Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

TalkTalk Reviews

Sponsored Links
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
214 Reviews
Value
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 06th Jul, 2022    By: MrDenwei
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
I've been with Talktalk for a few years now because it's cheap.
So when it works, broadband is fine with nothing to complain about.

Then one time they've decided to block all specific traffic on their talktalk router via an update which rendered my NAS box unaccessible by blocking ports 443, after being sent a few different routers I found out that ports 443 only works using the default 192.168.1.0/24 subnet of which I don't run my network on that subnet. Changing the routers subnet means 443 no longer works (stupid).
So I purchased a Ubiquiti Dream Machine to actually be my router an opened all the ports to that an it works again.

Now my issue is that my router disconnects from their network and their scripted troubleshoot requires me to disconnect and connect to the wifi or unplug/plug RJ45 cable from my laptop or disconnect from my VPN all of which has nothing to do with the issue even after showing connection interface issue and highlighting the issue in screenshots.

I wish I never joined them in the first place.

Time With Provider: 3 Years
Package Name: Fibre 65
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 06th Apr, 2022    By: Anth
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
TalkTalk is probably the ISP to go for with CityFibre. I say this as they offer their internet over DHCP (as opposed to PPPOE that every other ISP seems to use). This means you can use your own router with ease (including PFsense), you do not need any username and password whatsoever to enter into your router to get access. Just set it to DHCP mode and you're live. Speeds I am paying for 500mb/s down and 75mb/s up. I am actually getting 560mb/s both down and up. I am using an old J1900 NUC as my router with PFsense and CPU load is ~6% while getting full speeds. (with PPPOE this would be up to 100% load and only getting a max of 400mb/s). When I signed up I was installed and live within two weeks (and I ordered it Christmas eve). I am paying £35/month but getting 6 months free. So works out as £23 over the 18 months contract. The line has been perfect for 4 months. The only downside is they do a hard credit check on you when you sign up with them.

Time With Provider: 4 Months
Package Name: 500mbs CityFibre FTTP
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Posted: 01st Feb, 2022    By: NicoleAhmedUK
Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Bad customer service and extremely dodge mis-selling techniques used mid-contract with offers of "free upgrades" which are not free and extend your contract. 8 separate communications (1 a doorstep visit) about taking up free upgrade but there is no free FTTC to FTTP upgrade on the phone number they say to call. Phone and webchat is useless - they will only tell you to restart your router if you have issues. Customer services forum is better for support but takes days/weeks to resolve service issues and has software problems of its own. Routers have had known issues for a long time but fixes are not forthcoming - normal people with no technical expertise will not be able to navigate these things. Bad ISP for the vulnerable, sick or busy. I have reported to ICO and OfCOM

Time With Provider: 6 Years
Package Name: Fibre 65 FTTC
Value
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 17th Jan, 2022    By: Graham1872
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Been with Talk Talk for two years. The service was on until 9 months ago, when the broadband started to drop off frequently.

That's when the problems with TT started...

They use a foreign call centre, and unfortunately the operators first language isn't English, and I genuinely struggled to get them to understand the issue.

After hours on the phone, and countless line checks, they eventually agreed with me that the router needed to be replaced and a new one would be with me in 3-5 working days.

10 days, and no router, so I called again only to be told there was no record of a router order to be sent out. Quite simply, bare faced lying.

I then had to go back through all the line testing etc again, and was told (no laughing) , "Yes we've found the problem, it's your browser cache, you need to clear it"....😡

At this point I'd had enough, and asked to raise a formal complaint, which was basically ignored at first. Eventually they acknowledged I had a right to raise a complaint, but only after I'd logged it with OFCOM.

It took 4 weeks to resolve this and eventually the complaints department sent out a new router which fixed the problem.

It only took 4 months!

My contact is up in a few weeks, and I'm now looking elsewhere.

Speed is fine, but for customer service, it's definitely a one star.

Personally I'd avoid this ISP.



Time With Provider: 104 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 04th Oct, 2021    By: J
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Women please beware of this company! I just want women to be aware of my recent experience in relation to an engineer visit, particularly where women’s safety concerns are mounting in the current climate (i.e., women don’t feel safe outside), and my experience made me feel unsafe in my own home).

1. In June 2021, TalkTalk sent an engineer to my home. They told me that it was their engineer, but I later found out that this was a lie, and it was an engineer from a third-party company called QubeGB.
2. The engineer that TalkTalk sent to my home (a) failed to show his ID upon entering my home & when I asked him for his name he seemed reluctant to provide it and he asked me why I wanted to know his name (b) he displayed clear intimidating behaviour, including the obvious endangerment to my health/life as a result of his continued refusal to wear a mask.

3. I found the engineer that TalkTalk sent to be VERY intimidating from the outset and I was distressed by his demeanour, attitude, actions, and by the statements that he made. He didn’t seem to have a clue about how to behave appropriately inside a customer's home, particularly a woman who is in her home alone.

When I complained TalkTalk did nothing about this! The current "set-up" and "lack of accountability" obviously creates the perfect environment for incidents like this (and MORE SERIOUS) incidents to occur!

Time With Provider: 35 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 11th Sep, 2021    By: John_charcoal
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Title: Mr
Terrible customer service. Shocking company to deal with.

Time With Provider: 10 Years
Package Name:
Value
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 30th Aug, 2021    By: KingJim
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
Title: Works well
I moved here after AAISP and then Plusnet.
Just as good as either to be honest, but cheaper.
Never called support so far, never used any of their services.

Very pleased overall though.

Time With Provider: 3 Months
Package Name: Fibre 65
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Posted: 22nd Jul, 2021    By: grelfosa
Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Was with Talktalk for almost 4 years until April 2021. Generally a good, reliable service with good speed at a competitive price. An early problem with my line was quickly resolved with a visit from Openreach engineer.
When it was time to renew Talktalk were very reluctant to give me their current advertised price, which was stated to be available for both new and existing customers. Similar again at next renewal, hassle to get good price. I consider this to be dishonest and Talktalk simply trying to con existing customers into accepting higher price.
Final straw was them giving me notice of impending price increase on plan where they guaranteed no price increases during term of my contract. You cannot believe what they write into their contract. When I complained to Talktalk they eventually offered to reduce the price but they are dishonest and I felt unable to trust them any more.
I left Talktalk out of principle. Now with Pulse8, although about £3 per month more, it well worth it due to transparency, honesty and simplicity.

Time With Provider: 4 Years
Package Name: Faster Fibre
Value
Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star Empty Star
Support
Full Star Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 10th Jul, 2021    By: jlb94
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Half Star
I’m not one for reviewing products or services online, but thought it worthwhile to give TalkTalk some praise
I’ve always been very pleased with their service. Ordered 40/10 FTTC @ £19.95 18 months ago and have always been in sync very close to these speeds, and throughput over WiFi very close to these too.
Called up and was offered FTTC 80/20 at the same price at no extra cost and £40 bill credit, as I mentioned a deal with Vodafone
I have always been able to get through to an agent quickly, and they have always been very courteous and helpful.
80/20 speeds and I’m in sync at 73/20, very happy.
Edit 10/07/2021 - left Talktalk due to being on a fixed price plan and then they raise prices. Would return on one of their FTTP products in the future if the offer is good, as besides their price increase I was always very pleased with them

Time With Provider: 18 Months
Package Name: TalkTalk Faster Fibre and Speed Boost
Value
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star
Speed
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Support
Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star Full Star
Services
Full Star Full Star Full Star Empty Star Empty Star
Posted: 07th May, 2021    By: Ramzy
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Title: Mr
I have been a customer of talktalk for a number of years, last year in July last year I was experiencing daily disconnections, sometimes unable to connect at all, I waited for 3 weeks for an engineer, he never showed up or even bothered to call, later I was promised by talktalk that I would be compensated for that AND for the weeks I had disconnections, that was an utter lie, NOT ONLY THIS DISGUSTING company did not compensate me but ACTUALLY penalised me not ONCE but TWICE for missing appointments, unbelievable BUT TRUE, SO I HAD £60 STOLEN FROM ME, but this is not a normal company, this is talktalk, many calls emails to CEO OFFICE, they did NOTHING ABOUT MY CONNECTION OR STOLEN MONEY, Let me add that all this happened when I was recovering from a major heart operation, and they always claim they prioritise vulnerable customers, what a joke, it took them 3 MONTHS to send Openreach to investigate and that was ONLY AFTER an outside organisation got involved, I have still not received the compensation I was entitled to or had the stolen money returned. I wrote to the CEO Tristia Harrison about my situation and health status, she did not even deem this customer of 13 years with a heart problem worthy of an acknowledgment let alone a response, I was not even considered a human being, neither her nor her disgusting company ever showed a trace of decency or humanity.

Time With Provider: 13 Years
Package Name: Faster Fibre
Value
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Speed
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Support
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Services
Half Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star Empty Star
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £17.99
    Speed 33Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • UtilityWarehouse £19.99
    Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
  • NOW £23.00
    Speed 63Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £24.00
    Speed 73 - 82Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Shell Energy £24.99
    Speed 38Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Large Availability | View All
Cheapest Ultrafast ISPs
  • Gigaclear £15.00
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Zzoomm £19.95
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • YouFibre £19.99
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Community Fibre £21.00
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • BeFibre £21.00
    Speed: 150Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: £25 Love2Shop Card
Large Availability | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Sponsored Links
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. FTTP (5411)
  2. BT (3491)
  3. Politics (2499)
  4. Openreach (2279)
  5. Business (2227)
  6. Building Digital UK (2218)
  7. FTTC (2039)
  8. Mobile Broadband (1943)
  9. Statistics (1766)
  10. 4G (1641)
  11. Virgin Media (1596)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (1439)
  13. Wireless Internet (1380)
  14. Fibre Optic (1380)
  15. FTTH (1379)
  16. 5G (1217)
  17. Vodafone (1128)
  18. EE (1112)
  19. TalkTalk (927)
  20. O2 (919)
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules