2018 and cancelled the account. Then in august 2019 they hit my bank account for €600. They still haven't refunded it, their continuing to bill me and after 4 request to close the account, it's still open with no usage on the line for 13 months.
Trying to contact them by phone can take up to 2 hours some days, email is more reliable but I'm not getting anywhere with them.
I wouldn't recommended to anyone, overall it's been a bad experience from start to finish.

Time With Provider: 2 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 16th Sep, 2019    By: Sylvanette
Title: Avoid
Avoid. I wanted to give them the benefit of the doubt even after reading the reviews, thinking that the complaints of slow service might be from people with unrealistic expectations of satellite broadband service. I signed up, paid a fortune for installation, and we have struggled for 5 months with download speeds slower than ADSL. Even with our ‘priority data’ downloading a file on my Audible account took around 20 minutes, and the latency is so bad it can take 3-4 tries to get a page to fully load. I tried tech support several times but they were worse than useless, unable to provide any help at all (after blowing smoke for several minutes each time) and twice left it all with me to run a speed check every few hours for a few days, and get back to them. I couldn’t believe it. In the end we have cancelled, have had to pay another fortune to get out of a contract for which we never received the service we were promised, and I’ve got to ship all their equipment back to them at my expense. Planning to get in touch with Which to find out my rights, but in the meantime, learn from my mistake and avoid this provider.

Time With Provider: 5 Months
Package Name: Silver package
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 12th Jun, 2019    By: Rger Coward
Andrew Walwyn,CEO, couldn't run a piss up in a brewery.

I was a customer of the dreadful Satellite Broadband (Beyond dsl) (who couldn't design a customer friendly dash board and had nobody with any authority answering the telephone) arbitrarily transferred my custom to Eurpasat without consultation or choice.

They were not prepared for our arrival and it took months to even get to pay them properly. They seemed to have many different freelance part time financial managers who didn't know what company or bank account they were running with!!

We (I am assuming there was at least one other customer who was transferred to Euopasat by Satellite Broadband)continued to use the dashboard provided by Satellite Broadband. The data available on that gradually decreased until now we ae blocked from it. We have not been provided with any other dashboard or system for checking data usage or our accounts. This has now been going on for weeks!

Trying to ring them on the telephone is not possible on normal salaries - it takes hours to get a reply. Completely malfunctioning.

How can Andrew Walwyn (is that the right name) the CEO appear in public instead of getting on with his job. They deserve to fail - and my Broadband with it.

Time With Provider: Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 11th Jun, 2019    By: Graeme
Despite many telephone conversations with members of the Big Blu staff, I am still very unhappy with the current level of service.

On Good Friday, the Surfbeam 2 modem failed. As it was Easter weekend, there was nobody available until the following Tuesday. On that Tuesday, I ordered a replacement modem. Several phone calls later, the replacement modem finally arrived, almost two weeks after the order was placed.

Since installation, the down/up speeds are well below what they were. Last week, my husband spoke to someone in the support department and they agreed that something was definitely not right. This person said they would check the speeds were not being throttled for some reason and they would then come back to us and that the modem would probably need to be replaced. We have heard nothing since then, although the speed issue has not been resolved and is still well below expectations.

I have not received an invoice for the replacement modem - although every indication is that is not performing correctly. Neither have I received the credit that was promised for the excessive downtime. In good faith, I paid my monthly bill.

To date, apart from the inconvenience (to put it mildly)of being offline for two weeks, it has cost over €100 in telephone calls (as nobody has ever actually returned our calls as they promised and we always end up

Time With Provider: 7 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 01st Apr, 2018    By: Antman55
Title: Rubbish
Satellite.co.uk who I was with has been bought out by europsat what a joke! my download speed went from approximately 20-22 Mbs to about 9 Mbs also about 2- 3 weeks into each of my monthly account I'm lucky if I get 220 Kbs download speed. No better than dial up, surely it would be better to step down from 20 mbs to 15 to 10 to 5 Kbs, I have tried looking for other companies to try, but when I've rung through for more information Europasat has bought them out (I have rung five or six different satellite broadband providers) I thought it was illegal to have a monopoly. I am going to complain to the ombudsman about this. If we all do this then maybe something will be done.

Thank you

Antman55

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 05th Feb, 2018    By: Philippe Spain
I was charged twice (standing order, THEIR mistake!) for my October monthly satellite service (Tooway 25GB/month) I'd been subscribing to, here in Spain, for a bit more than a year.
After noticing it, I sent countless support tickets, that all went unanswered. I spent more than €/£10 and 25 minutes on the phone with UK support on 12th January 2018 to sort it out. Most of my time was wasted listening to waiting messages.
Three months after my first support ticket, and two weeks after finally being told by the Finance dpt that I would be refunded shortly, still nothing.
The people I talked to were pleasant, but the follow-up is appalling.

Update: refund credited 1st Feb 2018, 4 months after their mistake and 3 months after my first support ticket.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 21st Sep, 2017    By: belsimo lia
Title: ISP review
Best ISP I've ever seen. It's great & provides best service. I'm happy using this. So much fast. Easy to use. Hope it will keep up their good work

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 08th May, 2017    By: jp444
Title: Rubbish
It worked for a few months quite well, now 200kb whenever I want to use it

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 27th Sep, 2016    By: inthezone
The lack of response to faults has been really dire and it doesn't seem to matter whether faults and problems are reported via phone or email, they just don't respond or resolve things. We live in a rural area a long way area from the exchange and cabinet so having battled with slower than slow ADSL speeds for years, we finally decided enough was enough and switched to satellite at considerable extra expense.

As previous threads have reported, initially things seem quite promising, aside from the latency which is a pain but would be acceptable if everything else worked ok but it doesn't.

We have been unable to access key sites such as Lloyds, DVLA, survey monkey, Santander, M&S, Experian, Wordpress and Waitrose to name a few and get the same error message: This site can't be reached. The connection was reset' - this has been going on since June.

We've had an engineer out to check our satellite alignment - no change. I've since been waiting for a resolution and chased and chased to not get responses to any emails or phone calls returned. The last conversation one of their advisors said the problem was linked to Prolexic who control spam/phishing problems for major sites and our IP may have been in a range that they have blocked but still no confirmation or resolution.

The biggest bugbear though is the company's atrocious customer service which has been one of the worst I've experienced and the fact their recorded greeting says they are committed to giving you the best possible customer service or words to that effect is frankly laughable.

No way on earth would I recommend Avonline. The only reason I haven't yet cancelled and changed supplier is because we are possibly moving and I don't want to take out a new contract until we move.

Also, the data limits are a real pain and buying extra is very expensive and doesn't buy you nearly enough to last a month. We are not even heavy users as no kids, just 2 adults using email, internet and a bit of music+Netflix streaming but hardly anything and nowhere near as much as we'd like as the limits are too restrictive/costly.

Just not worth the money/hassle in my experience.


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 16th Sep, 2016    By: Simon60
Title: Terrible
Europasat service is terrible in every possible way.
Most importantly, it really does not work very well. Lag times to open pages are usually about 20 seconds. I had to give up on music streaming as the speed simply wasn't up to it. The worst noted download speed was 20 BYTES (yes bytes!) per second - the photos I was trying to download would have taken 23 days. They claim that office hours are busy, and that evenings should be better - certainly not my experience. It took over 2 months to get it working properly - one month to identify which bit of the supplied hardware was faulty, another month of hours of telephone calls to get the router set properly for a Mac.
Their administration is probably even worse than their service though. Frequent promises of waiving a month's charges failed, emails confirming telephone promises never materialised. Their CEO appears to have ignored my letter of complaint. I eventually have given up on them. To their credit, I eventually found one person who dealt with my problems, and they have taken away all the hardware, refunded the costs of this and half of the airtime charges.
The problem appears to be insufficient capacity. Maybe one day this will be resolved. Satellite could be a proposition then if there is no other decent option (once connected, speeds do appear quite quick sometimes), but only if they sort out their admin as well.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £21.00 (*25.00)
    Avg. Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £50 Shopping Voucher
  • TalkTalk £21.95 (*36.00)
    Avg. Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • xln telecom £22.74 (*47.94)
    Avg. Speed 66Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
  • Post Office £22.90 (*37.00)
    Avg. Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Direct Save Telecom £22.95 (*29.95)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2533)
  2. FTTP (2254)
  3. FTTC (1676)
  4. Building Digital UK (1616)
  5. Politics (1444)
  6. Openreach (1432)
  7. Business (1258)
  8. Statistics (1110)
  9. FTTH (1105)
  10. Mobile Broadband (1056)
  11. Fibre Optic (978)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (922)
  13. 4G (918)
  14. Wireless Internet (917)
  15. Virgin Media (870)
  16. EE (602)
  17. Sky Broadband (600)
  18. TalkTalk (586)
  19. Vodafone (532)
  20. 3G (417)
bigblu - Broadband Satellite Rated 1.294871794871795 / 5 based on 39 reviews. 0. | Review Me
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules