Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

TalkTalk Business Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
10 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 30th Aug, 2018    By: Sam
Where do I start?? I have been with Talktalk business for over 2.5 years.
I visited my bank on Monday the 30th of July at 4pm and informed them that I wish to close my account as I have opened a new account at a different bank.

On Tuesday the the 31st of July at 9am while I was at a business meeting I was called by my staff to come back to office as the internet was not active.
When I returned to office I noticed the account is suspended so I immediately made the payment online using a debit card.
When I checked the account I was surprised o find out the payment was not even due until the 1st of August.
We as a web design company rely on Internet connection and while our internet connection was suspended I had to pay wages to my staffs (4 people) for 4 hours and 10 minutes doing nothing, Cancel my business meeting and drive 30miles to be back in the office and fix the issue, spend 1 hour 45 minutes of my time chatting online to Talktalk customer service, Speaking to different departments over the phone trying to restore the service while my payment was not even due.

**** Im setting up a website about talktalk business and how rubbish their customer service is so please help me with your experience and evidence ************************

Time With Provider: 3 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Nov, 2013    By: les70
Been with TalkTalk Business since their absorption of Pipex Business. Excellent ADSL2 speed with the benefit of LLU and, after support calls, a choice of SNR and fast path. No slowing down at peak times on a congested exchange. Support is not amazing but does reliably get there in the end. Generally a good experience.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 08th Jan, 2011    By: Tim777777
You are not alone if you are thinking of leaving Opal after its takeover of Nildram.
The service has deteriorated markedly and I'm off to Andrews and Arnold.

At the same time, assuming they are ok (!), I'm praying that AAISP won't get takenover for at least a few years. I don't really want to spend my time searching for a new ISP.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 30th Dec, 2010    By: badgerous111
With CPW being the only 24Mbps supplier in the area i just moved to, i went with TalkTalk, This didnt really take off, i ordered and attempted to pay and just couldn't get through and when i did, just wasn't bothered to take my order or answer my questions, so i went with Opal. Ordering over the internet, stright forward.

All was installed and router delivered. Service has been fine, Constant sync rate of 17Mbps, never under 3Mbps peak times, can't fault the service, however their customer suppoer and billing is criminal and im jumping ship as soon as the contract is out, i've been overcharged, lied to, fobbed off with different stories.

Bunch of.......

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 28th Dec, 2010    By: intergrale4x4
As per the title !! I've been a Nildram customer for more than 4 years and was very happy with there service giving me constant 4+Mb speed on a small rural 20CN exchange in Scotland and there customer service was spot on. Next thing I know there taken over by Opal!! The 4+Mb speed drops to 450Kbps overnight!! Bt Openreach have been out checked my line and there's no fault "Router showing connection speed of 6240Kbps" Yes 6.2Mb!!! So I phone Opal customer support "As my Nildram control panel no longer works" And get some bloke called "Qwerseded" That cant understand me, Takes my phone number then tells me that nothing has changed and it must be my fault for the slow connection, Bearing in mind two BT engineers had just left my building and where still packing there van as I was on the phone!! I quoted him the fault code BT had supplied me via email on report and repair of fault, to which he had no answer!! I'm not putting up with this "We buy over a well run company providing a great service then HUMP all the customers" attitude!!! I'm currently drafting my letter to trading standards and will post the results here as soon as I can.
Thanks
Craig

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 13th Dec, 2010    By: bcbcbc
Almost Identical to other (Nildram) reviews..(Sadly)

I've been with Nildram for 4 years now (They were very good)
BUT its Now Opal
& in the last MONTH their service has been completely unacceptable.

I used to connect at 6+ Mb, & at Peak-times this decayed to 5+ Mb.

* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *
but after Mid November I get about 0.5-1.5 Mbs during peaktime
(on various speed checks sites at different times, and different routers.)
* * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * * *

After Multiple (Over 10) calls, & racking up over 180 minutes with support, They still don't 'get it'.
Opal seem to think that because they buy their service from BT (IPStream) the reduction in throughput is NOT their problem,
& that this customer experience is still OK and 'acceptable'.

I Don't care what they consider as acceptable,
one day their service was fine, & after a major outage in Scotland, the service has been VERY POOR.

Lost all patience now...
I'll be contacting Opal by end of play Tuesday if it hasn't been resolved for a MAC Address.

Really disappointed with their 1: Attitude, 2: their systems for customer service & 3: for Problem resolution.

Will Update on how this pans out & how long it takes for a MAC address to be sent. Which is sadly how this is likely to end.

Best Advice....Think carefully if you are considering Migration TO Opal.


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 16th Nov, 2010    By: DavidBaldwin
Title: Oh Dear
Joined Nildram in 2003 because someone said they were good. Yes, they have been with excellent telephone support. At each takeover the service has deteriorated. Now it is integrated into Opal it is awful. For some reason it is slower and all the Nildram facilities to control your account have disappeared. The spam filters have been set to nothing.

Add to this that there isn't an obvious phone number means it is better to go elsewhere. Looks like they only want to sell telephone time.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 08th Oct, 2010    By: Beammeupscotty
Title: Talk Talk
Thank goodness this outfit don't provide health care , we'd all be in trouble!

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 08th Oct, 2010    By: SleepySid
Was a happy Nildram customer until it was announced Talk Talk had taken over Tiscali. A couple of weeks ago the full switch from Nildram to Opal happened. Since then I've had nothing but problems. Slow connections, poor web connection to certain sites including the Opal Webmail site.
It took 2 45 minute (40 mins each on hold) phone calls for Opal to provide me with a migration code so I could get out of dodge.
Anyone looking for a reliable, high quality ISP would do themselves a big favour by looking elsewhere. Those that are tied in to old contracts have my pity although if you're not getting the service you used to there may be a way to raise a case against staying in your current contract.


Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 15th Sep, 2010    By: Angelus
I used to be with Nildram. Nildram was a small ISP focusing on the B2B market, and their service was superb in every respect. Even after they got bought by a succession of ever-bigger fish, including Tiscali, it was still effectively running an independent, superb operation. Then Carphone Warehouse bought Tiscali and so Nildram's services were rebranded as Opal, and all of a sudden I am in ADSL hell.

All I'm trying to do now is find out what my FUP limit is - Opal's FUP has 2 different limits according to whether you are "in their area" or not. I don't know, my customer area on their website (which says I have a dial-up account) doesn't know, someone from customer support had no idea that there was a 2-tier FUP, and now whenever I call try to find out, I get put on hold, which after a few minutes throws me back into "your call is important to use" land. If I email they can't locate my account or some such excuse.

Oh, and my connection is now unstable. It doesn't usually die completely, and when it's working I get the maximum bandwidth my line can support, but several times an hour the connection freezes up. Not for ages, but long enough to kill an HTTP download.

I would switch if I could, but I took up a new Nildram package with a 2-year tie-in earlier on in the year so I don't suppose I can.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £19.95 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £50 Gift Card
  • SSE £22.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
  • xln telecom £22.74 (*47.94)
    Avg. Speed 66Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £22.95
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Plusnet £22.99 (*35.98)
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £70 Reward Card
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2653)
  2. FTTP (2460)
  3. FTTC (1722)
  4. Building Digital UK (1663)
  5. Politics (1542)
  6. Openreach (1512)
  7. Business (1326)
  8. FTTH (1234)
  9. Statistics (1155)
  10. Mobile Broadband (1128)
  11. Fibre Optic (1020)
  12. 4G (973)
  13. Ofcom Regulation (972)
  14. Wireless Internet (972)
  15. Virgin Media (935)
  16. EE (649)
  17. Sky Broadband (639)
  18. TalkTalk (618)
  19. Vodafone (600)
  20. 3G (438)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules