Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

TalkTalk Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
189 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Apr, 2019    By: I just want decent Internet!
Constantly dropping out, slow connection.

Can’t stream anything over 1080p but then it is ADSL.

Charging £27 a month for ADSL 11 Mbps down and 512 Kbps up. (No that price doesn’t include line rental or home phone calls)

Lost millions of people’s private financial and personal details

Some how this is not enough to convince bill payer to switch 🙄

Time With Provider: 12 Years
Package Name: Basic ADSL
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 17th Apr, 2019    By: Kidblast
Shopping around for broadband for a new address. Decide to take a chance on TalkTalk regardless of the reams and reams of negative reviews. Purchase Faster Broadband with speed boost and get a bonus of £60 worth of Tesco/Amazon vouchers thrown in.

Engineers (contractors) came out to check the line and after 3 hours poking around said someone had taken our line. BT engineers come straight out and fixed the issue at the cabinet. email that evening saying line is activated. Connect router. Everything up and running.

Three weeks later I'm getting 58mbps down and 10mbps up from the provided Sagemcom TalkTalk router which is broadcasting on the 5ghz frequency up 8 meters to the third floor of an old townhouse to a cheap Hommie £20 wireless card in a PC (not even using ac wireless). I work from home and have experienced no drop outs or similar issues.

Zero complaints and very happy.

Solid, reliable, great value broadband with an excellent free router.

For every terrible review written there are hundreds of customers like myself who receive an excellent service. Don't be so quick to write them off.

Time With Provider: 4 Weeks
Package Name: Unlimited Fibre Speed Boost
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 29th Mar, 2019    By: zofbtb
There is a big issue with them insisting on a new line when you already have one. I even got them to call me on the land line to prove it! It probably doesn't affect everyone but, for me, it made the online checker incorrect: using my existing land line number gave a "can't get Talk Talk fibre" message when I can. I ended up just putting in the postcode.

I'm currently with First Utility who, like the Post Office, actually use Talk Talk to provide the service!

In short, it looks like I'm having to get a new line when I don't need one (and probably lose the number I've had for 15 years). Promised it won't cost me anything.

They need to update their database or just query BTO directly to check if there is an existing line.

UPDATE 7/3/19 Engineer's appointment was changed from the 8th to the 14th. Waste of taking a day off work. Contact TT 4 times to say I can't make the 14th(and shouldn't need an engineer anyway - just a stop start on the line). Now without broadband for at least a week.

UPDATE 29/03/19
Engineer Seemingly did't do much except test the line with a gadget. DLM has slowly upped my speed over the last fortnight. The router is good but they've stripped the firmware to the basics. Although it is easy to configure,there are still a few bugs (forgetting named devices, changing reserved IP address range etc)

Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 01st Feb, 2019    By: jmm
I am on the phone to try to change a setting that's only possible to change by calling them! The setting is for their "Scam Protection" feature. You can switch on easily via a button on their website, but to switch off again, you have to phone them. I work from home and Scam Protection is preventing me from accessing my work network. I have now been listening to hold music, waiting to speak to someone for 30mins!


Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 29th Jan, 2019    By: itsmaazziik
Been with TalkTalk for around 7 years now, and I've always had an excellent service. Whenever I've had any problems, I've found the TalkTalk Community to always be a better form of customer service. Best provider ever! Would definitely recommend them.

Time With Provider: 7 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 13th Jan, 2019    By: anth101
Been with TT for ni-on 3 and half months and the speed isn't what it suppose to be within the first 30 days I wasn't happy so put a order in with Vodafone to be told there would be breakage fees if I let the order go threw. So I said that I was in the 30 days guarantee I could leave and were obvious lying to me . So give them longer and three months down the line still no joy . The fault managers always come out with the same C**p min guarantee speed .They suppose to not slow you down which is a lie. The fibre is absolute rubbish 5x faster hmmm yeah right . What ever you do don't join these as they haven't a clue like the open reach cowboys full of bs .
They think of the money before the services . The 30 day guarantee if not happy you can leave doesn't stay to there word its false advertising .

Time With Provider: 15 Weeks
Package Name: (fibre medium) more like normal adsl
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 09th Jan, 2019    By: Casper
We've been with TalkTalk for 9 months so far, I have to say the service has been great, an issue with noise on the phone line at the beginning was present, but after talking with the support team an engineer was sent out, he arrived on time, he stayed for three hours until the issue was fixed, the issue was outside at the pole, the equipment at the pole was old and damaged because of weather, he done his best to fix my line and also put a job in with openreach for the equipment to be exchanged with new parts. I can't fault TalkTalk, the service is great and with the price being fixed it helps as we don't have to worry about price increases.

Time With Provider: 9 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 08th Jan, 2019    By: Speedyb79
Everyone laughed at me when I first signed up for TalkTalk. I was expecting nothing but bother from the start. I've had nothing but pleasure. TalkTalk are open and honest with their support. Knowing alot about telecoms and these poor LLU providers getting shafted by BT Openreach unless you pay them through the nose like sky do for enhanced care products you will get bother. This isn't the fault of TalkTalk it's their suppliers who let them down. If you look past that it's a real good outfit and value for money compared to the same services alsewhere.

Time With Provider: 5 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 06th Sep, 2018    By: LungHeadZ
Yet another disappointing phone call with Talk-Talk. Three months earlier I had reported a problem regarding my download speeds. Seeing as I had just switched from regular broadband to fibre I was patient to let it get settled.
Once the problem had not dissolved I rang customer service, they performed speed checks which backed my case and caused talk talk to send me a new router to see if that solved the issue. It did not.
Another phone call later they performed more of the same tests and sent a openreach engineer out to check my connnection outside the property, no issue there. They then sent a talk talk engineer to my property to check my inside connections, he could not detect a issue even then. He then set up two WiFi accounts from the same model in different ghz, wired connections to one and WiFi connections to the others. The issue hasn’t resolved.
Now I’m three months waiting on a call with a reason and solution... the only excuse being WiFi connection is not Garunteed to be my min mbps which is meant to be 32. I get 14-18 if lucky worse than my old connection!
So after another phone call that I made to them today in which they attempted to restart the complaint process as my complaint had ‘expired’. I am too wait longer for their inability? My advice save yourself the time and steer clear.

Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name: Fire optic - unlimited broadband £27pm
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 04th Jun, 2018    By: hsbcarter
Only been with TalkTalk for 2 months and I have had over 45 pieces of communication from them and numerous failures at telling me what the problems are with my service.

I have thankfully been able to leave because they acknowledge their shoddy performance but their customer service based in South Africa is apalling, and when you get through to a manager they are no good either.

Finally got through to a Complaints specialist in the UK and they have waived all fees and are allowing me to leave.

The fibre broadband when I got it was fine, but I don't think the wifi router signal was very good around the house.

Time With Provider:
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £18.00 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 30Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: Code: SPRING19
  • Vodafone £21.00 (*23.00)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • TalkTalk £22.50
    Avg. Speed 36Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Direct Save Telecom £22.95 (*29.95)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Origin Broadband £23.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2390)
  2. FTTP (1969)
  3. FTTC (1587)
  4. Building Digital UK (1540)
  5. Politics (1323)
  6. Openreach (1321)
  7. Business (1169)
  8. Statistics (1032)
  9. Mobile Broadband (954)
  10. FTTH (950)
  11. Fibre Optic (933)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (866)
  13. Wireless Internet (855)
  14. 4G (837)
  15. Virgin Media (801)
  16. Sky Broadband (573)
  17. TalkTalk (554)
  18. EE (550)
  19. Vodafone (462)
  20. Security (392)
TalkTalk - Broadband Fixed Line Rated 1.9126984126984128 / 5 based on 189 reviews. | Review Me
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules