Reviews » Broadband Fixed Line » 

TalkTalk Reviews

Sponsored
☰ Login   /   Signup ⚲ Search
192 Reviews
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 08th Aug, 2019    By: Archer
We've been with TalkTalk for such a long time I'm not sure how many years it's been - maybe 5 years - probably much more

When we first upgraded to Fibre the speeds were awful - about 2mb/s - I traced the problem down to cheap power supplies provided with the Router only giving out 9 volts instead of 12 volts. As soon as I changed it to a better PSU the speed jumped.

Other people also have had this problem. Only reason I'm considering moving away from TalkTalk is the price is going up a lot. Things that were free are being charged for such as an included mobile SIM Card which was free is now £3 a month. Plus telephone features that were free are now being charged for. Currently paying £27.50p a month for internet and line rental + £3 a month for a SIM Card - Happy with the service - not so happy about the price.

Time With Provider: 5 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 31st Jul, 2019    By: Sebastian
We ordered TalkTalk package. They told us that we need to wait almost 3 weeks to have the engineer at our house. ThalkTalk set the appointment at 1 pm to 6pm on a day, for 3 weeks later. They said that the procedure would take about an hour. Therefore, I did not go to work and staid home on that day. I received a message at 11:41 saying: Your engineer is on the way, so please don't go anywhere. Your service will be up and running soon. I stayed home, but nobody showed up. Afterwards, I called the phone number that I found on the website of TalkTalk. They said that I need to wait. The time was 5pm.

This time, I made conversations on the chat. They assured me that I need to stay home because it was not still 6 pm. I stayed home, but nobody showed up. I called them after 6 pm, and the person answered me that their system is not working. Then, I asked her to connect me to the manager, and she did. But, nobody answered. Again I called. They just said to me that their system is not working. Very rude customer support.

I didn't go to work for nothing.

I cancelled my contract with TalkTalk. I then ordered Virgin Media. Such nice Virgin Media. Very good service, polite and supportive staff working in Virgin Media.


Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 09th Jul, 2019    By: Nav
Title: Useless
Customer service continue to promise they will fix the problem of reduced broadband signal. Their website keeps presenting error 404 msg and their online broadband service checker says we are working on your problem, please speak to a member of our team. All members of the team appear ignorant as to when the problem will be fixed though continue to say it will be sorted in a couple of hours.
Rubbish service. Will change to a more competent provider asap.

Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 20th Apr, 2019    By: I just want decent Internet!
Constantly dropping out, slow connection.

Can’t stream anything over 1080p but then it is ADSL.

Charging £27 a month for ADSL 11 Mbps down and 512 Kbps up. (No that price doesn’t include line rental or home phone calls)

Lost millions of people’s private financial and personal details

Some how this is not enough to convince bill payer to switch 🙄

Time With Provider: 12 Years
Package Name: Basic ADSL
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 17th Apr, 2019    By: Kidblast
Shopping around for broadband for a new address. Decide to take a chance on TalkTalk regardless of the reams and reams of negative reviews. Purchase Faster Broadband with speed boost and get a bonus of £60 worth of Tesco/Amazon vouchers thrown in.

Engineers (contractors) came out to check the line and after 3 hours poking around said someone had taken our line. BT engineers come straight out and fixed the issue at the cabinet. email that evening saying line is activated. Connect router. Everything up and running.

Three weeks later I'm getting 58mbps down and 10mbps up from the provided Sagemcom TalkTalk router which is broadcasting on the 5ghz frequency up 8 meters to the third floor of an old townhouse to a cheap Hommie £20 wireless card in a PC (not even using ac wireless). I work from home and have experienced no drop outs or similar issues.

Zero complaints and very happy.

Solid, reliable, great value broadband with an excellent free router.

For every terrible review written there are hundreds of customers like myself who receive an excellent service. Don't be so quick to write them off.

Time With Provider: 4 Weeks
Package Name: Unlimited Fibre Speed Boost
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 29th Mar, 2019    By: zofbtb
There is a big issue with them insisting on a new line when you already have one. I even got them to call me on the land line to prove it! It probably doesn't affect everyone but, for me, it made the online checker incorrect: using my existing land line number gave a "can't get Talk Talk fibre" message when I can. I ended up just putting in the postcode.

I'm currently with First Utility who, like the Post Office, actually use Talk Talk to provide the service!

In short, it looks like I'm having to get a new line when I don't need one (and probably lose the number I've had for 15 years). Promised it won't cost me anything.

They need to update their database or just query BTO directly to check if there is an existing line.

UPDATE 7/3/19 Engineer's appointment was changed from the 8th to the 14th. Waste of taking a day off work. Contact TT 4 times to say I can't make the 14th(and shouldn't need an engineer anyway - just a stop start on the line). Now without broadband for at least a week.

UPDATE 29/03/19
Engineer Seemingly did't do much except test the line with a gadget. DLM has slowly upped my speed over the last fortnight. The router is good but they've stripped the firmware to the basics. Although it is easy to configure,there are still a few bugs (forgetting named devices, changing reserved IP address range etc)

Time With Provider: 1 Weeks
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 01st Feb, 2019    By: jmm
I am on the phone to try to change a setting that's only possible to change by calling them! The setting is for their "Scam Protection" feature. You can switch on easily via a button on their website, but to switch off again, you have to phone them. I work from home and Scam Protection is preventing me from accessing my work network. I have now been listening to hold music, waiting to speak to someone for 30mins!


Time With Provider: 1 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 29th Jan, 2019    By: itsmaazziik
Been with TalkTalk for around 7 years now, and I've always had an excellent service. Whenever I've had any problems, I've found the TalkTalk Community to always be a better form of customer service. Best provider ever! Would definitely recommend them.

Time With Provider: 7 Years
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 13th Jan, 2019    By: anth101
Been with TT for ni-on 3 and half months and the speed isn't what it suppose to be within the first 30 days I wasn't happy so put a order in with Vodafone to be told there would be breakage fees if I let the order go threw. So I said that I was in the 30 days guarantee I could leave and were obvious lying to me . So give them longer and three months down the line still no joy . The fault managers always come out with the same C**p min guarantee speed .They suppose to not slow you down which is a lie. The fibre is absolute rubbish 5x faster hmmm yeah right . What ever you do don't join these as they haven't a clue like the open reach cowboys full of bs .
They think of the money before the services . The 30 day guarantee if not happy you can leave doesn't stay to there word its false advertising .

Time With Provider: 15 Weeks
Package Name: (fibre medium) more like normal adsl
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Posted: 09th Jan, 2019    By: Casper
We've been with TalkTalk for 9 months so far, I have to say the service has been great, an issue with noise on the phone line at the beginning was present, but after talking with the support team an engineer was sent out, he arrived on time, he stayed for three hours until the issue was fixed, the issue was outside at the pole, the equipment at the pole was old and damaged because of weather, he done his best to fix my line and also put a job in with openreach for the equipment to be exchanged with new parts. I can't fault TalkTalk, the service is great and with the price being fixed it helps as we don't have to worry about price increases.

Time With Provider: 9 Months
Package Name:
Value
Speed
Support
Services
Promotion
Cheapest Superfast ISPs
  • Hyperoptic £20.00 (*22.00)
    Avg. Speed 50Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Direct Save Telecom £22.95 (*29.95)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Origin Broadband £23.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • Vodafone £23.00
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited
    Gift: None
  • SSE £23.00 (*33.00)
    Avg. Speed 35Mbps, Unlimited (FUP)
    Gift: None
Prices inc. Line Rental | View All
Helpful ISP Guides and Tips
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
»
Promotion
The Top 20 Category Tags
  1. BT (2485)
  2. FTTP (2134)
  3. FTTC (1643)
  4. Building Digital UK (1588)
  5. Openreach (1399)
  6. Politics (1394)
  7. Business (1221)
  8. Statistics (1086)
  9. FTTH (1038)
  10. Mobile Broadband (1018)
  11. Fibre Optic (963)
  12. Ofcom Regulation (906)
  13. Wireless Internet (892)
  14. 4G (881)
  15. Virgin Media (849)
  16. Sky Broadband (591)
  17. EE (582)
  18. TalkTalk (571)
  19. Vodafone (506)
  20. Security (406)
TalkTalk - Broadband Fixed Line Rated 1.90625 / 5 based on 192 reviews. 0. | Review Me
Sponsored

Copyright © 1999 to Present - ISPreview.co.uk - All Rights Reserved - Terms  ,  Privacy and Cookie Policy  ,  Links  ,  Website Rules