Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

iDNET Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
51 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 08th Aug, 2018    By: beermakesmefart
Title: poor
*update*

2 Months with idnet im now looking for a new isp my connection is often with large ping and packet loss.
I dont feel it is worth paying extra for and im going to switch asap.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 08th Aug, 2018    By: tree
Moving to IdNet was an absolute mess and actually resulted in us not having internet for 2 days. Really not a good start and we didn't receive much compensation for their error.

For the first month our connection was rock solid and performed really, really well. I can't fault them for that. But it didn't last and the connection got worse to the point where it wasn't much different from our old Plusnet connection - just twice the price. So we've now left to try Vodafone.

The speeds were fairly average, but we seemed to be able to do more on the connection than with plusnet. However as mentioned above, that deteriorated.

It was refreshing to be able to get straight through to someone in their support team without really having to wait long. I wasn't particularly impressed by their service though, but that might be because I lost faith in them at the very beginning.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 25th Jun, 2018    By: simoncmo
Since joining IDNet i have had catalog of errors from terrible speeds to the service being down 3 times since November 2017 sometimes for over 24 hours.. they have done there best to help even sending out new equipment as goodwill to try and rectify the issues.

The out of hours support is not worth the phone call the person that has answered on all three occasions sounds like a nervous teenager and cannot get off the phone quick enough.

Even though i am on 80/20 fibre my upload never goes above 12mbs and my download wavers around it often feels like my connection is being restricted in someway. My previous host who i was with for 18 months at nearly half the cost of IDNET i had a steady 19mbs upload and a steady 74mbs download and was always very fast.

I am looking to move away as soon as i can it is defiantly not worth the money i pay at £50.00 a month.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 27th May, 2018    By: SteveE
Have been with (over the years)BT,NTL,Nildram,Plusnet,Sky and prob a few others I cannot remember and have got to say Idnet are in a totally different league,if you call them,whatever time of day or night,the phone is answered in a few rings and by folk who know what they are talking about,not as in the past after waiting for up to an hour or more then speaking to somebody just reading from a script!
Had a couple of problems since joining,one of my own doing the other a network wide issue of theirs,but both were sorted very quickly,this is by far the best ISP I have used from speed,reliabilty and customer service:-it may cost slightly more but the quality of anything is remembered(or appreciated)long after the cost is forgotten,the service as a whole is so good I do wonder if the odd the bad reviews are by reps of other companies!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 23rd Jan, 2018    By: Nairda
I have been with IDNet almost continuously since 2008, with just a few brief moves to other ISPs, for various reasons, but I have always ended up back with IDNet. I have had a few technical issues over the years, and every member of the support team I have dealt with has been courteous and helpful.

I am currently having a problem with my phone line in wet weather causing frequent loss of sync and thanks to IDNet's endeavours I have just had a visit from Mr Open-Reach who has confirmed a line fault and is arranging for the entire overhead line, going back several poles, to be replaced.

At every stage of the process IDNet have done exactly what they said they would do and have always made the promised followup phone call, even at a quarter to one in the morning! When help is needed from IDNet support, the phone is always answered very quickly by people who know what they are doing

As is often said, IDNet may be a bit more expensive than the likes of Talktalk and BT but in the end you get what you pay for.



Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Jul, 2017    By: Rych
Started with iDNET back in 2008 and in 2011 also had my phone line transferred to them. As they are on a monthly contract then they seem to go the extra mile to satisfy their contracts. Although I am only on ADSL2, I get a constant download speed of 17 plus Mbps and an upload speed of between 0.9 and 1.2 Mbps. They are not the cheapest out there but with their support and great service they are worth every penny. In all the years of being with them (and that includes when I moved), I think that I have called their customer service about 6 times.
Great service, support and speed. Thanks iDNET

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 28th Jun, 2017    By: dlorde
I've been with IDNet about 9 years now, and they've become even better value over that time. There's no throttling at peak times and I currently get a consistent 70+ Mbps unlimited on FTTC.

I'm not a gamer, but apparently they're now focusing on high quality gaming provision.

I've rung support about 4 times in 9 years (once the problem was my end - oops!), and always got straight through to a technician who resolved the problem, or - in the case of BT network failures - could tell me what the situation was.

It's a monthly contract, so I can cancel at any time, or try other ISPs without penalty if I want - but there's no reason to.

Basically, the connection just works, I really don't have to think about it.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 16th Dec, 2016    By: cotedemeraude
Early days, but I have had a very positive experience with IDNet after the demise of Fast broadband. They managed to reconnect me in a couple of hours. I have also found their e-mail communication very good. I was informed in a very timely way of everything I needed to know about my account. I get more MB downlad and for cheaper, caller display is free though the calls are more expensive (but I hardly make any) and it is a rolling 1 month contract paid by DD, which is better than paying by Debit card if you want to cancel. So far so good and long may it continue.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 15th Dec, 2016    By: DM8192
Title: IDNET
Been with Idnet for approx 2 days now, so I can't offer an exhaustive review. I was left without broadband when Firenet folded, and fortunately on one of the web forums I found recommendations for Idnet. I rang then up, they seemed very professional and were UK-based, with 24/7 customer support - moreover, they got me back online the same day! Speed is faster than Firenet too. The review is obviously going to be tentative after such a short time, but initial impressions are very good.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 01st Nov, 2016    By: bryanamery
I came to IDNet from BT about 5 years ago. From the worst to one of the best providers.
Their service is excellent and all (in reality few) problems are dealt with quickly and effectively in an accent I can understand.

I assume 10 is best.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £17.00 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 30Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Code: ONLINEDEAL
  • NOW TV £20.00 (*35.99)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • TalkTalk £22.50
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Plusnet £23.99 (*34.98)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £24.00 (*27.00)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Gadget Worth £199.99
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2206)
  2. FTTP (1598)
  3. Broadband Delivery UK (1445)
  4. FTTC (1442)
  5. Openreach (1159)
  6. Politics (1151)
  7. Business (1041)
  8. Statistics (920)
  9. Fibre Optic (847)
  10. Mobile Broadband (828)
  11. Ofcom Regulation (770)
  12. Wireless Internet (760)
  13. FTTH (731)
  14. 4G (722)
  15. Virgin Media (708)
  16. Sky Broadband (526)
  17. TalkTalk (507)
  18. EE (470)
  19. Vodafone (360)
  20. Security (357)
iDNET - Broadband Fixed Line Rated 3.980392156862745 / 5 based on 51 reviews. | Review Me
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules