Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

iDNET Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
115 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 09th Jun, 2021    By: JonJ
Been about a month at the monent. Seems be holding up really well. Not had sny complaints from the home worker 😃

Time With Provider: 4 Weeks
Package Name: Sogea 80/20
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Apr, 2021    By: olliereedshipflask
I moved to IDNet very recently. Having reached the point where I was unable to wait any longer for Zen's glacial email communications (if they even responded at all) I was very pleased to see that IDNet had reduced the price of their Superfast SOGEA offerings and decided it was time.

The move was executed flawlessly - and so fast I hadn't even realised it had been done.

Emailing results in prompt communication with someone who knows what they're doing and doesn't fob you off (good stuff Brian).

I was initially concerned that my sync speed had dropped from 63Mbps to 56Mbps - but Brian assured me this was a case of sitting it out until the accurate error correction was re-applied. He was right - 48 hours later, I am re-synched @ 63.

I no longer have a voice service I don't need, and I can get very fast response support and comms for only £1 a month more than I was paying with Zen.

So far, a happy customer.

Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name: Superfast Standard SOGEA
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 19th Apr, 2021    By: elsecloaked
In a sea of good reviews, for me personally, a single bad review usually makes me think that there's something wrong with the individual, or they had unrealistic expectations of the service.

This was the case for me an IDNet, like most consumers who like to inform themselves before making a commitment like changing ISP, I looked into IDNet and concluded although there are a few outliers with a bad experience, the general feedback is that they're fantastic and offer some of the best support in their price bracket.

My experience was a stark contrast to this expectation.

In the face of evidence being presented to IDNet regarding a physical connection problem on my new line, new as in physically new line installed next to an existing one, IDNet refused to take ownership to readily send out an Openreach engineer, I ended up getting out my original ISP to sort it out. Openreach agreed the fault was caused by the new line install. I've had to cut away a large portion of my review to update due to the character limit - To respond to IDNet - they didn't offer any assistance on resolving things locally and working with them equated to "replace your equipment" which I did, to no avail. Still, back to square one, they blame everyting else. Sky didn't charge and committed to not charging for the Openreach visit.

I at least got my money back for the first month.

Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name: FTTC VDSL2 - SoGEA, no VOIP
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Response From iDNET - 19th Apr, 2021

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review.

You had a new SOGEA service with IDNet while keeping your original service with another ISP. You reported a speed issue with your SOGEA service, the support team investigated straight away. All tests passed with no fault detected.

As with all fault cases where tests pass, we recommended you carry out local checks before proceeding to engineer visit as Openreach will raise a charge if no fault is found or the fault is caused by non Openreach maintained wiring or hardware, which is then passed on to the customer.

This is a well established, procedure as detailed on our FAQ and an opportunity to significantly reduce the risk of these charges being raised. If a customer declines to carry out these checks and wishes to proceed straight to engineer, we will arrange this without delay – providing the risk of the charge is accepted.

Sadly, you did not wish to work further with us to investigate locally and declined to accept the risk of charge, preferring to terminate the service. And although no failure was detected in IDNet's service or support, we offered a full refund of the months service as a goodwill gesture.

I am sorry you feel that your experience with IDNet was less than excellent however, I'm confident the team supported you in an efficient and professional manner following our procedures accurately.

Sincerely,
IDNet

Posted: 01st Mar, 2021    By: AndySmithers
I left IdNet 3 years ago due to availability of Vodafone/CityFibre FTTP.
When I moved house to an area with only FTTC, I didn't hesitate for a second in selecting IDnet.
No pushy sales tactics, no insistence on using their locked equipment, no ETF, just a product that works exactly as specified and customer service that is available, informative and treats you like an intelligent human being.
Add that to native IPV6 and a fixed IP as standard - seriously, why would you choose anyone else?

Time With Provider: 4 Weeks
Package Name: SOGEA 80/20
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 25th Feb, 2021    By: KevinL
I agonised over which of the Top 10 ISP's on this website to move to from Vodafone to increase speed and stability for working from home. I read all the reviews and compared the products/services for ages, agonising over making the wrong decision. Ultimately selected IDNET. Very pleased with my decision. Purchased own router/modem that Brian there kindly explained how to set up before 'go live' date. Woke at 6am and plugged it in, and everything just worked immediately. Speeds have increased from 36/8 to 54/10. Stability is fabulous.
Yes, they cost more than the mainstream providers (I've increased my costs by £15 per month), but I want confidence that when I'm working I can make virtual calls whilst others in the house are home schooling on their virtual calls too.
Overall, easy on boarding process and swift response to email queries asking for technical set up help.
Well done IDNET!

Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Feb, 2021    By: steve
I've never noticed slow speeds, and speedtests always show almost exactly my sync speeds. On the few times I've contacted support by email I get almost instant replies with good answers. I've had one short outage in 4 years, which was Openreach's fault (obviously!) and got resolved within an hour or so.
I like that they don't give you a router and let you use your own equipment, I like the static IP for home use, and I like the payment for a year upfront to save a bit. The customer portal is easy to use (not that I have much need for it, as it's an unlimited connection).
I've used them for a few years, first on 80/20 fttc and now on 160/30 g.fast. Maybe they're not as cheap as plusnet, but you get what you pay for.

Time With Provider: 4 Years
Package Name: G.fast 160/30
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 19th Feb, 2021    By: Hawk
I have been with IDNet since May 2011 when they supplied me with Residential ADSL Broadband. My telephone service was provided by another company. On the rare occasions that I have phoned them a friendly member of their team answers after a short time. They are always helpful and with their knowledge the problem is resolved in a short time.
In recent years I was able to upgrade to FTTC and chose a 40/10 yearly contract. My download speed, when I check, is usually about 35 to 38 mbps and more recently I chose IDNet to supply my landline telephone service which was transferred without any problems using the same number.
Their contact number is a Freephone number if ever you need to contact them by phone.
I highly recommend IDNet. This is how all companies should operate.

Michael Hubbard


Time With Provider: 10 Years
Package Name: 40/10
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 19th Feb, 2021    By: nicopolous
Been with IDNet for a few years now. Basically perfect. Never had problems or anything except full speed at all times of day. Only issues have been BT related and when I've called I've got STRAIGHT through to someone with no wait. Knowledgeable and helpful support. I'm staying.

Time With Provider: 3 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 18th Feb, 2021    By: MJM
I've been using iDNET for business broadband, telephone and web hosting since around 2003. They are reliable and have excellent technical support. I am very pleased with the overall services provided by iDNET


Time With Provider: 18 Years
Package Name: Business Broadband
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 18th Feb, 2021    By: Happy Customer
I've been with IDNET as a purely broadband customer for some years now and have had literally faultless service. I switched when my previous ISP went bust. The only time I needed to call I received an immediate response and patient helpful advice with the IDNET expert staying on the line until my problem was resolved.
I had retained BT as my calls and landline provider until they dramatically increased my line rental because I wasn't using their broadband. As of today I use IDNET for calls, landline and broadband. The switch has been pretty seamless; I needed to re-boot my modem that's all. I'm saving money and I am with an ISP I trust.

Time With Provider: 5 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Vodafone £21.95 (*24.95)
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • NOW £22.00 (*32.00)
    Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • TalkTalk £22.00 (*29.95)
    Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £22.00
    Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Shell Energy £22.99 (*30.99)
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: 12 Months of Norton 360
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest Ultrafast ISPs
  • Community Fibre £20.00 (*29.50)
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Double Speed Boost
  • Virgin Media £25.00 (*51.00)
    Speed: 108Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £25.00 (*28.00)
    Speed: 100Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Gigaclear £29.00 (*49.00)
    Speed: 300Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Hyperoptic £29.00 (*35.00)
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (3279)
  2. BT (2951)
  3. Building Digital UK (1860)
  4. FTTC (1859)
  5. Politics (1846)
  6. Openreach (1766)
  7. Business (1612)
  8. Mobile Broadband (1390)
  9. Statistics (1364)
  10. FTTH (1361)
  11. 4G (1202)
  12. Fibre Optic (1136)
  13. Wireless Internet (1120)
  14. Virgin Media (1109)
  15. Ofcom Regulation (1108)
  16. EE (794)
  17. Vodafone (792)
  18. TalkTalk (739)
  19. Sky Broadband (719)
  20. 5G (686)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules